• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2011
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games may not do either universe justice when it comes to their distinctive gameplay or graphic styles. However, the use of London landmarks and actual event venues makes for a colourful diversion with more than enough variety to keep the kids happy.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    58
    As a party game, London Games succeeds rarely, but its implementation of recognizable (and unrecognizable) characters from Mario and Sonic is perfect. It definitely has all of your favorite characters in it, but that's not enough of a reason to play.
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    50
    It may offer some fun as a party game, but there is nothing extraordinary here. The controls remind us why motion gaming has been considered by many as a "gimmick" and the design is fairly unremarkable.
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    Passable fluff. [Issue#117, p.126]
  5. Dec 7, 2011
    50
    What felt fresh and enjoyable four years ago doesn't cut the mustard in 2011, particularly when some elements have been stripped out or reworked to poor effect. London Party mode is a poor alternative to the dozens of superior Wii party games, and while its cast of gaming greats is enough to forgive some of its mistakes it's still pretty far off the mark.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    50
    Still the least interesting inter-company crossover ever conceived and still just an outdated and unambitious mini-game compendium.
  7. Dec 7, 2011
    48
    Past the novelty of seeing the duo together in another game, Mario & Sonic's latest Olympic outing has little going for it in general. The mini-games suffer from dated controls at a point in the Wii's life where MotionPlus has become the standard, and with so many superior collections out there, this one's just plain hard to recommend.
  8. Dec 14, 2011
    35
    Bad games happen all the time, and so do brand-extending cash-grabs. But when a game is this blatant in how it wants to take consumers' money-by mashing up long-standing franchises with mostly solid reputations-it's cause for disgust.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    The game is okay but not great ... excellent graphics, but the game certainly offers a bit of Sonic characters, and I, Sonic, I think there are too many stories and characters useless. Otherwise average game because there is no story mode! (Finally, a short story mode, and again ...) Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    In the latest installment of the Mario and Sonic series we see the two mascots head off at the summer Olympics once again but unlike the original this game has much more to offer. The graphics in the game are very well done and the music for the regular Olympic events (if listened closely) gives you a Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 feel. The Dream Events are where everything gets much more interesting, in the Dream Events you explore areas from both the Mario and Sonic series exploring areas from your favorite games such as Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Sonic Adventure 2. The game also provide remixes of themes that you know and love and many of these remixed themes can be unlocked through the game which gives you some nice replay value. Also the game introduces London Party Mode and in this mode you participate in quite a few mini-games in a fashion similar to the Mario Party games and you can also fight rivals who are from both series such as Jet the Hawk and Birdo. This game has plenty to offer and it includes tons of unlockables like Mii Costumes specifically made for this game, i would recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii cause trust me you will enjoy this and i would recommend picking up the 3DS version when its released as well because that version will be even more fun then the Wii version with its inclusion of new events and a story mode! Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    I got two games this month and this was one of them. It's pretty fun! My cousins have been over and we have been playing the other game I got more so I'm kind of scoring this game against the other. But we did play Mario & Sonic enough to have a good time. If you like playing with other people I think this one is good to have. Full Review »