User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanF.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    PSWii60 is wrong. There IS fielding in the game. In Exhibition mode, there is alot of waggling going on, but in Season Mode, all of the features of a 2K baseball game are there, including fielding and base running. I gave the game a shot on a whim, and was pleasantly surprised at how fun it is. The only gripe I have is no online.
  2. RussellC.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    One of the deepest and best baseball games we've seen in years. The negatives are few, and those who don't try the game out because they think the graphics are too 'kid-ish' are simply missing out on a great experience. Though there is a Wiimote mode, it is essentially a tacked on extra to the game that is similar to wiisports. It's fine for vs with others, but One of the deepest and best baseball games we've seen in years. The negatives are few, and those who don't try the game out because they think the graphics are too 'kid-ish' are simply missing out on a great experience. Though there is a Wiimote mode, it is essentially a tacked on extra to the game that is similar to wiisports. It's fine for vs with others, but it's just a tiny piece of the game. The game is best played with a wavebird, as using the wiimote + nunchuck just doesn't make any sense (there is no motion controls in ANY of the main game modes...which isn't bad...in this case). Season mode is fantastic, it combines a GM approach to Baseball with the option to play all the games. It includes determining where you focus each player so that they can improve their abilities, trades, salaries, and more depth than I can possibly approach in this limited space. Success mode is a RPG mode with lots of text as you take a player through college, try to make the team and then work on through playing in the majors. Everything from your grades to your day job to your girlfriend are worked in along with baseball. Pretty quirky, but different and fun. League mode lets you set up a league of 6 teams (friends or computer) to play for the championship. The stats tracking is amazing. At the end of the game, you can see where every pitch was thrown, by each pitcher, by each pitch, and see how the other team responded. That's just the beginning. Honestly, I've never seen any baseball game with as much post-game depth as this one. It's pretty amazing, and totally overwhelming. MLB Power Pros has been a long-time running series in Japan, and it's come to America without much initial awareness. That is changing quickly as baseball fans play it. It is clearly the deepest, and probably the best, baseball game released on any home console in years. If you are a baseball fan do yourself a favor and pick up this game, you will not be disappointed! Expand
  3. Tom
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    A really fun, engaging game. The cartoon-y look and play animations kind of add to the charm, I think. It also takes a bit to get good at it, especially at anything other than the 'normal' difficulty settings. I like that in particular, so you don't have players hitting 5 homers per game. I typically play as the Cubs and my players' stats have been very close to theA really fun, engaging game. The cartoon-y look and play animations kind of add to the charm, I think. It also takes a bit to get good at it, especially at anything other than the 'normal' difficulty settings. I like that in particular, so you don't have players hitting 5 homers per game. I typically play as the Cubs and my players' stats have been very close to the real world.

    Overall, it's a great game and highly recommended.
    Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game, incredibly deep and realistic, and maybe if some people, who I will not name, actually played more than just the "Wii Remote Mode" of the game, they would find that it is more than just Wii Sports baseball with MLB players & teams.
  5. MarcusW.
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely the best game I've played in a long time! The only mode that uses the Wii-mote motion control is in Exhibition and HR Derby. Just a novelty option, but this game isn't about that. All of the modes that matter use regular controls via the wiimote/nunchuk, classic controller, or gamecube controller. Don't let the cartoonish graphics fool you. This game has the Absolutely the best game I've played in a long time! The only mode that uses the Wii-mote motion control is in Exhibition and HR Derby. Just a novelty option, but this game isn't about that. All of the modes that matter use regular controls via the wiimote/nunchuk, classic controller, or gamecube controller. Don't let the cartoonish graphics fool you. This game has the deepest and most satisfying dynasty type mode that I've ever played. Plus an equally deep yet amazingly unique Success mode where you create a player and make non-linear decisions while going from college to the MLB's. The gameplay is excellent in this MLB licensed sim. The ball goes where it should off the bat, the fielders dive and jump on D, and the actual skills of the players are represented well into the gameplay. The difficulty levels are customizable to the point that you can play competitive games against the CPU no matter how good (or bad) you are. I was concerned to see a "hitting cursor" like Allstar Baseball, but 1 game in I was sold. It is smooth and easy to learn. To help get better, there is a great Practice mode to work on hitting, fielding, and baserunning. This mode is of great benefit and is fun and easy to play. If you like video game baseball then this is the best version in my opinion since Baseball Stars. I would give it a 10, but they didn't integrate the wii controls into the Season and Success modes. I would likely not use them much anyway, but as good as this game is I imagine that Konami would have done a great job with them. Buy it now. I promise you'll love it. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    The PSWii60 character obviously did not play this. The simplistic Wii-mote mode is merely an extra mode and not the real game. This game is the best baseball game ever to be released in the United States. If you can deal with the bobble-headed characters (and they are very cute and brilliantly animated), you'll find a rewarding baseball experience that provides the fun-factor ofThe PSWii60 character obviously did not play this. The simplistic Wii-mote mode is merely an extra mode and not the real game. This game is the best baseball game ever to be released in the United States. If you can deal with the bobble-headed characters (and they are very cute and brilliantly animated), you'll find a rewarding baseball experience that provides the fun-factor of Baseball Stars 2 and unmatched realism (the batting is perfect). Call it the Winning Eleven of baseball, if you will. Buy this game and support the franchise so we can see a release next year. Maybe then 2K will learn how to market this game (it is NOT for children). Expand
