Mega Man 9 Wii

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is possibly the best in the series. Actually, it is the best in the series. The plot is that Mega Man's creator, Dr. Light, is framed and put in prison. Mega Man has to defeat the defective Robot Masters and clear his creator's name. But, [huge surprise here, do not continue if your heart can't take it] Dr. Wily is behind it. The controls are spot-on. Mega Man feels just like he should, with perfect running speed and jumping mechanics. The one problem is the removal of 2 key features: The charge shot (which is made up for with the weapons) and the slide. The removal of the slide affects mobility negatively. The Robot Masters are well-designed and have very fun levels. The weapons you get are even better. Every weapon has a use at some point, whether it is for mobility or attack. The Wily Level bosses are all well done and fun to fight, and never get too difficult to the point it's not fun. Over all, I recommend Mega Man 9 to every gamer with a Wii, 360 or PS3. Expand
  2. JonaC.
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    I really don't see why we are rewarding backwards innovation. Isn't there a reason we buy new consoles? there are plenty of emulators on the market where you can play much better 8bit games. give your money to capcom but spend it on the new bionic commando that is just the right mix of old school and new innovation, don't encourage them to give us crap games wrapped up in I really don't see why we are rewarding backwards innovation. Isn't there a reason we buy new consoles? there are plenty of emulators on the market where you can play much better 8bit games. give your money to capcom but spend it on the new bionic commando that is just the right mix of old school and new innovation, don't encourage them to give us crap games wrapped up in nostalgia. Collapse
  3. ChrisC.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    FINALLY a company realizes what made NES games so fun. Megaman 9 is even crueler than the original Megamans, and the most fun, most frustrating action game to come out in years.
  4. BryanK.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    After only playing for one night it brings me back to the old school Mega Man goodness. The difficulty of each level makes it that much more enjoyable. Plus the multiple play modes will be a treat as well. Well Done Capcom.
  5. Gameproisajoke
    Sep 25, 2008
    5
    Gamepro gives Samurai Shodown a 50 for having dated graphics and being aimed at only diehard fans, and then gives this game an 80. People make your own decisions. These "critics" need to study some criticism theory so they can understand the difference between opinions and criticism.
  6. JeffM.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    A Magnificent throwback to the games of yore. When levels themselves were truly perilous, and bosses were actually stronger than your own character. I have yet to beat any level on the first play-through. A great game...more than worth the wii points...not to mention the downloadable content looks promising. I mean who doesn't love Protoman?!
  7. NickL
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    I miss the days of gameplay over graphics, todays market is so oversaturated with the same garbage, a game like this is a nice breath of fresh air
  8. JackH
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    I must truly be a child of the 80's born late. I've played through Mega Man 1,2,3, and 9 for the first time ever this week, and, despite their age (or, in this case, emulated age) they play well. Mega Man 9 has to be the hardest of the bunch. Even after just beating Mega Man 2 on hard, this game requires patience and dedication to overcome. Add to that the ridiculous challenges, I must truly be a child of the 80's born late. I've played through Mega Man 1,2,3, and 9 for the first time ever this week, and, despite their age (or, in this case, emulated age) they play well. Mega Man 9 has to be the hardest of the bunch. Even after just beating Mega Man 2 on hard, this game requires patience and dedication to overcome. Add to that the ridiculous challenges, and you've got a game very few will actually complete 100%. For those who stick with it, though, it will be a blast. Like I said, I'm a Mega Man Newb, but although this game is incredibly simple in design, it actually has a lot of fun, if sadistic, ideas. The Bosses, in particular, are alot harder, because their AI has been updated, meaning you can't "Cheat" bosses like you could in the older ones. The game also comes with a nice set of pay-to-download bonus features. Although not strictly neccessary to enjoy the game, they ARE well worth the money for fans, but many will be greatful that the spending is optional. For example, if you were used to the sliding and chargeable beam of Mega Man 3, a downloadable "Proto Man" mode gives you these abilities for a mere 2 bucks. Overall, for fans of challenging platformers, I cannot reccommend this enough. However, unless you're really confident of your skills, I would recommend a playthrough of some of the older ones first Expand
  9. BrandonV
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Jona C. just doesn't get it, and that's really sad. Mega Man 9 is more than a nostalgic trip down memory lane. It attempts to bring back the days when games were valued on gameplay, innovation and FUN, rather than the most "realistic" looking graphics on the market. They're using more with less, and it's a perfect win. And don't think you'll have a cakewalk Jona C. just doesn't get it, and that's really sad. Mega Man 9 is more than a nostalgic trip down memory lane. It attempts to bring back the days when games were valued on gameplay, innovation and FUN, rather than the most "realistic" looking graphics on the market. They're using more with less, and it's a perfect win. And don't think you'll have a cakewalk through this game, either. Because you won't. Expand
  10. ShawnL.
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    Really awesome retro action! Graphics are horiblbe just like in the NES days. This was the first Mega Man game I had ever played and now I am addicted to their awesomeness. I have now played Mega Man 1, 2, and 3 because of this game. Go blue bomber!!!
  11. BigTuna
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, it's done exactly like the old 8-bit ones. In fact, it uses the same control scheme from MM2, same kind of music, and really tough levels. I know $10 is a little expensive, but it's worth it. Hope you can handle a challenge!
  12. EvanB.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    I hope that they make more retro games for the Virtual Console! Fantastic game! Perfect 10!
  13. Jay
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best Mega Man games in the entire franchise with a challenge to push the best of the best at Mega Man. Thank you Capcom, cheers to MM10!
  14. JeremyH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    I was very excited to have the feeling of MM2 again. The game is challenging and easy at the same time. It takes an exactness in jumping, strategy in fighting, and free play in weapon choice. I haven't finished it yet, but I am already a big fan.
  15. CaleL.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Maybe not the best in the original series, but arguably the greatest game created since the dawn of fun! Hopefully the start of a "retro revolution" is at hand. This is the best gaming experience I've had since Mario Galaxy, which is a lot to say, especially for a self-proclaimed GTA junkie! And don't expect an easy time like 5 or 6, this is an extremely challenging game.
  16. BrandonH.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Everything a Mega Man fan could want, and more. Finally, something for the fans that's on par, or maybe even better than their favorite Mega Man game (mine being 2). Will they make more? If Capcom decides to produce more of these, if will most likely start the cycle of MM games getting progressively worse all over again.
  17. VittorioR
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    Challenging, amazing, nostalgic. One of the best games I ever played. Try it.
  18. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    If you are a fan of the Mega Man series, you'll be amazed by this game. It is on par with 2 and 3 which are widely considered the best in the series. The stages, enemies, bosses, etc. are all very original and the difficulty level of this game is awesome. It's not as hard as everybody says. It's just the right difficulty where it's challenging, but it's not frustrating.
  19. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    The original NES Mega Man series, in my eyes, is still the best in the franchise. Before we got convoluted plots with unskippable cutscenes and too much wasted time, Mega Man was a simple series about unflinching action: shooting your way through engaging thematic side-scrolling stages, figuring out boss sequences, getting flashy new weapons.

