User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 169
  2. Negative: 42 out of 169

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    6
    I liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finishI liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finish one game. That said, this game looks amazing and can be good fun to anyone looking for a long party board game. Mario Party 8 especially works well when you're playing with your friends. I'd say that Mario Party 8 is not by any means the best game of its time, but its decent and worth buying if you're a big Mario fan. Expand
  2. ToddS
    Nov 4, 2008
    4
    Mario Party 8 is a major disappointment. The minigames are simple and fun, especially when theres split screen multiplayer, but the series never really improved on it's flaws. The board game is luck based, requiring no skill at all. While it may seem like a perfect opportunity for anybody to jump in, it's moreso a waste of time. Any system which rewards failure and punishes Mario Party 8 is a major disappointment. The minigames are simple and fun, especially when theres split screen multiplayer, but the series never really improved on it's flaws. The board game is luck based, requiring no skill at all. While it may seem like a perfect opportunity for anybody to jump in, it's moreso a waste of time. Any system which rewards failure and punishes success is broken. The audiovisuals would have been acceptable 3-4 years ago, but in current standards, they are awful. I see little ways that this game has improved upon Mario Party 7 and even Mario Party 4. Most of the minigames you missed from the old games didn't come back. Nintendo put a very little amount of effort into this game. The final product shows. Expand
  3. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved!Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved! It's all just chance! Nintendo needs to fix the errors that Hudson made and release a memorable ending to the series. Then, NEVER create a Mario Party game again. The minigames were good but most of them were things that have already been done before and getting pretty boring. Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    The Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry in the series is a huge step backwards. An element of luck has always been required if you were to win but here it is taken to the extreme with stars no longer awarded post-game for winning the most mini-games or collecting the most coins. The mini-gamesThe Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry in the series is a huge step backwards. An element of luck has always been required if you were to win but here it is taken to the extreme with stars no longer awarded post-game for winning the most mini-games or collecting the most coins. The mini-games themselves also lack the imagination of previous titles with the majority just requiring players the shake the Wiimote as fast as they can. Do yourself a favour and pick up either Mario Party 4 or the DS Version instead. Expand
  5. AlexR.
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    This game is just about the same thing as the previous ones, although using the wiimote does add a fun twist.
  6. AlexC.
    Feb 20, 2009
    1
    Sheesh, Mario Party has gotten crap since the original. Playing minigames which aren't actually that good over and over again can get pretty boring, plus the game boards, whatever they're callled, are crap too. A once great series ruined by repetitive gameplay and a lack of good minigames.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Feb 2, 2010
    3
    Lame. I can't believe my wife wasted 50 bucks on this "game." The board game, as everyone else says, is 100% based on luck. No exaggeration. The saving grace of this game is supposed to be the minigames. Unfortunately the minigames are HORRIBLE. There isn't a single one I care to play more than twice. The controls are clunky and unresponsive. Contrary to the belief of some other Lame. I can't believe my wife wasted 50 bucks on this "game." The board game, as everyone else says, is 100% based on luck. No exaggeration. The saving grace of this game is supposed to be the minigames. Unfortunately the minigames are HORRIBLE. There isn't a single one I care to play more than twice. The controls are clunky and unresponsive. Contrary to the belief of some other reviewers, playing with more people does not make it more fun. Everyone ends up pissed because there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to who wins. Why does Nintendo let Hudson tarnish the Mario franchise with this trash? Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    I was wondering how this game could be so bad if it was created by Nintendo, but it turns out it was actually just published by the company and developed by Hudson. That explains why it's so dreadfully boring.
  9. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    No. i dont like this. it is mainly wrapped around a point and click basis, just because its on wii. it is a big failure on nintendo's part. AWESOME FAMILY FUN is not the lable for mp8 but rather for mp2.
  10. Jan 15, 2011
    6
    Its kinda fun at the beginning, but after a while it gets a little boring. This is really mostly for playing during a party, but i'm pretty sure i am not gonna play this during one.
  11. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    i absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing ii absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing i saw when i looked at other people's reviews are the terrible graphics but honestly i think they are just like any other Mario game and honestly i think your standards are way to high if you are judging a Mario game on graphics because they are known for making fun games that people enjoy not for making works of art. on that note as i mentioned this game is tons of fun until you start to get bored of it then flaws that were forgivable are now very annoying such as there is no skill required what so ever except for a couple of mini games and this can be a little annoying but i guess they did this so people of all ages can play together and still have the little kids win sometimes. also the single player campaign mode is kind of a joke with a failed attempt at a boss battle that is so easy to do. there are also only 2 other unlockable characters but many other little things to get that you can buy after you have played for so long and you have enough cards from playing the game. if you get this game you had better have someone to play it with otherwise you will get bored of this game very quickly and will end up trading it in very quickly but if you play with a sibling or friend you will fall in love but then as you own the game for a bit you will start to get annoyed so i recomend you rent this game and dont spend $50 on it Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might beI remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might be a let-down. Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    This game is really slow but still has its parts the graphics are ok.this is not a game I would recommend it is not the best but it still has some good parts.
