User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    I got this for my wife and have to say...we are both enjoying it. This sort of game usually isn't for me, but as someone who used to enjoy his tunes way back in the day I found myself watching as my wife played and then started playing myself. This is loads of fun, it's a great game to get moving with and harkens back to an earlier era in music. It's a good take on the dance genre andI got this for my wife and have to say...we are both enjoying it. This sort of game usually isn't for me, but as someone who used to enjoy his tunes way back in the day I found myself watching as my wife played and then started playing myself. This is loads of fun, it's a great game to get moving with and harkens back to an earlier era in music. It's a good take on the dance genre and appeals to me more than a game like DDR would. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    This is another game I got for my son, but I ended up playing it more than he is! I want to get more games for him that promotes motion and he likes to dance. He likes this game quite a bit, but it's me who finds herself playing this usually. I thought I'd introduce my son to a little "old school" and he is mildy interested in it but likes the dancing. Myself, I enjoy the nostolgia theThis is another game I got for my son, but I ended up playing it more than he is! I want to get more games for him that promotes motion and he likes to dance. He likes this game quite a bit, but it's me who finds herself playing this usually. I thought I'd introduce my son to a little "old school" and he is mildy interested in it but likes the dancing. Myself, I enjoy the nostolgia the game brings me and its great fun to learn the routines I've seen in old MJ videos. I think my son is having more fun watching mom make a fool of herself than he is playing the game, but i'm all over it :-) Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    I don't care what the Critic Reviews say, If you like Michael, you'll love this game. If you don't care for him, you probably won't like this. The whole family had a blast playing this all day. Don't care much for the unlockables, but the dance game itself is great.
  4. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    This is another game that only has one goal. Those games are usually repetitive and dull, but this game is one that stands out from the crowd. The only goal in the game is to get a high score on different songs by copying the on screen dancers moves. It is surprisingly fun and fun to watch. It also is quite sensitive to your movement, but there is little warning to what is coming up. ThereThis is another game that only has one goal. Those games are usually repetitive and dull, but this game is one that stands out from the crowd. The only goal in the game is to get a high score on different songs by copying the on screen dancers moves. It is surprisingly fun and fun to watch. It also is quite sensitive to your movement, but there is little warning to what is coming up. There are lots of songs at a variety of difficulty levels. But, with few unlockables, and a big price tag, it does take away some of the greatness. This would be a solid purchase on the $18.99 rack, but even even with that fact, this is a great party game. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Dance the night a-way-yay! Every time I play this game I end up running MJ songs through my head for the rest of the day. For an MJ fan like me, this is a good thing! I think this game is getting a bad wrap by the critics. It's a fun dance game, especially if you are already an MJ fan. The critics may be panning it but look at the USER scores. We players seem to like it quite a bit. IDance the night a-way-yay! Every time I play this game I end up running MJ songs through my head for the rest of the day. For an MJ fan like me, this is a good thing! I think this game is getting a bad wrap by the critics. It's a fun dance game, especially if you are already an MJ fan. The critics may be panning it but look at the USER scores. We players seem to like it quite a bit. I would recommend it for fans of the dance genre and MJ fans in particular. This is well designed and a lot of fun, plus it brings fans along on a trip down memory lane. Collapse
  6. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    Michael Jackson was the greatest entertainer of all time. This game could have hacked it, but they are doing his legacy justice. The choreography in this is pure Jackson and there are some great tunes. They went for some of the obvious choices for the songs (of course Thriller is in there) but there are some lesser known but no less tasty tracks here as well (Don't Stop Till You Get EnoughMichael Jackson was the greatest entertainer of all time. This game could have hacked it, but they are doing his legacy justice. The choreography in this is pure Jackson and there are some great tunes. They went for some of the obvious choices for the songs (of course Thriller is in there) but there are some lesser known but no less tasty tracks here as well (Don't Stop Till You Get Enough and Ghosts are 2 favorites of mine). Being that the game is based on Jackson's dancing, expect the challenge to be big here. But don't get discouraged, it's way too much fun to pass up. And when you nail some of the tough moves, you really feel like a bad-ass. Expand
  7. May 3, 2011
    8
    Graphic: 6.5/10;
    Audio: 9/10;
    Gameplay: 7/10;
    Loving to Michael Jackson's music: 10/10;
    OVERALL: 8/10.
