Mario Party 9 Wii

Mario Party 9 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in aThe party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in a vehicle towards a common goal - overcoming obstacles, battling bosses, and collecting Mini Stars stolen by Bowser™ and his minions. Featuring 80 new minigames, adventurous new stages, and all-new ways to play that blend cooperative and competitive action for up to four players*, Mario Party 9 is the perfect way to get the party started. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    91
    The Mario Party series might be a bit long in the tooth, but it shouldn't be counted out; there have been enough tweaks and changes to keep things interesting and the minigames are as fun as ever.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    Mario Party 9 is yet another great opportunity to have a great time playing with your family and friends. It is a very approachable game that players with few experience in videogames can enjoy, although not as much as Wii Party. Mario Party 9 is midway between minigames compilations for experts and those for beginners and achieves to offer a very fun experience.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Seasoned Party-goers and newcomers looking for an entry point into the prolific franchise, however, should consider crashing Mario's latest shindig.
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    75
    Mario Party 9 features less motion control, fewer board-game rules, and more of a videogame feel, but there's still plenty left to chance. Those waiting for a full-scale overhaul will have to wait a little longer.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 25, 2012
    70
    Nice party game is filled with large amounts of enjoyable mini-games – the only cons are the great dependency on luck and missing online multiplayer. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    A true renaissance for this Nintendo's franchise. The new modes will up the challenge and you'll have a good time, especially if you invite your friends over to your house. Too bad there's no online mode.
  7. games(TM)
    Apr 18, 2012
    50
    There's little reason for the lonely man to pick this up. [Issue#121, p.117]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario partyGreat game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2016
    9
    Mario Party 9 was great making a excelent use of motion controls to all new kind of games, the boards get a bit lame if you already playedMario Party 9 was great making a excelent use of motion controls to all new kind of games, the boards get a bit lame if you already played then before, but completing the ''story'' mode and going by all of then is very fun, and made me laugh a lot with my friends ... if you got friend to come by, and play wii, be sure to have a copy of Mario Party 9 by your side ... Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overallThis game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overall nice looking environment with great music. Overall this game gets a 9 and really is worth your money! Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2014
    7
    mario party 9 is my favourite game in the series it changed the formula entirely it has the best minigames, boards and introduced my 2ndmario party 9 is my favourite game in the series it changed the formula entirely it has the best minigames, boards and introduced my 2nd favourite mario character shy guy Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Having played every Mario party game made, I can safely say that finally - after some real stinkers (Yeah, I'm pointing right at your MarioHaving played every Mario party game made, I can safely say that finally - after some real stinkers (Yeah, I'm pointing right at your Mario party 8) - Nintendo has finally broken the chain with this near classic new take on Mario Party. While it's not perfect, this is as good as any Mario party game could be at this point in the series. The mini games do feel like a bit of a rehash on older versions of the game, but the fresh take on the boards and interactions will quickly make you forget. If you like Mario Party, pick it up. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2016
    6
    The car ride is terrible cause it takes away the purpose of competing. The minigames are mediocre to alright. The boards are meh and theThe car ride is terrible cause it takes away the purpose of competing. The minigames are mediocre to alright. The boards are meh and the controls are meh. Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS!!! This is the WORST video game EVER! They took out stars and coins and replaced them with MINI STARS! The courses END insteadTHIS GAME SUCKS!!! This is the WORST video game EVER! They took out stars and coins and replaced them with MINI STARS! The courses END instead of having a certain amount of turns! The minigames SUCK!!!!!!! Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012