User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 469

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Possibly the worst game ever played. To say the controls are sluggish would be the understatement of the year. It isn't that the game itself is hard in design, it is on par with other fun 2D mario games, however the developers went way over the top with handicapping the player with slow, laggy movements. You might as well be trying to play this game with mittens on.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    4
    The game is unoriginal and way too difficult, and not difficult as in challenging, but rather difficult as in cheap. Really easy to die and when you do die you usually lose a lot of progress, and playing the game with other people is borderline impossible thanks to the bizarre decision on the part of the developers to make characters wildly bounce off each other. Also, the music is absolutely awful, every song has this one horrendous sound effect used constantly. The gameplay is decent enough when it isn't frustrating but those moments are few and far between. I would recommend taking a pass on this one. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Yeah, this game was kinda fun but we've seen it before - made better. How can Nintendo have so few ideas about how to make good games today? Inferior to Super Mario World in every way possible. This game tries to be Super Mario Bros 3/Super Mario Wold and really doesn't make it. Sometimes it reminds me of the good old games, but it always feels like a copy. Even the name is a copy - New Super Mario Bros..?? What's up with that? "Yeah it's the old game.. only new! But without any new ideas!" .. that's so cheap. The power-ups are gimicky and boring and the feature where you can play as up to four players at the same time is just frustrating. You end up killing eachother all the time which sucks. And why can't you play this game with the classic controller? It would have been perfect for that retro feel, but no. You have to hold the Wiimote sideways, which is uncomfortable and annoying. So this is definately the best Mario game since Super Mario World, but that doesn't really say much, does it? Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Simply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of new ideas. The game also has a multiplayer mode...but that's where it falls flat. Characters can bounce off of each others heads, and the levels start to feel very cramped in multiplayer. There is also not a lot of item variety, and when a Nunchuk is plugged in, the on-screen directions still act as if the Nunchuk is not plugged in. This confused me in the beginning. On the plus side again, the 3 Star Coins hidden in each level mean that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will keep gamers entertained for a long time. So, overall, I'd say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii rules as a Mario game, and it is certainly worth buying if you're a Mario fan. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    Not too much to say about New Super Mario Bros. It's a solid, perfectly designed 2D platform game, but without being truly exceptional. The difficulty is higher than any Mario game I have played in the past and it can be off-putting at times. That said, challenge is an essential component for this type of game, so I guess you just need to man up or shut up. My main problem for this game is that it lacks the 'x element' that made past 2D Mario games top of their class and essential purchases. It's not something specific that I can put my finger on, but it definitely effects my feelings towards this game. I just don't hold this title in the same regard as, say, Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. Expand
  8. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is about Mario the main player (which you play if player one) and you have to save the princess, Mario
  10. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    While the single player is dissapointing, it's very un ambitous and has few good ideas, the multiplayer is a as much fun as any Mario title. The DS game is arguably better, with more imaginative levels, the latest console 2D Mario game is dissapoiting, but still a solid and good platform game, and has some of the best multiplayer co-op action on Wii, only beaten by the likes of Monster Hunter 3.
  12. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    An impressive game with a variety of co-op game play. Not exactly up there with Mario bros for the DS, and can get very Frustrating at times when falling or dying at the last bit of the game. I do think the items you can save for later levels is a good idea. All in all an above average game but isn't the best Mario game ive ever played.
  13. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    I waited for a new 2D Super Mario Bros. on a home console since the Super Nintendo. First of all, considered me disappointed that Nintendo made the game too safe as it lacks features that Nintendo knows it needed to be in it. Online play, more characters and overall more variety. Aside from that, this game is a complete throwback to the NES and SNES Super Mario games, adding to its nostalgia factor. The gameplay is tight as any other 2D Mario game and also the most difficult since Super Mario Bros. 3. It is recommended to your Wii collection. Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I was really excited for this game, but just in case it was gonna be crap I rented it. I was pretty happy I rented It cause I beat it in like 3 days, but thats how addicting it was. For hours I just played by myself in my basement. Its not better then new super mario bros. DS though.
  15. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a great party game. It starts out easy and builds up the difficulty from world to world. I hope there is a second Mario Bros. Wii game.
