Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in aThe party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in a vehicle towards a common goal - overcoming obstacles, battling bosses, and collecting Mini Stars stolen by Bowser™ and his minions. Featuring 80 new minigames, adventurous new stages, and all-new ways to play that blend cooperative and competitive action for up to four players*, Mario Party 9 is the perfect way to get the party started. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    91
    The Mario Party series might be a bit long in the tooth, but it shouldn't be counted out; there have been enough tweaks and changes to keep things interesting and the minigames are as fun as ever.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    Mario Party 9 is yet another great opportunity to have a great time playing with your family and friends. It is a very approachable game that players with few experience in videogames can enjoy, although not as much as Wii Party. Mario Party 9 is midway between minigames compilations for experts and those for beginners and achieves to offer a very fun experience.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Seasoned Party-goers and newcomers looking for an entry point into the prolific franchise, however, should consider crashing Mario's latest shindig.
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    75
    Mario Party 9 features less motion control, fewer board-game rules, and more of a videogame feel, but there's still plenty left to chance. Those waiting for a full-scale overhaul will have to wait a little longer.
  5. 70
    Nice party game is filled with large amounts of enjoyable mini-games – the only cons are the great dependency on luck and missing online multiplayer. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    A true renaissance for this Nintendo's franchise. The new modes will up the challenge and you'll have a good time, especially if you invite your friends over to your house. Too bad there's no online mode.
  7. Apr 18, 2012
    50
    There's little reason for the lonely man to pick this up. [Issue#121, p.117]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario partyGreat game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Great game, I am really happy of it and I'm waiting mario party 10 for wii u Expand
  2. May 24, 2015
    9
    Where to start... Okay, I'll start by saying this is one of my favorite Mario Parties and I've been a fan of the series since the veryWhere to start... Okay, I'll start by saying this is one of my favorite Mario Parties and I've been a fan of the series since the very beginning. The new vehicle mechanic is genius and always shakes things up. The graphics are wonderful and the boards are lots of fun. Now I see many arguing about how this game is too luck based. I will agree to an extent and it's why I don't give this game a 10. It's mainly because of the final board on solo mode (it was very hard). The boss battles themselves were luck based which I think is not the best idea. Many of the other boss battles are skill based though. That's my only gripe. Now the complaints about no strategy anymore? That's a bad argument. There are lots of mini games in each board but the board itself plays a major role in who wins. Thoughtful planning and strategizing with your rolls is required to mess with other people since everyone moves together. All in all, my friends and I have had an absolute blast with this game and it's always a fun drinking game that we turn to. It's great for casual gamers and for drinking games as well. The boo mansion board is quite possibly my favorite board in all of the Mario party franchise. Sure some games are luck based and even some parts of the board but Mario Party has always been known for that. Strategy is still there. Don't let anyone make you think it's not. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overallThis game is amazing and it's very fun as you will experience hours of fun mini games, great multiplayer, challenging bosses, and an overall nice looking environment with great music. Overall this game gets a 9 and really is worth your money! Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Mario Party 9 is a refreshing twist on the formula the series is known for. Players travel on a vehicle together (adding a welcome element ofMario Party 9 is a refreshing twist on the formula the series is known for. Players travel on a vehicle together (adding a welcome element of strategy), and battle bosses toward a board's end. The 82 minigames are mostly great, but unfortunately games can still often come down to luck and some lousy motion controls let the game down, which can particularly make the 1P story mode a chore. Otherwise, the game provides a fantastic local multiplayer experience for people of all skill levels. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    I remember seeing the trailer and i was so excited for this game but when it came out I was very disappointed. The minigames are still fun andI remember seeing the trailer and i was so excited for this game but when it came out I was very disappointed. The minigames are still fun and the boss battles are very fun, but what makes me only give this game a 7 is the bus where every character has to stand in instead of everyone going independently on the board. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    It's not as good as the games from the previous series and some games are only about the luck factor. The Garden Minigame option is very cool one
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    Yet another absolute insult from Nintendo to fans of videogames. Because the Wii is such a terrible system, I never touch mine, but I gotYet another absolute insult from Nintendo to fans of videogames. Because the Wii is such a terrible system, I never touch mine, but I got stuck for what felt like 100 hours playing this worthless piece of crap at a friends house. How Nintendo continues to make money on this stuff is way beyond me. It is basically the same game as the first one, again, and yet manages to be even less fun. Nintendo, I am embarrassed to be a fan of an industry that you exist in. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.