• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2011
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    I got two games this month and this was one of them. It's pretty fun! My cousins have been over and we have been playing the other game I got more so I'm kind of scoring this game against the other. But we did play Mario & Sonic enough to have a good time. If you like playing with other people I think this one is good to have.
  2. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    The game is okay but not great ... excellent graphics, but the game certainly offers a bit of Sonic characters, and I, Sonic, I think there are too many stories and characters useless. Otherwise average game because there is no story mode! (Finally, a short story mode, and again ...)
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    This 'new' mario and sonic game is, uh, not that new at all. Most of the sports are from the original mario and sonic at the olympic games, but with little tweaks. Some of them, I have to admit, put the wii's motion-sensing to good use, but those are rare. The thing is, we've had two mario and sonic olympic crossovers now, one winter, one normal. So this one's simply taking concepts fromThis 'new' mario and sonic game is, uh, not that new at all. Most of the sports are from the original mario and sonic at the olympic games, but with little tweaks. Some of them, I have to admit, put the wii's motion-sensing to good use, but those are rare. The thing is, we've had two mario and sonic olympic crossovers now, one winter, one normal. So this one's simply taking concepts from the original and simply improving them. There's lots of fun to be had here, but the same could be had in the original.
    Minigames are generally designed well and are great in multiplayer.
    As well as the main events, there are so-called 'dream events', which are different takes on a particular sport, but done in a way that wouldn't be possible in real life. It's a good idea, but for a lot of the minigames, you can't even tell which sport they're meant to be like, making them feel like mario party minigames or something. Regardless of that, they are a lot of fun, despite being a little too cluttered.
    There's also a multiplayer mode that takes place in London, which has you run around in a miniature model of the city. Every so often you play minigames, but a lot of it involves playing in London. You need to do your best there to shift the tide over to you. But this mode is simply lacking in ideas and is tedious to play.
    Mario and Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games isn't a bad game, but it doesn't do much to distinguish itself from the original.
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    This series keeps adding new stuff to make it better and usually I like that but for this game it just seems to be too much like the first game just with some new stuff.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. 70
    Rich collection of sport mini games is the best for short sessions thanks to its variability and agility. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    50
    It may offer some fun as a party game, but there is nothing extraordinary here. The controls remind us why motion gaming has been considered by many as a "gimmick" and the design is fairly unremarkable.
  3. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Mario & Sonic: Third time is the charm. This olympic game is by far the best application published under the Mario & Sonic franchise. The mini games are well executed and the regular sports are topped off with fantastic dream sports. Although there's still not enough content for long lasting sporting mayhem, the presentation is far better than in the two previous installments. [Jan 2012]