User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 114
  2. Negative: 5 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Brilliant! I love it so much I cannot wait to go online. It's challenging, great music, awesome "specials" and sweet, sweet violence. Replay value is very high. Highly recommended.
  2. DanB.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    Amazing sequel to the first game, Charged has lots packed into it. Improved graphics, great gameplay, and I especially like picking individual sidekicks. Can't wait until I get it online.
  3. myset
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Great game, music rocks. Basically improves on every aspect compared to the original. I highly recomend this game. Only minus point is that the online connections lag from time to time.
  4. Anonymous
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game is really addicting and fun when playing multiplayer or online. The skill shots for the different characters is great and keeps you smiling, and 'The Road to the Striker Cup' gets harder as it goes on, overall great game, highly recommended. However, my score is one of a perfect 10 because the clips can get repetative when playing single player, although try not let This game is really addicting and fun when playing multiplayer or online. The skill shots for the different characters is great and keeps you smiling, and 'The Road to the Striker Cup' gets harder as it goes on, overall great game, highly recommended. However, my score is one of a perfect 10 because the clips can get repetative when playing single player, although try not let that annoy you, and go out there now and buy this game! Expand
  5. Kaliman
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. The action is fast and furious! The wiimote is cleverly used to stop megastrikes. The game excels going online. The feeling of beating a human opponent is so sweet!
  6. GeneralSmiley
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Really amazing multiplayer.
  7. MC2009C
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Charged greatly improves upon the gameplay in the first Strikers, and introduces concepts such as character statistics, sidekick abilities, and, most notably, online co-op play.
  8. SamJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Its an excellent game. probably the best mario sports game. its amazing how long the game can keep you hooked. the graphics are good.awesome multiplayer. nice work nintendo.
  9. DouglasM.
    Dec 20, 2007
    9
    If I had to choose only one game to have for the Wii, it would be Mario Strikers Charged. You will play it for years. In Multiplayer style, of course.
  10. DuncanL.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    This is a fantastic game. Great learning curve and the online mode is superb.
  11. AliS.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    It really is not a football game, it is a wild and fast paced ball game. Playing solo isn't that interesting and the high score I gave is for multiplayer. The first hour or so may not be that great, but you will be hooked!
  12. DarwinP.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Deeper, more competitive and flashier than the first - and plus its now online! The perfect Wi-Fi launch title.
  13. RazR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    This game is fantastic! The mechanics within this game are simple to learn, however, with a large learning curve hours can be spent trying to learn and incorporate new skills including chip shot, tackle, and so forth. The graphics are detailed and deserve recognition - each character has facial details which can cause amusement. The lighting is fantastic and the special effects are This game is fantastic! The mechanics within this game are simple to learn, however, with a large learning curve hours can be spent trying to learn and incorporate new skills including chip shot, tackle, and so forth. The graphics are detailed and deserve recognition - each character has facial details which can cause amusement. The lighting is fantastic and the special effects are magnificent (see exploding within the game). The gameplay is superb that has many levels of mastery which can be both enjoyable for beginners and pros, with learners being able to win if they pull off the right move. The sounds including characters never become annoying, but rather appropriate and effective. Events including when mario gets burnt are very humorous, but make sure it doesent make you laugh too hard or the battle might be turned on its head! This is definately a righteous return for Mario in what is revolutionary in that not only does it make a loborious and stagnant sport such as football to be fun, but also changes Nintendos main characters to be moody and agressive. This game with no doubt deserves the 10/10 i have awarded it. Expand
  14. MattR.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Ian I. What are you talking about? Mario Strikers Charged rarely uses the wiimotes sensors, and when it does that is only for "Megastrikes" and I have found the motion sensing for that spot-on. Also for tackling, but you shake the remote to do that, so if you have problems with that, wow. Anyway, I have to say that this game is FANTASTIC! The single player was the biggest challenge I have Ian I. What are you talking about? Mario Strikers Charged rarely uses the wiimotes sensors, and when it does that is only for "Megastrikes" and I have found the motion sensing for that spot-on. Also for tackling, but you shake the remote to do that, so if you have problems with that, wow. Anyway, I have to say that this game is FANTASTIC! The single player was the biggest challenge I have had in years! When you beat the Strikers Cup, you feel like you are on top of the world. Even after that, there is still the biggest challenge of them all. Being #1 in America. This is actually the most fun I've had with my Wii (TP was a terrific game, but I never died once! That is ridiculous in a Zelda game). So pick up this game, especially if you have online. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  15. GregP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Anyone who doesnt like this game doesnt have-
    A) a Wii
    B) a Television
    C) The ability to have fun
    D) ALl the above

    THe only other reason to not like this game is if you suck at video games and thats your fault!

    Best wii game out buy it>>>>>

    (Zelda is in its own league)
  16. BobR.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    Great game and I have the first mario srikers and it is always fun to play it again and again.
  17. BradJ
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    This game is really great! Probably my favorite sports game ever, other than Mario Tennis on the n64 (Haven't played the gc version yet, want to bad)! Way more stadiums (plus all from the original) More captains and WAY more sidekicks! Better graphics, Better gameplay (and crazier)! It's not realistic at all, but that's why I like Mario sports games and Mario in the firstThis game is really great! Probably my favorite sports game ever, other than Mario Tennis on the n64 (Haven't played the gc version yet, want to bad)! Way more stadiums (plus all from the original) More captains and WAY more sidekicks! Better graphics, Better gameplay (and crazier)! It's not realistic at all, but that's why I like Mario sports games and Mario in the first place! Single player isn't too long, but wifi and multiplayer make it longer. Oh, and the single player tournament, the last tournament is near impossible, but I haven't tried playing tournament with a friend, that might make it easier. I give it an 8.5! Expand
  18. DavidK.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Now im not into football. And Not into any Sports game but. When i found out that this was the first online game that was the only reason i wanted to try it. And i found it to be incredibly fun and addictive. the games itself works great with the controls and is very quick, easy and simple to learn. But the more advanced controls and strategies can take a while. the variety of captains Now im not into football. And Not into any Sports game but. When i found out that this was the first online game that was the only reason i wanted to try it. And i found it to be incredibly fun and addictive. the games itself works great with the controls and is very quick, easy and simple to learn. But the more advanced controls and strategies can take a while. the variety of captains and sidekicks add a range of possibilities and strategies. The single player in the game is fairly short and easy but the last cup can be slightly challenging to the less experienced players. The single player/offline mode of the game itself is worth 8/10. But the real star of the game is The online Mode. This adds a whole new Value to the game and makes more personal challenges like, trying to get in the top 100 rankings or even the top 1000. so far i have only managed 874. the great thing is the rankings reset after each season meaning new owners of the game still have a chance to get to number one at one point.. The matches can get pretty heated and intense. and nothing is more satisfiying the winning on a skillshot in sudden death, apart from winning 10 - 0 and getting a bundle of points of course. The only downside to the game is no talk or messaging so it can sometimes feel no different from playing the computer except that it is usually harder than the computer. Overall Great game must buy for football fans and none. offline worth 8/10 online worth an extra 5/10 so overall 13/10 but you can only go 10 max so i have to settle with that. exellent start to wii online i just cant wait for the next one. Expand
  19. JacobS.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    As you may know Mario Strikers Charged is a soccer game, and soccer is meant to be played with a whole bunch of people. Which is exactly how this game is, you can play alone but where's the fun in that, plus it's not that good. Charged is the best multiplayer game on the Wii and being able to play online helps it. It is one of the most fun games I've ever played and it by As you may know Mario Strikers Charged is a soccer game, and soccer is meant to be played with a whole bunch of people. Which is exactly how this game is, you can play alone but where's the fun in that, plus it's not that good. Charged is the best multiplayer game on the Wii and being able to play online helps it. It is one of the most fun games I've ever played and it by far the best Wii game. A must buy for any Wii owner, accually a must buy for anyone, simply amazing. Expand
  20. BrockJ.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Everything was added to make this game better than its predecessor. More personalized abilities for both captains and teammates, the ability to choose individual teammates, an ACTUAL difference in stadiums and the addition of challenges. And for the nintendo fans who have long awaited an online game (that's not Phantasy Star online) this is it. The sequel answered all the questions Everything was added to make this game better than its predecessor. More personalized abilities for both captains and teammates, the ability to choose individual teammates, an ACTUAL difference in stadiums and the addition of challenges. And for the nintendo fans who have long awaited an online game (that's not Phantasy Star online) this is it. The sequel answered all the questions about the original. Collapse
  21. AndrewF.
    Aug 18, 2007
    9
    I have to say that playing online is pretty fun and i highly recomend if you have wii buy this game.
