Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in a vehicle towards a common goal - overcoming obstacles, battling bosses, and collecting Mini Stars stolen by Bowser™ and his minions. Featuring 80 new minigames, adventurous new stages, and all-new ways to play that blend cooperative and competitive action for up to four players*, Mario Party 9 is the perfect way to get the party started. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    91
    The Mario Party series might be a bit long in the tooth, but it shouldn't be counted out; there have been enough tweaks and changes to keep things interesting and the minigames are as fun as ever.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    Mario Party 9 is yet another great opportunity to have a great time playing with your family and friends. It is a very approachable game that players with few experience in videogames can enjoy, although not as much as Wii Party. Mario Party 9 is midway between minigames compilations for experts and those for beginners and achieves to offer a very fun experience.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Seasoned Party-goers and newcomers looking for an entry point into the prolific franchise, however, should consider crashing Mario's latest shindig.
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    75
    Mario Party 9 features less motion control, fewer board-game rules, and more of a videogame feel, but there's still plenty left to chance. Those waiting for a full-scale overhaul will have to wait a little longer.
  5. 70
    Nice party game is filled with large amounts of enjoyable mini-games – the only cons are the great dependency on luck and missing online multiplayer. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    A true renaissance for this Nintendo's franchise. The new modes will up the challenge and you'll have a good time, especially if you invite your friends over to your house. Too bad there's no online mode.
  7. Apr 18, 2012
    50
    There's little reason for the lonely man to pick this up. [Issue#121, p.117]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 10 out of 39
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Collapse
  2. NSM
    Jul 2, 2012
    9
    Nintendo is back after a long absence with the Mario Party series! This time, they've changed the gameplay, having all players ride in a car and compete for the most mini stars, and avoiding mini ztars. Although some people might not like the change and prefer to old style, I think it is a great change. The character roster in the game is good, with great additions like Shy Guy and Koopa. Shy Guy and Magikoopa can be unlocked through Challenge Mode, where you must play against the computers and try to get the most mini stars back. The stages in this game are fun. One good one are Magma Mine which involves you running away from the rising lava levels in order to not lose mini stars. A new feature is boss battles. I personally love them, and they are really fun with friends. The best part of the game are the minigames. They are unforgettable, and actually feel "mario like" unlike some titles in the past *cough* Mario Party 8 *cough*. The Minigame Modes are the best of any, especially Choice Challenge. You won't be disappointed with Mario Party 9! Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overall nice looking environment with great music. Overall this game gets a 9 and really is worth your money! Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    Well... it's Mario Party. The last Mario Party I player was the original on the N64 so coming at it from that standpoint it's fairly different in terms of mechanics but the experience is more or less the same. It's a good party game and a good game to make fun of as you play it, or for little kids who don't care about the inherent absurdity of the Mario universe. If you are in the mood for Mario Party, then this is a thing for purchasing and it is Mario Party so perhaps it should be purchased by you. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    This Game is better than the last installment. Mario Party 8 had me falling sleep while we play 4P. The Graphics are slightly polished compared to 8 also, its smooth to play. Loading times aren't too slow and the game is solid, Great addition to any collection... Just burn 8 when you get this.

    BTW, this one isn't made by Hudson its made from a different company, so far so good.
    Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    Be careful what you wish for because this is not no Mario party its lucky party. Why because you have no choice but just to go to one direction. Already displeasing alot of the fans. To make this worse no items a present other than dice blocks. Once again displeasing many fans. Even the events should displease some because one bad luck strike and it over. Most injurys lead to losing half of even all your mini stars. Also this game is also known for trolling because you can purposely lead your foes into many hazards. No question this game sucks with nothing to brag but amazing minigames and graphics. This game cared so much about it's minigame that it practically destroyed the game. Got one part need the board part. That's why I'm splitting the score in half. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    Yet another absolute insult from Nintendo to fans of videogames. Because the Wii is such a terrible system, I never touch mine, but I got stuck for what felt like 100 hours playing this worthless piece of crap at a friends house. How Nintendo continues to make money on this stuff is way beyond me. It is basically the same game as the first one, again, and yet manages to be even less fun. Nintendo, I am embarrassed to be a fan of an industry that you exist in. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.