  16. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I've ever gotten for the wii. I really don't understand all those negative reviews. the multiplayer is awesome and putting the two toads as playable characters was a nice touch. Nintendo, you've done it again!!!
  17. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii has brought Mario back to consoles for the first time in many years. The game is worse than it's DS counterpart that was made two years ago. Now don't get me wrong, I enjoy this game, but always in the back of my mind I was thinking "man this is like a bad version of the DS Mario." This game does improve the power ups and swimming portions of Mario games (plus if you like a challenge you will find it here), but the controls are not as tight as its DS version, and the graphics aren't improved at all. I love good 2D games that are original, and while Mario Wii does fit the first part, it falls short of being original. Expand
  18. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. The new suits, propeller and penguin, work well also. Very much worth it, but prepare for craziness. Expand
  19. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    NSMBW is the second best Mario game I have seen and one of the best choices on family/single gaming I have ever had the pleasure of playing! All the new costumes, plus the bosses, plus the numerous new levels with the flagpole at the end, means the best 2D plat-former I have played.
  20. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably one of the best mario games ever! It has great graphics and music, simple controls, brilliant solo player and hectic multiplayer. Its a essential game for any wii owner.
  21. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Fantastic fun game, 100% quality execution as you would expect from Nintendo, but so hard and unforgiving, much like arcade games of old! This game will annoy the hell out of you but keep you coming back for more. Unfortunately for the younger kids this will be way too hard.
    Took of 1 score for being too hard! ;)
  22. Dec 29, 2010
    8
    This is a good Mario platformer with some good ideas incorporated into it. However, I wouldn't say it was up there with Mario finest moments. I feel it suffers from an identity crisis from it's DS cousin, even though, by the way, it's all new levels with new ideas incorporated into it. It's also annoying to see Yoshi not being used that much. You won't see him in much more than one or two levels per world if you're lucky. However, the boss fights are brilliant. I love battling Koopa Kids, and the final Bowser boss fight has to be up their with the best boss fights in a Mario platformer. It also has good graphics for a Wii game, and multiplayer is a good laugh with your mates, expect havoc to break loose then. The controls, in my opinon, were a brilliant fit and worked really well in my experience. Overall, a good Mario adventure and a game you must own on the Wii, even if it isn't the finest of Mario's adventures. Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    I am not going to be noobish and claim I gave this game a 6 because it is too hard. Sure, this game is frustrating in places, but that is not the reason for my condemnation of it.
    My main problem with NSMB Wii is that it is just too much of the same. Some levels (especially those early in World 1) look like they have been lifted straight out of NSMB on the DS, and the general feel of the
    game doesn't feel revolutionary and fresh like the Galaxy games. The only gameplay element I will seek to praise here is the addition of the Koopa Kids, Bowser's 7 'other' children - they add variety to the game, though sadly not as much as the varied and interesting bosses of NSMB DS.
    I will agree some levels in this game are frustrating (particularly some of those in World 2 which had me literally screaming at the TV), but thankfully this game is not as easy as the cakewalk of the DS prequel.
    All in all, an OK game, but for something truly special and/or revolutionary, reach for Mario's 3D Wii cousins rather than this slightly lacklustre 2D edition.
    Expand
  24. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    This game has absolutely no right to exist. I've played it 100 times before. Even with some creative new levels, and enjoyable moments it can't stop me from feeling like Nintendo has been milking the same game for far to long. I love Mario games don't get me wrong, Galaxies 2 is one of the finest 3d platformers I know, this is because it does things I haven't seen before. This game on the other hand is the SAME THING I played on the nes, snes, and every other system. Pure nostalgia is the only reason this game is so favorably reviewed. Is it bad? No it's not. Great? Hell No. Expand
  25. May 17, 2011
    9
    This is one of my all time favorite Mario games but I find it hard yes but it is fun! Another Gripe I have is I can't play as Luigi. I also think the Multiplayer isn't great. I'd say stick to the Single Player Mode.
  26. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is just not as fun as the originals. I do like how it has it's own new items and controls utilizing the Wii remote but it is still just not as fun. I would only say it is fun for a little while but then you lose interest. If you are looking for a Mario game for the Wii I would recommend Galaxy and Galaxy 2. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is nice to have but it definitely shouldn't be your favorite game for the console. Expand
  27. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    This game brings out the old tradition mechanics of Super Mario Bros. But I feel this game to be too difficult for an actual family to enjoy together (i've had ugly experiences with it.). Good game, just not made for the family.
