User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 443

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CarlosD.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Personally I hate FPS but metroid has changed my way of thinking, controls, interactiveness and non dizzyness 3D graphics has made this sport crazy fan..a first person fan!!!!
  2. JustinE.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    The graphics are the best I've seen so far on the Wii, and the framerate is an amazing 60 fps. The story is really good and the controls are really smooth. I love the Metroid Prime series, but even people that have never played any of the games before would love this. Amazing game!!!
  3. RodneyM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing. it redifines the fps genre and the fpa genre too. the controls are spot on, the story rocks, it looks great, and the addition of full voice acting is the icing on the cake. a masterpiece. any wii gamer has to own this game.
  4. JesseS.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Best Wii Game yet. Best game on any platform that I've played in the last year. The shooting controls are perfect. The graphics are stunning. The sound is phenomenal. The puzzles are difficult, but I haven't run into one yet that I'd consider too hard. If you have a Wii, get this game. If you don't have a Wii, buy one ASAP.
  5. May 18, 2012
    10
    Wow, do I ever love this game! The art design is transcendent, transporting the player to beautiful,
    wondrous worlds that feel truly alien and unique.Combat is awesome---- strategic, precise, and deep.
    Oh, those boss fights!! As you progress, scanning lore deepens a compelling story that unfolds in unexpected and unforgettable ways.Finally and maybe most importantly, I really like the
    Wow, do I ever love this game! The art design is transcendent, transporting the player to beautiful,
    wondrous worlds that feel truly alien and unique.Combat is awesome---- strategic, precise, and deep.
    Oh, those boss fights!! As you progress, scanning lore deepens a compelling story that unfolds in
    unexpected and unforgettable ways.Finally and maybe most importantly, I really like the refreshingly
    cerebral quality of this game; it constantly challenges you to think, analyze, and solve its myriad
    puzzles and mysteries. One of my all-time favorites. Retro, you gotta make another one!
    Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Metroid Prime 3 Corruption is the best Wii game. It is incredibly atmospheric and immersive, with well designed areas that make for amazing exploration. It is filled with lore that is interesting to read, ups the replay value and makes the series universe more interesting. The boss fights are a definite high point as they are all challenging but not frustrating and are just plain fun.Metroid Prime 3 Corruption is the best Wii game. It is incredibly atmospheric and immersive, with well designed areas that make for amazing exploration. It is filled with lore that is interesting to read, ups the replay value and makes the series universe more interesting. The boss fights are a definite high point as they are all challenging but not frustrating and are just plain fun. This game is a must-have for all Wii owners. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  8. BenS.
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    The controls are good, but each Prime game has felt less and less like Metroid. Most bosses do a dash attack, a stomp/shockwave attack, a sweeping beam attack, and something that involves an orb you have to shoot before they deal damage / heal themselves. The cinematics you see after beating bosses, as well as the bosses themselves, are copied and pasted from one another. Material is The controls are good, but each Prime game has felt less and less like Metroid. Most bosses do a dash attack, a stomp/shockwave attack, a sweeping beam attack, and something that involves an orb you have to shoot before they deal damage / heal themselves. The cinematics you see after beating bosses, as well as the bosses themselves, are copied and pasted from one another. Material is re-used so much from the previous two games that it comes off as lazy. Finally, the levels are small and feel like traditional levels, making the game more linear. I was disappointed. Expand
  9. AndyF.
    Sep 1, 2007
    7
    Good game in its own right, but i wish there was an option to use my gamecube controller. Metroid Prime was built as an adventure series, but this game takes that away with a more FPS feel. THe adventure aspects is what made the series so strong, and the emphasis on shooting now makes me feel like the adventure is missing.
  10. DiegoM.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    This game proves all the power of the Wii Console, from the stunning visuals and art direction, to the perfect controls. Metroid Prime 3 simply rocks.
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    2
    As a fan of the metroid series i was loving this game. Unfortunately I can no longer play it for fear that I will lose control again and angrily throw that stupid wii mote through the window again. The wii mote completely killed this game for me. If I could use a decent controller with it I would play this game.