  7. SteveP.
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    The deepest, most fully-featured console baseball game I have played in years. 10 year franchise mode, RPG like Success Mode, a ton of player attributes and the game provides a very realistic baseball experience while not dragging it out. A full game only takes 25-30 minutes. Do not be fooled by the misleading advertising on the box, this is no kid's game, this is an incredibly The deepest, most fully-featured console baseball game I have played in years. 10 year franchise mode, RPG like Success Mode, a ton of player attributes and the game provides a very realistic baseball experience while not dragging it out. A full game only takes 25-30 minutes. Do not be fooled by the misleading advertising on the box, this is no kid's game, this is an incredibly detailed baseball SIM that just happens to have cartoon like graphics. Expand
  8. JohnD.
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    Ignore the silly troll comment calling this game "exactly the same as WiiSports Baseball," because if it was it wouldn't have also been released on the PS2. Underneath the simple visuals you'll find a fantastic and deep baseball sim. Sure, there's Wiimote only modes in this version that will play just like WiiSports Baseball, but the other game modes offer some rich Ignore the silly troll comment calling this game "exactly the same as WiiSports Baseball," because if it was it wouldn't have also been released on the PS2. Underneath the simple visuals you'll find a fantastic and deep baseball sim. Sure, there's Wiimote only modes in this version that will play just like WiiSports Baseball, but the other game modes offer some rich baseball gameplay that the glitzier games on next-gen platforms often fail to provide. The top baseball franchise in Japan is finally here, check out what we've been missing out on for over a decade! Expand
  9. JasonHsu
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    One of the most enjoyable baseball games I've ever played, and I've played a lot. The gameplay is fantastic, with excellent physics (I don't think I've ever seen the same hit twice). Another plus is the depth of the game. Though there is no minor league playability, rosters are fully manageable. Success mode is a blast. Overall, one of my favorite sport games.
  10. RCR
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Just starting playing it and I'm digging the depth involved with this title. My biggest complaint is the color-less commentator; it's un-listenable, yet easily remedied by muting the announcer. Looking forward to incrementally increasing the difficulty while building a team of stat monsters. Fun.
  11. AnonymousMC
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    I've been a huge fan of Powerpro Baseball for years. I own a few version for Japanese GameCube as well as Game Boy Advance. When I heard the US was finally getting an American version I was elated!
    MLB Power Pros captures the essence of the franchise and turns the text into readable English. I've never played a better baseball game in my life. The stat tracking is the
    I've been a huge fan of Powerpro Baseball for years. I own a few version for Japanese GameCube as well as Game Boy Advance. When I heard the US was finally getting an American version I was elated!
    MLB Power Pros captures the essence of the franchise and turns the text into readable English. I've never played a better baseball game in my life. The stat tracking is the best in any computer/video game baseball ever produced. I'm a huge baseball fan and use to make up my own seasons and manually track stats using Hard Ball years ago.

    Thank you Konami for finally porting this series to the US!
    Expand
  12. Will
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Easy to learn, and surprisingly addictive. great game.
  13. JoeB.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    This "pick up and play" title is extremely fun. Plays like old school baseball titles like RBI,Baseball Stars, etc. Graphics are a letdown(was hoping better for Wii) The commentator is slow and messes up. You can turn him off, I tried it but the game felt dull and lifeless. Needs online play!!! This game retails for $40 Great Value for a very fun game.
  14. NickV.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    I am not a fan of baseball, but this game is so addicting and entertaining that I can't put it down. There is so much depth in this game all the while still allowing players to just easily pick up and play 9 innings. I haven't had this much fun with a baseball game since Bseball Stars for the NES.