  22. Tupac
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome online with a buddy and the single player is pretty fun and difficult.
  23. JebR.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    This game has everything... violence, silly characters, online play, amd soccer like it was never meant to be :) I also find it pretty challenging on a single player basis, I might just suck but I still have not been able to win the Crystal Cup and I've been playing for a couple months now.
  24. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    An awesome game with tons more depth than the previous one for GameCube. Mario Strikers Charged has amazing online modes too.
  25. AndrewA.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    The game is so much fun whether you are a soccer fan or not. The power ups, skill shots, and quick pace make it easy to learn but hard to master. The online mode works well, and it is easy to find plenty of people out there to play. The game has unlockable captains, which is a plus, but could have used a more in that regard. Plenty to do to keep you interested for a long time. Great also The game is so much fun whether you are a soccer fan or not. The power ups, skill shots, and quick pace make it easy to learn but hard to master. The online mode works well, and it is easy to find plenty of people out there to play. The game has unlockable captains, which is a plus, but could have used a more in that regard. Plenty to do to keep you interested for a long time. Great also with friends. Must have. Expand
  26. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    This game is not nearly talked about enough these days! I`m not a fan of soccer, nor do I enjoy Mario sports games that much, so I let this game sit on the shelf for a while. I also played the Strikers game on Gamecube and wasn`t too impressed by it. But recently I decided I should finally play it, and boy was I surprised! With extremely fast gameplay, an extensive tutorial mode, and crazyThis game is not nearly talked about enough these days! I`m not a fan of soccer, nor do I enjoy Mario sports games that much, so I let this game sit on the shelf for a while. I also played the Strikers game on Gamecube and wasn`t too impressed by it. But recently I decided I should finally play it, and boy was I surprised! With extremely fast gameplay, an extensive tutorial mode, and crazy good graphics (fully rendered crowd, character damage), if this game doesn`t give you a good time, nothing will. Expand
  27. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    i really enjoy this game. Game Cube was good. Mario striker was even better. I hope next Level game bring something new to the table. Petey is the
  28. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Mario strikers charged was one o the best games on the Wii period examples: Great gameplay, amazing graphics,Challenging, love the replays, great music, you have more and can choose different sidekicks, and do a lot more tricks and other things freely now. I also like the act that the goalie finally has his own animation parts of the game by preventing megastrikes hitting the players and aMario strikers charged was one o the best games on the Wii period examples: Great gameplay, amazing graphics,Challenging, love the replays, great music, you have more and can choose different sidekicks, and do a lot more tricks and other things freely now. I also like the act that the goalie finally has his own animation parts of the game by preventing megastrikes hitting the players and a smarter AI. The best part of the game was the online, I would have to say Mario strikers charged had the best online connection out of all the other wii games. I hope Nintendo can see this review because what im really asking for is can you guys make Mario Strikers Wii U, similar to strikers charged style with more characters, the sidekicks can possibly be captains or have more stuff like the captains, better graphics, online of course, more stages, and also keep the old stages and songs for the characters from part on 1 and 2. I would Highly recommend people to buy this game its worth it. Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2015
    9
    A great improvement from its predecessor! Mario Strikers Charged keeps what made the first game fun but adds more to make the game even better! Characters move fluently and the addition of course hazards makes the game more fun and challenging!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. As the most original, admittedly surreal, take on the sport for years, Mario Strikers is a gem of a game and manages to flawlessly meet Nintendo's brief of appealing to absolutely everybody.
  2. While we can see some people getting frustrated with the tricky AI later in the game, the emphasis on multiplayer and online action makes this an essential Wii title. [June 2007, p.72]
  3. The eventful, minute-long matches and frantic to-and-fro make Mario Strikers a suitable curtain-raiser for online gaming on the Wii, but a balanced and deep extreme sports game this is not. [June 2007, p.87]