Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a uniqueNeed for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a unique technology that generates incredible high-performance moves at 180 miles per hour during breathtaking highway battles. A mix of computer graphics and live-action movies immerses gamers in the rich world of the Tri-City Bay Area. The city’s open-world environment features over 80 miles of roads, including an enormous highway system that sets the stage for highway battles. These high-speed, high-stake chase sequences push players to the limit as they fight off cops and opponents while whipping through traffic at 180 miles per hour. An intelligent new A.I. mechanic delivers a realistic and high-energy action driving experience. Going back to the franchise’s roots, Need for Speed Undercover features more aggressive and intelligent cops whose sole purpose is to take down the player quickly and by any means necessary. Need for Speed Undercover also features the series' signature car customization, real-world damage and realistic driving physics. The game includes some of the hottest licensed cars such as the Audi R8, BMW M6 and Lexus IS-F. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Adventure or racing? Definitely racing! The cut scenes are not suspenseful enough for an adventure. But I like Tri-City with its varied missions and the intuitive controls. Unfortunately the game sometimes drops to a low frame rate.
  2. Undercover doesn’t break any barriers or bring anything new to the table, but there is no denying that it’s just downright fun.
  3. Need for Speed Undercover lacks challenge, struggles technically, and practically requires sunglasses to play. The framework for a stronger game is present, but the final product simply doesn't come close to competing with games like "Midnight Club: LA" or "Burnout Paradise."
  4. As innovative as a zero-effort PS2 conversion that makes no use of the Wii's features. [Jan 2009, p.60]
  5. Need For Speed Undercover on the Wii is unexciting and full to the rim with bugs and lazy programming. After looking at the box art, a player would expect a thrill packed, high-speed buzz. Instead, they are met with a flawed game with little to prove that it is an adrenaline-pumping title. It is both a waste of time and money to play this game.
  6. Really rough. [Jan 2009, p.70]
  7. This is just shameful. A missed opportunity let down by sloppy, lazy programming. [Jan 2009, p.90]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. shanej
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    This games is one of my favourite games on Wii Love it keep it up EA Black box
  2. DonK
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Great game, most fun of all racing games on the wii! I've owned/played thoroughly all 6 of the last nfs games on gamecube and wii, this Great game, most fun of all racing games on the wii! I've owned/played thoroughly all 6 of the last nfs games on gamecube and wii, this one is most fun, has fewest annoying features (I HATED drifting in carbon... that was the worst drifting experience in any nfs game, glad it's gone now, and drag racing is dull stupid and boring, good riddance). Expand
  3. karlh
    Mar 16, 2009
    9
    Its fast, harder when u pas 37-38% and there helicopters too! Its good 4 those who like cars and cop.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Dec 11, 2008
    7
    This game is great fun for those of you who don't obsess over racing games. This is the first racing game I bought for my Wii and This game is great fun for those of you who don't obsess over racing games. This is the first racing game I bought for my Wii and I'm completely addicted. I personally love escaping the cops and doing as much damage as I personally can - sometimes opting to do this rather than race! Overall I like the graffics, steering quality is quite good but takes awhile to get used to new cars. Overall ... good game, good price, good fun! Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    The game is good, but not perfect. The game has good graphics; but not very good because while you're driving around in the game, cars andThe game is good, but not perfect. The game has good graphics; but not very good because while you're driving around in the game, cars and trucks pop-out from a short distance. This makes it difficult cause you could get hit by those cars. Career mode in this game is very short; but the cutscenes are epic. The cutscenes shows actors and alot of things happening like your watching a movie. These cutscenes really get you to play this game even more. The sound in this game is great; but in cutscenes the sound does get a little fuzzy. Challenge Series is fun, but like career mode, it's very short. Graphics: 7.2 Sound: 7.8 Design: 8.0 Length: 6.0 Gameplay: 8.1 Multiplayer: 8.3 Overall: 7.7 Expand
  6. TonySum
    Jan 26, 2009
    5
    For the lack of cars and backward programming.
  7. JohnSmith
    Dec 26, 2009
    2
    The game is very,very, very short, it took me 4 hours to complete the game on the expert setting. The be a cop mode in career is a complete The game is very,very, very short, it took me 4 hours to complete the game on the expert setting. The be a cop mode in career is a complete failure, the cars you're chasing barely move. The cars are unrealistic; my Porsche can go 400+. In the multi-player mode you can't see ahead of you very far if you are playing with 3 or 4 players. The game is way overpriced considering all the facts above. The only thing that I thought was successful was the drifting aspect. The game has plenty of glitches like the one where you go into a wall and suddenly you're going at 1857 KPH. That's just plain stupid. A game should be thought through wisely and tested before being released to the public. Once you've finished the game there's not much you can really do except drive around the really small map and get into a cop chase that lasts about 1 minute. I don't recommend purchasing this game. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews