Mario Super Sluggers Wii

Mario Super Sluggers Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the same spirit as other sports-themed Mario games on Wii, Mario Super Sluggers blends richly interactive baseball action with eccentric characters and elements from across the popular Mario universe. Players can swing the wireless Wii Remote just like a real bat or wave it toward theIn the same spirit as other sports-themed Mario games on Wii, Mario Super Sluggers blends richly interactive baseball action with eccentric characters and elements from across the popular Mario universe. Players can swing the wireless Wii Remote just like a real bat or wave it toward the plate to deliver a masterful pitch, enjoying the same intuitive, easy-to-learn controls that helped make Wii Sports a living room hit. With Mario and his unpredictable pals filling out the roster, imagination and active-play innovation are sure to dominate the diamond in this lively title. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Games Master UK
    80
    A step back for Wii baseball controls, but enough of a gameplay leap to warrant playing. [Sept 2008, p.70]
  2. I recommend it highly to anyone that missed the first game, but anyone who played the GameCube original to completion won’t see much of a difference.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    79
    It isn't quite the game we were hoping for, but taken as another Mario sports game rather than a baseball sim, it's as solid and enjoyable as you'd expect. [JPN Import; Sept 2008, p.52]
  4. In addition to the questionable controls, the main problem with this game is that there really aren’t any significant improvements over its predecessor, and definitely not any to make this game worth fifty bucks.
  5. Mario Super Sluggers is fun to pick up and play for a short session with friends, but as a game to play by yourself it's shallow. It also doesn't make much use of the system's capabilities with limited motion control and no online play.
  6. If you want to play baseball on the Wii, try The Bigs or MLB Power Pros. Even though Sluggers does have fast paced action, giant baseball super pitches and fireball star hits, as a baseball game, Mario Super Sluggers is too simplistic for the average game player.
  7. As a Mario game, Mario Super Sluggers feels kind of cheap; as a baseball game, it fails to capture the finer points that make the sport interesting in the first place. Its accessibility is probably Mario Super Sluggers' most well-realized characteristic, but what you're getting access to simply isn't much fun.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game! It's so fun and addicting and great for children, what's not to like? It incorporates sports and exercise into a 9 inningI love this game! It's so fun and addicting and great for children, what's not to like? It incorporates sports and exercise into a 9 inning Wii game. It's awesome! Expand
  2. PhillipD.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    I haven't had it long enough to talk about the longevity or difficulty at higher levels but so far this game is everything I was looking I haven't had it long enough to talk about the longevity or difficulty at higher levels but so far this game is everything I was looking for out of a Mario Baseball game. I'll look elsewhere for my simulation fix but when I want to shoot shells at the opposing team while they're trying to field the ball or do crazy super jumps to prevent a home run this is the game. Collapse
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I bought this game for baseball. I got a storyline and many characters, including that epic little Baby DK!
    It is fun, and is sort of like
    I bought this game for baseball. I got a storyline and many characters, including that epic little Baby DK!
    It is fun, and is sort of like MLB 2k series, but is not as serious. Anyway, great game!
    Expand
  4. GrayZ
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    Great fun. Control scheme took a while to get used to, but once I did it was a blast! Could've used a better single player mode in the Great fun. Control scheme took a while to get used to, but once I did it was a blast! Could've used a better single player mode in the vein of the original Mario baseball, but gameplay is better than ever. Expand
  5. May 28, 2011
    8
    I really like this game. The hitting is good, the fielding is good, the characters are great, and the minigames add a good amount of fun. II really like this game. The hitting is good, the fielding is good, the characters are great, and the minigames add a good amount of fun. I had A LOT of fun playing this. The best thing about Mario Super Sluggers is that it is very entertaining to play, and that's the most important part. Other great points include the large diversity of characters and the great graphics. My only complaints are that not much has improved from the last Mario Baseball game, and I encountered some unresponsive controls and fielders every once in a while. Still, this game is great. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    A strong game with high amounts of replayability. While the story mode is short, it actually features some world/map movement and actualA strong game with high amounts of replayability. While the story mode is short, it actually features some world/map movement and actual puzzles to solve. While it is easy for teens and adults, it's still a fun experience that lets you fill its MASSIVE roster of players. The diverse and plentiful maps, comical humor, solid remixed and new music, and high replayability level makes this a solid sports game and solid mario game for any gamer. I found this game to be one of my favorite wii titles! (Surprising since I'm not really a fan of baseball, but the game is done very well)

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: 7.5/10
    Music: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7/10
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  7. SyrinD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    2
    AWFUL, compared to Mario Baseball for the GC. Way too easy, no player development, simplistic gameplay, and short short game. Buy MLB Power AWFUL, compared to Mario Baseball for the GC. Way too easy, no player development, simplistic gameplay, and short short game. Buy MLB Power Pros 2008 instead. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

72
14
#14 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
41
#41 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008