User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterBrooks
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Ultimate Alliance is easily the greatset game ever made! My favorite characters are Spider-Man, Captain America, Moon Knight and Daredevil and Ultimate Alliance gives them very good powers and abbilities. i think my favorite part is making your own team!!! Ultimate Alliance is the perfect game and personally MY favorite.
  2. NickF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    Although it has truly horrid camera and graphics, the gameplay is very challenging and fun, with an array of marvel characters. If you want a challenge, even a small challenge, buy this game.
  3. EthanR.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    I love this game. First of all if you don't know if you should get this game on wii i'll help you decide. The controls at first seem annoying and hard to use. You have to shake for a combo, thrust for a push, move the nunchuck as a camara and more. Soon you'll get the hang of it and be amazing at it too. The character choice is amazing. You have around 20 characters to I love this game. First of all if you don't know if you should get this game on wii i'll help you decide. The controls at first seem annoying and hard to use. You have to shake for a combo, thrust for a push, move the nunchuck as a camara and more. Soon you'll get the hang of it and be amazing at it too. The character choice is amazing. You have around 20 characters to choose from, each with unique moves and fighting styles. I personally favour silver surfer, iron man, spider man and ghost rider. The graphics are pretty average. At times they'll look amazing and sometimes terrible. Also you have optional missions during the game, each deciding the marvel universe fait in the future. If you're skeptacle about this game don't be. It's fun and will keep you busy for a while. Expand
  4. AdamF.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    The controls are better then I expected and the gameplay is very fun. This game is defintely worth picking up.
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    This game is very fun. Many of my favorite characters are in this. Some of them are playable, and some of them are nonplayable. Seriously, even if you favorite character isn't playable, there's a chance he or she will appear. The graphics are okay, and not terrible as some people here are saying. If you want challenge, even a small challenge, this is the game for you. I do wish HulkThis game is very fun. Many of my favorite characters are in this. Some of them are playable, and some of them are nonplayable. Seriously, even if you favorite character isn't playable, there's a chance he or she will appear. The graphics are okay, and not terrible as some people here are saying. If you want challenge, even a small challenge, this is the game for you. I do wish Hulk wasn't exclusive to the Golden Edition and the Platinum Hits versions on the Xbox 360. Expand
  6. SB
    May 12, 2007
    8
    I'm still in the fairly early stages of this game, but so far I find it very satisfying. The graphics are great despite some of the other comments, although I expect you will need a quality monitor and component connection as they are realatively detailed and can be dark. One of the attractions of this games is the ability for cooperative multiplayer, which is really good for a I'm still in the fairly early stages of this game, but so far I find it very satisfying. The graphics are great despite some of the other comments, although I expect you will need a quality monitor and component connection as they are realatively detailed and can be dark. One of the attractions of this games is the ability for cooperative multiplayer, which is really good for a family. My 6 year old and I are working our way through it on the "easy" difficulty setting. The number of different moves available to each of the numerous super heroes seems large and adds to the interest in the game. Worth a look if you have a willing partner, but probably good enough to play on your own if you've finished Zelda too. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    Right on the start, i didn't cared for the story, seriously, even if i liked Marvel superheroes. The graphics where neat but aged, the motion Wii controlled version doesn't even function, you look like a monkey trying to get a impossible banana. In the positive side, it has a niche for being a fun game at least.
  8. May 17, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a lot of nostalgia with this game. I remember playing this a lot with my friends and my brother which gives it a special place in m heart. Personal feelings aside tough it is a good team based rpg which is dated by a few mechanics and some design choices which are good at the time but now is a little outdated. The main plot follows a team of Captain America, Wolverine, Thor, and Spiderman as they fight a horde of super villians to save the multiverse. Doctor Doom is the head of the masters of evil as he hatches a plot to steal Odin's powers and t take over the world. The plot is definatly not complex as it is really nothing more than to give context to why you are in certain pace in the marvel universe. The worlds themselves are a bit of a mixed bag. Some worlds are generic such as the helicarrier and AIM's lab while others are inspired like in Asgard and especially in hell (yes you actually go to hell and it is just as awesome as it sounds). The game has over 25 playable chracters and each have thier own unique abilities. Some characters such as the Thing and Colossus are heavy hitters who move slow but deal extra physical damage. Others can fly around the are and rely on ranged attacks like Thor or Storm. Stats can be up gradable which will allow you to use your attacks on your enemies in a variety of ways. Each characters even has their ultimate attack which is fun to use. Some though are clearly better than others like Spider-Man's or Deadpool's. In fact some characters are clearly overpowered like Ghost Rider which is probably the reason why the Hulk isn't in this game. The attacks are used by flicking the Wii Remote in a certain gesture which is actually responsive given the Wii's reputation but good luck trying to play the game with a broken numb-chuck. The enemies have different skins and atheistic changes depending on what world you are in but they do behave the same though which does make the combat monotonous at times but still satisfying. Some of the worlds try to mix up the monotony by putting in mini games like the arcade in the circus or introduce new mechanics. Atlantis tries to do something new by having swimming controls but they are very floaty which is the sad standard for under water levels (At least its not the Water temple from Ocarina of Time or Twilight Princess). The boss battles are kind of a mixed bag as the ones which are your size =do not require much in strategy as they are really bullet sponges ( or energy sponges in this case). The giant boss fights like the frost Giant or Mephisto also only require one strategy but they make up for it through visual spectacles. In between missions there are hub world like the Triskelon, Doctor Strange's house, and the Watcher's domain. They are really nothing more than houses because most of the NPCs don't have anything t say other than Deadpool when he gives his origin and talks about his desire to start a rock band. The most interesting thing about the game though is that there are some areas that give you a choice that would affect the Marvel Universe. Most of them are your standard good or bad choices but there is one choice that actually gives you a false sense of heroism. That was when you had a choice to either save Night crawler or Jean Grey from hell. You can only save one or the other and both choices give negative consequences. This was one of the earlier attempts that I can think of that gives you a false choice that makes you loose no matter what you choose. This game is worth a rental if you still have a Wii and it is a walk to the Candy Store for any Marvel fans. Expand
