Mario Strikers Charged Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Mario Strikers Charged Football") Take to the pitch as Mario Strikers Charged arrives with a new roster of features. The follow-up to "Super Mario Strikers" delivers bigger shots, massive hits and the chance to play gamers around the world. Mario Strikers Charged is high-impact, all the time. More captains, more playing fields, more sidekicks: It's crush or be crushed in this wild kickfest. Goal Control: Use the skill the Wii Remote and Nunchuk controllers provide to win the ball, score unstoppable goals and take control of the goal keeper to perform spectacular saves. Score Big with Mega Strikes: Each captain has his or her own set of skills and super abilities, as well as the ability to perform special shots called Mega Strikes, where the iron ball splits into five balls and flies at the goal. The defending player must use the Wii Remote controller to shoot these balls out of the air to stop a goal. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 100
    A phenomenal addition to the Wii's library and will rival GoldenEye 64 in terms of the exhilarating multiplayer experiences that it offers up. Don't turn your nose up at it just because you don't like soccer or you'll be missing out on one of the best gaming experiences around. Now, bring on Super Smash Bros. Brawl!
  2. Destined to join games like GoldenEye and Super Mario Kart as an incredibly fun multiplayer experience.
  3. The gameplay, as I said above, is fast-paced. It actually feels a lot like old school NBA Jam in execution. [Sept 2007, p.68]
  4. And that is where Charged really shines – the multiplayer arena. Take it online, knock some people around and have a blast.
  5. Mario Strikers Charged isn't a soccer game. It's a chaotic war of dispossession, body-checking, and garbage goals. [Sept 2007, p.80]
  6. Gameplay is frantic, the presentation has been noticeably improved, and there's enough strategy for players to develop a style, which they can then show off online. All in all, it's a notable score for team Mario.
  7. Mario Strikers Charged is enjoyable on a lark, but it’s a tiny baby step just to advance a single feature of the Wii.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Brilliant! I love it so much I cannot wait to go online. It's challenging, great music, awesome "specials" and sweet, sweet violence. Replay value is very high. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    i really enjoy this game. Game Cube was good. Mario striker was even better. I hope next Level game bring something new to the table. Petey is the
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Mario strikers charged was one o the best games on the Wii period examples: Great gameplay, amazing graphics,Challenging, love the replays, great music, you have more and can choose different sidekicks, and do a lot more tricks and other things freely now. I also like the act that the goalie finally has his own animation parts of the game by preventing megastrikes hitting the players and a smarter AI. The best part of the game was the online, I would have to say Mario strikers charged had the best online connection out of all the other wii games. I hope Nintendo can see this review because what im really asking for is can you guys make Mario Strikers Wii U, similar to strikers charged style with more characters, the sidekicks can possibly be captains or have more stuff like the captains, better graphics, online of course, more stages, and also keep the old stages and songs for the characters from part on 1 and 2. I would Highly recommend people to buy this game its worth it. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    My satisfaction with this game is the exact same as the Gamecube version. The game looks good with the super strike and character animations. The music really fits this game much more than the previous version did as well. The controls work very well with the motion-sensing and have no button-delay, but it does feel awkward with two controllers in either hand. I would have liked an option to play with a controller instead of being forced to only one choice. I think the super strikes are much better this time around, since nobody can abuse them and they do score more goals than before; I also liked it that the opposing goalie has the chance to stop the shots as well. What was also cool is that the shot strength depend on how you charge the ball up and are not up to chance like in its predecessor.
    Single player involves Domination Mode in which you can set up a game or series with different customization options (no items, CPU difficulty). The striker challenges were also neat in which I needed to overcome an obstacle to win, but I wish I could've unlocked new characters or sidekicks, and not just more options that I can only use in Domination Mode. In Road to the Strikers Cup, you have no customization options (unlike the previous game), and the AI gets incredibly cheap by spamming hits and dekes like crazy in the later rounds. Your teammates seem to not help out by hitting the opponent and just stand there the whole time. Combined with items and the environmental hazards going every-which-way, the game can get too chaotic even for a Mario game. I could forgive this, however, if it also wasn't so punishing. You can't restart a game or quit out of it without having to forfeit. When you lose in the tournaments, you have to restart that cup all over again, and it gives this game the worst kind of padding possible. They probably made it this way to make up for the fact that it is quite short. In all, the single player is a bit lightweight and cheap, but it does have more unlockables than the previous game. Multiplayer allows up to four players, and it can get really fun at times. The online is also well-done, with very little lag. My only complaints is that random match-ups could be imbalanced at times and that two players could not choose the same captain. I did like it that you could see your opponent before hand, however, and I think this online is actually pretty good. The multiplayer is definitely the strong point to this game, and that is what I recommend looking forward to in this title.
    In the end, the single player mode is short and cheap near the end with some forced, awkward controls - but the multiplayer, super strike improvements, and all-around fun make this an enjoyable title. I simply cannot say this is an improvement over the original, however.
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Not much going on on the single-player front at all but as a multi-player game this is a lot of fun! Shame the online was ruined by people using exploits all the time which were never patched. Fantastic on the local multiplayer front though as I've mentioned. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    Even though i don't like soccer or sports games in general, this game just blew me away. Everything that happens in soccer is taking to the extreme here. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    Mario Strikers Charged is a disappointing sequel to Mario Smash Football. The game-play is bad, you can basically only score goals with Super Strikes, and Super Strikes can count for as much as 6 goals, which is a bit ridiculous. You only get about 3 seconds with the ball before you get tackled or hit by an item, and the graphics are quite messy. You can play Cup battles, scenarios, on-line or quick matches. Most of these modes aren't really all that fun and are quite tedious. However, this game has quite good multi player value. However, overall, Mario Strikers Charged fails to live up to Mario Smash Football. I would suggest to stay away unless you are playing with friends. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews