User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 409 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 409

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2014
    9
    Controls are fantastic. Another one knocked out of the park for the greatest video game franchise of all time. It's a shame I don't give 10s. This is a 9.5, though.
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Good third part which was developed for the Wii. The control is optimal and the graphics just fine.
    A good conclusion to the trilogy.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Easily one of the best games on the Wii and also one of the best looking ones by far. While not the most open world Prime game, this game has a great soundtrack, a good story, amazing visuals for the Wii, an almost unparalleled atmosphere of being alone in space and very clever puzzles. While not perfect, it's a must buy for any Wii owner as it's one of the best games on the system.
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Metroid Prime 3 Corruption is the best Wii game. It is incredibly atmospheric and immersive, with well designed areas that make for amazing exploration. It is filled with lore that is interesting to read, ups the replay value and makes the series universe more interesting. The boss fights are a definite high point as they are all challenging but not frustrating and are just plain fun. This game is a must-have for all Wii owners. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It takes back what the original made so great, since Prime 2 was a bit slower and weird, and adds great and unique controls. This is a gem only possible on Wii. Level design and concept is awesome. Boss battle and missions are memorable. If you had this game, you're a lucky gamer.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    Metroid Prime 3 is one of the best games both the wii and the Metroid series has to offer. The game takes full advantage of the wii's motion controls and it works like a charm. The gameplay is your standard explore and investigate the planet Prime game. Except this time, the game has much more emphasis on shooting things and hyper- mode. Hyper mode is a state where Samus can use her Phazon tanks to make her self much more powerful. This game also has three planets for you to explore, each one playing and feeling different. The games graphics are what you would expect from the prime series, amazing. The look of the P.E.D. suit looks very nice and the planets, especially Elysia are breathtaking. The story is that Samus must destroy these meteors called Leviathan seeds on each planet. It's a basic story but it is in no way bad. Overall though the games highlight is the gameplay. Scanning and exploring with the wii remote feels so much more immersive than a gamecube controller, and that is really saying something because the first two games were incredibly immersive. The only problem with this game is hyper mode, which makes the game to easy. This game is perfect if you are looking to get into the Metroid series and is a perfect game to start out with. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Metroid Prime 3 is one of the few reasons I'm glad I owned a Wii, what a breath taking experience. The Boss battles are definitely the set piece for this game and where some of the most fun I have had in a long time
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Metroid Prime 3 is a great game to end of the Prime Trilogy. The graphics are slick and detailed, the planets are all unique and well designed, and the new control scheme is very intuitive. This is one of the few games that shows of the wii-mote's capabilities successfully, allowing for a point a shoot style of gameplay that works very well.

    One very cool addition in the game was the
    inclusion of voice acting. It helps make the various characters you interact with more interesting while not intruding on the personality of Samus, as she still remains silent (cough cough OTHER M cough cough).

    This really is a fantastic FPS and an excellent Metroid game. It's worth every penny.
    Expand
  9. May 31, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic conclusion to the Metroid Prime series. Excellent gameplay, loveable new hunters and an intriguing story. This game even gives us creepy atmosphere almost like what Dead Space tried to do. Love this game, however I think it could've been a bit longer. Otherwise this game is a must play.
  10. May 21, 2013
    10
    Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is the best game in the Metroid Prime Series in terms of graphics, controls and music. And the story line is a very good way to end the Metroid Prime series. This is a must own, especially with Metroid fans.
  11. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Just for the record i have no CoD or BF cause I hate fps but Metroid Prime makes me happy where i play it.It looks perfect has great controls and such a Good story
  12. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    the final part of the metroid story comes to a close and classy looking style on the wii
    that is about the only thing that they have got right about this game, it is very pretty as the landscapes and space stations morph and shimmer around you it is a very encompassing FPS, and the soundtrack just oozes atmosphere
    but that us where the good stops and the annoying takes over.
    the control
    system althought quite logical is infuriating to use,there isnt enough things to shoot at for long phases of the game and then they dump an entire levels worth of aliens on you in one go and wonder why you die
    the map screens are hopeless and almost completely useless annd the puzzle sections are more like point and click stlye games where there is no logic to them its more a case of try everything that you have got until one of them works
    hopelessly overated,terribley annoying to play,avoid at all costs
    Expand
  13. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Given that I'm only allowed to rate games by increments of one, I gave this a 10 because it is closer to a 10 than a 9 IMO(I would personally give it around a 9.6 or so). Metroid Prime 3 is an incredible experience from start to finish, combining the series' signature elements of exploration and adventure with an easier to follow plot structure and some new characters. One of my favorite parts of Corruption is that it has several plot lines for you to follow. There is the main one, that concerns Dark Samus and her attempt to overrun the galaxy with Phazon, but there are also side stories that one can discover by the same scanning mechanic that was included in Prime and Echoes which allows for people to learn about planets that one visits and and the civilizations that lived there. You are given the choice as to whether you want to explore and find out more about these civilizations without missing out on the main plot of the game, which works very well.

