Mario Party 8 Wii

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 171
  2. Negative: 42 out of 171

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    6
    I liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finishI liked this game for a while, but once the usual "love a new game because it's new" feeling wears off, Mario Party 8 isn't too good. Yes, the graphics are great, but that does not make up for the fact that Mario Party 8 is among the worst of the Mario Party games. Too many minigames are based on luck, and this game tends to get very tedious after a while. It just takes too long to finish one game. That said, this game looks amazing and can be good fun to anyone looking for a long party board game. Mario Party 8 especially works well when you're playing with your friends. I'd say that Mario Party 8 is not by any means the best game of its time, but its decent and worth buying if you're a big Mario fan. Expand
  2. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved!Mario Party 7 was the highest point of interest for the series. It was probably the best game EVER for GameCube. Following the success comes Mario Party 8, which is a huge disappointment and a waste of time. It's all about luck. If you are in dead last with only 1 or 2 more turns, it's possible to jump all the way to 1st place and vice versa. That sucks. There is no skill invlolved! It's all just chance! Nintendo needs to fix the errors that Hudson made and release a memorable ending to the series. Then, NEVER create a Mario Party game again. The minigames were good but most of them were things that have already been done before and getting pretty boring. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    I was wondering how this game could be so bad if it was created by Nintendo, but it turns out it was actually just published by the company and developed by Hudson. That explains why it's so dreadfully boring.
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    No. i dont like this. it is mainly wrapped around a point and click basis, just because its on wii. it is a big failure on nintendo's part. AWESOME FAMILY FUN is not the lable for mp8 but rather for mp2.
  5. Jan 15, 2011
    6
    Its kinda fun at the beginning, but after a while it gets a little boring. This is really mostly for playing during a party, but i'm pretty sure i am not gonna play this during one.
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    i absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing ii absolutly loved this game when it first came out and since i have a brother this game offered hours of entertainment. but then it started to get boring even when playing with my brother. i didnt like playing by myself because it was always either too easy or too hard if you switch up the dificulty when playing with the COM so this is only playable with a friend or 2. the first thing i saw when i looked at other people's reviews are the terrible graphics but honestly i think they are just like any other Mario game and honestly i think your standards are way to high if you are judging a Mario game on graphics because they are known for making fun games that people enjoy not for making works of art. on that note as i mentioned this game is tons of fun until you start to get bored of it then flaws that were forgivable are now very annoying such as there is no skill required what so ever except for a couple of mini games and this can be a little annoying but i guess they did this so people of all ages can play together and still have the little kids win sometimes. also the single player campaign mode is kind of a joke with a failed attempt at a boss battle that is so easy to do. there are also only 2 other unlockable characters but many other little things to get that you can buy after you have played for so long and you have enough cards from playing the game. if you get this game you had better have someone to play it with otherwise you will get bored of this game very quickly and will end up trading it in very quickly but if you play with a sibling or friend you will fall in love but then as you own the game for a bit you will start to get annoyed so i recomend you rent this game and dont spend $50 on it Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might beI remember when the Mario party games used to be great...I only bought this game because I thought it was going to be as good as the really old games but sadly I was wrong. The minigames seem a bit overused at this point, and seem to be based mostly on luck, and the boards are just boring and there could have been a bigger character rooster too..If you love Mario Party games, this might be a let-down. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    This game is really slow but still has its parts the graphics are ok.this is not a game I would recommend it is not the best but it still has some good parts.
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Its a good compilation of mini games that has a rather descent story mode and a fun multi-player experience. Using the Wii Remote adds in a small factor of motion game that could have been taken to another level.
  10. AuntJemima
    Jun 1, 2007
    5
    EEEK! Let's just get the graphics out of the way first, they are flippin awful! Also seeing borders on my widescreen tv is just so tacky. Never played a Mario Party title before and figured the Wii would be a great place to start. The board games and apparently useless text pop-ins kill any chance at a nice flowing game. Apart from beeing extremely slow paced, everything feels random EEEK! Let's just get the graphics out of the way first, they are flippin awful! Also seeing borders on my widescreen tv is just so tacky. Never played a Mario Party title before and figured the Wii would be a great place to start. The board games and apparently useless text pop-ins kill any chance at a nice flowing game. Apart from beeing extremely slow paced, everything feels random and up to chance during board game play with no real benefit from winning the mini-games. Most of the mini-games are pretty boring with only a few that are any fun. No WiFi play, no mentionable single player mode, looks to be pretty much a direct port from previous versions...I thought this was supposed to be fun?! Expand
  11. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    The Mario Party series continues with Mario Party 8. While the graphics are not impressive, the party games are. Adding motion control to the games does add some variety.
