New Super Mario Bros. Wii Wii

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 588
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElliottW
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open Wow. This game blew me away. I was expecting another watered-down adventure like the good, but samey DS counterpart, but here I got more than I bargained for. Its amazing to play on your own or in multiplayer. The level design is far better than the DS version's, and its a lot more challenging. When the game was first unveiled, people started to worry that levels would be too open (to allow more room for extra players) and that the game would be too easy in single player. Luckily, this isn't the case. The game is packed with so many 'wow' moments, that simply weren't present in the DS version. If there's one word to describe this game, its 'balance'. It's not too easy, yet not as nail-bitingly hard as some other Mario games. The game is a culmination of everything you loved about mario, with some new suprises. The motion controls work well, and they aren't overused. The new power-ups are some of the most useful and imaginative suits to date. The yoshi levels are superb. This game deserves at least a 90, yet some critics seemed to be too swept away with COD6 that they ignored the brilliance of this. This game is literally flawless. There's nothing to fault about it. In an age where Nintendo are dumbing down their core franchises, its refreshing to see they are still the kings of platforming. Expand
  2. MichelJ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing single-player, amazing multiplayer (up to 4 people what a mess) but thats the fun the mess, amazing game, both thumbs Up
  3. MarkH
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is a great mix of old school and new school and is up there with the best of the Mario games. It also has one of the best boss battles of all-time (I love the throwback to older Mario games). Plus there is lots of replayability with the star coins and secret exits.
  4. NateSc
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    wow....frustrating fun you can't stop playing. I cannot find a fault in this game. The final fight is amazing. Some of it gets tricky but nothing impossible. Also, the more people...the 10 times funnier it gets. Still fun first player but still. The games takes about 4 non stop days to beat but maybe 2 weeks if played on occasions. Get it or rent it now!
  5. Steph
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    As a casual gamer I loved it. Sure, some levels were difficult but not impossible if you're persistant. Nostalgically reminded me of the old NES Super Mario only with enough fresh moves to make it new, different and better! Multiplayer mode is very, very fun.
  6. ibrahime
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    i love this game. haven't had this much fun with a game since super mario world and its easily should have 90 on here but the stupid critic love shit codmw to give this a chance
  7. JohnB
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Dont rate the game before you have collected all the star coins and completed the world 9 stages. I'll tell you, not until when you start doing that the real game and challenge begins. This is one of the best 2d- mario game ever created.
  8. BobM
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no To put it mildly, this game is awesome. To say that it ranks right up there with Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, as far as 2D Mario platformers go, is an understatement. In fact, in some ways, it's better even than Mario World. And the mere fact that it employs many fresh new ideas, while at the same time incorporating a LOT of great stuff from those older games, is no coincidence either. This game is one of the best I've played in years, and simply put, hands down, this game has one thing that 99% of the HD, cinematic blockbusters on other consoles sorely lack: replay value. I've already played through this game twice, and I have been playing it a third time, simply because the levels are FUN to play through. Plus, as a bonus, the multiplayer modes are, in fact, while chaotic, very very fun. Kudos to Nintendo on another masterpiece. Expand
  9. SnoozerBear
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Love it... Too tired from playing to write anything else! I don't think it's too hard; I can speed run most levels in a minute or two without losing a life... It might be too hard for your 'Average' gamer, aka. Casual gamer. Casual gamers beware! This game is not for wimps; only people who can press at least 2 buttons at once... XD
  10. EvanB.
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Note to the Editor: Since when was a "C+" a 58%? As a teacher, I grade my students on the following scale: 90-100 A, 80-89 B, 70-79 C, 60-69 D, 1-59 F. So, The Onion (A.V. Club) should be rated a "77" on the Metacritic scale! Anyway, I have played this game for many hours now and it is one of my favorite all-time platformers. I am very happy with this game, and only want to see it and Nintendo succeed. This game is exactly where this series needed to go. Bravo, Nintendo, you deserve high marks! Expand
  11. PeterJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Thankful to be stuck on World 6 at the moment. This is much more of a challenge that past Mario games, yet still incredibly fun at the same time.
  12. DannyLy
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    It has been well over a decade now that a side scrolling Mario game has been made. This new one takes the best elements from all previous Mario games we love and enjoy so much, and now bringing it to the modern day for a new generation to experience. Combining classic platforming with modern day technology is an ingredient for new comers and older gamers to come together and play united.
  13. JimB
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome, totally lives up to the series, really in the top 3 of all Mario titles
  14. noahl
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    i love 4 player it is just so hectic because everyone is screaming why the **** did you kill me
  15. the_ghost_master
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, The game is absolutely amazing. Fun to play when you're trying to finish the game. Hard and tricky when you want to finish 100%. Fun and really frustrating (on the good side) when you want to do a speed run. The 2D design is the Super Mario's style, which I think most people like and me too. The levels design is better than Super Mario Brothers for Nintendo DS. Additionally, when you want to play 4 players, it just rocks! The mess created makes it really fun, cooperative and competition is good, so that you can kick the enemy or help him defeating and enemy. This brilliant enemy woke up Mario 2D games and I hope it sells a lot. Expand
  16. ChrisC
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally What bothers me is that some reviewers call this a rehash but call COD MW2 unique. This goes to show that you cannot trust reviews anymore. Nearly every title that has some hype behind it gets 9-10 scores and on rare occasion, at the very least an 8. Every Mario game does NOT have to be innovative. Why can't this one just be immense amounts of fun? Thats a problem that we finally have the next great 2D console Mario adventure in almost 20 years and its one of the most entertaining platformers you'll ever play and nothing more? Reviewers can seriously go screw themselves. This game is astounding. Worlds of fun that contains a final Bowser battle that will be remembered for years and years to come. Online play is NOT necessary and to be honest, if it was in here it'd be just another thing to vote down because Nintendo's Wi-Fi sucks. So I'm glad it didn't even make the cut becuase playing with real friends right next to you is 10x more fun anyway. Another thing, the level design is inspired. The difficulty is ramped up. I am a Mario veteran and I've had the Super Guide Block (great idea btw) come up in almost 3/8 of all the levels. Okay now I'm going to bring this to a close by saying: go with your gut. Its a Mario side-scroller. You know its going to be fun. So forget what these reviewers say because if this game was given fair ratings it'd have a metacritic average of 96-97. Fantastic title. Expand
  17. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and MarioWhen the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  18. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a great party game. It starts out easy and builds up the difficulty from world to world. I hope there is a second Mario Bros. Wii game.
  19. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably one of the best mario games ever! It has great graphics and music, simple controls, brilliant solo player and hectic multiplayer. Its a essential game for any wii owner.
  20. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I've ever gotten for the wii. I really don't understand all those negative reviews. the multiplayer is awesome and putting the two toads as playable characters was a nice touch. Nintendo, you've done it again!!!
  21. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. TheThis game is all about fun. It doesn't provide too much challenge, but the multiplayer in itself is enough difficulty. It gets very hectic when four players are trying to accurately time jumps, meaning usually at least one of them will get accidentlly (or purposely) stomped down the pit. The game gives the tools to mess up other players, such as picking them up and then throwing them. The new suits, propeller and penguin, work well also. Very much worth it, but prepare for craziness. Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    NSMBW is the second best Mario game I have seen and one of the best choices on family/single gaming I have ever had the pleasure of playing! All the new costumes, plus the bosses, plus the numerous new levels with the flagpole at the end, means the best 2D plat-former I have played.
  23. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    imo best 2d mario game evar so get out and buy, the only mario game i can thin of thats beter id=s kart wii, but thats just what i though of now so...

    still, if u like everything decent about life, youd get this 98% good game, wouldnt you
  24. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded meThis game is classic Mario and being a HUGE Mario fan since super Mario Bros. 3 I found this game very highly entertaining and with awesome co-op, stomping goombas, kicking koopa shells and trying to throw each other off the edge was extreeeeeemly fun and entertaining. The story was pretty much the same "Mario, help me, Bowser has kidnapped me" etc. but I didn't mind that as it reminded me that Mario hasn't changed too much since the very start. Also the inclusion of Yoshi instantly brought a smile to my face being able to swallow koopas and then spit out the shells was awesome. And I've heard people saying that this game was hard, but I completely disagree. I had hours of fun with this game and I felt so good when I got that kiss on the cheek from peach after I rescued her (Even though I just rescued her from a demon-turtle-dragon-thing). Expand
  25. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It is even better than New Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo DS. It is better because it has a much higher difficulty and you can play the game with 3 others at once!
  26. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Game play, graphics, level design, items, bosses and even Yoshi make this a top notch entry into the Super Mario Bros. franchise. It's possible to breeze bye the game. Completing it 100% however is another story. The multi-player experience will prove an enjoyable and frustrating one.
  27. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of Mario I played. Can play a lot of people and the story mode and more successful, the proper graphics and gameplay is really correct. For me, it's Mario is the best all of Mario.
  28. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Nintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quiteNintendo have worked fantastic on this game. Lots of effort has been put into making it one of the best Mario games out there. The multiplayer function is great, having four people playing at once is complete chaos. Loads of characters from previous Mario games return back, many old bosses from Super Mario World are back again, and the game is perfect for young children, being quite difficult, gradually getting harder. Expand
  29. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    New Super Mario Bros Wii é sem dúvidas um jogo bastante divertido, e talvez, até um dos mais divertidos do Nintendo Wii. O jogo não é enjoativo, e garante horas de diversão, porém é um jogo muito mais fácil e rápido se comparado com os outros jogos da série Mario (inclusive se você estiver no modoNew Super Mario Bros Wii é sem dúvidas um jogo bastante divertido, e talvez, até um dos mais divertidos do Nintendo Wii. O jogo não é enjoativo, e garante horas de diversão, porém é um jogo muito mais fácil e rápido se comparado com os outros jogos da série Mario (inclusive se você estiver no modo multiplayer). E apesar da arquitetura do controle atrapalhar um pouco, tem uma jogabilidade perfeita e elementos tanto conhecidos quanto inovadores, combinados com os recursos do Wii, fazem deste jogo não só mais um Super Mario Bros, e sim um New Super Mario Bros Wii. Expand
  30. May 4, 2013
    10
    The new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from miniThe new power-ups are Propeller Mario, Ice Mario and Penguin Mario. This is a fantastic game to play. I like th coin battle and the levels are really fun. There are lots of new bad guys like Bowser's minions such as Baby Bowser. It is a fun adventure and takes a long time to complete. There are checkpoints in the game so if you find a flag with a Bowser face on it you can turn from mini Mario to big Mario if you touch the flag. The jumping and spinning is good fun. When you play multi-player you can bubble up to catch up with your friend if you have died. A cool thing to do if you are playing multi-player and press 2 and backflip at the same time it will make an ultra ground pound. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Enjoying Mario in the genre that saw him born is always a great pleasure, even if you are not a fan of the platform titles. Nintendo returns to its specialty: to offer hours and hours of fun by giving us games with their own personality and a shellproof gameplay.
  2. 80
    That sense of cohesiveness isn't always present in New Super Mario Bros. and it makes for an uneven experience that's difficult to score.
  3. 80
    New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an excellent game with friends, and I had a great deal of challenging fun with the solo mode. But if you’re looking for a new Mario adventure that’s tailored to creating the maximum amount of fun for just one person, you’ll have to wait for next year’s Super Mario Galaxy 2.