New Super Mario Bros. Wii Wii

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 529

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Yeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - NewYeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - New Super Mario Bros..?? What's up with that? "Yeah it's the old game.. only new! But without any new ideas!" .. that's so cheap. The power-ups are gimicky and boring and the feature where you can play as up to four players at the same time is just frustrating. You end up killing eachother all the time which sucks. And why can't you play this game with the classic controller? It would have been perfect for that retro feel, but no. You have to hold the Wiimote sideways, which is uncomfortable and annoying. So this is definately the best Mario game since Super Mario World, but that doesn't really say much, does it? Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game isNot too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Expand
  3. MattJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    Uninspiring, unimaginative, "by the numbers" Mario game that is also far too difficult for the average gamer. The Mario magic is definitely missing from this one. Play 'Super Mario World' instead, it's far superior.
  4. Suffering
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    Just too, too hard!
  5. LUIGI
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    Extremely frustrating in a halaeriouse "I can't believe that just happened" kind of way. The main thing about this game that bothers me is the fact that untill you beat the game you can only save after beating a castle. Seriously? That's like if you weren't allowed to move left until you got a mushroom or weren't allowed to run untill you've collected all the star Extremely frustrating in a halaeriouse "I can't believe that just happened" kind of way. The main thing about this game that bothers me is the fact that untill you beat the game you can only save after beating a castle. Seriously? That's like if you weren't allowed to move left until you got a mushroom or weren't allowed to run untill you've collected all the star coins. Saving should be a basic and easy function of any game! That would be like if you weren't allowed to eat until you turned five or something. What if I wanted to rent this game and only play through it once, or play one stage before going to school? Well, I guess I'll have to beat the entire game to get the best out of it. I only planned to write a sentence but this is a HUGE problem, I mean WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?! As far as the rest of the game, it's what you'd expect from a mario game. It sucks that most star coins require powerups or really specific platforming to get. To quote another review I've read "maybe I'm not Japanese enough, but failing the whole thing because I messed up once just doesn't work for me. This game is frustrating as hell, the ice levels in particular, but it's the kind of Demon's Souls frustrating where you want to say "just one more try" and than fail a thousand more times, but fortunatly it's generouse with the 1ups so actually dieing wouldn't be much of a problem. This game is really flawed, but it's the best 2d Mario game I've played, so check it out if your in to it. Oh, lastly I want to ask if anyone noticed that on every game review The Onion AV Club is always "that one reviewer" who drags down the overall score like four points. Expand
  6. AndrewK
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    This game is at its best with 4 players. With fewer players it's just yet another Mario game that you can safely assume is just like all the others you've played over the years.
  7. Mailtoad
    Dec 27, 2009
    6
    There is a good single player adventure, however the multiplayer is a shambles. Multiplayer Mario still has a long way to go.
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the game doesn't feel revolutionary and fresh like the Galaxy games. The only gameplay element I will seek to praise here is the addition of the Koopa Kids, Bowser's 7 'other' children - they add variety to the game, though sadly not as much as the varied and interesting bosses of NSMB DS.
    I will agree some levels in this game are frustrating (particularly some of those in World 2 which had me literally screaming at the TV), but thankfully this game is not as easy as the cakewalk of the DS prequel.
    All in all, an OK game, but for something truly special and/or revolutionary, reach for Mario's 3D Wii cousins rather than this slightly lacklustre 2D edition.
    Expand
  9. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    This game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on theThis game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on the other hand is the SAME THING I played on the nes, snes, and every other system. Pure nostalgia is the only reason this game is so favorably reviewed. Is it bad? No it's not. Great? Hell No. Expand
  10. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but itNew Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but it definitely shouldn't be your favorite game for the console. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - thatNew Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - that they do little new or more than what is expected, I WANT TO BE SURPRISED! The game play is great but its the same game we have played before, the new power ups are fun but the end product is shy of its potential. SUPER MARIO WORLD IS BETTER, and that came many years ago Expand
  12. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    The game can be too difficult in some Worlds. If you have completed all the normal levels in a World but lose all of your lives on the castle then the game makes you beat all of the levels in that World over again as the game only saves after you beat a castle. There should have been a feature to where you can save the game and come back to that save when you lose all of your lives.
  13. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    A blip in a series of games that are otherwise great. This is nowhere near as good as the original SMB games or the Galxy games. The multiplayer is just carnage and the single player is better but level design is good in points but controls are odd and the physics feels too sluggish and floaty.
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    Sincerely, the game is not bad at all, but the problem is that, it was a bad idea to put all of those new items instead of only keeping the classic items or eventhough the items used in New Super Mario Bros. It was really dissapointing.
  15. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolute blast with friends, it's just the story needs to improve because oh wait a minute SPOILER ALERT the princess gets captured again, The gameplay is alright, the missions were good the environment was awesome, the controls are a little sluggish, but the game is still good Expand
  16. Darren
    Nov 28, 2009
    7
    Good game overall and will keep fans of Mario happy. The multiplayer is lacking unless you have 4 players. I was hoping for something like the star battle game on the New Mario Bros DS which made for more fun and frantic playing.
  17. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus ifNew Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus if you like a challenge you will find it here), but the controls are not as tight as its DS version, and the graphics aren't improved at all. I love good 2D games that are original, and while Mario Wii does fit the first part, it falls short of being original. Expand
  18. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    An impressive game with a variety of co-op game play. Not exactly up there with Mario bros for the DS, and can get very Frustrating at times when falling or dying at the last bit of the game. I do think the items you can save for later levels is a good idea. All in all an above average game but isn't the best Mario game ive ever played.
  19. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Same old super mario bros, still quite fun. My only gripe is that its repetitive, and I just think repetition sucks in most cases. This version is harder than all the previous versions of the game that Ive played, which in most cases makes in more fun. Its rare to be totally challenged in a mario game for me, but this one did it. I liked this game.
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    It's a four-player, 2.5D, side-scrolling Mario Game. What you see is what you get, and although we could and should ask for more, that's good enough for me.
  21. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    it's not that this game doesn't play right; it plays smoothly, and is a standard platformer for today. The problem is is that now Mario has become a re-hash lover. It's been clear that Nintendo has made it's run with the franchise, and is now just making it into the cash cow that it always has been. The design is no different from any other mario game, the added upgrades don't add toit's not that this game doesn't play right; it plays smoothly, and is a standard platformer for today. The problem is is that now Mario has become a re-hash lover. It's been clear that Nintendo has made it's run with the franchise, and is now just making it into the cash cow that it always has been. The design is no different from any other mario game, the added upgrades don't add to anything really. I don't know how people still buy into this when I could play the original Super Mario Bros. and have the same experience as this game. Speaking of Super Mario Bros. I don't know why people praise that game; it's so uninspired and generic, there's not a variety to be had, it feels too basic, and other games that came out around the time were so much more developed. It was simplistic, this game is simplistic too, but so much more. Super Mario Bros would get a 7, this game gets a 5. If you don't like, oh well. Play the game and tell me it's a brand new Mario experience. Expand
  22. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a solid 2D Mario game but it fails to capture the magic of previous Super Mario Bros. games, It is fairly challenging but I wouldn't say it's hard. The gameplay is great with very good controls using the Wii Remote held sideways, the game has a great amount of content that can be enjoyed solo or with up to 4 people and is definitely worth playing for any MarioNew Super Mario Bros. Wii is a solid 2D Mario game but it fails to capture the magic of previous Super Mario Bros. games, It is fairly challenging but I wouldn't say it's hard. The gameplay is great with very good controls using the Wii Remote held sideways, the game has a great amount of content that can be enjoyed solo or with up to 4 people and is definitely worth playing for any Mario fan but if you are looking for the best 2D Mario game to play, You would be better off playing New Super Mario Bros. U or Super Mario Bros. 3/Super Mario World. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I'm not sure if it's the controls or that it played too much like the original NSMB, but I didn't really feel this game that much. I wish I did. Sorry.
  24. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    This game shows that a mediocre Mario game is still a pretty good game. The gameplay is exactly what you would expect from Mario game. I cant say that the level design is bad but none of the levels are memorable at all. The parts in the game where you use the wii mote feels forced at best and took me out of the game. Overall i think that the game is fun but forgettable compared to some ofThis game shows that a mediocre Mario game is still a pretty good game. The gameplay is exactly what you would expect from Mario game. I cant say that the level design is bad but none of the levels are memorable at all. The parts in the game where you use the wii mote feels forced at best and took me out of the game. Overall i think that the game is fun but forgettable compared to some of the better Mario games. Expand
  25. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    When i first played this game, I never played it by myself. it was always multiplayer. We didnt care how many times we lost lives and restarted, we just had fun with it, and played it like a party game. And it was great. The powerups were fun, and the levels varied and creative. However, today it seems like a cash in, especialy with new super mario bros u out. Having two random toads, andWhen i first played this game, I never played it by myself. it was always multiplayer. We didnt care how many times we lost lives and restarted, we just had fun with it, and played it like a party game. And it was great. The powerups were fun, and the levels varied and creative. However, today it seems like a cash in, especialy with new super mario bros u out. Having two random toads, and muddy graphics certainly hurt it, but in the end, theres one deciding factor: its a nintendo made platformer. Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he hadhello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.