  14. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Its a good compilation of mini games that has a rather descent story mode and a fun multi-player experience. Using the Wii Remote adds in a small factor of motion game that could have been taken to another level.
  15. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    I don't know why so many people dislike this game, I love the minigames, every board is unique and the music is amazing. Even if single player gets boring try very hard mode once you unlock it and you'll get a challenge. This game should have been in the Wii launch games since it does an amazing job showing what the Wii can do.
  16. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome and so underrated! One of my first Wii games. The minigames are very fun. The graphics are good. The party mode is great. I really liked the fun bazaar and extras. Mario Party 8 one of my favourite Mario Party games and if you don't like MP8, you're silly as JB. You should definitely go and buy it.
  17. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    This game is friggin awesome. It was my first Wii Game and I conquered the whole game because it was that awesome and if you don't like MP8 you are silly as Justin Bieber. Why the heck is this game is under rated? WHY?! I love the Fun Bazzar,Minigame tent,and the maps are epic. The lucky space is my all time favourite spot to land on. I know it is 2015 but I recommend you pick it up.
  18. Mar 19, 2012
    3
    Mario Party 8 is a flat-out bad game. It comes nowhere near the franchise's peak (Mario Party 2) because the mini games have all taken a step backwards in terms of control. This was done to bring the Wii's motion controls into full effect. But basically speaking, they just don't work very well. They are so imprecise, that most of the time winning is a case of mere luck. It shouldn't beMario Party 8 is a flat-out bad game. It comes nowhere near the franchise's peak (Mario Party 2) because the mini games have all taken a step backwards in terms of control. This was done to bring the Wii's motion controls into full effect. But basically speaking, they just don't work very well. They are so imprecise, that most of the time winning is a case of mere luck. It shouldn't be titled 'Mario Party', it should be titled 'Thrash The Wiimote Around Randomly Party'. Utter drek. Expand
  19. AuntJemima
    Jun 1, 2007
    5
    EEEK! Let's just get the graphics out of the way first, they are flippin awful! Also seeing borders on my widescreen tv is just so tacky. Never played a Mario Party title before and figured the Wii would be a great place to start. The board games and apparently useless text pop-ins kill any chance at a nice flowing game. Apart from beeing extremely slow paced, everything feels random EEEK! Let's just get the graphics out of the way first, they are flippin awful! Also seeing borders on my widescreen tv is just so tacky. Never played a Mario Party title before and figured the Wii would be a great place to start. The board games and apparently useless text pop-ins kill any chance at a nice flowing game. Apart from beeing extremely slow paced, everything feels random and up to chance during board game play with no real benefit from winning the mini-games. Most of the mini-games are pretty boring with only a few that are any fun. No WiFi play, no mentionable single player mode, looks to be pretty much a direct port from previous versions...I thought this was supposed to be fun?! Expand
  20. Dec 24, 2010
    8
    I find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren'tI find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren't good at FPS's. Expand
  21. May 25, 2011
    4
    Eight installments is enough. I played this, hoping to have a classic Mario Party formula, but I was really disappointed in the overall presentation. The minigames rely too much on luck rather than skill, and the graphics are a mixed bag. Some minigames have clunky and frequently unresponsive controls. Yes, there are a lot of unlockables, but those tend to be mostly sound tests. Lame.
  22. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    I gave Mario Party 8 a try at my friend's house and oh boy, this game disappointed me in many levels. I've enjoyed the Mario Party games in the past like Mario Party 3 on the N64 (one of my favourites from this Mario spin-off), but somehow this game left me with uninteresting junk in my loot bag for its tediously long board levels, dull mini-games and obnoxious computer A.I. Maybe kidsI gave Mario Party 8 a try at my friend's house and oh boy, this game disappointed me in many levels. I've enjoyed the Mario Party games in the past like Mario Party 3 on the N64 (one of my favourites from this Mario spin-off), but somehow this game left me with uninteresting junk in my loot bag for its tediously long board levels, dull mini-games and obnoxious computer A.I. Maybe kids under the age of 10 will enjoy playing this game, but no matter what, the fun will only last for less than 30 minutes in Mario Party 8. Expand
  23. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    Mario party started as a great game, but just got worse and worse, and than Mario Party 8 was released. I played all mario party games, and this is the only one i hated. The mini games are boring, the medieval party style (yeah, for me, that's what it seems) failed and even playing multiplayer is boring...Let's hope 9 is better...
  24. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Hey! It's circus time! Drop Super Mario Galaxy and ride down to one of the worst games of 2007! Play as disturbing chatacters, moan at boring activites, and smash your Wii to peices! It's all comin' down at Mario Party 8!