  12. BlueFalcon
    Jun 6, 2007
    5
    I like the Mario Party formula, but they really aren't putting any effort into these anymore. The only thing new is how the mini games use the motion sensor now, but it's not that well done. Every other Mario Party I've played has been better than this one (3, 4, 5, and 7).
  13. John
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    I would not recommend this game to anybody. It is not a HORRIBLE game. But it is not fun. The 15 turn games even seem forever. 15x4= 60 freaking turns. I did give this a 5 because i would say that if you had a group of 3 or more it is fun. Maybe even the 1 on 1 with the comp. But mini games repeat a lot. I would recommend renting having some fun and brining it back before you say it I would not recommend this game to anybody. It is not a HORRIBLE game. But it is not fun. The 15 turn games even seem forever. 15x4= 60 freaking turns. I did give this a 5 because i would say that if you had a group of 3 or more it is fun. Maybe even the 1 on 1 with the comp. But mini games repeat a lot. I would recommend renting having some fun and brining it back before you say it starts getting bad. Expand
  14. ElieN
    Jun 29, 2007
    6
    Mario Party 8 is a pretty decent game but lacks longevity. The first 1 hour itMario Party 8 is a pretty decent game but lacks longevity. The first 1 hour it Expand
  15. JoeW.
    Jun 3, 2007
    7
    Having never played a Mario Party game before this, I'm mostly delighted with the Mario Party 8 experience. The mini-games aren't the best available for the Wii, but they are just part of the game. It's a board game - there is plenty of strategy, and the mini games in between just help keep it exciting. Some of the unlockable games like table tennis have good replay value Having never played a Mario Party game before this, I'm mostly delighted with the Mario Party 8 experience. The mini-games aren't the best available for the Wii, but they are just part of the game. It's a board game - there is plenty of strategy, and the mini games in between just help keep it exciting. Some of the unlockable games like table tennis have good replay value all by themselves. If the game had an online component, I'd give it an 8 or 9. It's a really fun party game to play with others, but just so-so if you are a party of one. Expand
  16. RachelY
    Jun 15, 2008
    5
    To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more than one person is gonna be playin' it, haha. It's great for 3+ people, it's a good laugh. A lot of it was based on luck, I've found, and sometimes the minigames take a while to figure what you actually have to do! Overall, the To be honest, I think it's an okay game... Easily not worth a 10, but it's not worth like a 2 either. Only buy it if you know more than one person is gonna be playin' it, haha. It's great for 3+ people, it's a good laugh. A lot of it was based on luck, I've found, and sometimes the minigames take a while to figure what you actually have to do! Overall, the game is alright - best on multiplayer. But if you are looking for a good one player AND multiplayer game, I recommend Mario &Sonic at the Olympic Games, or even Wii Sports! Expand
  17. DeniseR.
    Aug 19, 2007
    7
    Not as good as previous versions, but still a fun group game.
  18. Aug 23, 2011
    5
    Lets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PSLets start with the basics, Game Pro giving this stupid tittle a 90 or better said a 9? what in the world did this guys even thought about the same repetitive/copy paste garbage of all time. Oh the irony, they gave infamous 2 a mixed score and this gets a 90, okay maybe you can call me a fan-boy etc, but when it comes to originality, improvement, fresh ideas the merit goes to the PS mentioned tittle. If you're a Wii owner don't get close to this bad tittle, do not even touch or even smell it . Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    5
    A mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot muchA mess in a total way, Mario Party 8 looks great but that's it, it's just one of the most disappointing games I've ever played. After playing it for a while it becomes very tedious, with based-lucky minigames and annoying music. However, the game is very enjoyable with friends but I don't recommend it for anyone who wants to play it alone. Also, previous Mario Party games were a lot much better than this one, so go for them. Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    Okay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards theOkay, Nintendo really hit a stumbling block with this one. The minigames are okay, but some are very annoying(Rotation Station) and some are just bad(Ion the Prize, Saucer Swarm). Also, there is, as per usual, the luck based minigames, which I feel like there are too much of. There are very few instances where luck is used in your favor. Around 95% of the time, the computer rewards the player with landing on a space that sends you back to the start, or making the CPU get a number that ultimately makes them win, no matter how big of a lead you had. All that changes when you play with friends, though, but this game destroys friendships if you lose your cool with it. Simply put, if you're playing alone, Mario Party 8 is just cheap. The amount of times that instances happen is so mind-blowing that you will soon find yourself throwing your controller against the wall. If you tend to have a short temper, don't touch this game. 5/10 Expand
  21. May 3, 2013
    7
    This game has fun party mode the mini games are so exciting but can be boring to unlock. The mini games are the best part of the game. There are heaps of really cool characters. I play this with my little brother and we both enjoy it.