  9. NigelT.
    Dec 24, 2007
    6
    I had played this when it first came out, and am reviewing this after just playing it on the 360. That being said I find the graphics and camera in this game underwhelming to say the least. If approached correctly the Wii's poor little Hollywood graphics card can push out some stunning visuals (ie: Zelda, Metroid), but not in this game. Then the controls, I grew tired of basically I had played this when it first came out, and am reviewing this after just playing it on the 360. That being said I find the graphics and camera in this game underwhelming to say the least. If approached correctly the Wii's poor little Hollywood graphics card can push out some stunning visuals (ie: Zelda, Metroid), but not in this game. Then the controls, I grew tired of basically just shaking the controller around. Really, Wii consumers were promised a fresh and new approach at gaming, I find this just tiresome. I would put this down as playable but nothing special. Collapse
  10. RonaldoF.
    Oct 24, 2007
    5
    The graphics are nice but then the controls are dull and many characters simply don't behave as you would expect from the Marvel comics. Finally, the whole game is very repetitive and thus fun is very limited.
  11. NickL.
    Dec 21, 2006
    5
    This felt more like working than actually playing a video game. Same motions over and over make this game tedious.
  12. hlopez
    Feb 16, 2008
    5
    compared to xmen legends 2 this game just wasnt interesting.I had to stop playing rather early on. I am a huge comic fan but the character selection is weak. Only a hand full of them are actually that different. way yoo may street level characters and not too many of them were top notch characters. hopefully the next game will be done better
  13. PatrickR.
    Jan 14, 2007
    4
    The videos released for the Wii gameplay are a total lie. They show all these videos of people playing the game and making gestures like the superheroes to activate their powers. Instead, you make the same 4-5 gestures for every character and it gets tedious fast. Furthermore, all of their boasts about having so many characters and them all feeling unique are pretty overstated. Many of The videos released for the Wii gameplay are a total lie. They show all these videos of people playing the game and making gestures like the superheroes to activate their powers. Instead, you make the same 4-5 gestures for every character and it gets tedious fast. Furthermore, all of their boasts about having so many characters and them all feeling unique are pretty overstated. Many of the characters feel exactly the same and even more have clumsy, awkward power sets that don't do the character justice. Elektra is especially poorly done from her powers to her geriatric voice acting by Gabrielle Carteris (ie. Andrea from 90210/The Surreal Life.) Also missing from this lackluster decline in a series are much usefulness for travel powers. In the Legends games having flyers, teleporters, and bridge builders was one of the most interesting gameplay challenges. Not only have the challenges been removed with surgical precision, but also the ability to customize those powers is missing too. For a game already struggling with being tedious this would have helped a lot with breaking up the monotony. Finally for a game striving to make unique power builds, they made the unusual choice of fitting all characters into the same formula of powers. All characters have two party buff powers and while Deadpool insulting enemies to debuff them comes off clever others come off contrived such as Daredevil's heightened senses extending to the whole team. Part of the success of the Legends series and what made the characters feel unique is that each character was more specialized. By formatting them so similarly the game loses the most important part of the comic experience: character. Expand
  14. JakeJ.
    Jan 28, 2007
    2
    Poor game, awful camera and difficult levels from the very start, difficult gameplay and boring attack techniques.

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The game includes tons of gameplay, a plethora of Marvel characters, a great presentation, and successfully balances the action and RPG elements, while letting players choose just how much they want to micromanage. Marvel: Ultimate Alliance has something for everyone.
  2. With better focus on what players want, including four (useful!) costumes per character, a plethora of villians and heroes from Marvel lore, better visuals, tighter RPG elements, less of the Chatty-Cathy moments, and FAR more tough boss and mini-boss battles, Marvel Ultimate Alliance could be the geekfest that keeps players wrapped onto whatever platform they chose like a pair of tight blue spandex with a big 4 on the chest.
  3. 80
    It's a satisfyingly lengthy game, with loads of missions to complete and a huge assortment of comic book-inspired side missions to bring you a little more insight into the backgrounds of the game's leading characters.