User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 521 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 521

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  2. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser fight. Overall: 9 out of 10 Expand
  3. MichelJ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing single-player, amazing multiplayer (up to 4 people what a mess) but thats the fun the mess, amazing game, both thumbs Up
  4. MarkH
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is a great mix of old school and new school and is up there with the best of the Mario games. It also has one of the best boss battles of all-time (I love the throwback to older Mario games). Plus there is lots of replayability with the star coins and secret exits.
  5. Steph
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    As a casual gamer I loved it. Sure, some levels were difficult but not impossible if you're persistant. Nostalgically reminded me of the old NES Super Mario only with enough fresh moves to make it new, different and better! Multiplayer mode is very, very fun.
  6. ibrahime
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    i love this game. haven't had this much fun with a game since super mario world and its easily should have 90 on here but the stupid critic love shit codmw to give this a chance
  7. BobM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no coincidence either. This game is one of the best I've played in years, and simply put, hands down, this game has one thing that 99% of the HD, cinematic blockbusters on other consoles sorely lack: replay value. I've already played through this game twice, and I have been playing it a third time, simply because the levels are FUN to play through. Plus, as a bonus, the multiplayer modes are, in fact, while chaotic, very very fun. Kudos to Nintendo on another masterpiece. Expand
  8. SnoozerBear
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Love it... Too tired from playing to write anything else! I don't think it's too hard; I can speed run most levels in a minute or two without losing a life... It might be too hard for your 'Average' gamer, aka. Casual gamer. Casual gamers beware! This game is not for wimps; only people who can press at least 2 buttons at once... XD
  9. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Nintendo succeed. This game is exactly where this series needed to go. Bravo, Nintendo, you deserve high marks! Expand
  10. RJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after losing one life, but that's also just a minor gripe. All in all, this game is a must-buy. Expand
  11. the_ghost_master
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, when you want to play 4 players, it just rocks! The mess created makes it really fun, cooperative and competition is good, so that you can kick the enemy or help him defeating and enemy. This brilliant enemy woke up Mario 2D games and I hope it sells a lot. Expand
  12. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motionYou can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  14. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! The 2nd best NSMB game. The graphics are great for the Wii. The level designs are awesome. You can play as Toads which I like. The multiplayer is very fun. New Super Mario Bros Wii is an awesome game and you should definitely buy it!
  15. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This was my All-Time Back up favourite game. New Super Mario Bros. 2 just came out in 2012 when I was obsessed with this game. Fufufu and I played together for at least 30 min. and one time, my Aqua Blue Nintendo 3DS needed to be fixed, so I had to play this instead of NSMB2 for 2weeks or so. You should totally get this game. It is FLAWLESS! I'm on World 9.
  16. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  17. NateSc
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    wow....frustrating fun you can't stop playing. I cannot find a fault in this game. The final fight is amazing. Some of it gets tricky but nothing impossible. Also, the more people...the 10 times funnier it gets. Still fun first player but still. The games takes about 4 non stop days to beat but maybe 2 weeks if played on occasions. Get it or rent it now!
  18. JohnB
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Dont rate the game before you have collected all the star coins and completed the world 9 stages. I'll tell you, not until when you start doing that the real game and challenge begins. This is one of the best 2d- mario game ever created.
  19. StevenA