    I recommend this game, if you are Michael Jackson's fan.
  8. Jan 2, 2011
    6
    If you really love Michael Jackson songs then buy it. But if you don't like his songs and you're not a very good dancer don't waste your money to buy it.
  9. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    The only gamers which could stay away from this experience are those which don't like the king of pop. For those who like MJ or don't know enough about his music this is a must have. I really can't understand why I should prefer Just Dance 2... Are Improvised dance moves better than choreograph-ies made for music videos or live exhibitions? This really don't make sense! Group dancing isThe only gamers which could stay away from this experience are those which don't like the king of pop. For those who like MJ or don't know enough about his music this is a must have. I really can't understand why I should prefer Just Dance 2... Are Improvised dance moves better than choreograph-ies made for music videos or live exhibitions? This really don't make sense! Group dancing is spectacular (think yourself making zombie movies behind MJ...) and most of the songs make you sweat a lot.
    Unlocking tutorials is not a problem at all since some choreograph-ies let you take stars very easily ;)
    Expand
  10. Jul 25, 2011
    5
    Michael Jackson The "Experience" is flawed and very terrible, the soundtrack saves the icon. Though, the gameplay is terrible, for fans of the King of the Pop and the guys that loved Just Dance this is probably a most own for you. It's a casual game and casual people will love it because it has some nice touches, in my case i think this isn't an experience . People just play the Move andMichael Jackson The "Experience" is flawed and very terrible, the soundtrack saves the icon. Though, the gameplay is terrible, for fans of the King of the Pop and the guys that loved Just Dance this is probably a most own for you. It's a casual game and casual people will love it because it has some nice touches, in my case i think this isn't an experience . People just play the Move and Kinect versions. Expand
  11. May 12, 2011
    10
    I must admit I was slightly hesitant at first when it came to picking up this game, as I was devastated when MJ died. But once I slipped on that glove, and began breaking it down oh so low to 'Billy Jean' I felt Michael was alive again, living through the rhythmic undulations of my pelvis! I especially like the bonus levels, racking up points touching as many prepubescent boys possibleI must admit I was slightly hesitant at first when it came to picking up this game, as I was devastated when MJ died. But once I slipped on that glove, and began breaking it down oh so low to 'Billy Jean' I felt Michael was alive again, living through the rhythmic undulations of my pelvis! I especially like the bonus levels, racking up points touching as many prepubescent boys possible while the timer counts down is almost as thrilling as the real thing! Or so I've heard. The glove is a great addition to the package too. I've often fallen back onto my sofa, in a sweaty mess after a good 2 hour session of the game just to let my gloved hand do the walking... wink wink. It's almost like Michael is in the room with me. This is a must buy for die hard fans. Expand
  12. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    Great music, great choreography, great features. Of course it helps if you like the music (which I do), but at the price this game is available for now you can't really go wrong. We bought 3 dancing games with our Wii and this is easily the best. Fun exercise anyone?
  13. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Perfect game it just like just dance so nothing to hard about it all your fave MJ songs are on this game
    only the hard combo blows though hooo hoo
  14. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    Dance the night a-way-yay! Every time I play this game I end up running MJ songs through my head for the rest of the day. For an MJ fan like me, this is a good thing! I think this game is getting a bad wrap by the critics. It's a fun dance game, especially if you are already an MJ fan. The critics may be panning it but look at the USER scores. We players seem to like it quite a bit. IDance the night a-way-yay! Every time I play this game I end up running MJ songs through my head for the rest of the day. For an MJ fan like me, this is a good thing! I think this game is getting a bad wrap by the critics. It's a fun dance game, especially if you are already an MJ fan. The critics may be panning it but look at the USER scores. We players seem to like it quite a bit. I would recommend it for fans of the dance genre and MJ fans in particular. This is well designed and a lot of fun, plus it brings fans along on a trip down memory lane. Collapse
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    The game is competent but not compelling, adequate but not outstanding. Unless you are a big Michael Jackson fan it's a rental at best. Unless you can find that version with the glove. Now that will provide hours of fun and amusement.
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    58
    With Jacko's tunes and moves to work with, this should have been so much better. [Feb 2011, p.96]
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    70
    Michael Jackson: The Experience falls short of being a great dancing title because of its own faults and that of the system on which it's running.