    Moving onto the gameplay, the Wii controls work wonders. While a lack of some extra buttons are noticeable at times, particularly in the selecting visors department, being able to point, aim, shoot, and turn so effortlessly is a dream come true. There is a learning curve to this, and you may wish that you had the old GC controls back for a while, but in the end, it works very well.

    Hypermode is the other new addition to the game, and it allows for a lot of experimentation with gameplay. Particularly in the higher difficulties, you will have to learn how to manipulate its invincibility and corrupted states in order to survive, which allows for an added layer of strategy onto an already very cerebral adventure game.

    Exploration and adventure are still out in front in this game, which means if you didn't like the original Prime, you won't like this one, either. If you did, or if you haven't played Prime but like games such as Okami, Zelda, or Darksiders, you'll definitely enjoy this.
    Expand
  14. May 18, 2012
    10
    Wow, do I ever love this game! The art design is transcendent, transporting the player to beautiful,
    wondrous worlds that feel truly alien and unique.Combat is awesome---- strategic, precise, and deep.
    Oh, those boss fights!! As you progress, scanning lore deepens a compelling story that unfolds in
    unexpected and unforgettable ways.Finally and maybe most importantly, I really like the
    refreshingly
    cerebral quality of this game; it constantly challenges you to think, analyze, and solve its myriad
    puzzles and mysteries. One of my all-time favorites. Retro, you gotta make another one!
    Expand
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, good controls, good graphics and plot, but is not perfect like the first prime game. The new thing in this game is voice acting: some charachters voice are good, but others sucks. The new space ship is awesome and the new hyper-mode is nice.
  16. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    great game i love metroid games........i also love metroid fusion,prime two echoes, prime hunters, and other m........people say that the wii sucks whats with that honestly....i think the wii has a chance against the xbox360 though....the wii though is liked a lot though.......people normally says that the wii doesnt have as great graphics.....yes sometimes that is true but they habe good graphics thereal games nintendo makes themselves or the games they own.....also people complain how tje wii has poor shooting games.....yet there ok with a classic controller.....also unlike xbox360 and ps3 you can move around....yes sadly the wii isnt better then the ps3.....and the wii has gamecube on it for people who like to use regular controls......the last reason why everyone sys the wii sucks is because they dont have enough good games?!?......THATS A LIE...if your one of the xbox360 owners you have no room to talk you may have some of the greatest games but you only have halo games, fable trilogy, and call of duty games........here are some of the greatest games for the wii in my opinion......metroid prime 3 corruption...metroid other m...zelda twilight princess....mario kart....mario super sluggers....mario and sonic at tje winter olympics.....kirby retirn to dreamland....kirbys epic yarn....metroid prime 2 echoes....metroid prime....star fox assault....star fox adventures....metal gear the twin snakes....super smash bros brawl and melee....super mario bros wii...all the mario party games....all the mario galaxy games....donkey kong country return....thse are only my favorite tiles and they already out gun what the xbox360 has to offer....you know what i can say to you xbpx people that hate the wii here is some obvious compareing to do with these two systems....the xbox360 breaks easly and heats up....and the wii doesnt break as easily proof ive had my wii for almost four years and ive had zero pronlems and my wii still works lome brand new.....and also what you get on the wii you have to pay for on the xbox 360 such as the internet use the online connection etc......the wii and the xbox360 both hve downlodablw games however the wii offers gamecube to back it up as well.....my opinion of thewii...is its fun and worht the money......and some games are not childish just look at the game im rating....long live nintendo long live nintendo long live nintendo.....either ways im giving this game a 9 because i find myself bored fter beating this game a couple times........long live nintendo long live nintendo long live nintendo..... Expand
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If I could only have one video game for each system I own, this would definitely be the game I would choose for the Wii. Everything about it is amazing: the graphics are very high-quality, the controls are engaging, the plot is suspenseful, the enemies present a challenge, and the bosses have devastating attacks, including Rundas's ice hammer strike, which I still haven't figured out how to dodge, and I got past by just destroying as many of his ice balls as possible and getting health so that I don't die. Throughout the game, the thought that Samus is corrupted with Phazon and may turn dark, like the other bounty hunters did (i.e. Rundas) keeps me guessing throughout the game and brings in new aspects constantly, !SPOILER ALERT! like on Bryyo when you inject an energy tank to clear out the Phazon vines, and you suddenly start to overload on Phazon, and from that point forward it continues to happen whenever you inject an energy tank. !SPOILER ENDED! Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Ah Metroid, what an amazing series. Ever since the SNES days, I have loved this franchise and when I found out that Metroid was going 3-D with a new "Prime" printed afterwards, I was excited. And sure enough they managed to pull it off. Even things like the grappling hook which I initially thought they would butcher, they did perfectly. Truly one of the best video game franchises in the market. I have played and enjoyed Metroid Prime and Prime 2: Echoes a lot. And now, this is my review of Metroid Prime 3: Gameplay: Amazing. It follows the same Metroid formula where you're in a first-person mode with you gun pointing out and pressing A to shoot. But with motion controls, the experience is better. With the Wii Remote, you can move the gun around in circles or in any other direction. It's as if the Wii Remote IS the gun itself and your Samus Aran shooting the pirates. It's a great experience. You can also go in your ship and play around with some of the features in it. However I just find myself going from one point to another with it. You can't control the ship, but it's still nice to see what's inside. The bosses are very challenging and very engaging. If you're new to the series, you will be in for one challenging adventure. Even me, being a veteran, found this game to be a tad difficult on easy mode. And on Hypermode...let's just good luck since this difficulty level really tests your skills. VERY challenging game. Throughout the game you get power-ups like the grappling hook and various different guns, and using these new power-ups is fun. 9.7/10 Story: Great. Quoted from metroid.wikia.com "After the events of Metroid Prime 2: Echoes, the Galactic Federation contacts Samus Aran to investigate a malfunctioning network computer known as the Aurora Unit. The Federation believes the Space Pirates have infected the Aurora Unit with a virus. Subsequently, the Space Pirates attack one of the Federation's bases and begin to overrun the Federation's defenses. Samus, along with Bounty Hunters Ghor, Rundas, and Gandrayda, must work together to stop the siege, repair the Aurora Unit, and defeat enemies from the past game." The story is engaging and it's interesting listening to the dialog of the characters. 9/10 Music: Beautiful. Like the previous Prime games, the music will not disappoint. It is very well done and fits in with each scenario. The boss battles, like Rundas's theme or the classic Ridley theme, are truly breathtaking and make you want to slow down when fighting the bosses, just to hear these scores. My personal favorite track in this game is the Skytown music. Sometimes I find myself just turning the game on, flying to that place, and just relaxing as the music plays. The music gets a 10/10 Graphics: Amazing, especially for Wii standards. By improving the Prime 1 and 2 graphics a bit, Nintendo has created worlds that are beautiful and breathtaking. The cutscenes are nice and the overall look to the game is very inviting. 10/10 Characters and Voice acting: I liked the characters. The three other bounty hunters look very cool and have their own, unique powers. They accompany you on Norion to stop a meteorite from collapsing and then are later turned against you and gone to different locations because of Dark Samus. The fights with the other bounty hunters are amazing and challenging. And it is really sad to see them die at the hands of Dark Samus after you have defeated them. The aurora unit is a nice character that tells you what to do. But the one character that I cannot stand is Admiral Dane. His voice bugs me to no end. Yes, they have voice acting in this game, and for the most part it's not bad, but when it comes to Admiral Dane, it's just annoying. I don't know why, but I just can't stand him. 9/10 Overall, this game is marvelous. I recommend it to any gamer out there who is up for a first-person action/adventure game. Metroid fans will not be disappointed. Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Metroid Prime 3: Corruption is a thrilling conclusion to the trilogy, the graphics are among the best on the console, and the point and shoot gameplay is mostly perfect, although this game won't soot everybody, and it lacks replay value, I suggest you buy this game.
  20. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Honestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game could do without voice acting. New hunters are very cool, story is also good. Controls are top notch again, feel very precise. Graphically, it pushes the Wii very far, it's one of those games that doesn't feel like it's trying too hard to be visually impressive. (Unlike The Conduit.)
    Lore is a bit weaker, but it's still very interesting. Definitely a good closeup for the Prime series. Has more pros than cons, so it get's a 9. No less, no more.
    Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Metroid Prime stunned audiences back in 2002 with some of the best visuals the gamecube had to offer, excellent gameplay, and an amazing story all in one bundle. Probably the best game for the gamecube. Metroid Prime 2 came out sometime thereafter and was good, but not nearly as good because the story just didn't quite fit. Now we have Metroid Prime 3: Corruption which has changed the MP formula a lot (both good and bad ways). So this review will probably take a little longer to plow through. Story wise, MP3 is back to form, in a way. It's not MP1 material (i.e. story takes a back seat setting up the scene and let's you figure it out as you go along). But it isn't bad. This game comes with its own cutscenes and I want to say this is the first game to include voice acting in the series. So Retro and Nintendo are really experimenting with the brand to see what sticks and what doesn't. While I'm not turned off by the voice acting addition, I feel like maybe they're trying to make Metroid more cinematic than it really needs to be. Why can't it be more akin to Half-Life where you stay in first person when the cutscenes take place, or is that asking for too much? But