  28. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    When you think about it, the last Mario 2D side-scrolling came out in the early nineties. Tastes have developed since then, as some of the reviews here clearly state, they don't like challenging games. This is trying to go back to the series's roots by making it harder. It's a great game when playing by yourself and a less great one with 4 people. With 4 people playing, platforms that are hard enough landing on with one person now has to be shared with 4 people, which makes it a lot more frustrating when the worst player of the 4 some-how lands on it while the others die, when the less experienced gamer dies a few seconds later. It is fun and looks lovely, but be prepared. Expand
  29. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Not the best Super Mario Bros. game out there, but definitely not a bad game either. Although the game can be hard at time, this game is packed with game play, fun boss fights, and even another world at the end of the game.
  30. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    New Super Mario Bros Wii is fun and worth a play through but unfortunately doesnt do much more than prior 2d Mario games. Where is the innovation since Super Mario World? Asides from simultaneous 4 player gameplay there isnt much new. The 2 Toad characters were a wasted opportunity, why Nintendo didnt created 2 new characters is a good analogy to what has happened to modern Nintendo - that they do little new or more than what is expected, I WANT TO BE SURPRISED! The game play is great but its the same game we have played before, the new power ups are fun but the end product is shy of its potential. SUPER MARIO WORLD IS BETTER, and that came many years ago Expand
  31. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    Bottom line, this is a rock solid addition to the Mario franchise. Although lacking the immersive gameplay and environments of titles like Mario 64, Mario Galaxy (2), it isn't meant to be that kind of game. The graphics are flawless and it's design is equally as entertaining as the gameplay. Finally a modern platforming game with 3D graphics in 2D environments that doesn't suck! Not only that but it's just super fun. Sure it's a little on the short side but if you try to get all of the level 9 worlds opened (which IS challenging) and also take into account the hilarious multiplayer, you have another great addition to your collection. The multiplayer does come with some intentional problems, namely the characters having squishy heads you bounce off of and running into each other or off screen but, that is what makes it more challenging to take on with a friend. There is even a competitive mode if you don't play well with others or want some laughs. Any Mario fan will love this and if you own a Wii and like platform games, this is a good purchase. Expand
  32. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    A little hard at first but you get used to it. The thing that i think they tried to do was try and remind you of early days while still trying to be new and modern, but it doesn't remind me of the early marios. Its insanely fun though, i highly recommend it to people who love platforming, and multiplayer games. I truly loved this game and had a great time.
  33. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    imo best 2d mario game evar so get out and buy, the only mario game i can thin of thats beter id=s kart wii, but thats just what i though of now so...

    still, if u like everything decent about life, youd get this 98% good game, wouldnt you
  34. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded me that Mario hasn't changed too much since the very start. Also the inclusion of Yoshi instantly brought a smile to my face being able to swallow koopas and then spit out the shells was awesome. And I've heard people saying that this game was hard, but I completely disagree. I had hours of fun with this game and I felt so good when I got that kiss on the cheek from peach after I rescued her (Even though I just rescued her from a demon-turtle-dragon-thing). Expand
  35. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Collapse
  36. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My 2nd favorite Multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii besides Smash Bros. This game offers fantastic multiplayer fun factor. Yoshi up to for players at one time defeating Bowser's minion friends. Mario teams up with Luigi and two Toads to grab a Yoshi friend and bring it! One of the best multiplayer games for the Wii. Highly suggested! Fun fun and more fun!
  37. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It is even better than New Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo DS. It is better because it has a much higher difficulty and you can play the game with 3 others at once!
  38. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is one of the best game on the Nintendo Wii. Yes, it's another 2D Mario platformer, but what's wrong with that? The game adds new spice to the old Mario platforming and with the addition of a fan and frantic 4 player multiplayer, with every stage you visit playable, it's well worth the money.
