User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 167
  2. Negative: 42 out of 167

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    6
    I liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finishI liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finish one game. That said, this game looks amazing and can be good fun to anyone looking for a long party board game. Mario Party 8 especially works well when you're playing with your friends. I'd say that Mario Party 8 is not by any means the best game of its time, but its decent and worth buying if you're a big Mario fan. Expand
  2. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved!Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved! It's all just chance! Nintendo needs to fix the errors that Hudson made and release a memorable ending to the series. Then, NEVER create a Mario Party game again. The minigames were good but most of them were things that have already been done before and getting pretty boring. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    The Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry in the series is a huge step backwards. An element of luck has always been required if you were to win but here it is taken to the extreme with stars no longer awarded post-game for winning the most mini-games or collecting the most coins. The mini-gamesThe Mario Party games have always provided plenty of multiplayer fun (although single player has always been dull) but this eighth entry in the series is a huge step backwards. An element of luck has always been required if you were to win but here it is taken to the extreme with stars no longer awarded post-game for winning the most mini-games or collecting the most coins. The mini-games themselves also lack the imagination of previous titles with the majority just requiring players the shake the Wiimote as fast as they can. Do yourself a favour and pick up either Mario Party 4 or the DS Version instead. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    I was wondering how this game could be so bad if it was created by Nintendo, but it turns out it was actually just published by the company and developed by Hudson. That explains why it's so dreadfully boring.
  5. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    No. i dont like this. it is mainly wrapped around a point and click basis, just because its on wii. it is a big failure on nintendo's part. AWESOME FAMILY FUN is not the lable for mp8 but rather for mp2.
  6. Jan 15, 2011
    6
    Its kinda fun at the beginning, but after a while it gets a little boring. This is really mostly for playing during a party, but i'm pretty sure i am not gonna play this during one.
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    i absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing ii absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing i saw when i looked at other people's reviews are the terrible graphics but honestly i think they are just like any other Mario game and honestly i think your standards are way to high if you are judging a Mario game on graphics because they are known for making fun games that people enjoy not for making works of art. on that note as i mentioned this game is tons of fun until you start to get bored of it then flaws that were forgivable are now very annoying such as there is no skill required what so ever except for a couple of mini games and this can be a little annoying but i guess they did this so people of all ages can play together and still have the little kids win sometimes. also the single player campaign mode is kind of a joke with a failed attempt at a boss battle that is so easy to do. there are also only 2 other unlockable characters but many other little things to get that you can buy after you have played for so long and you have enough cards from playing the game. if you get this game you had better have someone to play it with otherwise you will get bored of this game very quickly and will end up trading it in very quickly but if you play with a sibling or friend you will fall in love but then as you own the game for a bit you will start to get annoyed so i recomend you rent this game and dont spend $50 on it Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might beI remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might be a let-down. Expand
  9. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    This game is really slow but still has its parts the graphics are ok.this is not a game I would recommend it is not the best but it still has some good parts.
  10. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Its a good compilation of mini games that has a rather descent story mode and a fun multi-player experience. Using the Wii Remote adds in a small factor of motion game that could have been taken to another level.
  11. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    I don't know why so many people dislike this game, I love the minigames, every board is unique and the music is amazing. Even if single player gets boring try very hard mode once you unlock it and you'll get a challenge. This game should have been in the Wii launch games since it does an amazing job showing what the Wii can do.
  12. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome and so underrated! One of my first Wii games. The minigames are very fun. The graphics are good. The party mode is great. I really liked the fun bazaar and extras. Mario Party 8 one of my favourite Mario Party games and if you don't like MP8, you're silly as JB. You should definitely go and buy it.
  13. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    This game is friggin awesome. It was my first Wii Game and I conquered the whole game because it was that awesome and if you don't like MP8 you are silly as Justin Bieber. Why the heck is this game is under rated? WHY?! I love the Fun Bazzar,Minigame tent,and the maps are epic. The lucky space is my all time favourite spot to land on. I know it is 2015 but I recommend you pick it up.
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    3
    Mario Party 8 is a flat-out bad game. It comes nowhere near the franchise's peak (Mario Party 2) because the mini games have all taken a step backwards in terms of control. This was done to bring the Wii's motion controls into full effect. But basically speaking, they just don't work very well. They are so imprecise, that most of the time winning is a case of mere luck. It shouldn't beMario Party 8 is a flat-out bad game. It comes nowhere near the franchise's peak (Mario Party 2) because the mini games have all taken a step backwards in terms of control. This was done to bring the Wii's motion controls into full effect. But basically speaking, they just don't work very well. They are so imprecise, that most of the time winning is a case of mere luck. It shouldn't be titled 'Mario Party', it should be titled 'Thrash The Wiimote Around Randomly Party'. Utter drek. Expand
  15. Dec 24, 2010
    8
    I find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren'tI find this game is very underrated, this game is very enjoyable and I find that with four people or more playing this game is awesome. For all you hard core gamers out there who dislike all party games and only enjoy FPS's or RPG's then don't rate this game bad. As for me I don't play this game that much because the people I play with like FPS's so I keep MP8 for my friends who aren't good at FPS's. Expand
  16. May 25, 2011
    4
    Eight installments is enough. I played this, hoping to have a classic Mario Party formula, but I was really disappointed in the overall presentation. The minigames rely too much on luck rather than skill, and the graphics are a mixed bag. Some minigames have clunky and frequently unresponsive controls. Yes, there are a lot of unlockables, but those tend to be mostly sound tests. Lame.
  17. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    I gave Mario Party 8 a try at my friend's house and oh boy, this game disappointed me in many levels. I've enjoyed the Mario Party games in the past like Mario Party 3 on the N64 (one of my favourites from this Mario spin-off), but somehow this game left me with uninteresting junk in my loot bag for its tediously long board levels, dull mini-games and obnoxious computer A.I. Maybe kidsI gave Mario Party 8 a try at my friend's house and oh boy, this game disappointed me in many levels. I've enjoyed the Mario Party games in the past like Mario Party 3 on the N64 (one of my favourites from this Mario spin-off), but somehow this game left me with uninteresting junk in my loot bag for its tediously long board levels, dull mini-games and obnoxious computer A.I. Maybe kids under the age of 10 will enjoy playing this game, but no matter what, the fun will only last for less than 30 minutes in Mario Party 8. Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    Mario party started as a great game, but just got worse and worse, and than Mario Party 8 was released. I played all mario party games, and this is the only one i hated. The mini games are boring, the medieval party style (yeah, for me, that's what it seems) failed and even playing multiplayer is boring...Let's hope 9 is better...
  19. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Hey! It's circus time! Drop Super Mario Galaxy and ride down to one of the worst games of 2007! Play as disturbing chatacters, moan at boring activites, and smash your Wii to peices! It's all comin' down at Mario Party 8!
  20. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Apart from a few minigames, this game is so incredibly boring! And it is also so damn slow, just 1 turn takes several times longer than it should because of all the unnecessary in-game tips you get from the retarded host, who has to explain every minigame in detail over and over.
  21. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    The Mario Party series continues with Mario Party 8. While the graphics are not impressive, the party games are. Adding motion control to the games does add some variety.
  22. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Mario Party just sunk to a whole new level. As in any other Mario Party, you run around the party boards, throwing dice and landing on different spaces. It's just chance, with no strategy whatsoever, and it's always been a multiplayer experience. To be honest, it's often the party boards that let down mario party games, but at least the minigames were fun. The main problem with Mario PartyMario Party just sunk to a whole new level. As in any other Mario Party, you run around the party boards, throwing dice and landing on different spaces. It's just chance, with no strategy whatsoever, and it's always been a multiplayer experience. To be honest, it's often the party boards that let down mario party games, but at least the minigames were fun. The main problem with Mario Party 8 is how it tries to take advantage of the wii remote. In one minigame, you must shake the wiimote as fast as you can. Wow, so... fun. In other, you must control a chimp by flicking the wii remote, but controls are largely unresponsive. And some other minigames don't use the motion capabilities at all, and are just plain boring. It's needless to say playing on your own is terribly boring. Multiplayer isn't much good either, but at least it's slightly better. Just like any other Mario Party game, Mario Party 8 also features a 'story mode'. This is often actually fun because at least there's a goal to actually do something, unlike party mode. Except in Mario Party 8, it's terrible. Chance plays a bigger part than ever before, especially since minigames aren't even included in this mode. At the moment, I'm stuck on Boo's Haunted Hideway(and always will be beacause I've sold the game). Here the rooms are in a random pattern every time, and you don't know where anything is. There's alwaya a Whomp blocking a doorway somewhere, which requires you to pay coins to him to get past. Except once, the design was so bad, there was no way to get enough coins to pay Whomp, especially because of the 'no minigame' rule. There was only one coin space, so it took too long to possibly even get one star before the time ran out. This is the 'fun' you have in Mario Party 8. Expand
  23. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    This game is garbage. I know that this is a game for little kids but I played the all the Mario party games and this is one of the worst games out of the series! I remember the good days were the point was to get all the stars you can in twenty turns or twenty-five if you felt ballsy and hope that you are the player that killed Bowser. The game was really it is just unplayable. I hateThis game is garbage. I know that this is a game for little kids but I played the all the Mario party games and this is one of the worst games out of the series! I remember the good days were the point was to get all the stars you can in twenty turns or twenty-five if you felt ballsy and hope that you are the player that killed Bowser. The game was really it is just unplayable. I hate this game it deserves nothing less than what I gave it. The music is horrible, the idea for the game taking place at a carnival is just dumb, and the graphics look like garbage. This is horrible and i regret playing this game. Expand
  24. May 12, 2014
    0
    Why did I ask for this game for Christmas 2007? I liked the GameCube installments better..............CURSE YOU NINTENDO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  25. Jan 4, 2015
    4
    This game is a huge disappointment. I thinked that it would great, but it is so boring. The minigames are pretty fun but you need to play several super boring modes to enjoy them. To avoid this, there is the Free-Play mode; but you need to unlock the minigames in the Party mode (that is VERY boring) before playing them in Free-Play. I'm a fan of Mario Party series, but I think that this isThis game is a huge disappointment. I thinked that it would great, but it is so boring. The minigames are pretty fun but you need to play several super boring modes to enjoy them. To avoid this, there is the Free-Play mode; but you need to unlock the minigames in the Party mode (that is VERY boring) before playing them in Free-Play. I'm a fan of Mario Party series, but I think that this is the worst of the all. I highly recommend Mario Party 3 for Nintendo 64 instead of this. Mario Party 8 doesn't worth the $60 (R$199 in Brazil), except for die-hard fans. Expand
  26. Aug 23, 2011
    5
    Lets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PSLets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PS mentioned tittle. If you're a Wii owner don't get close to this bad tittle, do not even touch or even smell it . Expand
  27. May 1, 2012
    4
    This is definitly the worst mario party,the boards are extremely boring and also the minigames,they are just a few good minigames and also the visual effects, but in general the game is boring dont ever go to buy it,although it is the most sold
    but that doesnt mean is good is just BORING,Even in multiplayer.
  28. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    A mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot muchA mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot much better than this one, so go for them. Expand
  29. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    It 's a fun game in the series that uses the motion remote. There a many kind of candy during the game. And the boards are all different. With the Koopa hotel one standing out because of it unique gameplay. There a even three single player games.
  30. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    Okay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards theOkay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards the player with landing on a space that sends you back to the start, or making the CPU get a number that ultimately makes them win, no matter how big of a lead you had. All that changes when you play with friends, though, but this game destroys friendships if you lose your cool with it. Simply put, if you're playing alone, Mario Party 8 is just cheap. The amount of times that instances happen is so mind-blowing that you will soon find yourself throwing your controller against the wall. If you tend to have a short temper, don't touch this game. 5/10 Expand
  31. Apr 24, 2013
    2
    There's one thing you need to know about Mario Party 8 before you buy it be prepared to do a lot of reading during the game! The game has an incredibly irritating interface whereby it bombards you with constant information throughout the game which can only be cleared by pressing the A key. Consequently, you spend most of the time repeatedly pressing the A key to get rid of the constantThere's one thing you need to know about Mario Party 8 before you buy it be prepared to do a lot of reading during the game! The game has an incredibly irritating interface whereby it bombards you with constant information throughout the game which can only be cleared by pressing the A key. Consequently, you spend most of the time repeatedly pressing the A key to get rid of the constant barrage of messages. In fact before the game even starts you are forced to read through an endless parade of information boxes that end up making things more confusing and leaving you wondering when on earth this game is going to start. For a game aimed at kids as well as adults I fail to see how any child would have the patience to read through so much claptrap before the game begins, it really is that tedious.