  12. DanS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    5
    Poor realism. stupid puzzles. so your right in this enemies face... but he holds a little shield like the clear ones in halo. too bad. cant shoot him. cant shoot him in the head, back, nothing. dont matter where you try, it just "doesnt count" -that's poor form. I quit. and the at stupid ball thing.. right, like all these special tunnels are just waiting for you to come along. what a joke.
  13. JaredC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    0
    Its another lame game from Nintendo Wii, this was poorly made. Its basically impossible, in one shot you are dead, well thats no fun, I got frustrated and found myself upset that I bought a game that was no different from Metroid Prime Hunters. Imposiible and stupid. I don't see how this is in the top ten.
  14. LeoR.
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    Wow, is this game overrated. I enjoyed he first few hours but this game gets soooooooo repetitive. Seriously, you basically mash the A button incessantly, firing the same weapon, for the last several hours of the game. Constant backtracking through worlds that are little more then corridors and a massive lack of story or character round out an already mediocre game. Rent it if your Wow, is this game overrated. I enjoyed he first few hours but this game gets soooooooo repetitive. Seriously, you basically mash the A button incessantly, firing the same weapon, for the last several hours of the game. Constant backtracking through worlds that are little more then corridors and a massive lack of story or character round out an already mediocre game. Rent it if your interested but I would not recommend buying it. Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2011
    6
    Corruption definitely had its strong points. It excelled in graphics, controls, and gameplay. The plot was well done and the boss battles were fun. You just felt immersed in the game because of the first world view. The big problem with the game is the lack of instruction. It's difficult to know which way to go and it is so easy to get lost. Backtracking happened often and the gameCorruption definitely had its strong points. It excelled in graphics, controls, and gameplay. The plot was well done and the boss battles were fun. You just felt immersed in the game because of the first world view. The big problem with the game is the lack of instruction. It's difficult to know which way to go and it is so easy to get lost. Backtracking happened often and the game could have benefited from more instructions on where to go. Also, in the later part of the game, there is a giant backtracking quest to get energy cells.

    It's a mixed bag.
    Expand
  16. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = The weakest prime game, and that says nothing seeing as the others are pure brilliance. This is a very great action game that gives the franchise an amazing send off. Love the amount of epic boss battles and addictiction level here as well, very Metroid.
  17. Nov 7, 2010
    0
    Terrible controls ruin the end of an otherwise great trilogy. Lock-on targeting slips off for no reason, and bosses' weak points are tiny moving targets which can't be locked onto. Does the game look great? Sure. Is the story worth exploring? I don't know, I turned it off in disgust after yet another battle with the awful wiimote targeting.
  18. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Honestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game could do without voice acting. New hunters are very cool, story is also good. Controls are top notch again, feel very precise. Graphically, it pushes the Wii very far, it's one of those games that doesn't feel like it's trying too hard to be visuallyHonestly, it doesn't feel as polished as 2 and 1 were, but it's still very fun to play. Some areas are definitely boring, and the game could do without voice acting. New hunters are very cool, story is also good. Controls are top notch again, feel very precise. Graphically, it pushes the Wii very far, it's one of those games that doesn't feel like it's trying too hard to be visually impressive. (Unlike The Conduit.)
    Lore is a bit weaker, but it's still very interesting. Definitely a good closeup for the Prime series. Has more pros than cons, so it get's a 9. No less, no more.
    Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2014
    5
    Super buggy. I've never had a Nintendo game I had to reset as many times as this one just because scripted events failed to start, or doors that are locked when they shouldn't be.

    Controls: There is no reason this game couldn't have gamecube controller support like the previous two. I absolutely hate the motion-controlled aiming. The game also suffers from forced motion control
    Super buggy. I've never had a Nintendo game I had to reset as many times as this one just because scripted events failed to start, or doors that are locked when they shouldn't be.

    Controls: There is no reason this game couldn't have gamecube controller support like the previous two. I absolutely hate the motion-controlled aiming. The game also suffers from forced motion control gimmicks, with plenty of switches that require you to do unnecessary movements with the controller. Why let the player just press A to activate a switch when we can make them rotate the controller for no reason a few times instead?