    Mega Man 9 is a glorious trip back to those
    The original NES Mega Man series, in my eyes, is still the best in the franchise. Before we got convoluted plots with unskippable cutscenes and too much wasted time, Mega Man was a simple series about unflinching action: shooting your way through engaging thematic side-scrolling stages, figuring out boss sequences, getting flashy new weapons.

    Mega Man 9 is a glorious trip back to those very same roots. Its greatest triumph, however, is how it manages to differ from the last NES title (Mega Man 6) and its tired design. For starters, stages are a lot more challenging, harkening back to the very first titles in the franchise. Secondly, the boss weapons are a home run, fusing usability with just the right amount of innovation. Using them in clever ways is most certainly not optional, and when you come across the first Wily's castle you'll run into a lot of specific problems that are only solvable with the right weapon.

    The story also follows in the old games' footsteps, but it's taken to the next level. Even though it's very simplistic and easy to follow (as it should be in such a game, really), you'll end up even feeling sympathetic towards the boss enemies, who are literally fighting for their lives. It's a simple but nice twist in the old Wily-wants-to-take-over-the-world formula, and makes the experience even more memorable.

    My only point of contention with the game is the fact that it chose to go back to the Mega Man 2 move configuration, eschewing the awesome Mega Man 3-introduced slide from the titular character's arsenal. Still, that's a very minor flaw in a game that's a veritable retro heaven.

    If, like me, you lost hours on end trying to conquer the old NES Mega Man games back in the day, you owe it to yourself to get this one. If you're younger than that, and accostumed to newer games, it depends on whether you can dig the 8-bit feel. Rest assured, the gameplay is excellent and will not leave you wanting.
    Expand
  20. Aug 4, 2015
    7
    I'm really torn about this game. It's well designed, clever, and the music is great. The biggest issue with this MM title is that frankly, it's too difficult to be fun. The game tries as hard as it can to trick you, obviously leading you one way but punishing you for following its lead. Most of these kills are insta-deaths, which makes it even more irritating to play. The game givesI'm really torn about this game. It's well designed, clever, and the music is great. The biggest issue with this MM title is that frankly, it's too difficult to be fun. The game tries as hard as it can to trick you, obviously leading you one way but punishing you for following its lead. Most of these kills are insta-deaths, which makes it even more irritating to play. The game gives horribly infrequent checkpoints, requiring you to backtrack through frustrating parts over and over again.