  39. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    It's a Mario game, which means that it is very similar to its predecessors. That is a good thing. I can't say the game stands out though, minimal effort was put into making the graphics nice even though they succeeded in making a pretty game before (super mario Galaxy). Playing as Mario again is nice and this time you can play with 4 people which is great when you have friends over. All in all a good quality game, but not outstanding. Expand
  40. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This is a brilliant Mario Game, much much better than the DS title with a similar name. It's a fairly tough game, but no more so than any of the other old school mario games. The graphics look great, it's a joy to finally see a 2d platformer done this well. The game is clearly made with 1 player in mind due to most of the levels accommodation for on space, so the co-op element of the game can be a bit annoying at times as you bounce off each other, but it's still a lot of fun and is worth doing. If you own a Wii and don't own this, why do you own a wii? Expand
  41. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun game! Even if you play this single player, it is a worthy entry in the Mario series.

    The bulk of the fun comes from multiplayer. While it can be frustrating at times, especially with newer players, the fun factor increases as people become more comfortable with the game. In a nutshell, it's a traditional 2D Mario game with multiplayer but you don't have to take turns. It's a fantastic experience.

    So why not a 10? The difficulty. I don't mind difficult games. I have fun with easy games as well. The problem with this Mario game is the first 8 worlds are relatively on the easy side. The difficulty goes up progressively as you move from world to world but it is still manageable. The problem I have is when you successfully collect all of the star coins from Worlds 1-8. After you accomplish this, a special World 9 opens. The difficulty in World 9 almost gets to the point of not wanting to finish the game. It can get extremely frustrating. Again, I don't mind difficulty in games but I was completely unprepared for World 9. If you want to finish the game (and I did), be prepared to be patient and be almost perfect to complete this World.

    Other than this one minor gripe, I recommend this game for everyone!
    Expand
  42. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    To say this game is challenging is an understatement. You will get to know every pixel of most backgrounds, and every step and fall in scenery, as you will replay levels a LOT. I have only played one player, so I do not know if the co-operative game is made any easier.

    Apart from that one small gripe, this is a worthy game on the Wii, the graphics, sound and gameplay are constantly being
    ramped up (like the difficulty). If you are immune to frustration, this title deserves a spot in your library. Expand
  43. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    A very good single player game. Although most levels don't seem to be built for multiplayer, playing with others is still fun and chaotic. The controls are spot on as usual in any Mario game. There many very creative fun levels and some very dull unimaginative levels as well. Perhaps with better level design suited for multiple players my score would have been raised to a 9/10. But overall, this is a very good game. Expand
  44. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    Mario makes his way into the multiplayer market for a main game in the series, very successfully. Everything works in the game; the graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is as solid as ever, the music is great fun and it's a blast to play multiplayer. Now, the Co-op, the big draw of the game. I enjoyed it a fair amount and I'm sure some people will absolutely love it, but I personally found the game more fun and easier to play in single player. All in all a fantastically fun Mario game that doesn't reach the dizzying heights of the Galaxy games. I highly recommend it to anybody with a Wii. Expand
  45. Dec 9, 2011
    3
    I would not recommend this game to long time Mario fans. If you play Mario 3 and Super Mario World a lot, I doubt you would like this. In SMB3 and World, Mario is very quick, light, and agile. In this game he is very slow and clunky, and he can't even turn around properly. The stages are pretty bland and it was like they used this new, slower Mario as a way of justifying that. I'm not saying the game shouldn't be set relative to its own mechanics but in SMB3 and World, you had to be quick. The fast-pacedness was what kept the games fun and NSMBW took that away from the Mario series. Expand
  46. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    Sincerely, the game is not bad at all, but the problem is that, it was a bad idea to put all of those new items instead of only keeping the classic items or eventhough the items used in New Super Mario Bros. It was really dissapointing.
  47. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Game play, graphics, level design, items, bosses and even Yoshi make this a top notch entry into the Super Mario Bros. franchise. It's possible to breeze bye the game. Completing it 100% however is another story. The multi-player experience will prove an enjoyable and frustrating one.
  48. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    A blip in a series of games that are otherwise great. This is nowhere near as good as the original SMB games or the Galxy games. The multiplayer is just carnage and the single player is better but level design is good in points but controls are odd and the physics feels too sluggish and floaty.
