New Super Mario Bros. Wii Wii

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 587
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  2. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser To say this sucks is to say you hate gaming, this is the 3rd best 2d (2.5d, whatever it's still in the 2D realm) mario game i've played. Next to SMB3 and SMB1. The story is the same, the gameplay is awesome, as typical mario games are. The graphics are suited for 2.5D awesomeness, which means they are good. The Bosses are good, i like koopalings, Epesically the final bowser fight. Overall: 9 out of 10 Expand
  3. MichelJ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing single-player, amazing multiplayer (up to 4 people what a mess) but thats the fun the mess, amazing game, both thumbs Up
  4. MarkH
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is a great mix of old school and new school and is up there with the best of the Mario games. It also has one of the best boss battles of all-time (I love the throwback to older Mario games). Plus there is lots of replayability with the star coins and secret exits.
  5. Steph
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    As a casual gamer I loved it. Sure, some levels were difficult but not impossible if you're persistant. Nostalgically reminded me of the old NES Super Mario only with enough fresh moves to make it new, different and better! Multiplayer mode is very, very fun.
  6. ibrahime
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    i love this game. haven't had this much fun with a game since super mario world and its easily should have 90 on here but the stupid critic love shit codmw to give this a chance
  7. BobM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no coincidence either. This game is one of the best I've played in years, and simply put, hands down, this game has one thing that 99% of the HD, cinematic blockbusters on other consoles sorely lack: replay value. I've already played through this game twice, and I have been playing it a third time, simply because the levels are FUN to play through. Plus, as a bonus, the multiplayer modes are, in fact, while chaotic, very very fun. Kudos to Nintendo on another masterpiece. Expand
  8. SnoozerBear
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Love it... Too tired from playing to write anything else! I don't think it's too hard; I can speed run most levels in a minute or two without losing a life... It might be too hard for your 'Average' gamer, aka. Casual gamer. Casual gamers beware! This game is not for wimps; only people who can press at least 2 buttons at once... XD
  9. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Nintendo succeed. This game is exactly where this series needed to go. Bravo, Nintendo, you deserve high marks! Expand
  10. RJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after This is an essential game in every gamer's library. The lack of online may put some people off, but for me it's just a minor issue (it all depends on your gaming habits). The single player is solid and challenging at just the right level, the co-op is a blast, and the game differentiates itself enough from the DS version. I would have liked a more streamlined restart after losing one life, but that's also just a minor gripe. All in all, this game is a must-buy. Expand
  11. the_ghost_master
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, when you want to play 4 players, it just rocks! The mess created makes it really fun, cooperative and competition is good, so that you can kick the enemy or help him defeating and enemy. This brilliant enemy woke up Mario 2D games and I hope it sells a lot. Expand
  12. Fix
    Jun 21, 2012
    9
    You can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motionYou can play this game at your own pace. If you're just into racing to Bowser, you can do that. But, if you're looking for a serious challenge, the 3 coins in every stage are going to take a lot of patience, skill, luck, and time. This has been the first Mario game that I've felt I don't have the skills to finish 100% completion. My only complaint about this game is the gimmicky motion control for the spin jump. I can't tell you how many times I accidentally shook the controller during an intense moment, thus activating the spin jump at the worst time possible. I don't throw my arms around when I play either, it's just very sensitive. I would give 10 stars if the shaking of the controller action was mapped differently or it supported a classic controller. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Simply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of newSimply put, New Super Mario Bros. Wii is another great addition to the shelf of great Mario games. The graphics are sharp, the music is catchy, and the Koopalings are back! The return of the Koopalings is the best part of New Super Mario Bros. Wii. Each of them have their own unique personalities and they all make for great bosses. As for the levels, they are creative and full of new ideas. The game also has a multiplayer mode...but that's where it falls flat. Characters can bounce off of each others heads, and the levels start to feel very cramped in multiplayer. There is also not a lot of item variety, and when a Nunchuk is plugged in, the on-screen directions still act as if the Nunchuk is not plugged in. This confused me in the beginning. On the plus side again, the 3 Star Coins hidden in each level mean that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will keep gamers entertained for a long time. So, overall, I'd say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii rules as a Mario game, and it is certainly worth buying if you're a Mario fan. Expand
  14. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This game pays tribute to former games glory, difficulty, and story. Actually, that was it's only downside, the fact that I knew Bowser was gonna pull his same old trick. But, then, the game absorbed me into fun levels, new power-ups and enemies, and Toad houses to win 1-Ups, Power-ups, and Star Powers in every world.
  15. Jan 20, 2015
    8
    This game is worth. buying and completing.

    PROS
    -fun
    -nice story to listen too
    -easy controls
    -creative worlds

    CONS
    -poor graphics

    Expect a fun, but low graphic experience when buying this.
  16. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! The 2nd best NSMB game. The graphics are great for the Wii. The level designs are awesome. You can play as Toads which I like. The multiplayer is very fun. New Super Mario Bros Wii is an awesome game and you should definitely buy it!
  17. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This was my All-Time Back up favourite game. New Super Mario Bros. 2 just came out in 2012 when I was obsessed with this game. Fufufu and I played together for at least 30 min. and one time, my Aqua Blue Nintendo 3DS needed to be fixed, so I had to play this instead of NSMB2 for 2weeks or so. You should totally get this game. It is FLAWLESS! I'm on World 9.
  18. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    The Perfect game for Mario fans and those of you who think Mario is okay I say the game is worth a try. It's basically like the Mario bros but it has a funny opening seen and it has a lot of power ups. Overall: If you have a wii it's worth a try though the DS version is better.
  19. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  20. NateSc
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    wow....frustrating fun you can't stop playing. I cannot find a fault in this game. The final fight is amazing. Some of it gets tricky but nothing impossible. Also, the more people...the 10 times funnier it gets. Still fun first player but still. The games takes about 4 non stop days to beat but maybe 2 weeks if played on occasions. Get it or rent it now!
  21. JohnB
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Dont rate the game before you have collected all the star coins and completed the world 9 stages. I'll tell you, not until when you start doing that the real game and challenge begins. This is one of the best 2d- mario game ever created.
  22. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    This game is about Mario the main player (which you play if player one) and you have to save the princess, Mario
  23. StevenA
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with A rather satisfying mario game. I haven't bought a nintendo wii game since April 2008, when Okami came out. All the 3rd party video games for Wii inflicted zero interest upon me. I have been playing my PS3, wondering when a good Wii game would come out. Finally, it came. And it was this game. It's classic mario with a bunch of enhancements and power-ups that were thought up with originally and utmost care. I was so happy to hear that it could be 2-4 player co-op and I was happy to hear that the game was very challenging. Maybe sometimes too challenging, but when 4 people play, it works much better. Graphics are good enough for me. The story is a bit silly, but I expected nothing less of a Mario game. The only thing that really bothers me is the game's hefty price. Here in Canada, it's 65 bucks. That's too much for a nintendo wii game. Let alone, a game that's simply a unique turn of a classic mario game. If you are good at side-scrolling platforms, you can run through new super mario bros wii in 6 hours (without cannon skips). It'll probably take you 15-25 hours to get 100% and there are a few mini-games to entertain you, but that's about it. Too bad there was no online co-op option available. Maybe next time. But I can't help give this game a 9 out of 10 for being a new success for Nintendo Wii and because the Nintendo company never lets us down when it comes to their own games. Twilight Princess, Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3, SSB Brawl and New super mario bros wii are amazing games. You just have to sit through all the crap games to get to them. Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    For a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesomeFor a retro game junky like myself, this game was everything I could ask for. Well, okay, it was too short. . . but only because I could play Mario levels forever. This takes players back to the old-school one-dimensional Mario games with a lot of the same moves and controls, only now with a much greater level of accuracy in Mario's movements. Thank god. The multiplayer mode is awesome because it is total chaos! The secret levels are, for the most part, a challenge to even Mario veterans. Over all, if you liked the older Mario titles or are curious about what they were like, try this one out. Expand
  25. ElliottW
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open (to allow more room for extra players) and that the game would be too easy in single player. Luckily, this isn't the case. The game is packed with so many 'wow' moments, that simply weren't present in the DS version. If there's one word to describe this game, its 'balance'. It's not too easy, yet not as nail-bitingly hard as some other Mario games. The game is a culmination of everything you loved about mario, with some new suprises. The motion controls work well, and they aren't overused. The new power-ups are some of the most useful and imaginative suits to date. The yoshi levels are superb. This game deserves at least a 90, yet some critics seemed to be too swept away with COD6 that they ignored the brilliance of this. This game is literally flawless. There's nothing to fault about it. In an age where Nintendo are dumbing down their core franchises, its refreshing to see they are still the kings of platforming. Expand
  26. JuddMan
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    Pretty uninspiring, the main game has a few small improvements over the DS title, but there is zero replayability value. once you've done everything, the game kindly tells you so and it's time to put it on the shelf forever. What happened to all the awesome multiplayer minigames from the DS version?
  27. LudwigV.
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which Everything promised was delivered. 1 player is fun, 4 player is hectic, 2 players is perfect. The levels all offer new things, generally something from an old game, coupled with an original concept. This game has enough variety to be 3X as long as it is without getting boring, but that's just not Nintendo's style. After playing through a level, I found it easy to remember which one was which; none of them were too similar. My only true complaint would be the lack of reward for doing everything. You get to unlock bits and pieces of world 9 if you collect all the star coins in each world, but collecting everything in world 9 gets you...some short fanfare, and a message that says you've done everything. Kinda anticlimatic, but Mario games have always been about the journey more than the destination. Expand
  28. [anonymous]
    Dec 27, 2009
    8
    This game is the best 2d mario game I've played, but it's also the most frustrating, but it's that certain kind of funny "I can't believe that just happened" frustrating that doesn't get you too angry. It's also generouse with extra lives to make up for the constant dieing.
  29. NeilP
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Miyamoto-san does it again. Stuck this in the Wii and it brought an immediate smile to my face. Small touches like the goombas etc dancing to the tune show that Nintendo are unsurpassed for attention to detail. I have most consoles and yet it is this game, SMG and Zelda for the Wii that keep my kids mesmorised. Highly recommended.
  30. PeterJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Thankful to be stuck on World 6 at the moment. This is much more of a challenge that past Mario games, yet still incredibly fun at the same time.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.