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with originally and utmost care. I was so happy to hear that it could be 2-4 player co-op and I was happy to hear that the game was very challenging. Maybe sometimes too challenging, but when 4 people play, it works much better. Graphics are good enough for me. The story is a bit silly, but I expected nothing less of a Mario game. The only thing that really bothers me is the game's hefty price. Here in Canada, it's 65 bucks. That's too much for a nintendo wii game. Let alone, a game that's simply a unique turn of a classic mario game. If you are good at side-scrolling platforms, you can run through new super mario bros wii in 6 hours (without cannon skips). It'll probably take you 15-25 hours to get 100% and there are a few mini-games to entertain you, but that's about it. Too bad there was no online co-op option available. Maybe next time. But I can't help give this game a 9 out of 10 for being a new success for Nintendo Wii and because the Nintendo company never lets us down when it comes to their own games. Twilight Princess, Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3, SSB Brawl and New super mario bros wii are amazing games. You just have to sit through all the crap games to get to them. Expand
  20. ElliottW
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open (to allow more room for extra players) and that the game would be too easy in single player. Luckily, this isn't the case. The game is packed with so many 'wow' moments, that simply weren't present in the DS version. If there's one word to describe this game, its 'balance'. It's not too easy, yet not as nail-bitingly hard as some other Mario games. The game is a culmination of everything you loved about mario, with some new suprises. The motion controls work well, and they aren't overused. The new power-ups are some of the most useful and imaginative suits to date. The yoshi levels are superb. This game deserves at least a 90, yet some critics seemed to be too swept away with COD6 that they ignored the brilliance of this. This game is literally flawless. There's nothing to fault about it. In an age where Nintendo are dumbing down their core franchises, its refreshing to see they are still the kings of platforming. Expand
  21. LudwigV.
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which one was which; none of them were too similar. My only true complaint would be the lack of reward for doing everything. You get to unlock bits and pieces of world 9 if you collect all the star coins in each world, but collecting everything in world 9 gets you...some short fanfare, and a message that says you've done everything. Kinda anticlimatic, but Mario games have always been about the journey more than the destination. Expand
  22. NeilP
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Miyamoto-san does it again. Stuck this in the Wii and it brought an immediate smile to my face. Small touches like the goombas etc dancing to the tune show that Nintendo are unsurpassed for attention to detail. I have most consoles and yet it is this game, SMG and Zelda for the Wii that keep my kids mesmorised. Highly recommended.
  23. PeterJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Thankful to be stuck on World 6 at the moment. This is much more of a challenge that past Mario games, yet still incredibly fun at the same time.
  24. DannyLy
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    It has been well over a decade now that a side scrolling Mario game has been made. This new one takes the best elements from all previous Mario games we love and enjoy so much, and now bringing it to the modern day for a new generation to experience. Combining classic platforming with modern day technology is an ingredient for new comers and older gamers to come together and play united.
  25. JimB
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome, totally lives up to the series, really in the top 3 of all Mario titles
  26. old_skool_gamer151
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    This game really lives up to the title. I love the new controls on this how it has the basic buttons but adds in the occasional shaking and tilting to achieve goals. Nintendo has kept the great aspects of the old mario platforms but added new powerups like the propeller hat and penguin suit (very funny and cool). The 4 player multiplayer is really fun and crazy. The only downside is how This game really lives up to the title. I love the new controls on this how it has the basic buttons but adds in the occasional shaking and tilting to achieve goals. Nintendo has kept the great aspects of the old mario platforms but added new powerups like the propeller hat and penguin suit (very funny and cool). The 4 player multiplayer is really fun and crazy. The only downside is how you sometimes feel you're playing your old super nintendo again. But overall the game has great gameplay and just really fun overall. Mario fans will not be dissapointed by this. Expand
  27. noahl
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    i love 4 player it is just so hectic because everyone is screaming why the **** did you kill me
  28. brenty
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    Fun by your self, fun with people, i read other reviews and they kept on smashing it on how hard it was when it was multiple people, that they didn't think about how people were gona jump, but i believe that they made it that way to give it a little more madness, and it works. In the end if you want a 2d mario game that reminds you of the old day you can always play it by yourself Fun by your self, fun with people, i read other reviews and they kept on smashing it on how hard it was when it was multiple people, that they didn't think about how people were gona jump, but i believe that they made it that way to give it a little more madness, and it works. In the end if you want a 2d mario game that reminds you of the old day you can always play it by yourself and it works perfectly that way, on the other hand if you want a completley new way to play, it doesn't completely deliver, however enough to keep you entertained. My favorite way to play was with my friends, and we have gotten into a couple of fights taht way, but it was worth it. Only complaint is that the 9th world is too annoying to get, you have to get every star in a single world to unlock the correponding level in the 9th world, way too much work. Expand
  29. ChrisC
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally have the next great 2D console Mario adventure in almost 20 years and its one of the most entertaining platformers you'll ever play and nothing more? Reviewers can seriously go screw themselves. This game is astounding. Worlds of fun that contains a final Bowser battle that will be remembered for years and years to come. Online play is NOT necessary and to be honest, if it was in here it'd be just another thing to vote down because Nintendo's Wi-Fi sucks. So I'm glad it didn't even make the cut becuase playing with real friends right next to you is 10x more fun anyway. Another thing, the level design is inspired. The difficulty is ramped up. I am a Mario veteran and I've had the Super Guide Block (great idea btw) come up in almost 3/8 of all the levels. Okay now I'm going to bring this to a close by saying: go with your gut. Its a Mario side-scroller. You know its going to be fun. So forget what these reviewers say because if this game was given fair ratings it'd have a metacritic average of 96-97. Fantastic title. Expand
  30. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I was really excited for this game, but just in case it was gonna be crap I rented it. I was pretty happy I rented It cause I beat it in like 3 days, but thats how addicting it was. For hours I just played by myself in my basement. Its not better then new super mario bros. DS though.
  31. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a great party game. It starts out easy and builds up the difficulty from world to world. I hope there is a second Mario Bros. Wii game.
  32. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably one of the best mario games ever! It has great graphics and music, simple controls, brilliant solo player and hectic multiplayer. Its a essential game for any wii owner.
  33. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I've ever gotten for the wii. I really don't understand all those negative reviews. the multiplayer is awesome and putting the two toads as playable characters was a nice touch. Nintendo, you've done it again!!!
  34. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. TheThis game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. The new suits, propeller and penguin, work well also. Very much worth it, but prepare for craziness. Expand
  35. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    NSMBW is the second best Mario game I have seen and one of the best choices on family/single gaming I have ever had the pleasure of playing! All the new costumes, plus the bosses, plus the numerous new levels with the flagpole at the end, means the best 2D plat-former I have played.
  36. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is one of the best game on the Nintendo Wii. Yes, it's another 2D Mario platformer, but what's wrong with that? The game adds new spice to the old Mario platforming and with the addition of a fan and frantic 4 player multiplayer, with every stage you visit playable, it's well worth the money.
  37. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Fantastic fun game, 100% quality execution as you would expect from Nintendo, but so hard and unforgiving, much like arcade games of old! This game will annoy the hell out of you but keep you coming back for more. Unfortunately for the younger kids this will be way too hard.
    Took of 1 score for being too hard! ;)
  38. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    A little hard at first but you get used to it. The thing that i think they tried to do was try and remind you of early days while still trying to be new and modern, but it doesn't remind me of the early marios. Its insanely fun though, i highly recommend it to people who love platforming, and multiplayer games. I truly loved this game and had a great time.
  39. May 17, 2011
    9
    This is one of my all time favorite Mario games but I find it hard yes but it is fun! Another Gripe I have is I can't play as Luigi. I also think the Multiplayer isn't great. I'd say stick to the Single Player Mode.
  40. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Not the best Super Mario Bros. game out there, but definitely not a bad game either. Although the game can be hard at time, this game is packed with game play, fun boss fights, and even another world at the end of the game.
  41. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    imo best 2d mario game evar so get out and buy, the only mario game i can thin of thats beter id=s kart wii, but thats just what i though of now so...