    Expand
  20. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    the final part of the metroid story comes to a close and classy looking style on the wii
    that is about the only thing that they have got right about this game, it is very pretty as the landscapes and space stations morph and shimmer around you it is a very encompassing FPS, and the soundtrack just oozes atmosphere
    but that us where the good stops and the annoying takes over. the control
    the final part of the metroid story comes to a close and classy looking style on the wii
    that is about the only thing that they have got right about this game, it is very pretty as the landscapes and space stations morph and shimmer around you it is a very encompassing FPS, and the soundtrack just oozes atmosphere
    but that us where the good stops and the annoying takes over.
    the control system althought quite logical is infuriating to use,there isnt enough things to shoot at for long phases of the game and then they dump an entire levels worth of aliens on you in one go and wonder why you die
    the map screens are hopeless and almost completely useless annd the puzzle sections are more like point and click stlye games where there is no logic to them its more a case of try everything that you have got until one of them works
    hopelessly overated,terribley annoying to play,avoid at all costs
    Expand
  21. Ian
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    Zelda was amazing, but the controls felt tacked on. Super Paper Mario was fun, but it was originality meant for the gamecube. Now we have Metroid prime 3 which is truly the game to prove the wii isn't just a gamecube with online features and motion controls. it has at least a dozen bosses, a long and entertaining adventure mode. (its fun just to throw your grabble bean like a whip Zelda was amazing, but the controls felt tacked on. Super Paper Mario was fun, but it was originality meant for the gamecube. Now we have Metroid prime 3 which is truly the game to prove the wii isn't just a gamecube with online features and motion controls. it has at least a dozen bosses, a long and entertaining adventure mode. (its fun just to throw your grabble bean like a whip and tear shields and tear weaker enemies to bits!) with the best FPS controls so far, and excellent use of the wii's graphics which are much better than the last two MP games and maybe even halo 2. It even has voice acting, and its pretty good too! and even with 3 different difficulty settings, (one has to be unlocked) the game never feels frustrating. (don't listen to Jared C. he's lying) There is problems with loading time, which feels like forever sometimes, and the lack of online play is a disappointment, its still not enough to lower the score of the game to a 9. It also has a sort of halo feel, but thats a good thing and its still plays like a metroid game a MUST needed title for the hardcore. and people who are interested in playing a first person game. Expand
  22. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    The best controlling first person shooter I have played to date. Wonderful graphics, plus the Metrod feel make this a must buy game.
  23. AndrewG.
    Oct 5, 2007
    7
    Like most everyone, I found the controls in MP3 to be stellar - far far better than dual analog. Unfortunately, though, the game doesn't really do much for me; I definitely prefer MP1. My primary gripes: The 'puzzles' are stupidly easy - especially anything involving the morphball. The story/narrative is very bland - extremely cookie cutter. Also, other than the second one, Like most everyone, I found the controls in MP3 to be stellar - far far better than dual analog. Unfortunately, though, the game doesn't really do much for me; I definitely prefer MP1. My primary gripes: The 'puzzles' are stupidly easy - especially anything involving the morphball. The story/narrative is very bland - extremely cookie cutter. Also, other than the second one, the boss battles are really boring - primarily because arena battles can get old really fast when beating the boss is just a matter of time. Overall, I would probably recommend MP3, even though I have no urge to finish it. Expand
  24. BartB.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    The best shooter I've played in ages. The controls, where you lock onto a baddie but can aim off of it to hit others, don
