• Publisher: EA Games
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. 70
    The problem is that nearly all of the objectives revolve around the same two tasks: the collection of essences and the construction of houses, buildings and items. All of the Sim management and social interaction elements of the previous games – well, you're not going to find much of that in the streamlined Wii affair.
  2. Too much construction and not enough socializing keep MySims from really flourishing.
  3. Much like the ocean, MySims is unfathomably deep in some areas, yet relatively shallow in others.
  4. While somewhat shallow, My Sims will spark your imagination and awaken the inventor in you with its ingenious art-driven gameplay. [Oct 2007, p.121]
  5. 70
    Something completely new in The Sims series and on the Wii. This is not a game for players looking for complex social interactions; it seems more of a tribute to Lego fans who want to exercise their creativity.
  6. 50
    Casual gamers might be able to overlook these faults but longtime Sims fans shouldn't let the brand name fool them into investing in it. [Nov 2007, p.96]
  7. At once accessible and complex, kid-friendly and adult-pleasing, and full of personality, MySims is an excellent and original idea that's well-suited to the console, even if it won't be an essential purchase for everybody.
  8. While I think the building and prospecting aspects of the title could have been interesting components for a larger Sims game, there's just not enough here to consider it a fully realized title.
  9. A decent title that can be enjoyed in very small doses and really fails to take advantage of the opportunities it creates to make a successful franchise.
  10. Whimsical, playful, and bright, MySims surrounds you with fun - but what you do is work.
  11. 60
    MySims sits uncomfortably between its heritage and its aspirations. It's not as much fun as The Sims, and it's not as much fun as "Animal Crossing." As the only game of its kind on Wii, it's the best by default -- but that still doesn't mean it's particularly great.
  12. Really, the biggest enemy of the MySims is its pacing; the open-ended nature of the game allows for hours and hours of busy work, but at the cost of any real excitement.
  13. It's "Lego Animal Crossing." A brilliant idea that deserves to be a monster hit. [Oct 2007, p.74]
  14. 60
    My Sims is a nice beginning for a potentially new game franchise. Right now, it has more in common with creativity software than a video game.
  15. The controls highlight just how diverse and easy to play the Wii can be when it comes to gaming and the little tykes will love decorating their houses with furniture they've crafted with relative ease.
  16. Residents themselves are a colourless bunch, a series of knowing archetypes – goth girls, hip DJs, Italian chefs – that lack the effortless charm of Animal Crossing’s simple ciphers. [Dec 2007, p.97]
  17. There’s plenty to do here and a lot of reward for doing it, which means that MySims is far more than a kids’ game – even if it is exactly the sort of release that children will enjoy. [Nov 2007, p.122]
  18. Barely recognizable as a "Sims" game, MySims also lacks the compelling variety and randomness of "Crossing". [Oct 2007, p.84]
  19. It’s not exactly The Sims, being toned down to appeal to a much younger audience. In fact, it’s hard to believe anybody except females under the age of 14 will find the MySims’ pastel-colored universe and sugarcoated characters a charming gaming adventure.
  20. It can be a lot of fun -- but anything that has "Sims" in the title should probably hew a little closer to the franchise.
  21. My final analysis is this: if you love creating things and have lots of patience, MySims is worth a look, but if you're hoping for a cute virtual neighborhood to inhabit, "Animal Crossing: Wild World" is a better place to settle. [Nov 2007, p.100]
  22. The biggest omission from MySims is undoubtedly any kind of online functionality. It’s odd that players can’t visit other towns and share items. As a result, the MySims universe is a lonely place, and will only serve to entertain the player and not anyone else.
  23. 65
    MySims may be a simple game, but it's remarkably easy to approach and watching your town go from a ghost town to a location other Sims want to visit is very satisfying. It's just a bit of a shame the franchise has been dumbed down in the transition to the Wii.
  24. A life simulation that relates more to Animal Crossing and Harvest Moon series than to other Sims. A good basis which is sadly spoilt by too little variety in possible activities while making your town grow and prosper. You mostly get to built new houses and furniture on demand which becomes boring in a few days time. You would not expect such horridly long and frequent loading times and occasional jerkiness in gameplay either. [Nov 2007]
  25. MySims lacks some polish and depth, but the sheer amount of customization will definitely busy any would-be virtual impresario looking for a town to call their own.
  26. MySims is not a great game, but it does enough right to earn a good rating. I would say this is the type of game that if you're bored one weekend looking for a game for your Wii, then MySims is a game that can take up a lot of your time and make for an enjoyable experience.
  27. We can't figure out how on earth we've spent so much time in the game, or what we've actually accomplished, but doing next to nothing has never been so much fun. [Nov 2007, p.38]
  28. It's better than "Animal Crossing" and "Harvest Moon" in almost every way, whle also being a completely different kind of game...Barring a few options we'd have liked to see, it's a perfect second life experience. [Oct 2007, p.78]
  29. Beyond building, however, the game doesn’t have much to keep your interest. There are enough tasks to keep you amused for some time, but if you find this becoming boring, there’s nothing else in the game to keep you playing.
  30. This game has no shortage of creative options, as players create their own dream town from scratch with imaginative building designs and all kinds of oddball characters. However, its easygoing nature leaves a bit to be desired as far as dangers and comical situations go.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    1
    RUN! RUN WHILE YOU STILL CAN!

    I'm a big fan of The Sims but this game is horrible! For starters YOU CAN NOT LOSE, THERE IS NO CHALLENGE, no
    matter what you build or do everyone loves you. Another massive problem with this game is it takes up 97 BLOCKS OF MEMORY!? I also ran into some FPS problems when creating my Sim which was pretty crappy anyway due to there not being many customization options.

    The camera angle is crap because it's always facing the ground so you end up playing threw the mini map. There are also alot of loading screens so have fun sitting around staring at a spinning circle.

    This game is just so awful I could not carry on. I will have you know that I actually burned this game in my backyard.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    MySims if refreshing, relaxing, progressive fun. It will keep the casual, creative player interested for hours. The progressive expansion of the work makes sure to keep things interesting. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    This is an interesting attempt at making a fun game, but it soon gets boring and repetitive. In MySims, you build houses, furniture, and everything else inside a house to build a town. At first the game works well with a creative design system and the overall cuteness of the game. However, as the game wears on, it turns into being assigned to this with these essences. The essences are quite easy and boring to obtain. When I was about three and a half out of five stars in the game, it got boring with twenty-five tasks to do and at least three new people every ten minutes or so. The graphics in the game are colorful but not very great and the music is terrible. The interactions with other Sims in this game are very disappointing and simple compared to The Sims and the game has way too long loading times. Don't get me wrong, the game is fun, but only for a little while. Full Review »