    still, if u like everything decent about life, youd get this 98% good game, wouldnt you
  42. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    Bottom line, this is a rock solid addition to the Mario franchise. Although lacking the immersive gameplay and environments of titles like Mario 64, Mario Galaxy (2), it isn't meant to be that kind of game. The graphics are flawless and it's design is equally as entertaining as the gameplay. Finally a modern platforming game with 3D graphics in 2D environments that doesn't suck! Not onlyBottom line, this is a rock solid addition to the Mario franchise. Although lacking the immersive gameplay and environments of titles like Mario 64, Mario Galaxy (2), it isn't meant to be that kind of game. The graphics are flawless and it's design is equally as entertaining as the gameplay. Finally a modern platforming game with 3D graphics in 2D environments that doesn't suck! Not only that but it's just super fun. Sure it's a little on the short side but if you try to get all of the level 9 worlds opened (which IS challenging) and also take into account the hilarious multiplayer, you have another great addition to your collection. The multiplayer does come with some intentional problems, namely the characters having squishy heads you bounce off of and running into each other or off screen but, that is what makes it more challenging to take on with a friend. There is even a competitive mode if you don't play well with others or want some laughs. Any Mario fan will love this and if you own a Wii and like platform games, this is a good purchase. Expand
  43. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded meThis game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded me that Mario hasn't changed too much since the very start. Also the inclusion of Yoshi instantly brought a smile to my face being able to swallow koopas and then spit out the shells was awesome. And I've heard people saying that this game was hard, but I completely disagree. I had hours of fun with this game and I felt so good when I got that kiss on the cheek from peach after I rescued her (Even though I just rescued her from a demon-turtle-dragon-thing). Expand
  44. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My 2nd favorite Multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii besides Smash Bros. This game offers fantastic multiplayer fun factor. Yoshi up to for players at one time defeating Bowser's minion friends. Mario teams up with Luigi and two Toads to grab a Yoshi friend and bring it! One of the best multiplayer games for the Wii. Highly suggested! Fun fun and more fun!
  45. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    Mario makes his way into the multiplayer market for a main game in the series, very successfully. Everything works in the game; the graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is as solid as ever, the music is great fun and it's a blast to play multiplayer. Now, the Co-op, the big draw of the game. I enjoyed it a fair amount and I'm sure some people will absolutely love it, but I personally foundMario makes his way into the multiplayer market for a main game in the series, very successfully. Everything works in the game; the graphics are fantastic, the gameplay is as solid as ever, the music is great fun and it's a blast to play multiplayer. Now, the Co-op, the big draw of the game. I enjoyed it a fair amount and I'm sure some people will absolutely love it, but I personally found the game more fun and easier to play in single player. All in all a fantastically fun Mario game that doesn't reach the dizzying heights of the Galaxy games. I highly recommend it to anybody with a Wii. Expand
  46. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It is even better than New Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo DS. It is better because it has a much higher difficulty and you can play the game with 3 others at once!
  47. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    New Super Mario Bros Wii brings old and new aspects to the Mario Universe. If you are a fan of the traditional Mario games you will love this game like the older games, if you are a new fan to the Mario Universe, you are in for a treat because this game is both great for veteran and new players alike. The game includes a decent storyline (for new fans), an amazing gameplay structure,New Super Mario Bros Wii brings old and new aspects to the Mario Universe. If you are a fan of the traditional Mario games you will love this game like the older games, if you are a new fan to the Mario Universe, you are in for a treat because this game is both great for veteran and new players alike. The game includes a decent storyline (for new fans), an amazing gameplay structure, beautiful visuals and an amazing soundtrack. If that isn't enough, you now have access to multiplayer with up to 4 players at the same time to assist or to enjoy the game with you. Expand
  48. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun game! Even if you play this single player, it is a worthy entry in the Mario series.