  15. ZJ
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This game is great! It's got everything a baseball game should have, full statistics, smooth controls, custom team settings (including changing player attributes), importing Mii's...ignore the comment below by PSWii60 - there are far more modes than he suggests. This is definitely worth the purchase price. One thing - the more advanced modes are all controller based - so no This game is great! It's got everything a baseball game should have, full statistics, smooth controls, custom team settings (including changing player attributes), importing Mii's...ignore the comment below by PSWii60 - there are far more modes than he suggests. This is definitely worth the purchase price. One thing - the more advanced modes are all controller based - so no motion controls except for in the basic mode. Expand
  16. TrentC.
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    First of all don't listen to the reviews that say "you don't control the fielders" or "you just shake the wiimote to field the ball" Because they obviously have the options wrong or are playing in a different mode for little kids. Which is easy since there are so many modes such as Matchup, Success, Season, League, Practice, Arrange, HomeRun Derby and a few more. And the options First of all don't listen to the reviews that say "you don't control the fielders" or "you just shake the wiimote to field the ball" Because they obviously have the options wrong or are playing in a different mode for little kids. Which is easy since there are so many modes such as Matchup, Success, Season, League, Practice, Arrange, HomeRun Derby and a few more. And the options are endless too which is awesome to customize whatever you want. There are all the MLB teams, stadiums, and players. The Exhibition, Season, and success mode are very deep in all aspects. You can control all 9 players on the field. Fielding you can jump for balls over your head, make diving and sliding catches in the rain, you can even climb up some stadiums smaller outfield fences and try to rob your opponents homerun, just to name a few aspects of fielding. So like i said before, Dont listen to the people who say you don't control your fielders. This game is completely awesome and so much fun in every aspect and is the best baseball game to date out on any system, as long as you can get past the cutesy players (which I think are cool in the first place), but we all know that what makes a game great is gameplay and being fun and MLB Power Pros Hits a Grand Slam in both gameplay and being its addictively fun. Expand
  17. Lemmiwinks
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    Pure, unadulterated fun through and through. Control freaks (or, dare I say, RPG fans) will love taking a team through a season (or ten). I do not play sports games regularly, but all the good word I've heard and read about this title piqued my interest. The fact that it's only $40 was just the incentive I needed to try out a new genre. Believe the hype. The gameplay feels Pure, unadulterated fun through and through. Control freaks (or, dare I say, RPG fans) will love taking a team through a season (or ten). I do not play sports games regularly, but all the good word I've heard and read about this title piqued my interest. The fact that it's only $40 was just the incentive I needed to try out a new genre. Believe the hype. The gameplay feels expertly crafted. Control is smooth throughout, with nary a hiccup, slow-down, or unfair hit/pitch/throw/catch in sight. The level of customization available for control, gameplay, and the roster is staggering, though the menu and stat tracking system is sometimes a bit too simplistic -- lots of acronyms are used with little description as to what they stand for. (For people who don't usually play baseball or other sports titles, this can be a bit annoying at first.) Control settings in certain menus seem to be randomly placed or difficult to find, but once you know where everything is, those complaints fade away. The visuals are styled in such a way that it's hard to find anything negative to say about them. This game's realism doesn't come from detailed character models, but rather from detailed game mechanics and stat tracking. Stadiums are faithfully recreated and look great, with only the fans in the stands suffering from last-gen "flatness." Fortunately, it isn't about the spectators. Only those blinded by graphics to the point of ignoring all else will be disappointed. If you've never played a baseball game before, trust me, this one is for you. (And according to other reviews, if you *have* played baseball titles before, this one's for you too.) Even if you're not sure that you'd like a game in this genre, I think you'll be as happily surprised as I was. Good for both a quick pick-up-and-play and extended play sessions, this game will consume hours and hours (and *hours*) of your freetime. Only two cons that kept this from being a 10 in my book: Success Mode, while fun, is far too text-heavy. And, there's no online play (though there's enough content here that you'll likely never *need* it, it would have been nice). Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 84
    It’s easily one of the most in-depth baseball games we’ve ever played, be it "MLB The Show," the "Major League Baseball 2K" series, or the like, and by far one of the deepest games on Wii as far as modes, options, and pure entertainment value.
  2. 80
    MLB Power Pros is a lot of fun, and quite accessible. That the game has just enough depth to satisfy a baseball fan's need for stats and realism is just icing on the cake.
  3. While hardcore baseball fans may be turned off by its cutesy style, MLB Power Pros is fun, and that's what matters. Give it a swing.