    After reading what seems like a small book worth of instructions, the game finally starts. This is where the next level of frustration begins, as Mario Party 8 is based around you playing a boardgame that is little more than glorified snakes and ladders and has zero skill. Playing a game of luck against a human opponent has some element of short-term fun, but against the computer, forget it. As a single-player game, Mario Party 8 is a non-starter and will bore you witless very, very quickly.

    Against a human opponent the boardgames are entertaining for a while and give some genuine laughs but the lack of skill needed soon gets annoying and you find yourself yearning for the mini-games to break up the monotony. But playing a mini-game, like everything else, relies on luck, you have to just hope that a roll of the dice lands you on a square which puts you into a mini-game. When the mini-game starts, your relief from the tedium is often very short-lived as many of the mini-games are over in less than a minute, then it's back to the wretched boardgame again. Another annoying touch to the game is that there are many pre-set animations that you are forced to watch without any option of skipping them, this just adds to the frustration of the game.

    But what of the mini-games themselves? Well, many are actually very good, some are horrible, but generally they're good fun and well designed. Unfortunately some mini-games have to be unlocked which can only be achieved by success on the boardgames. So if you're willing to have your patience pushed to the limit it's possible to unlock them, but you'll probably end up deciding another session on the boardgames is too much to bear.

    Mario Party 8 is a huge opportunity missed. The idea of loads of simple but fun party games is a good one, but the game design does everything it can to stifle this through the constant stream of pointless information that interrupts the game, and the woeful boardgames. It would have been better to either make the boardgames more skill-based, or just get rid of them completely, and let people just play the mini-games.
    Expand
  32. May 3, 2013
    7
    This game has fun party mode the mini games are so exciting but can be boring to unlock. The mini games are the best part of the game. There are heaps of really cool characters. I play this with my little brother and we both enjoy it.
  33. May 24, 2013
    9
    Oh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first newOh it's flat down fun. Best with other friends & family. Still fun with one player! Graphics are terrific, others may insult them but that may be due to a slightly broken Wii (It may be damaged) or a rubbish TV. I have a 47 inch widescreen HD Philips flat screen. Characters are lovely, a great runner upon the series. I have been a fan of the series since MP 4 on the GameCube, my first new console (Had an old N64 from old brother). Just thrilling. The controls are great, a great game for all ages. Now, it wouldn't be Mario Party though without someone under 16 playing Like the rest, I totally recommend it. Now, mines scratched but not permanently and my store downtown fixes them for free, oh yeah. The characters are are a great selection. Another to my collection. Totally worth it. Expand
  34. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck" First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works. Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and
    Another great multiplayer game in another great Mario Party!

    I dont understand when reviewers give the series low scores because "The games are only decided by randomness and luck"

    First of all, that is a lie. It is true that you can get very lucky and win because of it, but that is part of how the game works.
    Secondly however, that is: There is a CHANCE that you can get lucky and win, it doesnt mean that is the majority of the games.
    There is a lot of strategy and planning, but generally, you will get an advantage by winning a lot of mini games.

    It is BS to call this game bad, and say it is solely based on luck.

    Must buy for Wii, 9 out of 10!
    Expand
  35. Apr 10, 2014
    5
    One thing that makes it enjoyable to play at is the board games but for the rest, they are dull and unenjoyable. The soundtrack is okay, the graphics are top-notched but the story is weak and cliche-ridden from other Mario game.
  36. Jan 17, 2015
    6
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party games, every turn seems to go on for an eternity, and is why I now know why 50 turn games used to take me all day, the board aren't very interesting, maybe due to the graphics being rather poor, and the rules of each board are kinder boring. The mini games are slow and the control is sloppy for the most part, none of the mini games are particularly exciting, the motion controls are very poorly used (and in some cases in some rather rude ways), and it can get quite boring.
    Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    be careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board gamebe careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board game where you play independently ima give this a shameful score Expand
  38. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    Mario Party 8 is the most recent Mario Party that's actually good (mario party 9 crappy gameplay). I enjoyed playing as hammer bro and blooper, but thought that the star carnival was very hard. Too many minigames were luck based. The pace was also too slow.
  39. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Playing the game without friends is well, meh. But get some friends to come over, and this game becomes exponentially more fun. Boring single-player, but the multiplayer is enough to make you consider buying this game.
  40. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games Its graphics are not as bad as the N64 There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9 Disadvantages It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games
    Its graphics are not as bad as the N64
    There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win
    There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9
    Disadvantages
    It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that disconnects and gives you a hell of a time
    The AI on Hard are STUPIDLY good at minigames
    There's a lot of dice rolling and the AI on hard are ASTONISHINGLY good at getting good dice rolls.
    The AI even normally can and WILL do their BEST to steal everything you've ever worked for.
    There's a stupid annoying turtle with a hat and a horribly annoying laugh
    You wonder whether this is a good idea for getting subs or LOSING THEM.
    Overall a pretty aggravating game that I have only given a higher rating than a 6 to show that I'm not just hating Mario Party for the sake of hating Mario or Parties its just that other games make for better parties I find than this game.
    But all of this is just my opinion and I'm sure that everyone else thinks differently after all I'm not a Mario fan
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 52
    All of our complaints about previous games – the slow pace, the lackluster single-player affair, the loose attention to detail – all remain and with Mario Party 8 we can add another criticism: ignorance of the Wii remote.
  2. 55
    A really disappointing (but, as mentioned at the start of this review, inevitably still entertaining) Wii debut for the series. Perhaps the next game will truly take advantage of the Wii controls through and through.
  3. There are some good minigames in Mario Party 8, but the overly familiar, chance-heavy board game wrapper gets in their way.