  49. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    Same old super mario bros, still quite fun. My only gripe is that its repetitive, and I just think repetition sucks in most cases. This version is harder than all the previous versions of the game that Ive played, which in most cases makes in more fun. Its rare to be totally challenged in a mario game for me, but this one did it. I liked this game.
  50. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    Another great idea from Nintendo...combine the old style of playing with the new graphics. A very long game, not easy but not too hard, set in the classic variety of scenarios (deserts, snow, forests, clouds,ghosts-castles, mountains,and more).It can be played with 1 up to 4 users together ( I think 2 players mode is better) and you can decide to help your friends to win, or help to lose.There are new skills: Mario penguins, that allows you to slide on the ice and swim better; Mario helicopter, to fly high and than plane; and in some levels there's Yoshi. One of the most beautiful features in the game: in each level there are 3 special coins, sometimes visible, sometimes hidden; if you take all the coins in every world, something happens......So, I don't understand again who gave a negative score. Somebody said the movements are too slow and were better in Mario bros 3(it was a great game!), but I personally think that the movements are very good (and more realistic)for this new version.As said NateSc, "I cannot find a fault in this game"...perhaps there's a fault:there isn't a successor, New Super Mario Bros wii 2 !!â Expand
  51. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    Playing this game with your friend is just awesome. Single player is pretty cool, but multiplayer mode kicks ass. The classic mario bros side scrolling game on NES now is on Wii. Play it on multiplayer, I recommend.
    Still, after lots of stages, the game starts to get boring...call a friend and make it better ;)
  52. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Bros. Wii takes you back to the old school days of Mario while still incorporating newer, improved technology. This game is like the classic version of Super Mario that was originally made for Super Nintendo on steroids. The graphics are way better, obviously. Itâ
  53. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Defiantly the best Mario game so far
  54. May 27, 2012
    8
    For the first time since Super Mario World on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo brings us a side-scrolling action platformer Mario game on a home console. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a pleasure for longtime fans of the series like myself, with fond memories of the first four Mario titles on the Nintendo Entertainment System and SNES. The simplified control scheme uses only the Wii Remote held sideways like an NES controller, and works pretty well, though for an old-timer like me the "shaking" required for several of Mario's moves takes some getting used to. I also found NSMBW to be much more challenging than I expected; several levels took me quite a few tries to complete, but the game is very generous with 1-Ups and power ups, so there's no major frustration to be had. Unfortunately, I haven't had the pleasure of trying multiplayer (which, like most Wii titles, is local only); an online multiplayer co-op or competition would have been most welcome. Expand
  55. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    For a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesome because it is total chaos! The secret levels are, for the most part, a challenge to even Mario veterans. Over all, if you liked the older Mario titles or are curious about what they were like, try this one out. Expand
  56. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    The game can be too difficult in some Worlds. If you have completed all the normal levels in a World but lose all of your lives on the castle then the game makes you beat all of the levels in that World over again as the game only saves after you beat a castle. There should have been a feature to where you can save the game and come back to that save when you lose all of your lives.
  57. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Nintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quite difficult, gradually getting harder. Expand
  58. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    New Super Mario Bros Wii brings old and new aspects to the Mario Universe. If you are a fan of the traditional Mario games you will love this game like the older games, if you are a new fan to the Mario Universe, you are in for a treat because this game is both great for veteran and new players alike. The game includes a decent storyline (for new fans), an amazing gameplay structure, beautiful visuals and an amazing soundtrack. If that isn't enough, you now have access to multiplayer with up to 4 players at the same time to assist or to enjoy the game with you. Expand
  59. Oct 29, 2012
    1
    Honestly, there is nothing new here. It's just cashing in on the nostalgia of people who enjoyed the good ol days of super mario bros and super mario world. This type of repackaging with a fresh coat of paint would usually warrant a 5/10 because they're emulating a game that was pretty damn good. The problem is that they did change something, they managed to make the controls unresponsive and ****
  60. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Nintendo has finally brought classic 2D Mario platforming back to the home console in a well-made and fun game. As per usual, there is a single player campaign that has you looking for the stolen Princess Peach. Level design is brilliant, but nothing that we didn't see in New Super Mario Bros. for the DS. Playing alone is fun, but is not as enticing as the multiplayer this game offers. This mode creates fast-paced havoc that will for sure be a hit with a group of players. Unfortunately, this game doesn't really bring anything new or innovative to the series and at some points seems like a port of the game on the DS New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a good game, but not a great one. 8/10 Expand
  61. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This is a classic mario side scroller, with enough new twists to make it worth the pick up. The game looks gorgeous but familiar. The ability to play with multiple people at once is fun at first but quickly descends into choas. If you are easily annoyed or are playing it with siblings remove all breakable items from the room first, however; in a party type scenario it can be a hoot. You know mario you know what your getting classic stages that look better, with the ability to play together I think this is a must own for the system. Expand
  62. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    It's a four-player, 2.5D, side-scrolling Mario Game. What you see is what you get, and although we could and should ask for more, that's good enough for me.