  25. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Apart from a few minigames, this game is so incredibly boring! And it is also so damn slow, just 1 turn takes several times longer than it should because of all the unnecessary in-game tips you get from the retarded host, who has to explain every minigame in detail over and over.
  26. RickS.
    Sep 8, 2007
    0
    I am an anti-gamer and bought the Wii because of the virtually reality aspects after playing my brohters bowling and baseball on Wii sports. As a point of reference the only games i have liked to are Wii Sports and Tiger Woods. My 7 yr old son received this as a gift and after multiple tries, this game was too complicated to set up and has never been played.
  27. JohnK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking This game is AWESOME FAMILY FUN!!! Yes, the graphics are not cutting edge, and chance does play a large role in the game--- but none of that takes away from the FUN!!! By the way, the graphics are just fine for this cartoon adventure, and chance plays a large role because this is basically a video adaptation of a board game, where chance ALWAYS plays a large role! So if you are looking for a fun game that you can play with the whole family, pick this game up-- you will not be disappointed!!! Expand
  28. JustinL
    May 29, 2007
    2
    I have never liked any Mario Party game, and I've played most of 'em. It's got stupid board-game mechanics that make no sense, too-long default game time, and mini-games that are mediocre at best. Played it with 3 friends -- this game's best-case scenario -- and still didn't really have any fun. I honestly can't see how anyone sober and over the age of 6 canI have never liked any Mario Party game, and I've played most of 'em. It's got stupid board-game mechanics that make no sense, too-long default game time, and mini-games that are mediocre at best. Played it with 3 friends -- this game's best-case scenario -- and still didn't really have any fun. I honestly can't see how anyone sober and over the age of 6 can enjoy this game. Expand
  29. GlenP.
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock the mini games. The mini games themselves are a hodgepodge of styles, many making bad use of teh motion technology. Must play the worthless board game to get mini games. bad. Very bad. Pick up SuperMonkeyBall or Muppet Party Cruise for a much better The game is a mess. Long, slow board game that determines it's winner essentially by luck, is reqauired to play multiple times to unlock the mini games. The mini games themselves are a hodgepodge of styles, many making bad use of teh motion technology. Must play the worthless board game to get mini games. bad. Very bad. Pick up SuperMonkeyBall or Muppet Party Cruise for a much better set of mini games. Expand
  30. Michael
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make Awesome as ever. Get some friends, some drinks, and have a party. Not for the geekiest gamer, there's not a lot of challenge, single player sucks, moving around the board is entirely based on luck, etc.etc. Playing this alone would be only slightly better than playing Monopoly solo. It's a friggin party! Get some friends who you can stand to have around your stuff and who make you laugh, then play. Trust me, it's fun. Not a game to be taken seriously, just an excuse to have a good time. Expand
  31. CoreyK.
    Jun 13, 2007
    3
    God-awful. Unless you are under 10 years old.
  32. EthanR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    4
    I tried to like this game, i really did. But it's impossible. It's ironic, the creators of the mario party series promised new boards, minigames, characters and much more everygame. But it's exactly that premise that makes this version worse. They messed up the beloved formula by adding on to much things. I liked when we had regular items and now there's candy!? The I tried to like this game, i really did. But it's impossible. It's ironic, the creators of the mario party series promised new boards, minigames, characters and much more everygame. But it's exactly that premise that makes this version worse. They messed up the beloved formula by adding on to much things. I liked when we had regular items and now there's candy!? The boards used to be so cool and large... now they're straight and tiny. The single player game is terrible! It's not 4 players playing. It's 2 players playing. With barely any minigames. The only reason I gave this game a 4 was because the minigames. They use the intuitive wii remote to create fun to play minigames. But since you have to play through the dreadful game to get the minigames it's kind of a pain. I don't reccomend this game. :( Expand
  33. IanI.
    Jun 5, 2007
    2
    Game is horrible. I loved it on the gamecube but on the wii its compleate crap. Some of the minigames are fun but the actual boardgame part of it has taken a huge step backwords to the point that its almost not a functioning game. Stick with the gamecube version, the only good games on the wii right now are minigame games, but this isn't one of them.
  34. ImadSiddiqui
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    It's fun every now and then.I would play it with friends but not by myself as no Mario Party is fun by yourself that's why it's called Mario Party.Sure they kept the GC graphics for this game and the gameplay has sort of been weakened through repitition.This isn't my favorite Mario Party game cuz
    my fav ones are Mario Party 2+7.
  35. FronkF.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    If you have friends over, you can;t go wrong. 70+ mini-games, great wiimote/nunchaku use, and, best of all, coin-sucking vampires. Need I say more?
  36. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    The Mario Party series continues with Mario Party 8. While the graphics are not impressive, the party games are. Adding motion control to the games does add some variety.
  37. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Mario Party just sunk to a whole new level. As in any other Mario Party, you run around the party boards, throwing dice and landing on different spaces. It's just chance, with no strategy whatsoever, and it's always been a multiplayer experience. To be honest, it's often the party boards that let down mario party games, but at least the minigames were fun. The main problem with Mario PartyMario Party just sunk to a whole new level. As in any other Mario Party, you run around the party boards, throwing dice and landing on different spaces. It's just chance, with no strategy whatsoever, and it's always been a multiplayer experience. To be honest, it's often the party boards that let down mario party games, but at least the minigames were fun. The main problem with Mario Party 8 is how it tries to take advantage of the wii remote. In one minigame, you must shake the wiimote as fast as you can. Wow, so... fun. In other, you must control a chimp by flicking the wii remote, but controls are largely unresponsive. And some other minigames don't use the motion capabilities at all, and are just plain boring. It's needless to say playing on your own is terribly boring. Multiplayer isn't much good either, but at least it's slightly better. Just like any other Mario Party game, Mario Party 8 also features a 'story mode'. This is often actually fun because at least there's a goal to actually do something, unlike party mode. Except in Mario Party 8, it's terrible. Chance plays a bigger part than ever before, especially since minigames aren't even included in this mode. At the moment, I'm stuck on Boo's Haunted Hideway(and always will be beacause I've sold the game). Here the rooms are in a random pattern every time, and you don't know where anything is. There's alwaya a Whomp blocking a doorway somewhere, which requires you to pay coins to him to get past. Except once, the design was so bad, there was no way to get enough coins to pay Whomp, especially because of the 'no minigame' rule. There was only one coin space, so it took too long to possibly even get one star before the time ran out. This is the 'fun' you have in Mario Party 8. Expand
  38. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    This game is garbage. I know that this is a game for little kids but I played the all the Mario party games and this is one of the worst games out of the series! I remember the good days were the point was to get all the stars you can in twenty turns or twenty-five if you felt ballsy and hope that you are the player that killed Bowser. The game was really it is just unplayable. I hateThis game is garbage. I know that this is a game for little kids but I played the all the Mario party games and this is one of the worst games out of the series! I remember the good days were the point was to get all the stars you can in twenty turns or twenty-five if you felt ballsy and hope that you are the player that killed Bowser. The game was really it is just unplayable. I hate this game it deserves nothing less than what I gave it. The music is horrible, the idea for the game taking place at a carnival is just dumb, and the graphics look like garbage. This is horrible and i regret playing this game. Expand
  39. May 12, 2014
    0
    Why did I ask for this game for Christmas 2007? I liked the GameCube installments better..............CURSE YOU NINTENDO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  40. Jan 4, 2015
    4
    This game is a huge disappointment. I thinked that it would great, but it is so boring. The minigames are pretty fun but you need to play several super boring modes to enjoy them. To avoid this, there is the Free-Play mode; but you need to unlock the minigames in the Party mode (that is VERY boring) before playing them in Free-Play. I'm a fan of Mario Party series, but I think that this isThis game is a huge disappointment. I thinked that it would great, but it is so boring. The minigames are pretty fun but you need to play several super boring modes to enjoy them. To avoid this, there is the Free-Play mode; but you need to unlock the minigames in the Party mode (that is VERY boring) before playing them in Free-Play. I'm a fan of Mario Party series, but I think that this is the worst of the all. I highly recommend Mario Party 3 for Nintendo 64 instead of this. Mario Party 8 doesn't worth the $60 (R$199 in Brazil), except for die-hard fans. Expand
  41. EricFernandaz
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I mean c'mon this MarioParty has to be extremely awsome. I mean its on the wii, The coolest system EVER. I mean 6! new extreme boards! Billion Kajillion new minigames! and like 14 Characters! All for the wii remote! The Last thing i can say is that this game is Number ONE
  42. JesseS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Best family game for the Wii right now. Heck, best Party game for the Wii. 5 adult friends, myself, and my 4 year old took turns playing this for about 6 hours one Saturday (no, the 4 year old didn't win a single game, even with a 3 star handicap, but she still had a blast :). Sure, the graphics aren't impressive. So what. It's fun! And, yes, there is a bit of strategy. Best family game for the Wii right now. Heck, best Party game for the Wii. 5 adult friends, myself, and my 4 year old took turns playing this for about 6 hours one Saturday (no, the 4 year old didn't win a single game, even with a 3 star handicap, but she still had a blast :). Sure, the graphics aren't impressive. So what. It's fun! And, yes, there is a bit of strategy. More on some boards, less on others. Expand
  43. BlueFalcon
    Jun 6, 2007
    5
    I like the Mario Party formula, but they really aren't putting any effort into these anymore. The only thing new is how the mini games use the motion sensor now, but it's not that well done. Every other Mario Party I've played has been better than this one (3, 4, 5, and 7).
  44. PabloR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This game is Great. This game deserves a ten. Only if they didnt have the random frame. But after a while you get used to it. The mini-games are also the best so far, and the Boards are crazy!
