Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on ancient Japanese lore, Murumasa: The Demon Blade plunges players into the mystical Genroku era, ruled by the skilled shogun Tsunayoshi Tokogawa. But this culture is threatened; Tokogawa’s thirst for power leads to a conflict over the enormously powerful, though cursed, Demon Blades. Used in hatred, drenched in blood, the cursed blades condemn those who use them to tragedy, madness, and untimely deaths. As chaos spreads, denizens from the netherworld breach their realm as these malevolent swords summon evil spirits - and the Dragon and Demon Gods as well. Featuring hand-drawn 2D art reflecting the heritage and tone of the storyline, Muramasa: The Demon Blade transports players into a little known mythology, envisioned by the creators of the critically acclaimed Odin Sphere. Players take on the role of a male ninja or female kunoichi, utilizing their ninja prowess to traverse the clever side-scrolling levels that feature vertical progression as well as the traditional horizontal stage advancement. [XSeed Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Other than Princess Crown and Odin Sphere (which were equally superior in their time), Muramasa defies comparison. The art and animation throughout is so refined it almost seems unfair, the gameplay is intuitive and never grows old; the RPG elements are unique and superbly presented and the score is simply mesmerizing.
  2. The best part about Muramasa, though, is the presentation. This Wii effort sports vivid hand-drawn animation, breathtaking locales and a memorable soundtrack. It's without question one of the better games you'll find on the Wii.
  3. 89
    As much a piece of art as it is a game, and it’s that true cohesive nature that will keep players pushing further and further along. The gameplay isn’t always the deepest experience in either the action or RPG genres – two buttons, blades, and a whole lot of killing –but the game’s inherent action mechanic is fun, fast, and addicting, and there always seems to be something new around the next corner; visually, gameplay, or otherwise.
  4. But perhaps its best unrecognized feature is that it actually got a hardcore “gamer” like me to stop playing my Xbox 360 and pick up the Wii for the first time in months, possibly years, not just because it was my assignment, but because I wanted to. And I’m not sure I can give better praise than that.
  5. You've-got-to-see-it-to-believe-it graphics certainly don't hurt. [Oct 2009, p.88]
  6. It's a surprisingly long game, since it offers two different storylines and endings with two different characters. There are also challenges scattered throughout, as well as an incredible amount of swords to forge or collect.
  7. In every way save the graphics, I found Muramasa: The Demon Blade to be a failure.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. RomanP
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Best 2D hack and slash game in a decade. Beautiful graphics. This is the best game on the Wii.
  2. Justin
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    I haven't played this game to its end, but if Metacritic will put up a so called "professional review" that did the same, than I have no problem admitting it either. This site should be ashamed of themselves, for putting up reviews that readily admit, they didn't finish the game that they reviewed. So they give a game a 3 out of 10 from only playing half the game. Expand
  3. henriquer
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Can't believe in some review in here, people judging the game only by its combat, it's the big picture that's so beautifull, the story telling, the music, the visuals, and yes the combat. The combat is shallow? try fun, sometimes people forget that games are meant to be fun, hell I don't wan't a overly complex combat system, I wan't something simple that I can enjoy while going trhough a story. seriously, this game is well worth a purchase, its allready a great game, and for wii standards it's a damn masterpiece. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    As captivating as it is beautiful, Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a fantasy hack-and-slasher with enough challenge, exploration, and gorgeous art to please the gamer who sees the Wii as casual. The gameplay is simple enough to understand easily, yet deep enough to last for weeks on end. With over 100 different swords to forge, each with their own special power, it makes combat dynamic and fun to experiment with. The game also has high replay value with the challenge bosses and challenge rooms scattered around the massive recreation of ancient Japan. The game will also keep player busy if they want to unlock all six endings, three per character. For any gamer looking for a hardcore title for the Wii, look no further. Expand
  5. DerekT
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    This game deserves a 9 because the graphics were outstanding and many people think that we are just bitching at the fact that it couldve had wifi but its true this game wouldve been perfect with wifi and a multiplayer system but overral this game story was awesome and the characters were the perfect addtion to an epic story that let you feel the way of a samurai. I cant really explain the whole game in just words but i can say that it deserves more recognition than what it actually got Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Muramasa: The Demon Blade is one of the best games on the wii, and a thoroughly underrated title. First off, and obviously as everybody has stated before, the game's visual presentation is stunning. Its almost like a moving water color painting and fans of Japanese style artwork (myself included) will be greatly pleased by this game's aesthetics. This is the best looking 2d game I've ever seen (maybe bar Rayman origins.) But, as I've always said, , I choose the games I like much like the women I like, for their gameplay, not their graphics. Sure at its core, Muramasa is a 2d, side scrolling hack and slash adventure game with platforming and rpg elements, the RPG elements making this game much deeper than just a run of the mill hack and slasher. There's a fun cooking mechanic that requires learning recipes from books and collecting the ingredients to make food that increases your stats and health, as well as a crafting system to make your own blades. These elements, while adding to the depth of the game overall, may not be deep enough for hardcore rpg gamers. Of course, as with any hack and slash game, it runs the risk of becoming repetitive and stale. And while the combat isn't varied in and of itself, it never became a chore to play because the combos are fluid, and satisfying to pull off, as well as each blade having its own unique powers and strengths. There is also enough variation in enemies, each having different strategies you will need to figure out to dispatch them easily. Boss battles are long, epic, challenging and satisfying. The story and characters are strong, based on classic Japanese culture, and the soundtrack is beautiful and matches the games tone well. As far as criticism goes, I do have a few things. One being that while the backgrounds are gorgeous, they do tend to repeat themselves A LOT. There are different backdrops for different parts of the world in each area obviously, but what I mean is for example there is one area where you are in a town setting. The first background you see in that setting will be the one you will see until the area changes (In this case fields of beautiful cherry trees.) This is really a shame seeing as how stunning the art design is, I really wish they would have had 5 or 6 backdrops per area instead of just two or three. This repetition in scenery is only compounded by the enormous amount of backtracking that is required of you in this game. Every time you beat a boss, you have to backtrack all the way to the energy field that was blocking your way to get to the next area, that you can now access with the blade you've just acquired. This game needed some sort of fast travel or hub world system where you could quickly go from one place to another, because this is not a hardcore enough RPG that you will enjoy grinding in battles for exp. My last complaint is that, as I touched on before, I feel like the rpg elements in this game could have been fleshed out more, which leaves them feeling like sort of an afterthought. Overall, this game is an amazing 2d sidescroller that has all of its elements come together beautifully to make it greater than the sum of its parts. This is one of my all time favorite games and just a purely enjoyable game to play. While it does have some flaws, it is still a shining gem in the WII library and a strong contender for most underrated game of all time. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Muramasa is among the most overrated games ever made. The "Graphics" that people rave about are simply an anime, cell shaded, low-frame animated sprites, un-original blends of color style of presentation that REALLY does not, could not keep this game from being a stale experience.

    It's a hack-n-slash platforming game first and a light RPG second. If you were an actual gamer, you'd only play this game for the story and lore if at all.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews