Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    70
    All in all Michael Jackson: The Experience is a decent package and a fitting tribute to the King of Pop, though we would expect a larger amount of content to sweeten the deal.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    If you want to dance on your Wii you better buy Just Dance. It's a much better game than Michael Jackson: The Experience because this one has failed massively and it would cause the King of Pop to turn around in his grave.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    As poorly named game as there's ever been, since this doesn't recreate the experience of Jacko's music or life - just a few motion-controlled dance moves.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Michael Jackson: The Experience uses the Just Dance playability with the best songs of the famous artist. The game is lack in content and the motion sensing control has many issues to recognize our movements. If you are a Michael Jackson fan this is your game, if you are looking a dancing game, try Just Dance 2.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    The game is competent but not compelling, adequate but not outstanding. Unless you are a big Michael Jackson fan it's a rental at best. Unless you can find that version with the glove. Now that will provide hours of fun and amusement.
  6. Feb 10, 2011
    70
    Michael Jackson: The Experience falls short of being a great dancing title because of its own faults and that of the system on which it's running.
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    70
    Michael Jackson: The Experience is indeed a good way to dance along to your favourite King of Pop routines, but that's really about it.
  8. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    Playing this game, it was hard to not compare it to Just Dance 2, largely because they are the same game, with different music and visuals. The problem is, Michael Jackson: The Experience comes up short in any comparison, thanks to less modes and the inability to expand the title without an in-game store.
  9. Jan 3, 2011
    60
    We were expecting something quite better from a so-called 'Michael Jackson Experience', not just a simple spin-off based on the Just Dance gameplay mechanics. Anyway, and considering its musical selection, this's a nice dancing experience for those willing to have some fun while dancing on Jackson's tune.
  10. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    Replicating the mechanics found in Just Dance, MJ The Experience manages to deliver a great casual game for the fans; but everyone else should just simply buy the better and more varied Just Dance 2.
  11. Dec 21, 2010
    0
    Dance Central can eat its heart out.
  12. Michael Jackson fans will definitely get something out of The Experience but it's still disappointing.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Even without alcohol coursing through my veins, I still had a reasonable amount of fun with the game.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Michael Jackson The Experience won't make a real dancer out of you, but as a party game it sure is fun… and no, I still haven't learned how to moonwalk.
  15. Dec 20, 2010
    62
    The game works well as a tribute to Michael Jackson, although it could have included some more extras for the deceased singer fans, and also a better gameplay.
  16. Dec 20, 2010
    40
    The dancing controls are lousy, the visuals are too lame for their own good and the lack of options (or anything resembling information regarding Jackson's legacy) are disappointing. Stick with a Greatest Hits album instead and tell this game to "beat it."
  17. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    I picked up Michael Jackson The Experience as a skeptic, but I had a lot of fun dancing with my sequined glove despite myself. There's not much of a game beyond mastering the choreography, but it's worth it if you ever wanted to dance with a legend.
  18. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    If only the game gave you more encouragement to improve.
  19. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Two decades after my first virtual encounter, he may no longer be a system-seller, but Jacko's still got all the right moves.
  20. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    There's no other song list on the market like it, and the dance controls in the game are spot on, so it's a must buy for any Jackson fan. But if you really want the Michael Jackson "experience," you might want to pick up This Is It while you're at the mall, because this rushed-together Wii game doesn't exactly deliver on the Jackson-gasm scale.
  21. Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Michael Jackson The Experience is a sort of spin-off of Just Dance gameplay with "just" Michael Jackson in it. The game works quite well and is fun enough to capture every fan of the King of Pop, even if the track list have some huge absence.
  22. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    Only recommended to die-hard fans of the king of pop. It has great music and choreographies, but as a musical game it's just not that good.
  23. Dec 20, 2010
    79
    If you're already into Just Dance and consider yourself a die-hard Michael Jackson fan, there's no doubt that you need to have this game in your collection...but being a fan myself, I found the final product a little lacking.
  24. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    Despite the inclusion of some great songs and routines, this bare-bones dancing game's flaky motion controls prevent it from being a thriller.
  25. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    Michael Jackson: The Experience mostly feels like a missed opportunity which could have not only honored the music, but the entertainer himself. As it stands, the game doesn't really offer enough beyond lackluster fan service and a few short hours of potential amusement.
  26. Dec 20, 2010
    33
    Unless you're one of those die-hard fanatics that simultaneously weep and scream at the sight of MJ, it's unclear who would be interested in dancing to 26, largely questionable, songs.
  27. Dec 20, 2010
    77
    Michael Jackson: The Experience is fun but just knowing how much more could have been done ultimately is disappointing.
  28. Feb 18, 2011
    58
    With Jacko's tunes and moves to work with, this should have been so much better. [Feb 2011, p.96]
  29. Feb 6, 2011
    52
    As a tribute it's more souvenir than towering statue. [Christmas 2010, p.69]
  30. Jan 27, 2011
    65
    At $40 MSRP, I would have to recommend most hardcore gamers to pass on Michael Jackson: The Experience. It is a great novelty to bring out at parties, but otherwise it is a shallow game that does not do much to keep gamers wanting for more.
  31. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    Those who have no affinities with Michael Jackson will obviously walk their way, but the others will surely find a dancing game that cannot be ignored on Wii, especially in multiplayer.
  32. 20
    If you plan to spend some memorable time with Michael Jackson's dance creations, then you better buy any of his Best of… albums and a bottle of vodka. Anything is better than this game parasite. [Issue#199]
  33. Jan 4, 2011
    20
    The music, as you'd expect, is generally excellent even in the face of some odd inclusions, though that's the only praise the so-called 'experience' will be getting from us. [Issue#104, p.124]
  34. Dec 21, 2010
    65
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  35. Dec 21, 2010
    65
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  36. Dec 20, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    This is another game that only has one goal. Those games are usually repetitive and dull, but this game is one that stands out from the crowd.This is another game that only has one goal. Those games are usually repetitive and dull, but this game is one that stands out from the crowd. The only goal in the game is to get a high score on different songs by copying the on screen dancers moves. It is surprisingly fun and fun to watch. It also is quite sensitive to your movement, but there is little warning to what is coming up. There are lots of songs at a variety of difficulty levels. But, with few unlockables, and a big price tag, it does take away some of the greatness. This would be a solid purchase on the $18.99 rack, but even even with that fact, this is a great party game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    This is another game I got for my son, but I ended up playing it more than he is! I want to get more games for him that promotes motion and heThis is another game I got for my son, but I ended up playing it more than he is! I want to get more games for him that promotes motion and he likes to dance. He likes this game quite a bit, but it's me who finds herself playing this usually. I thought I'd introduce my son to a little "old school" and he is mildy interested in it but likes the dancing. Myself, I enjoy the nostolgia the game brings me and its great fun to learn the routines I've seen in old MJ videos. I think my son is having more fun watching mom make a fool of herself than he is playing the game, but i'm all over it :-) Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    I got this for my wife and have to say...we are both enjoying it. This sort of game usually isn't for me, but as someone who used to enjoy hisI got this for my wife and have to say...we are both enjoying it. This sort of game usually isn't for me, but as someone who used to enjoy his tunes way back in the day I found myself watching as my wife played and then started playing myself. This is loads of fun, it's a great game to get moving with and harkens back to an earlier era in music. It's a good take on the dance genre and appeals to me more than a game like DDR would. Full Review »