Mario Party 9 Wii

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in aThe party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in a vehicle towards a common goal - overcoming obstacles, battling bosses, and collecting Mini Stars stolen by Bowser™ and his minions. Featuring 80 new minigames, adventurous new stages, and all-new ways to play that blend cooperative and competitive action for up to four players*, Mario Party 9 is the perfect way to get the party started. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    91
    The Mario Party series might be a bit long in the tooth, but it shouldn't be counted out; there have been enough tweaks and changes to keep things interesting and the minigames are as fun as ever.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    Mario Party 9 is yet another great opportunity to have a great time playing with your family and friends. It is a very approachable game that players with few experience in videogames can enjoy, although not as much as Wii Party. Mario Party 9 is midway between minigames compilations for experts and those for beginners and achieves to offer a very fun experience.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Seasoned Party-goers and newcomers looking for an entry point into the prolific franchise, however, should consider crashing Mario's latest shindig.
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    75
    Mario Party 9 features less motion control, fewer board-game rules, and more of a videogame feel, but there's still plenty left to chance. Those waiting for a full-scale overhaul will have to wait a little longer.
  5. 70
    Nice party game is filled with large amounts of enjoyable mini-games – the only cons are the great dependency on luck and missing online multiplayer. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    A true renaissance for this Nintendo's franchise. The new modes will up the challenge and you'll have a good time, especially if you invite your friends over to your house. Too bad there's no online mode.
  7. Apr 18, 2012
    50
    There's little reason for the lonely man to pick this up. [Issue#121, p.117]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario partyGreat game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Collapse
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Wow! I am very impressed.I love the new game style. In a nut shell you and your opponent will travel together in a vehicle and go after whatsWow! I am very impressed.I love the new game style. In a nut shell you and your opponent will travel together in a vehicle and go after whats called "Mini stars" and whoever has the most "Mini Stars" at the end of the round wins. There are many ways to obtain the stars such as randomly landing on space,mini games victories,and bonus stars giving at the end of the round. At the end of the round your final star count will resemble close to a basketball final score. For example last nights go at it had had a final score of 71 mini stars to 52. Which IMO is way better than 4 stars to 1 star that the older versions had. Gives you a chance for a last minute run or comeback.
    I can see if you are used to the old style turn based version this might upset you at first, but if you were one the unlucky peeps out here who had to endure the pitifull and painfull "Mario Party 8"you are more then ok with the changes. If it is really driving you crazy I would suggest picking up 4,5,6 for the gamecube for a couple bucks on ebay.
    Pros: better graphics,less frustrating,an option so you can play a round with just you and your friends(no computer opponents), strategic dice rolling decisions (you can use dice that go up to 6 or even as low as 1),motion plus minigames,after every round you earn party points so you can purchase unlockable, in the "extras" portion theres like 4 wii ware style games which are easy,fun,and addicting like castle crumblers which is sorta like bust a move/dr.mario hybrid, and gomba bowling which speaks for its self
    Cons: The mini-games are a tad confusing at first,the music can get annoying, no online but that comes as no suprise,if you were fan of the turn based versions this might take you aback at first,wish there were more characters and levels; only 10guys and 6 worlds seems a little light, has a feel of a wii u prototype at times(remember when the old nes games at the end of there run started looking like scaled down snes games?, hard to explain but some of you will know what i mean), terrible first player games but they all have that problem hence "party" you will need some friends over to fully enjoy, computer cheapness as usually, and random luck.

    Overall I give this game a 9 on the fact that it can only be enjoyed with the company of others, and the sound track is annoying,everything else about the game is great.

    hardcore fans of the turnbase style might rank it lower, but if your new to mario party you will probably enjoy this take on it better.
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overallThis game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overall nice looking environment with great music. Overall this game gets a 9 and really is worth your money! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Mario Party 8 should've benefited from motion control, but instead it implemented it in lots of lousy ways, including minigames that requiredMario Party 8 should've benefited from motion control, but instead it implemented it in lots of lousy ways, including minigames that required you to pump your arm up and down the fastest.
    Mario Party 9 gets the balance right- motion control is never vigorous, but used in interesting ways in minigames. Also, figuring 10 mario parties were a bit too many, Nintendo drastically changed the rules. Part of Mario Party 8's problem was that it was too similar to the other mario party games.
    In Party 9, all players travel in a vehicle alltogether along a one-way board. When someone gets a six, the vehicle- and all of the players- will move six spaces. Byt the space landed on will only affect the person who threw the dice. The aim is different too: instead of collecting stars using coins, mini stars dotted around the board in clumps of 2-10 are the prizes, and they are also the prizes for minigames- no coins in Mario Party 9. And the player who rolled the dice is the person who collects those mini stars when the vehicle passes through them. Once the vehicle reaches the end of the board, a boss is fought, and the person who dealt the most hits wins mini satrs. This change in formula makes Mario Party 9 feel radically different from the rest of the mario partys. It's also what changed my scores for this game from a 5 to a 7. Each party board has a different theme and several twists that make it different and enjoyable. There is chance in Party 9, but it rarely angers because there's more strategy on the boards with the new formula, and the minigames are great skilful fun too. That said, there was the odd chance minigame, which was annoying. The boards really get the balance though, so no-one is unfairly treated.
    The minigames are great fun, but many don't use the motion sensing, which was unusual. But not using it at all is better than abusing it like in Mario Party 8.
    Though Mario Party 9 is awesome with friends, the same can't be said for single player. Solo (story) mode is actually, unusually, fun however, so single play isn't as bad as in Party 8.
    Additional to the main games, there are special minigame challenges that combine minigames with extra strategy. I found most of these to be quite lame apart from choice challenge.
    Mario Party 9 is great with friends, an 8/10 for that. But single player included, it's not AS good. Still, with company, this is a must-have party game.
    Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Having played every Mario party game made, I can safely say that finally - after some real stinkers (Yeah, I'm pointing right at your MarioHaving played every Mario party game made, I can safely say that finally - after some real stinkers (Yeah, I'm pointing right at your Mario party 8) - Nintendo has finally broken the chain with this near classic new take on Mario Party. While it's not perfect, this is as good as any Mario party game could be at this point in the series. The mini games do feel like a bit of a rehash on older versions of the game, but the fresh take on the boards and interactions will quickly make you forget. If you like Mario Party, pick it up. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    6
    Now, I love Mario Party... Ever since the first Mario Party. But Mario Party 9 just threw me WAY off. With the car function. I liked the oldNow, I love Mario Party... Ever since the first Mario Party. But Mario Party 9 just threw me WAY off. With the car function. I liked the old format seen in the previous eight games, ya know, get coins to collect the stars. Now it's all, weird...(?) You collect these new Mini Stars. http://www.mariowiki.com/images/thumb/1/1c/Ministar.png/201px-Ministar.png ( Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS!!! This is the WORST video game EVER! They took out stars and coins and replaced them with MINI STARS! The courses END insteadTHIS GAME SUCKS!!! This is the WORST video game EVER! They took out stars and coins and replaced them with MINI STARS! The courses END instead of having a certain amount of turns! The minigames SUCK!!!!!!! Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.