User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterBrooks
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Ultimate Alliance is easily the greatset game ever made! My favorite characters are Spider-Man, Captain America, Moon Knight and Daredevil and Ultimate Alliance gives them very good powers and abbilities. i think my favorite part is making your own team!!! Ultimate Alliance is the perfect game and personally MY favorite.
  2. PatrickR.
    Jan 14, 2007
    4
    The videos released for the Wii gameplay are a total lie. They show all these videos of people playing the game and making gestures like the superheroes to activate their powers. Instead, you make the same 4-5 gestures for every character and it gets tedious fast. Furthermore, all of their boasts about having so many characters and them all feeling unique are pretty overstated. Many of The videos released for the Wii gameplay are a total lie. They show all these videos of people playing the game and making gestures like the superheroes to activate their powers. Instead, you make the same 4-5 gestures for every character and it gets tedious fast. Furthermore, all of their boasts about having so many characters and them all feeling unique are pretty overstated. Many of the characters feel exactly the same and even more have clumsy, awkward power sets that don't do the character justice. Elektra is especially poorly done from her powers to her geriatric voice acting by Gabrielle Carteris (ie. Andrea from 90210/The Surreal Life.) Also missing from this lackluster decline in a series are much usefulness for travel powers. In the Legends games having flyers, teleporters, and bridge builders was one of the most interesting gameplay challenges. Not only have the challenges been removed with surgical precision, but also the ability to customize those powers is missing too. For a game already struggling with being tedious this would have helped a lot with breaking up the monotony. Finally for a game striving to make unique power builds, they made the unusual choice of fitting all characters into the same formula of powers. All characters have two party buff powers and while Deadpool insulting enemies to debuff them comes off clever others come off contrived such as Daredevil's heightened senses extending to the whole team. Part of the success of the Legends series and what made the characters feel unique is that each character was more specialized. By formatting them so similarly the game loses the most important part of the comic experience: character. Expand
  3. NigelT.
    Dec 24, 2007
    6
    I had played this when it first came out, and am reviewing this after just playing it on the 360. That being said I find the graphics and camera in this game underwhelming to say the least. If approached correctly the Wii's poor little Hollywood graphics card can push out some stunning visuals (ie: Zelda, Metroid), but not in this game. Then the controls, I grew tired of basically I had played this when it first came out, and am reviewing this after just playing it on the 360. That being said I find the graphics and camera in this game underwhelming to say the least. If approached correctly the Wii's poor little Hollywood graphics card can push out some stunning visuals (ie: Zelda, Metroid), but not in this game. Then the controls, I grew tired of basically just shaking the controller around. Really, Wii consumers were promised a fresh and new approach at gaming, I find this just tiresome. I would put this down as playable but nothing special. Collapse
  4. RonaldoF.
    Oct 24, 2007
    5
    The graphics are nice but then the controls are dull and many characters simply don't behave as you would expect from the Marvel comics. Finally, the whole game is very repetitive and thus fun is very limited.
  5. JakeJ.
    Jan 28, 2007
    2
    Poor game, awful camera and difficult levels from the very start, difficult gameplay and boring attack techniques.
  6. NickL.
    Dec 21, 2006
    5
    This felt more like working than actually playing a video game. Same motions over and over make this game tedious.
  7. NickF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Although it has truly horrid camera and graphics, the gameplay is very challenging and fun, with an array of marvel characters. If you want a challenge, even a small challenge, buy this game.
  8. SB
    May 12, 2007
    8
    I'm still in the fairly early stages of this game, but so far I find it very satisfying. The graphics are great despite some of the other comments, although I expect you will need a quality monitor and component connection as they are realatively detailed and can be dark. One of the attractions of this games is the ability for cooperative multiplayer, which is really good for a I'm still in the fairly early stages of this game, but so far I find it very satisfying. The graphics are great despite some of the other comments, although I expect you will need a quality monitor and component connection as they are realatively detailed and can be dark. One of the attractions of this games is the ability for cooperative multiplayer, which is really good for a family. My 6 year old and I are working our way through it on the "easy" difficulty setting. The number of different moves available to each of the numerous super heroes seems large and adds to the interest in the game. Worth a look if you have a willing partner, but probably good enough to play on your own if you've finished Zelda too. Expand
  9. hlopez
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    compared to xmen legends 2 this game just wasnt interesting.I had to stop playing rather early on. I am a huge comic fan but the character selection is weak. Only a hand full of them are actually that different. way yoo may street level characters and not too many of them were top notch characters. hopefully the next game will be done better
  10. EthanR.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    I love this game. First of all if you don't know if you should get this game on wii i'll help you decide. The controls at first seem annoying and hard to use. You have to shake for a combo, thrust for a push, move the nunchuck as a camara and more. Soon you'll get the hang of it and be amazing at it too. The character choice is amazing. You have around 20 characters to I love this game. First of all if you don't know if you should get this game on wii i'll help you decide. The controls at first seem annoying and hard to use. You have to shake for a combo, thrust for a push, move the nunchuck as a camara and more. Soon you'll get the hang of it and be amazing at it too. The character choice is amazing. You have around 20 characters to choose from, each with unique moves and fighting styles. I personally favour silver surfer, iron man, spider man and ghost rider. The graphics are pretty average. At times they'll look amazing and sometimes terrible. Also you have optional missions during the game, each deciding the marvel universe fait in the future. If you're skeptacle about this game don't be. It's fun and will keep you busy for a while. Expand
  11. AdamF.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    The controls are better then I expected and the gameplay is very fun. This game is defintely worth picking up.
  12. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    Right on the start, i didn't cared for the story, seriously, even if i liked Marvel superheroes. The graphics where neat but aged, the motion Wii controlled version doesn't even function, you look like a monkey trying to get a impossible banana. In the positive side, it has a niche for being a fun game at least.
  13. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    This game is very fun. Many of my favorite characters are in this. Some of them are playable, and some of them are nonplayable. Seriously, even if you favorite character isn't playable, there's a chance he or she will appear. The graphics are okay, and not terrible as some people here are saying. If you want challenge, even a small challenge, this is the game for you. I do wish HulkThis game is very fun. Many of my favorite characters are in this. Some of them are playable, and some of them are nonplayable. Seriously, even if you favorite character isn't playable, there's a chance he or she will appear. The graphics are okay, and not terrible as some people here are saying. If you want challenge, even a small challenge, this is the game for you. I do wish Hulk wasn't exclusive to the Golden Edition and the Platinum Hits versions on the Xbox 360. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The game includes tons of gameplay, a plethora of Marvel characters, a great presentation, and successfully balances the action and RPG elements, while letting players choose just how much they want to micromanage. Marvel: Ultimate Alliance has something for everyone.
  2. With better focus on what players want, including four (useful!) costumes per character, a plethora of villians and heroes from Marvel lore, better visuals, tighter RPG elements, less of the Chatty-Cathy moments, and FAR more tough boss and mini-boss battles, Marvel Ultimate Alliance could be the geekfest that keeps players wrapped onto whatever platform they chose like a pair of tight blue spandex with a big 4 on the chest.
  3. 80
    It's a satisfyingly lengthy game, with loads of missions to complete and a huge assortment of comic book-inspired side missions to bring you a little more insight into the backgrounds of the game's leading characters.