  63. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    New Super Mario Bros Wii é sem dúvidas um jogo bastante divertido, e talvez, até um dos mais divertidos do Nintendo Wii. O jogo não é enjoativo, e garante horas de diversão, porém é um jogo muito mais fácil e rápido se comparado com os outros jogos da série Mario (inclusive se você estiver no modo multiplayer). E apesar da arquitetura do controle atrapalhar um pouco, tem uma jogabilidade perfeita e elementos tanto conhecidos quanto inovadores, combinados com os recursos do Wii, fazem deste jogo não só mais um Super Mario Bros, e sim um New Super Mario Bros Wii. Expand
  64. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    The game is really bad, does not worth de price, cant believe nintendo is make horrible games like this, further using one of the most acclaimed gaming franchises. Controls are bad, does not have support wii classic control, and the graphics, oh my... the graphics are horrible, another frustrated nintendo fan. wii is a total failure, wii u will be worse
  65. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a solid 2D Mario game but it fails to capture the magic of previous Super Mario Bros. games, It is fairly challenging but I wouldn't say it's hard. The gameplay is great with very good controls using the Wii Remote held sideways, the game has a great amount of content that can be enjoyed solo or with up to 4 people and is definitely worth playing for any Mario fan but if you are looking for the best 2D Mario game to play, You would be better off playing New Super Mario Bros. U or Super Mario Bros. 3/Super Mario World. Expand
  66. Mar 18, 2013
    5
    it's not that this game doesn't play right; it plays smoothly, and is a standard platformer for today. The problem is is that now Mario has become a re-hash lover. It's been clear that Nintendo has made it's run with the franchise, and is now just making it into the cash cow that it always has been. The design is no different from any other mario game, the added upgrades don't add to anything really. I don't know how people still buy into this when I could play the original Super Mario Bros. and have the same experience as this game. Speaking of Super Mario Bros. I don't know why people praise that game; it's so uninspired and generic, there's not a variety to be had, it feels too basic, and other games that came out around the time were so much more developed. It was simplistic, this game is simplistic too, but so much more. Super Mario Bros would get a 7, this game gets a 5. If you don't like, oh well. Play the game and tell me it's a brand new Mario experience. Expand
  67. May 4, 2013
    10
    The new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from mini Mario to big Mario if you touch the flag. The jumping and spinning is good fun. When you play multi-player you can bubble up to catch up with your friend if you have died. A cool thing to do if you are playing multi-player and press 2 and backflip at the same time it will make an ultra ground pound. Expand
  68. May 4, 2013
    10
    I really like this game because you can unlock levels after level 9 and you get lots of different suits that Mario can wear. My favourite suits are Flower, Ice Mario, Penguin Mario and Propeller Mario.
  69. Jun 4, 2013
    3
    First we got the disappointement of Super Mario Galaxy, and now this, the worst Mario game ever, it might be original with the new powers and stuff, but it is all the same, I regret in playing and buying this game.
  70. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    El juego puede ser demasiado divertido para algunas personas pero dando mi opinión es malo y aburrido, pues demuestra ser saltos y saltos con muy poco que sobresalir.
  71. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    It could seem like an old idea, but when you play the game for the first time in Wii, the first thing that you say it will be: why nobody did that before?Playing the classic with three friends more never was this funny. A lot of levels, bright difficulty level, from taking a walk to trying to not step into the lava... Really good game, could be a bit better technically or have more modes if you want a perfect game, but is great as it is. Expand
  72. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Not the best 2D mario to date, but Bew Super Mario Bros brings classic mario gameplay together with multiplayer.