    The other issue with Mega Man 9 is its tendency to stick with outdated and frustrating 8-bit tropes that we never liked. It's one thing to hold onto the music and graphical styles of the 8-bit era, but it's entirely another to do things that we now know were stupid. Take for example the in-game upgrade store. Roll feels the need to talk to you before and after every single purchase with several texts boxes. Naturally after the 3rd or 4th time, you just press A to scroll through as quickly as possible. But wait, if you just keep pressing the A button (even if you're paying attention) the game is set up so that a large percentage of the time you'll end up trying to purchase WHAT YOU JUST BOUGHT AGAIN. Then you have to listen to Roll talk some more, and if you're veeeeery patient, you can tell her you don't want to buy that item. This may seem inconsequential, and it is. The issue is that someone at capcom probably thought: "this is something old games used to do. We should do that" instead of realizing that "it was annoying then, and it'll be even more annoying now that people know better." I am all about classic 8-but games, but it's foolish to expose ourselves to bad gameplay features that have rightly been ousted from most modern games.

    I'd probably give the game an 8.5/10 if it weren't so unnecessarily difficult. It's interesting how this game was billed as "a return to old-school difficulty," but is in actuality much harder than pretty much all of the old games.
    Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2014
    6
    Good tunes(especially Magma Man and Tornado Man), great gameplay, nice enemies and a lot of fun level design...
    And great bosses, and they carried the spirit of the original NES games wonderfully well into a more modern megaman, and the weapons are good, and the enemies are varied and interesting, and I'm enjoying a lot of MM9...
    But the truth is that this MM is hard even for MM
    Good tunes(especially Magma Man and Tornado Man), great gameplay, nice enemies and a lot of fun level design...
    And great bosses, and they carried the spirit of the original NES games wonderfully well into a more modern megaman, and the weapons are good, and the enemies are varied and interesting, and I'm enjoying a lot of MM9...

    But the truth is that this MM is hard even for MM standards. It's brutal and the worst is that the difficulty seldom comes from demanding level design.

    It's more about the cheap shots. LOTS of cheap shots. Enemies that insta-kill you because you jumped over a pit and it came out of said pit and knockbacked you to your death, lots of insta-kill attacks like lava or large open chasms with tiny blocks to jump on with wind pushing you in a direction or the other, which along with knockbacking enemies makes a ton of very unpleasant deaths on your first attempts. And let's not forget the number of one-hit-kill spikes.

    This is already bad, but the cherry on the **** cake of MM9 is simply the lack of checkpoints. If I'm correct there is only ONE checkpoint per level!
    I'm not sure how many there were in the other ones but I'm 100% certain that if I died at a difficult miniboss or a really rough passage over a bottomless pit, I wouldn't be kicked back to the beginning of the stage every time!

    Actually I can safely say that over 90% of my deaths weren't due to enemies or loss of energy but by knockbacks and one-hit kills, except against the bosses.

    My real gripe is that MM1 is considered a hard game by most yet I remember so little pain compared to how much bollocks MM9's difficulty can be.

    As a whole 9 is certainly a good MM but the number of cheap shots and knockbacks I keep getting destroyed by is certainly getting on my nerves. I enjoy it but the amount of pain it gives me is a little too high to ignore.
    Expand
  22. Jul 21, 2016
    10
    The wii brings us a great memorable classic that we love! Well except the haters. This game has memorable levels, bosses, graphics, and music. This game will be nostalgic to me in about 4 years I think.

Awards & Rankings

#16 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#52 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 86
    Mega Man 9 is exactly what hardcore gamers were hoping it would be, as Capcom has come out of the gate with a game that's full of nostalgia and fan-service, but also one that truly does rival the best in the franchise's 8-bit roots.
  2. 83
    MM9 is an unapologetic nod to one of gaming's greatest eras. It might've been made especially for nostalgia-crazed dorks like me, but it's something that any challenge-seeking gamer can dig.
  3. Buy it, finish it, love it, because if this takes off we’re going to see a renaissance of new-old games. And if that happens, a whole new batch of gamers will grow up learning why rock-solid gameplay, not tera-flipping flop-bib shaders, make games truly exceptional.