  25. SimonG.
    Aug 29, 2007
    9
    Geez it's about time a great games comes out on the Wii. Apart from "The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess" and "Resident Evil 4" there wasn't much epic and deep games on the console yet. Of course there are a few good mini-games compilations (Rayman Raving Rabbids, Wario Ware: Smooth Moves) and average games that were still worth playing (Red Steel and Excite Trucks), but now Geez it's about time a great games comes out on the Wii. Apart from "The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess" and "Resident Evil 4" there wasn't much epic and deep games on the console yet. Of course there are a few good mini-games compilations (Rayman Raving Rabbids, Wario Ware: Smooth Moves) and average games that were still worth playing (Red Steel and Excite Trucks), but now with "Metroid Prime 3: Corruption" we finally have something else that gets us involved into. I never played the first two Prime in the series, but I figured that I give this one a chance. I was looking for a good action game, more than a Metroid one. The gameplay (action and controls) simply blew me away and I was charmed by the storyline immediately. I strongly recommend this game for any FPS fan looking for more than just shooting, no matter if you're into the series or not. This game really deserves the FPA (first person adventure) title. Expand
  26. G-RadAndrew
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    This game is for definitely more mature people who know how to get out of situations that involve scanning different objects. It's really difficult and smart as it is ruthless. Sure it's extremely fun, but just trying to get to the next level can be usually difficult for some teenagers. Though the graphics for this game is amazing and spectacular. The gunfire shootings and pack This game is for definitely more mature people who know how to get out of situations that involve scanning different objects. It's really difficult and smart as it is ruthless. Sure it's extremely fun, but just trying to get to the next level can be usually difficult for some teenagers. Though the graphics for this game is amazing and spectacular. The gunfire shootings and pack in forth laser battles are somewhat unrealistic but really fun and exciting. At first you're in a space ship using the controls which was really neat and interesting. It's also very thrilling including in the main titles before you reach the main menu screen. This game is definitely enjoyable once you finally get the hang of it, you start smiling and become obsessed. A little over the top, but it was magnificent. You actually feel like your there in the battle inside the game being Samus. I remember I was facing the first boss and I was walking around the room trying to beat the bad guy. It's really a true and pure masterpiece. Expand
  27. KevinR.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    The beautiful conclusion to one of the best series in all of gaming, Metroid Prime 3 incorporates the best shooter control scheme ever into its already tried and true format. There is not a single complaint I have with the game.
  28. RobC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    From what i've played so far, it definately lives up to the fan expectations. Just like your nintendo big dogs, like zelda and mario. They progress and are still classic amazing games to date. If you've come to this game new and thought "this aint for me" well you'll have ahd to have grown up with the series as a child to know the true feeling you get from these games. They From what i've played so far, it definately lives up to the fan expectations. Just like your nintendo big dogs, like zelda and mario. They progress and are still classic amazing games to date. If you've come to this game new and thought "this aint for me" well you'll have ahd to have grown up with the series as a child to know the true feeling you get from these games. They still know how to make games. Expand
  29. ScottW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutly top notch. Barely a flaw to be seen, it's amazing how genius artisitc direction can make up for lack of HD graphics any day. The game is a little more shooty than the other prime games, and perhaps a little less adventury, but it's still the best game on Wii so far and should not be missed by anyway. The motion controls are far from gimmicky, making things This game is absolutly top notch. Barely a flaw to be seen, it's amazing how genius artisitc direction can make up for lack of HD graphics any day. The game is a little more shooty than the other prime games, and perhaps a little less adventury, but it's still the best game on Wii so far and should not be missed by anyway. The motion controls are far from gimmicky, making things like tearing enemies shields off and unlocking combination locks all the more interactive. Expand
  30. SamJ
    Oct 19, 2007
    7
    Although this game doesn't offer that magical feeling of achievement you get from playing Resident Evil 4 or The Legend of Zelda : Twilight Princess. You do get a very enjoyable game with some of the best Wii controls to date. However, if you are new to the series the story doesn't really bring you up to date. Best to seek out an online synopsis to understand what's happening.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Even with a low difficulty level, lackluster story and flawed unlockables, Metroid Prime 3 is certainly a must-play for Wii owners.
  2. A true gamer's game, a lovingly crafted science-fiction magnum opus, a showcase title not only for excellent motion controls but also stunning artwork that rivals anything in gaming.
  3. Proof that not all sequels are quick attempts to cash in; Corruption takes the already outstanding formula of the previous games and retools it into one of the most solid and rewarding experiences in years.