Metroid Prime Trilogy Wii

Metroid Prime Trilogy Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metroid Prime 3: Corruption set a new standard for first-person motion controls in video games. Now it’s bringing those controls to the rest of the celebrated series, allowing players to experience the entire Metroid Prime story arc with the precision of the Wii Remote. Metroid PrimeMetroid Prime 3: Corruption set a new standard for first-person motion controls in video games. Now it’s bringing those controls to the rest of the celebrated series, allowing players to experience the entire Metroid Prime story arc with the precision of the Wii Remote. Metroid Prime Trilogy, is a three-game collection for the Wii console that bundles all three landmark Metroid Prime games onto one disc and revamps the first two installments with intuitive Wii Remote controls, wide-screen presentation and other enhancements. Each game maintains its original storyline and settings, but now Metroid Prime and Metroid Prime 2: Echoes let players use their Wii Remote to aim with precision as heroine Samus Aran. Based on the breakthrough control system that debuted in Metroid Prime 3: Corruption, these new Wii controls bring an entirely new level of immersion and freedom to these milestone games. Players can access the game they want from a unified main menu that ties together all three adventures. Through a new unlockables system, players can gain access to in-game rewards such as music and artwork by accomplishing objectives across all three games. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. 100
    Three of the finest FPS experiences from the GameCube days gets the port they deserves in this stellar recollection of the Metroid Prime series.
  2. 100
    With three brilliant games that challenge and exhilarate the player, the Metroid Prime Trilogy package is a masterpiece filled with with pristine graphics, an in-depth storyline, and non-stop exploration and action .
  3. The bargain of the century and a great opportunity to visit a brilliant series. [Sept 2009, p.79]
  4. Metroid Prime: Trilogy contains the kind of games you want to be remade. Three fantastic games in one pack, with the new way of controller them and with some neat extra’s. It’s a deal you don’t want to miss.
  5. If you grew tired of these games years ago, then move along. But if you love Metroid and want to experience the first two adventures with more user friendly controls, happily indulge in this creature blasting, planet hopping trilogy.
  6. Once again, Nintendo has proven they know how to pay homage to both their hardcore fans and core franchises that make them who they are. This is evident with the recently released Metroid Prime Trilogy which offers three highly regarded titles at the same price point as any other single Wii game making it a tremendous value.
  7. Metroid Prime Trilogy is an offer you can't refuse: a must-buy for the most devoted fans and for anyone who hasn't yet related with one of the most astonishing sagas in the whole gaming universe, but at the same time an avoidable compilation for those who have already played the three masterpieces.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
  1. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Esto es fácilmente la mayor recopilación de juegos de todos los tiempos. Olvida el bombo de Halo, o Killzone, este es el juego real. EstoyEsto es fácilmente la mayor recopilación de juegos de todos los tiempos. Olvida el bombo de Halo, o Killzone, este es el juego real. Estoy enfermo y cansado de destinos juegos 'ser decidida por los colaboradores incompetentes. Este hecho, este no tiene una puntuación perfecta es penalmente repugnante. Me pregunto lo que un halo Trilogía conseguiría? Esta es la mayor serie de First Person Shooters jamás se ha hecho, la norma se ha establecido y cualquier jugador inteligente aún está esperando a que se rompa 8 años más tarde. Retro, le saludamos! Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This is no doubt the greatest compilation of games ever, and the one deal that every Wii owner should take advantage of. Three of the greatestThis is no doubt the greatest compilation of games ever, and the one deal that every Wii owner should take advantage of. Three of the greatest FPS games ever in one remastered package. The absolute only element of this game that felt missing was online multiplayer for MP2: Echoes. Aside from that, this is the complete package, given an upgrade. This is the first time you'll see snow fall on Phendrana Drifts, or notice the texture of Ridley's armor. If you've passed up on the series until now, or feel like dusting your Wii off, be sure to pick this one up. Expand
  3. Soooo
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This is easily the greatest gaming compilation of all time. Forget the hype of Halo, or Killzone, this is real gaming. I'm sick and This is easily the greatest gaming compilation of all time. Forget the hype of Halo, or Killzone, this is real gaming. I'm sick and tired of games' fates being decided by incompetent reviewers. This fact this doesn't have a perfect score is criminally disgusting. I wonder what a Halo Trilogy would get? This IS the greatest series of First Person Shooters ever made, the standard has been set and any intelligent gamer is still waiting for it to be broken 8 yrs later. Retro, we salute you! Expand
  4. RobsonE
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Great package with 3 awesome games.
  5. PatrickP
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    It would be easy for Nintendo to just scrap together a quick compilation of the Metroid Prime series on the Wii for a quick buck, but It would be easy for Nintendo to just scrap together a quick compilation of the Metroid Prime series on the Wii for a quick buck, but we'd still love it. These games were fantastic back then and are even better now, thanks to the Wii-Remote's improved controls. Aside from the obvious answer of more, there is hardly a thing that could be improved about these games. Those that have already played the first two Prime games and didn't really care for them should still check it out thanks to the improved controls, and even those that have played them before can probably find even more great times in reliving these classics. It's a cheap 10/10, but I'd be insane to give anything less. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This package is one of the best deals in gaming history. Three of the absolute finest games ever created, and now the first two with theThis package is one of the best deals in gaming history. Three of the absolute finest games ever created, and now the first two with the highly superior Wii controls.

    If you haven't experienced Prime 1 & 2 before, this is the definitive version to get. It's probably pretty hard to get a copy of the trilogy for a reasonable price now, as it was only available for a limited time, but if you see it, get it! It's definitely worth every penny it costs you, these games are really that amazing.

    I also have to mention the visuals, they are superb in these games. Retro Studios have used an incredibly clever art style, along with the best possible use of the Wii's technical capabilities. The graphics, at least for Prime 3: corruption, have not aged one bit.

    So basically, if you really like action/adventure games and have not yet experienced these three masterpieces, this package is worth almost anything you'll have to pay for it.
    Expand
  7. JacobP.
    Aug 31, 2009
    0
    I want to post an honest review of this game. I greatly enjoyed Metroid Prime for the Gamecube in 2002. However, because of this new version I want to post an honest review of this game. I greatly enjoyed Metroid Prime for the Gamecube in 2002. However, because of this new version complete with Wii controls, I know have pains in my wrist that I've never had before. I think the right thing to do is let others know what's happened to me. Maybe it doesn't affect others like it does myself, but I believe that I have a responsibility to share my experience with this game in a honest and unbiased manner. So yes, I now have troubles with my wrist. The Wii is the top selling home console to date, and I imagine the draw is the Wii motion controls. It's in the opinion of some people that the controls of the Wii allow precision, and with the new peripheral Wii Motion Plus, that's certainly true. But is Metroid really a precision based game? If you were a sniper and needed to assassinate someone from far away, I imagine that's when precision would come into play. If you're a seamstress and trying to poke a thread through a needle, precision would be needed there too. But firing an arm cannon at monsters from point blank range? I think Retro Studio's heart was in the right place, but I feel they overdid it. The Wii controls truly do hurt my wrist as well as tire my arm. I need to lie my arm down in order to play this title. I've never had problems with my wrist before or any kind of signs of carpal tunnel syndrome, but this game really does, no joke, and with all seriousness make the game nigh unplayable, let alone fun. So much so I've only played the game in bursts, and now that I've beaten it and can trace my wrist ailments to it, I know I'll never pick it up again. Even then though, I don't know if this would still be worth the full price tag. The games in the Prime series came out in 2002, 2004 and in 2007. I beat Metroid Prime way back in 2002 and it's sequel in 2004. They're great games, but they're old games. Plus, I was quite young back then. I feel as if there are more grown-up titles out there and this is best suited for children. But the carpal tunnel syndrome comes into play again. If you're a parent and thinking of buying this for your child, please reconsider. Your child may very well develop carpal tunnel syndrome or some other arm and wrist problems. If you truly love your child, ignore their cries of protest and give them a hockey stick instead. They should be outdoors, not destroying their wrists (and any future working with a computer) playing this. If you want a good title for the Wii, pick up Wii Fit. The gaming website IGN gave this compilation a 9.5 out of 10. If you read the user reviews though for the other Metroid game with Wii controls, you'll find the reviews are much less favourable. I'm not chiding you; please go the the respective webpages and look. One final thing before I finish: the first two Metroid games came with substantial bonuses. In Metroid Prime 2: Echoes, there was a multi-player component which, if you're familiar with the Gamecube's lack of online play, was only local. The bonus in Metroid Prime was even sweeter: providing you had a GBA, you could play the original Metroid; the game that started it all. In this compilation however, the multi-player remains still only local; which stikes me as a wasted opportunity to bring motion controls into a setting where precision would've actually been substantial. Also, the original Metroid for the NES is missing. There's always Metroid: Other M to look forward to. It looks to be a worthwhile reinvention of the series. God, I love innovation in all it's forms. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009