the story isn't bad. It takes elements from the first two games and explains them all so you know what the real problem has always been. You also have bounty hunter allies who, obviously, will turn on you later in the game. Which, I feel, is a bit short sighted on Nintendo's part. They could have been useful for universe expanding in future titles or multiplayer modes. Instead, they are just redshirts and nothing more. I especially liked Ghor's ability to meld with machinery because that's something I don't see every day. Metroid's and pirates play a much later role in this game than before (especially the pirates as you get to visit their homeworld). Ridley is back with a vengeance, making Samus reconsider the idea of a restraining order. And even Dark Samus is back because why the hell not? A lot is going on and you are the only phazon corrupted bounty hunter who doesn't go insane, so you have to do it all. Game play is different from previous games as this is on the Wii. and I feel like this is probably (to this day) the best FPS game the wii has to offer in terms of controls. It feels like a mouse-keyboard setup and that's probably the best way to have your FPS feel like so you can be more accurate. However, I feel like this game didn't try hard enough to challenge me. Unlike Prime 1 or 2, it took me only a weekend to beat it and I was on vacation with the family. If I found enough free time to pull it off then and still beat it, then the game is just too easy. But then I'm back to my MP1 complaint about the lack of a hard-mode from the get-go. The environments look better than ever and the variety of enemies (ranging from pirates, to lizards, to machines, to golems, and to other hunters) really gives the gameplay a lot of variety and also just makes it look far more appealing than shooting the same three or four dudes and bugs for three hours. I'd say that this isn't better than the first, but it overtakes the second. Metroid Prime 3 is probably one of the better games for the Wii and one of the better games overall. Worth buying it if you haven't yet. Expand
  22. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This had got to be the best wii game in terms of graphics. If you are a person who finds games like this easy, well get ready for harder modes, because they have one of them available right from the start. The story line is amazing, and it is a great ending to the Metroid Prime Trilogy. But I have to admit that the final boss was a little easy, and could have been longer or harder (considering it's the last in the Prime series). The Wii remote controls are amazingly precise, and it is hard to go back to regular controls after using wiimote-style controls. Overall, one of the best games for the Wii. Expand
  23. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Great port from the GameCube controller to the Wii controller. Once again, they put a lot of work into the game from the stunning visuals to the gameplay. I also like the controller options which helps balance out the more beginning players to the more professional gamers. But unfortunately, I did find the game to be really rough work with the Wii Motion, especially the Nunchuk.
  24. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    An amazing game with new controls and features. The introduction of more of a plot kind of hurt the beginning of the game, but as soon as you leave Norin, the game begins to fit the usual Metroid mind space and isolation begins to fill in. As a fan of the series I must say the game is the easiest in the series and the shortest.
  25. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The weakest prime game, and that says nothing seeing as the others are pure brilliance. This is a very great action game that gives the franchise an amazing send off. Love the amount of epic boss battles and addictiction level here as well, very Metroid.
  26. Feb 11, 2011
    6
    Corruption definitely had its strong points. It excelled in graphics, controls, and gameplay. The plot was well done and the boss battles were fun. You just felt immersed in the game because of the first world view. The big problem with the game is the lack of instruction. It's difficult to know which way to go and it is so easy to get lost. Backtracking happened often and the game could have benefited from more instructions on where to go. Also, in the later part of the game, there is a giant backtracking quest to get energy cells.

    It's a mixed bag.
    Expand
  27. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  28. Nov 7, 2010
    0
    Terrible controls ruin the end of an otherwise great trilogy. Lock-on targeting slips off for no reason, and bosses' weak points are tiny moving targets which can't be locked onto. Does the game look great? Sure. Is the story worth exploring? I don't know, I turned it off in disgust after yet another battle with the awful wiimote targeting.
  29. Aug 23, 2010
    2
    As a fan of the metroid series i was loving this game. Unfortunately I can no longer play it for fear that I will lose control again and angrily throw that stupid wii mote through the window again. The wii mote completely killed this game for me. If I could use a decent controller with it I would play this game.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Even with a low difficulty level, lackluster story and flawed unlockables, Metroid Prime 3 is certainly a must-play for Wii owners.
  2. A true gamer's game, a lovingly crafted science-fiction magnum opus, a showcase title not only for excellent motion controls but also stunning artwork that rivals anything in gaming.
  3. Proof that not all sequels are quick attempts to cash in; Corruption takes the already outstanding formula of the previous games and retools it into one of the most solid and rewarding experiences in years.