    The basic concept and design has barely changed, but level design in brimming with new ideas. There are some new power-ups, including the propeller, which lets you soar into the air for a short amount of time. It sounds cool, and it is, but it's also a cheat in my opinion- it
    ruins many of the star coins.
    The next new power-up is ice mario. This lets you freeze enemies then chuck their frozen bodies at other enemies. This is a good power-up, though the good ol' fire flower beats it by a mile. Lastly there's penguin. This is merely ice power with a few extra abilities. So it's not really new. The fire flower also returns, good news for any mario fan.
    One of the biggest additions to New super mario bros wii is multiplayer. This is great, chaotic fun due to players getting in the way of each other. While this may sound bad, in reality, it just increases the challenge. But while someone powers up, gets hiy or dues, the screen freezes for a split second. So if you're making a jump when that happens, the momentary freeze will de-sync your jump, probably cause you to plummet to your doom. This results in largely broken multiplayer.
    The graphics and sound of NSMBwii are good, but hardly great. The music is the same sort of bubbly, predictable, but catchy tracks you heard in New Super Mario Bros, while the graphics are a bit disappointing, even for a wii game.
    Level design, meanwhile, is the mario we've come to know. Every single level is created with skill, offering a decent challenge and throwing in many different mechanics, though I was disapointed in the lack of many uses for the wiimotes motion sensing.
    The bosses are the same ones from mario world- the koopa kids. Each has a twist that changes it from an average boss fight to something special. Every single boss is different and well thought out.
    In conclusion, NSMB wii is a fantastic game, and one of the best 2D platformers on the wii. It does have flaws- mainly broken multiplayer and lacklustre visuals and music- but overall, it's a challenging game any fan of platforming games will enjoy.
    Expand
  73. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    So far this is my favorite 2D Mario game. The graphics, the gameplay, and the new items are great and just like the other 2D Mario games it gets quite challenging.
  74. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    THE GOOD: Mario's sidescrolling adventures have always been brilliant, but they never were strong in the co-op department. This game changes that. Being able to go through levels with friends is even better. But this is an experience that is fun both alone and with friends. Level design and graphics are improved from the original NSMB on the DS. The game is visually appealing from beginning to end. Boss battles have more variety. The final boss is one of the best boss battles ever in a Mario game.

    THE BAD: Why stop at 9 worlds? I wish there were even more of them to play through. A level builder would've been really cool as well. And I guess there is also a part of me that wishes there was an online mode.

    Overall, this is a quality game that i'll likely enjoy for years to come. MUST BUY! MUST OWN!
    Expand
  75. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I'm not sure if it's the controls or that it played too much like the original NSMB, but I didn't really feel this game that much. I wish I did. Sorry.
  76. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    New Super Mario bros. is a great game. It makes lots of references to past games and gives you new powers that are so much fun, i'm not going to spoil the ending but it is probably one of the best endings to a Mario game in a long time
  77. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    It's good! It's as good as Paper Mario. I like playing it with my Mom and my Dad. It can be four players. There's a castle and you only have an amount of time in each level to get through it. If you don't get it, it's time up. You can also get stuff for Mario.

    jonah age 5
  78. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Very Good. Recently bought a Wii to get in on last gen for cheap (skipped last gen entirely). This is a faithful recreation of traditional Mario game-play. Best Mario game on the console (Galaxy is kind of boring and Paper Mario disappoints me).
  79. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    one most fun mario game that i have ever enjoyed
    new super mario bros wii has mario back in 2d and yes 2d not a 3d super mario game but a 2d again, this has one fun moments ever bring new things like toad houses and saving items to use them later i had alot fun using the wii remote for this game
  80. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    This game shows that a mediocre Mario game is still a pretty good game. The gameplay is exactly what you would expect from Mario game. I cant say that the level design is bad but none of the levels are memorable at all. The parts in the game where you use the wii mote feels forced at best and took me out of the game. Overall i think that the game is fun but forgettable compared to some of the better Mario games. Expand
  81. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is heaps of fun to play! It's one of those games that you can sit down with your friends playing for hours, trying to get every last coin, star, and powerup. The multiplayer is really solid, the level design is great, and the graphics are, well, Mario. Although it's not the hardest game in the world, you will need to replay levels over and over to get it perfect. And that's just it. The replayability is one of the best parts of the game. There are some levels of this game that you can play as many as ten times in a row, and not get bored of. However, the best experience is when you're playing with two other people away from everything else in the world. Just sheer Mario, super-fun, platforming gameplay. So, if you're looking for a super fun game to play, buy this for ten bucks somewhere.