  45. AlB.
    Aug 10, 2007
    2
    This game is so slow. I'm only interested in playing party style games with friends and you have to unlock most of the games by playing single player game first.
  46. ShawnP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Very entertaining party game.
  47. Rick
    Oct 16, 2007
    8
    I bought this game never really having played its predecessors and me and my wife love it. Playability is the downside... though this is probably due to the fact that we dont have kids or parties... so its just me and her and normally two of the hardest CPU players. Overall we love the minigames, though some are annoying and the games are normally to long. I recommend this game to the I bought this game never really having played its predecessors and me and my wife love it. Playability is the downside... though this is probably due to the fact that we dont have kids or parties... so its just me and her and normally two of the hardest CPU players. Overall we love the minigames, though some are annoying and the games are normally to long. I recommend this game to the casual gamer and look forward to the sequel. Expand
  48. IanV.
    Dec 9, 2007
    2
    A ridiculously horrible game. It is really quite hard to comprehend where nintendo was going with this one. I played this with groups of 3-8 people.........sometimes even using it as a drinking game; the "party" aspect does not redeem the utter lack of strategy. Everything about this game is random. A game based purely on luck gets real old, real fast.
  49. John
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    I would not recommend this game to anybody. It is not a HORRIBLE game. But it is not fun. The 15 turn games even seem forever. 15x4= 60 freaking turns. I did give this a 5 because i would say that if you had a group of 3 or more it is fun. Maybe even the 1 on 1 with the comp. But mini games repeat a lot. I would recommend renting having some fun and brining it back before you say it I would not recommend this game to anybody. It is not a HORRIBLE game. But it is not fun. The 15 turn games even seem forever. 15x4= 60 freaking turns. I did give this a 5 because i would say that if you had a group of 3 or more it is fun. Maybe even the 1 on 1 with the comp. But mini games repeat a lot. I would recommend renting having some fun and brining it back before you say it starts getting bad. Expand
  50. Sebby64
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Nice, fun game. A great hit within my family.
  51. JonathonM.
    May 31, 2007
    8
    I don't understand why there is so much harsh feedback about this game. I feel it fits the Wii perfectly. A lot of people said brought nothing new to system compared to games we've all played already like Smooth Moves or Rayman but no offense to anyone there is only so much you can do with that Remote, the system isn't limitless. Instead of judging the game by each movement I don't understand why there is so much harsh feedback about this game. I feel it fits the Wii perfectly. A lot of people said brought nothing new to system compared to games we've all played already like Smooth Moves or Rayman but no offense to anyone there is only so much you can do with that Remote, the system isn't limitless. Instead of judging the game by each movement you make with the remote how about judging it based on the unique games played ALONG with the innovative gaming experience the Remote brings to the game. I bought the game yesterday and played it with 3 of my friends and we had a blast. YES, I can see how the game would suck alone but I bought it for when I have people over, hence, "party." Expand
  52. JackT.
    May 30, 2007
    8
    Still fun. Still a good grab for a great group friend setting.
  53. CalebH.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing This game rules. The low reviews made me a bit skeptical. But, after bringing the game home and playing it with the family - I'm sold. This is the best family game on the Wii. We also do multi-player with MonkeyBall, Sports, SSX Blur, and Sonic - but this blows them all away. If you want a great 4 player, multi-player experience - this game is it. My 6 and 4 year olds love playing with me and their mom. There is a lot of text that they can't necessarily read through - but the randomness makes it a level playing-field for the whole family. As for the reviews - they really don't do the game justice. The Wii remote and the multiple control styles make each minigame great. I haven't found one I don't like. After each minigame I say, "That one was so fun, let's play it again." Expand
  54. TinaK.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not This is a great game weather your 5 or 50. Good family and friends fun is all that matters. not the credits or the graphics. Don't bother wasting your time on complaints because different people like different types of games- and for those who dont like this one fine. This is a simple fun game and i think people are expecting too much out of it. God this is a Mario action game, not some sort of super violent adventure. It keeps you off boredom, keeps you entertained and the graphics are fine. I'd rather own a wii (whitch i do.) and have graphics that are good but not perfect (it costs around $300) than buy a stupid PS3 which is huge and costs like $1000 just because of the graphics! Be happy with what yo've got, not what u can get. (The only stupid thing is that the credits last forever and you can't skip them. But hey, at least they are entertaining- unlike most games.) Expand
  55. ElieN
    Jun 29, 2007
    6
    Mario Party 8 is a pretty decent game but lacks longevity. The first 1 hour itMario Party 8 is a pretty decent game but lacks longevity. The first 1 hour it Expand
  56. JoeW.
    Jun 3, 2007
    7
    Having never played a Mario Party game before this, I'm mostly delighted with the Mario Party 8 experience. The mini-games aren't the best available for the Wii, but they are just part of the game. It's a board game - there is plenty of strategy, and the mini games in between just help keep it exciting. Some of the unlockable games like table tennis have good replay value Having never played a Mario Party game before this, I'm mostly delighted with the Mario Party 8 experience. The mini-games aren't the best available for the Wii, but they are just part of the game. It's a board game - there is plenty of strategy, and the mini games in between just help keep it exciting. Some of the unlockable games like table tennis have good replay value all by themselves. If the game had an online component, I'd give it an 8 or 9. It's a really fun party game to play with others, but just so-so if you are a party of one. Expand
  57. AlexE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they For once, they thought about the formula and changed it - for the better! No more waiting for 3 CPU-Characters to take their turn in Single PLayer-Mode. But if you want to play like this, you can! That's the beauty of it. You can costumize the party to your gaming pleasure, even Tag-Team Battles (Board-Game-Wise) are possible. And they put more life into the boards, too. Yes, they are smaller, but they benefit from other ideas. Try this one - if you dig this kind of game (and the wacky colours) you can't go wrong, really. Expand
  58. LisaH.
    Sep 2, 2007
    2
    The most boring mario game i have ever come accross. I can barely stay awake. I had to double check the box incase it was for under 3 year olds only.
  59. Mr.Anyomous
    Sep 22, 2007
    4
    Mario party for Wii? Nope. Just a port of a ment to be Gamecube game with half-assed controls. The Box art looks promising, but nothing like the game. First of all, The graphics suck. They're Gamecube Quality. I wouldn't mind this but guess what.........there's lag!!!!!!!!!! Are you serious, Lag! Well, secondly, The game play is terrible. It feels tedious. It's either Mario party for Wii? Nope. Just a port of a ment to be Gamecube game with half-assed controls. The Box art looks promising, but nothing like the game. First of all, The graphics suck. They're Gamecube Quality. I wouldn't mind this but guess what.........there's lag!!!!!!!!!! Are you serious, Lag! Well, secondly, The game play is terrible. It feels tedious. It's either two sensitive or to stiff, there's no in-between. I litteraly was doing a dance from Elite Beat Agents (Makes no differnce) and I beat the AI. I'm not kidding. Speaking of AI why is hard mode like playing with a 8-year old? However this game has a strange appeal to it that sucks you in and you can't get rid of the game. It's like quicksand. This game was desinged for little kids who think they have a cool game but get ripped off after playing it. One last thing I would like to add is, why is the game so slow? It took me two days to finish a 50 turn game and almost half an hour to finish a ten turn game! Then they give you the option to buy these figures of characters in the game. Why though, to show that you had enough patience to play through this game so can look at these action figues? I don't think so. Expand
  60. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    8
    A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of my favorites are only for 2 player mode which is a bummer. Overall it would be nice to have more games even if some were similar or derivatives of each other. Game play is a bit long a "standard" game of 15 turns takes about 1.5 hours, this is not A fun game to play with 2-4 people. Best with 4 really. Most of the minigames are fun, some are eh and a few are real clunkers... a couple of my favorites are only for 2 player mode which is a bummer. Overall it would be nice to have more games even if some were similar or derivatives of each other. Game play is a bit long a "standard" game of 15 turns takes about 1.5 hours, this is not the game to start for a quick hit, it is similar to a board game in that it does take some commitment to finishing. I would agree that there is a high degree of randomness to it but i think that is part of the fun who wants to playa game for 1-2 hours if they already know who is good and going to win. If you are more "hard-core" switch off the bonus stars and play on the Tycoon board it requires the most strategy and rewards those who win mini-games the most. Overall fun game with friends with a good replay value, but not in any way a "ahrd-core" game. Expand
  61. RachelY
    Jun 15, 2008
    5
    To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more than one person is gonna be playin' it, haha. It's great for 3+ people, it's a good laugh. A lot of it was based on luck, I've found, and sometimes the minigames take a while to figure what you actually have to do! Overall, the To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more than one person is gonna be playin' it, haha. It's great for 3+ people, it's a good laugh. A lot of it was based on luck, I've found, and sometimes the minigames take a while to figure what you actually have to do! Overall, the game is alright - best on multiplayer. But if you are looking for a good one player AND multiplayer game, I recommend Mario &Sonic at the Olympic Games, or even Wii Sports! Expand
  62. SqueM.
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    Mario Party 8 Graphics: 8/10 (Just like their previous Gamecube games) Sound: 8/10 (Awesome music and okay sound effects make this worth hearing) Controls: 8.5/10 (Almost niche, though it sometimes won't work) Gameplay: 7.5/10 (Just like the previous MP games, though rather on luck than strategy) Lastability: 9/10 (Worth playing, especially with 2-4 players playing this) Overall: A- Mario Party 8 Graphics: 8/10 (Just like their previous Gamecube games) Sound: 8/10 (Awesome music and okay sound effects make this worth hearing) Controls: 8.5/10 (Almost niche, though it sometimes won't work) Gameplay: 7.5/10 (Just like the previous MP games, though rather on luck than strategy) Lastability: 9/10 (Worth playing, especially with 2-4 players playing this) Overall: A- (Sure it's not the best but it one of the best Mario Party games ever). Expand
  63. BobC.
    Dec 29, 2007
    4
    Looks promising, but other than the mini-games, the wii-mote doesn't come into play other than deciding how many spaces you move on the board. The mini-games were too difficult to figure out in time to actually do them, and the computer players get unfair advantages over human players...every outcome is by totally random luck!
  64. AndyD
    May 31, 2007
    4
    The graphics are poor, and no widescreen. The minigames are rehashes of old ones, often same game with slapped on controls. The boards introduce little if any changes, cosmetic or otherwise. Very poor "minigame game" in an already crowded market (3-4 of these collections in 6 months). Overall definitely pass on it, not really even worth renting if you own any of the older ones.
  65. BryanM.
    May 31, 2007
    3
    The graphics are just awful like 64. ok maybe not that bad what yes they are. you can see blocks on there arms. and most mini games are boring and the borders trash. if you like mario party don't get this game keep to 7 or wait for it to go on sale.
  66. DeniseR.
    Aug 19, 2007
    7
    Not as good as previous versions, but still a fun group game.
  67. JackH
    May 24, 2008
    2
    Oh no, it's ANOTHER Mario Party game. I'd bet $1000 that Nintendo finds a way to stretch this series to Mario Party 15. The mini games would probably include sawing logs and opening cans. Oh wait, they've already done that! I enjoyed the first few Mario Party games, but this is just ridiculous. The fact is, the whole game is based on luck. You could win every stupid mini Oh no, it's ANOTHER Mario Party game. I'd bet $1000 that Nintendo finds a way to stretch this series to Mario Party 15. The mini games would probably include sawing logs and opening cans. Oh wait, they've already done that! I enjoyed the first few Mario Party games, but this is just ridiculous. The fact is, the whole game is based on luck. You could win every stupid mini game and still come in last. If you already have any of the Mario Party games, there is absolutely NO reason to buy this game. Unfortunately, there will always be people willing to buy these games, and will in fact buy Mario Party 9, and Mario Party 10, and Mario Party 11, and Mario Party 12, and Mario Party 13, and Mario Party 14, and finally Mario Party 15, which Nintendo will give some unimaginative new name to, like Mario's Big Bash. Expand
  68. Aug 23, 2011
    5
    Lets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PSLets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PS mentioned tittle. If you're a Wii owner don't get close to this bad tittle, do not even touch or even smell it . Expand
  69. May 1, 2012
    4
    This is definitly the worst mario party,the boards are extremely boring and also the minigames,they are just a few good minigames and also the visual effects, but in general the game is boring dont ever go to buy it,although it is the most sold
    but that doesnt mean is good is just BORING,Even in multiplayer.
  70. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    A mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot muchA mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot much better than this one, so go for them. Expand
  71. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    It 's a fun game in the series that uses the motion remote. There a many kind of candy during the game. And the boards are all different. With the Koopa hotel one standing out because of it unique gameplay. There a even three single player games.
  72. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    Okay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards theOkay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards the player with landing on a space that sends you back to the start, or making the CPU get a number that ultimately makes them win, no matter how big of a lead you had. All that changes when you play with friends, though, but this game destroys friendships if you lose your cool with it. Simply put, if you're playing alone, Mario Party 8 is just cheap. The amount of times that instances happen is so mind-blowing that you will soon find yourself throwing your controller against the wall. If you tend to have a short temper, don't touch this game. 5/10 Expand
  73. Apr 24, 2013
    2
    There's one thing you need to know about Mario Party 8 before you buy it be prepared to do a lot of reading during the game! The game has an incredibly irritating interface whereby it bombards you with constant information throughout the game which can only be cleared by pressing the A key. Consequently, you spend most of the time repeatedly pressing the A key to get rid of the constantThere's one thing you need to know about Mario Party 8 before you buy it be prepared to do a lot of reading during the game! The game has an incredibly irritating interface whereby it bombards you with constant information throughout the game which can only be cleared by pressing the A key. Consequently, you spend most of the time repeatedly pressing the A key to get rid of the constant barrage of messages. In fact before the game even starts you are forced to read through an endless parade of information boxes that end up making things more confusing and leaving you wondering when on earth this game is going to start. For a game aimed at kids as well as adults I fail to see how any child would have the patience to read through so much claptrap before the game begins, it really is that tedious.

    After reading what seems like a small book worth of instructions, the game finally starts. This is where the next level of frustration begins, as Mario Party 8 is based around you playing a boardgame that is little more than glorified snakes and ladders and has zero skill. Playing a game of luck against a human opponent has some element of short-term fun, but against the computer, forget it. As a single-player game, Mario Party 8 is a non-starter and will bore you witless very, very quickly.

    Against a human opponent the boardgames are entertaining for a while and give some genuine laughs but the lack of skill needed soon gets annoying and you find yourself yearning for the mini-games to break up the monotony. But playing a mini-game, like everything else, relies on luck, you have to just hope that a roll of the dice lands you on a square which puts you into a mini-game. When the mini-game starts, your relief from the tedium is often very short-lived as many of the mini-games are over in less than a minute, then it's back to the wretched boardgame again. Another annoying touch to the game is that there are many pre-set animations that you are forced to watch without any option of skipping them, this just adds to the frustration of the game.

    But what of the mini-games themselves? Well, many are actually very good, some are horrible, but generally they're good fun and well designed. Unfortunately some mini-games have to be unlocked which can only be achieved by success on the boardgames. So if you're willing to have your patience pushed to the limit it's possible to unlock them, but you'll probably end up deciding another session on the boardgames is too much to bear.

    Mario Party 8 is a huge opportunity missed. The idea of loads of simple but fun party games is a good one, but the game design does everything it can to stifle this through the constant stream of pointless information that interrupts the game, and the woeful boardgames. It would have been better to either make the boardgames more skill-based, or just get rid of them completely, and let people just play the mini-games.
    Expand
  74. May 3, 2013
    7
    This game has fun party mode the mini games are so exciting but can be boring to unlock. The mini games are the best part of the game. There are heaps of really cool characters. I play this with my little brother and we both enjoy it.
  75. May 24, 2013
    9
    Oh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first newOh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first new console (Had an old N64 from old brother). Just thrilling. The controls are great, a great game for all ages. Now, it wouldn't be Mario Party though without someone under 16 playing Like the rest, I totally recommend it. Now, mines scratched but not permanently and my store downtown fixes them for free, oh yeah. The characters are are a great selection. Another to my collection. Totally worth it. Expand
  76. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck" First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works. Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck"

    First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works.
    Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and win, it doesnt mean that is the majority of the games.
    There is a lot of strategy and planning, but generally, you will get an advantage by winning a lot of mini games.

    It is BS to call this game bad, and say it is solely based on luck.

    Must buy for Wii, 9 out of 10!
    Expand
  77. Apr 10, 2014
    5
    One thing that makes it enjoyable to play at is the board games but for the rest, they are dull and unenjoyable. The soundtrack is okay, the graphics are top-notched but the story is weak and cliche-ridden from other Mario game.
  78. Jan 17, 2015
    6
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party games, every turn seems to go on for an eternity, and is why I now know why 50 turn games used to take me all day, the board aren't very interesting, maybe due to the graphics being rather poor, and the rules of each board are kinder boring. The mini games are slow and the control is sloppy for the most part, none of the mini games are particularly exciting, the motion controls are very poorly used (and in some cases in some rather rude ways), and it can get quite boring.
    Expand
  79. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    be careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board gamebe careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board game where you play independently ima give this a shameful score Expand
  80. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    Mario Party 8 is the most recent Mario Party that's actually good (mario party 9 crappy gameplay). I enjoyed playing as hammer bro and blooper, but thought that the star carnival was very hard. Too many minigames were luck based. The pace was also too slow.
  81. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Playing the game without friends is well, meh. But get some friends to come over, and this game becomes exponentially more fun. Boring single-player, but the multiplayer is enough to make you consider buying this game.
  82. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games Its graphics are not as bad as the N64 There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9 Disadvantages It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games
    Its graphics are not as bad as the N64
    There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win
    There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9
    Disadvantages
    It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that disconnects and gives you a hell of a time
    The AI on Hard are STUPIDLY good at minigames
    There's a lot of dice rolling and the AI on hard are ASTONISHINGLY good at getting good dice rolls.
    The AI even normally can and WILL do their BEST to steal everything you've ever worked for.
    There's a stupid annoying turtle with a hat and a horribly annoying laugh
    You wonder whether this is a good idea for getting subs or LOSING THEM.
    Overall a pretty aggravating game that I have only given a higher rating than a 6 to show that I'm not just hating Mario Party for the sake of hating Mario or Parties its just that other games make for better parties I find than this game.
    But all of this is just my opinion and I'm sure that everyone else thinks differently after all I'm not a Mario fan
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 52
    All of our complaints about previous games – the slow pace, the lackluster single-player affair, the loose attention to detail – all remain and with Mario Party 8 we can add another criticism: ignorance of the Wii remote.
  2. 55
    A really disappointing (but, as mentioned at the start of this review, inevitably still entertaining) Wii debut for the series. Perhaps the next game will truly take advantage of the Wii controls through and through.
  3. There are some good minigames in Mario Party 8, but the overly familiar, chance-heavy board game wrapper gets in their way.