  22. Apr 10, 2014
    5
    One thing that makes it enjoyable to play at is the board games but for the rest, they are dull and unenjoyable. The soundtrack is okay, the graphics are top-notched but the story is weak and cliche-ridden from other Mario game.
  23. Jan 17, 2015
    6
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party
    The first party game I ever played, I loved this game for years and years but stopped playing it for a long time, and when I came back to it, I found it wasn't the awesome game I remembered.
    The most notable problem is that the game runs in 4:3 for all the games, whereas menus all run in 16:9, which is very annoying. The games themselves seem to drag more than in previous Mario Party games, every turn seems to go on for an eternity, and is why I now know why 50 turn games used to take me all day, the board aren't very interesting, maybe due to the graphics being rather poor, and the rules of each board are kinder boring. The mini games are slow and the control is sloppy for the most part, none of the mini games are particularly exciting, the motion controls are very poorly used (and in some cases in some rather rude ways), and it can get quite boring.
    Expand
  24. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    be careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board gamebe careful about this game cause even though it sucks at least it has a board game where you play independtly and you can use items shoot mario party 9 is a REALL LET DOWN IT HAS NO T BOARD GAME THATS LETS YOU PLAY INDEPENDTLY AND YOU RIDE WITH YOUR F*UCKING RIVALS and coins shops and items don't exist in mario party 9 so since this is like the last mario party on wii that has a board game where you play independently ima give this a shameful score Expand
  25. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    Mario Party 8 is the most recent Mario Party that's actually good (mario party 9 crappy gameplay). I enjoyed playing as hammer bro and blooper, but thought that the star carnival was very hard. Too many minigames were luck based. The pace was also too slow.
  26. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Playing the game without friends is well, meh. But get some friends to come over, and this game becomes exponentially more fun. Boring single-player, but the multiplayer is enough to make you consider buying this game.
  27. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games Its graphics are not as bad as the N64 There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9 Disadvantages It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that
    Game sometimes is not as bad as some say but definitely has problems
    Mario Party 8 advantages
    It plays like a board game with some degree of strategy like all other Mario Party games
    Its graphics are not as bad as the N64
    There are exciting minigames where you have to battle to win
    There's no stupid cart from Mario Party 9
    Disadvantages
    It involves using the Stupid Wiimote that disconnects and gives you a hell of a time
    The AI on Hard are STUPIDLY good at minigames
    There's a lot of dice rolling and the AI on hard are ASTONISHINGLY good at getting good dice rolls.
    The AI even normally can and WILL do their BEST to steal everything you've ever worked for.
    There's a stupid annoying turtle with a hat and a horribly annoying laugh
    You wonder whether this is a good idea for getting subs or LOSING THEM.
    Overall a pretty aggravating game that I have only given a higher rating than a 6 to show that I'm not just hating Mario Party for the sake of hating Mario or Parties its just that other games make for better parties I find than this game.
    But all of this is just my opinion and I'm sure that everyone else thinks differently after all I'm not a Mario fan
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. 52
    All of our complaints about previous games – the slow pace, the lackluster single-player affair, the loose attention to detail – all remain and with Mario Party 8 we can add another criticism: ignorance of the Wii remote.
  2. 55
    A really disappointing (but, as mentioned at the start of this review, inevitably still entertaining) Wii debut for the series. Perhaps the next game will truly take advantage of the Wii controls through and through.
  3. There are some good minigames in Mario Party 8, but the overly familiar, chance-heavy board game wrapper gets in their way.