    The bulk of the fun comes from multiplayer. While it can be frustrating at times, especially with newer players, the fun factor increases as people become more comfortable with the game. In a nutshell, it's a traditional 2D Mario game with multiplayer but you don't have to take turns. It's a fantastic experience.

    So why not a 10? The difficulty. I don't mind difficult games. I have fun with easy games as well. The problem with this Mario game is the first 8 worlds are relatively on the easy side. The difficulty goes up progressively as you move from world to world but it is still manageable. The problem I have is when you successfully collect all of the star coins from Worlds 1-8. After you accomplish this, a special World 9 opens. The difficulty in World 9 almost gets to the point of not wanting to finish the game. It can get extremely frustrating. Again, I don't mind difficulty in games but I was completely unprepared for World 9. If you want to finish the game (and I did), be prepared to be patient and be almost perfect to complete this World.

    Other than this one minor gripe, I recommend this game for everyone!
    Expand
  49. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This is a brilliant Mario Game, much much better than the DS title with a similar name. It's a fairly tough game, but no more so than any of the other old school mario games. The graphics look great, it's a joy to finally see a 2d platformer done this well. The game is clearly made with 1 player in mind due to most of the levels accommodation for on space, so the co-op element of theThis is a brilliant Mario Game, much much better than the DS title with a similar name. It's a fairly tough game, but no more so than any of the other old school mario games. The graphics look great, it's a joy to finally see a 2d platformer done this well. The game is clearly made with 1 player in mind due to most of the levels accommodation for on space, so the co-op element of the game can be a bit annoying at times as you bounce off each other, but it's still a lot of fun and is worth doing. If you own a Wii and don't own this, why do you own a wii? Expand
  50. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Game play, graphics, level design, items, bosses and even Yoshi make this a top notch entry into the Super Mario Bros. franchise. It's possible to breeze bye the game. Completing it 100% however is another story. The multi-player experience will prove an enjoyable and frustrating one.
  51. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    Another great idea from Nintendo...combine the old style of playing with the new graphics. A very long game, not easy but not too hard, set in the classic variety of scenarios (deserts, snow, forests, clouds,ghosts-castles, mountains,and more).It can be played with 1 up to 4 users together ( I think 2 players mode is better) and you can decide to help your friends to win, or help toAnother great idea from Nintendo...combine the old style of playing with the new graphics. A very long game, not easy but not too hard, set in the classic variety of scenarios (deserts, snow, forests, clouds,ghosts-castles, mountains,and more).It can be played with 1 up to 4 users together ( I think 2 players mode is better) and you can decide to help your friends to win, or help to lose.There are new skills: Mario penguins, that allows you to slide on the ice and swim better; Mario helicopter, to fly high and than plane; and in some levels there's Yoshi. One of the most beautiful features in the game: in each level there are 3 special coins, sometimes visible, sometimes hidden; if you take all the coins in every world, something happens......So, I don't understand again who gave a negative score. Somebody said the movements are too slow and were better in Mario bros 3(it was a great game!), but I personally think that the movements are very good (and more realistic)for this new version.As said NateSc, "I cannot find a fault in this game"...perhaps there's a fault:there isn't a successor, New Super Mario Bros wii 2 !!â Expand
  52. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Super Mario Bros. Wii takes you back to the old school days of Mario while still incorporating newer, improved technology. This game is like the classic version of Super Mario that was originally made for Super Nintendo on steroids. The graphics are way better, obviously. Itâ
  53. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Nintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quiteNintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quite difficult, gradually getting harder. Expand
  54. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This is a classic mario side scroller, with enough new twists to make it worth the pick up. The game looks gorgeous but familiar. The ability to play with multiple people at once is fun at first but quickly descends into choas. If you are easily annoyed or are playing it with siblings remove all breakable items from the room first, however; in a party type scenario it can be a hoot. YouThis is a classic mario side scroller, with enough new twists to make it worth the pick up. The game looks gorgeous but familiar. The ability to play with multiple people at once is fun at first but quickly descends into choas. If you are easily annoyed or are playing it with siblings remove all breakable items from the room first, however; in a party type scenario it can be a hoot. You know mario you know what your getting classic stages that look better, with the ability to play together I think this is a must own for the system. Expand
  55. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    New Super Mario Bros Wii é sem dúvidas um jogo bastante divertido, e talvez, até um dos mais divertidos do Nintendo Wii. O jogo não é enjoativo, e garante horas de diversão, porém é um jogo muito mais fácil e rápido se comparado com os outros jogos da série Mario (inclusive se você estiver no modoNew Super Mario Bros Wii é sem dúvidas um jogo bastante divertido, e talvez, até um dos mais divertidos do Nintendo Wii. O jogo não é enjoativo, e garante horas de diversão, porém é um jogo muito mais fácil e rápido se comparado com os outros jogos da série Mario (inclusive se você estiver no modo multiplayer). E apesar da arquitetura do controle atrapalhar um pouco, tem uma jogabilidade perfeita e elementos tanto conhecidos quanto inovadores, combinados com os recursos do Wii, fazem deste jogo não só mais um Super Mario Bros, e sim um New Super Mario Bros Wii. Expand
  56. May 4, 2013
    10
    The new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from miniThe new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from mini Mario to big Mario if you touch the flag. The jumping and spinning is good fun. When you play multi-player you can bubble up to catch up with your friend if you have died. A cool thing to do if you are playing multi-player and press 2 and backflip at the same time it will make an ultra ground pound. Collapse
  57. May 4, 2013
    10
    I really like this game because you can unlock levels after level 9 and you get lots of different suits that Mario can wear. My favourite suits are Flower, Ice Mario, Penguin Mario and Propeller Mario.
  58. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    It could seem like an old idea, but when you play the game for the first time in Wii, the first thing that you say it will be: why nobody did that before?Playing the classic with three friends more never was this funny. A lot of levels, bright difficulty level, from taking a walk to trying to not step into the lava... Really good game, could be a bit better technically or have more modesIt could seem like an old idea, but when you play the game for the first time in Wii, the first thing that you say it will be: why nobody did that before?Playing the classic with three friends more never was this funny. A lot of levels, bright difficulty level, from taking a walk to trying to not step into the lava... Really good game, could be a bit better technically or have more modes if you want a perfect game, but is great as it is. Expand
  59. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Not the best 2D mario to date, but Bew Super Mario Bros brings classic mario gameplay together with multiplayer.
    The basic concept and design has barely changed, but level design in brimming with new ideas. There are some new power-ups, including the propeller, which lets you soar into the air for a short amount of time. It sounds cool, and it is, but it's also a cheat in my opinion- it
    Not the best 2D mario to date, but Bew Super Mario Bros brings classic mario gameplay together with multiplayer.
    The basic concept and design has barely changed, but level design in brimming with new ideas. There are some new power-ups, including the propeller, which lets you soar into the air for a short amount of time. It sounds cool, and it is, but it's also a cheat in my opinion- it ruins many of the star coins.
    The next new power-up is ice mario. This lets you freeze enemies then chuck their frozen bodies at other enemies. This is a good power-up, though the good ol' fire flower beats it by a mile. Lastly there's penguin. This is merely ice power with a few extra abilities. So it's not really new. The fire flower also returns, good news for any mario fan.
    One of the biggest additions to New super mario bros wii is multiplayer. This is great, chaotic fun due to players getting in the way of each other. While this may sound bad, in reality, it just increases the challenge. But while someone powers up, gets hiy or dues, the screen freezes for a split second. So if you're making a jump when that happens, the momentary freeze will de-sync your jump, probably cause you to plummet to your doom. This results in largely broken multiplayer.
    The graphics and sound of NSMBwii are good, but hardly great. The music is the same sort of bubbly, predictable, but catchy tracks you heard in New Super Mario Bros, while the graphics are a bit disappointing, even for a wii game.
    Level design, meanwhile, is the mario we've come to know. Every single level is created with skill, offering a decent challenge and throwing in many different mechanics, though I was disapointed in the lack of many uses for the wiimotes motion sensing.
    The bosses are the same ones from mario world- the koopa kids. Each has a twist that changes it from an average boss fight to something special. Every single boss is different and well thought out.
    In conclusion, NSMB wii is a fantastic game, and one of the best 2D platformers on the wii. It does have flaws- mainly broken multiplayer and lacklustre visuals and music- but overall, it's a challenging game any fan of platforming games will enjoy.
    Expand
  60. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    one most fun mario game that i have ever enjoyed
    new super mario bros wii has mario back in 2d and yes 2d not a 3d super mario game but a 2d again, this has one fun moments ever bring new things like toad houses and saving items to use them later i had alot fun using the wii remote for this game
  61. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    THE GOOD: Mario's sidescrolling adventures have always been brilliant, but they never were strong in the co-op department. This game changes that. Being able to go through levels with friends is even better. But this is an experience that is fun both alone and with friends. Level design and graphics are improved from the original NSMB on the DS. The game is visually appealing fromTHE GOOD: Mario's sidescrolling adventures have always been brilliant, but they never were strong in the co-op department. This game changes that. Being able to go through levels with friends is even better. But this is an experience that is fun both alone and with friends. Level design and graphics are improved from the original NSMB on the DS. The game is visually appealing from beginning to end. Boss battles have more variety. The final boss is one of the best boss battles ever in a Mario game.

    THE BAD: Why stop at 9 worlds? I wish there were even more of them to play through. A level builder would've been really cool as well. And I guess there is also a part of me that wishes there was an online mode.

    Overall, this is a quality game that i'll likely enjoy for years to come. MUST BUY! MUST OWN!
    Expand
  62. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    It's good! It's as good as Paper Mario. I like playing it with my Mom and my Dad. It can be four players. There's a castle and you only have an amount of time in each level to get through it. If you don't get it, it's time up. You can also get stuff for Mario.

    jonah age 5
  63. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Very Good. Recently bought a Wii to get in on last gen for cheap (skipped last gen entirely). This is a faithful recreation of traditional Mario game-play. Best Mario game on the console (Galaxy is kind of boring and Paper Mario disappoints me).
  64. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    since when iw was little i loved this game i always never forget it . Grade A+ ..................................................................................................
  65. May 31, 2014
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is better than the first game in EVERY WAY. From the gameplay, graphics, to EVERYTHING ELSE, this game is a blast to play. The only thing I hate about this game is the difficulty spike (World 5 & 8.......just saying) and the "too chaotic and cheap" multiplayer mode.
  66. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    positive: first time that there are the koopa bros after Mario bros 3, two new power-ups (penguin and propellor), an entertaining story, one of the finest wii controles, GREAT music, epic bosses and FFFFFFUUUUUUNNNNN multiplayer mode.
    negative: not THE most creative game ever, star world gets cheap.........that's it.
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE MARIO GAMES OF ALL TIME.
    it is so good too play.
  67. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    My Dad and I played and completed this game in one night. Although it didn't use motion controls, it was still a fun game, and the graphics were great. Nintendo did a great job with this one. Defiantly recommend it for a Mario fan.
  68. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Making an improvement over the "okay" DS title New Super Mario Bros. was crucial for Nintendo...and you know what? They pulled it off.

    The biggest new addition in New Super Mario Bros. Wii is 4-player multiplayer. Mario, Luigi, Blue Toad (Bucken Berry), and Yellow Toad (Ala Gold) are playable. It's a shame that the first player still always has to be Mario but it can be overlooked.
    Making an improvement over the "okay" DS title New Super Mario Bros. was crucial for Nintendo...and you know what? They pulled it off.

    The biggest new addition in New Super Mario Bros. Wii is 4-player multiplayer. Mario, Luigi, Blue Toad (Bucken Berry), and Yellow Toad (Ala Gold) are playable. It's a shame that the first player still always has to be Mario but it can be overlooked. Multiplayer is a bit too hectic at times for my taste which is why I always prefer single-player in this game.

    The bubble mechanic featured in multiplayer is a great addition if this is the first Mario game you've ever played. A more skilled player can race to the goal while you're in the bubble. Of course, another person can pop the bubble at any time, making it a bit unpredictable. The level design in the game can ranges from grassland, desert, and beach to ghost house, lava, and poisoned forest. These kinds of levels are featured in almost every Mario game, but for some reason it seems a lot more varied than its predecessor.

    The famous Mario foes, the Koopalings return from Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World. They all have different attack patterns and their fights are really unique. You fight against each one twice. The first fight is always really simple but on the second fight, the wizard Kamek appears and gives them a special power or changes up the terrain. The bosses in the game are designed incredibly well and the final boss *no spoilers* is fantastic and does not disappoint.

    My only true problem with the game is the difficulty. The game can be a bit tough at times, especially during multiplayer which is why I wouldn't recommend it. Your character might not respond at times to the controls but it's an extremely rare occasion. The difficulty isn't a huge problem as it was fixed in later New Super Mario installments.

    Overall, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a huge improvement over its predecessor with great level design and arguably even better bosses. It definitely deserves a spot in your Wii library.
    Expand
  69. Feb 15, 2015
    10
    An brillant game that brings the magic of the old Super Mario Bros game back to our days with awsome graphics and playability. A must for all Mario fans and all platform lovers
  70. May 4, 2013
    0
    The new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from miniThe new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from mini Mario to big Mario if you touch the flag. The jumping and spinning is good fun. When you play multi-player you can bubble up to catch up with your friend if you have died. A cool thing to do if you are playing multi-player and press 2 and backflip at the same time it will make an ultra ground pound. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.