    (Although, and as much of a Mario fan as I am, I find games like Super Meat Boy to be more fun. If only that game had multiplayer.)
    Expand
  82. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a pleasure to play. I do like that Nintendo is doing this series of games that are made to be like the nostalgic Mario side-scrollers that veteran gamers will appreciate. It's nothing that's going to blow you away or make you absolutely adore it, but it is a good and simple Mario game to play. Let's start and talk about each mode, the single-player modes are fun as always but I do like the multi-player in this game even though it could a little too hectic at times. The difficulty is also good, it starts out easy but it actually does get fairly challenging later on, but it's nothing that will make you freak out or rage quit for the most part (With some exceptions *cough cough*World 9-7), however you will probably never see the Game Over Screen in this game because of how frequently 1-Ups show up in this game. The graphics are good for the most part they are nice and cartoony and really what graphics in a typical Mario game should be. I also like that we see the Kooplings again, it was good to see them return after not seeing them since Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga (or Super Mario World if you don't count spin-offs). One problem I have with this game is that I think that it is recycling the same world themes in this again off of the DS game and other level types, I really think that if you are going to have the word "New" in the title, you should have some "New" things in each entry and I see that the later games on 3DS and Wii U have the same problems in fact those games recycle music from this game (which I think is absolutely blasphemous for a video game today), of course I don't think any NSMB game that came after NSMB Wii should exist, I think two was enough. Overall New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game, just don't expect to come across any surprises. Expand
  83. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    since when iw was little i loved this game i always never forget it . Grade A+ ..................................................................................................
  84. May 8, 2014
    8
    When I think of great retro platformers with good replay value, Mario, Luigi and the gang instantly spring to mind. This game has great new powerups, controls well and you can now play as my new favourite character Blue Toad, in multiplayer! My only flaw is, unlike Plants vs. Zombies, the levels don't have great replay value. You can only play a course so many times before it seems boring and the phrase "De ja vu" springs to mind, rather than "Awesome game!!". The game is actually fantastic, and I would say the 2nd best game of 2009 (after Plants vs. Zombies) and is really great. Get this game, but don't expect really great replay value out of it. Expand
  85. May 31, 2014
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is better than the first game in EVERY WAY. From the gameplay, graphics, to EVERYTHING ELSE, this game is a blast to play. The only thing I hate about this game is the difficulty spike (World 5 & 8.......just saying) and the "too chaotic and cheap" multiplayer mode.
  86. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    positive: first time that there are the koopa bros after Mario bros 3, two new power-ups (penguin and propellor), an entertaining story, one of the finest wii controles, GREAT music, epic bosses and FFFFFFUUUUUUNNNNN multiplayer mode.
    negative: not THE most creative game ever, star world gets cheap.........that's it.
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE MARIO GAMES OF ALL TIME.
    it is so good too play.
  87. Oct 30, 2011
    0
    hello i'm ImogenDulieu987 and i think this game is absolute rubbish! do not buy this game for anyone -and i really really really mean NO-ONE!! not even someone you hate! the graphics are terrible and the levels are super easy to start with and they only get a little bit harder my 5 year old cousin completed ALL of it in less than an hour and a half and it was his first go at it, he had only just learnt the controls. he only lost 7 lives in the hole game!! i am really sorry for anyone who has got this game if you play it you must always be really bored - if i were you i would get cooking mama 2 if you are a girl or star wars 2 if you are a boy. if you are a parent or have a younger relative who has this game dispose of it immediately other wise they will get sucked into a world of boringnes and will NEVER stop complaining and if you are thinking of buying this for someone - think again because you are wasting your time! that is all thank you for reading this. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.