New Super Mario Bros. Wii Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 640 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. Wii offers a combination of cooperation and competition. Players can pick each other up to save them from danger or toss them into it. Mario, Luigi and two Toads are all playable characters, while many others from the Mushroom Kingdom make appearances throughout theNew Super Mario Bros. Wii offers a combination of cooperation and competition. Players can pick each other up to save them from danger or toss them into it. Mario, Luigi and two Toads are all playable characters, while many others from the Mushroom Kingdom make appearances throughout the game. Players can even ride different Yoshi characters and use their tongues to swallow enemies, items and even balls of fire. In some areas, players use the motion abilities of the Wii Remote controller. The first player to reach a seesaw might make it tilt to help his or her character reach a higher platform - or might maike it tilt incorrectly just to mess with other players. New items include the propeller suit, which will shoot players high into the sky with just a shake of the Wii Remote, and Mario’s new ability to transform into Penguin Mario. At the end of each stage during the coin battle multiplayer mode, players are ranked based on the number of coins they have collected. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 100
    A truly great Mario title and a bold and brilliant new multiplayer direction for the series. Buy it now!
  2. The Wii may be more focused in hooking in a new generation of easy-going players, but for Nintendo fans from the early days, this game was made for you.
  3. Whether you buy this game for the excellent single player or as the perfect platforming battle for the friends you’re ready to lose (as it can get more than a little combative), this is one of the games I didn’t know I needed for my Wii. Unless you completely hate the original Mario games or you only play games in 3D, this is a must-buy for Wii owners.
  4. NSMBW is a stunning game in single-player, and a chaotic barrel of light-hearted laughs in multiplayer, accessible to beginners while truly challenging to long-term fans. Well done, Nintendo.
  5. New Super Mario Bros Wii is a fun game, plain and simple.
  6. Can a game be worth purchasing without being brilliant? It depends on your wallet. The first few hours of multiplayer are going to be worth the sticker price, but the rest of the game is nearly inaccessible for four simultaneous gamers.
  7. The lack of a strong concept in this game brings that decades-old sameness to the fore and makes New SMB Wii the least essential Mario title to date.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 148
  1. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New SuperFantastic! New Super Mario Bros. Wii takes all the great things about previous side scrolling Mario games and makes it even better. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a great party game. It starts out easy and builds up the difficulty from world to world. I hope there is a second Mario Bros. Wii game. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2016
    10
    I think this game much better, then WiiU version. Cool levels, cool power-ups, much-more hardcore and one of the best final bosses of allI think this game much better, then WiiU version. Cool levels, cool power-ups, much-more hardcore and one of the best final bosses of all Mario history. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's.When the only negative reviews are saying "It's too hard"..you know it's really really good Mario. This is the best 2D platformer of the 00's. It is a joy to play and I can't recommend it enough. 16 million and going..the game is a blast!. Deserves a A+ for the brilliant gameplay. I love the graphics, esp. the enemies and Mario's animations. The Koopalings are back from Mario 3 and Mario World. Just buy it..lol. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Fantastic fun game, 100% quality execution as you would expect from Nintendo, but so hard and unforgiving, much like arcade games of old! ThisFantastic fun game, 100% quality execution as you would expect from Nintendo, but so hard and unforgiving, much like arcade games of old! This game will annoy the hell out of you but keep you coming back for more. Unfortunately for the younger kids this will be way too hard.
    Took of 1 score for being too hard! ;)
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is heaps of fun to play! It's one of those games that you can sit down with your friends playing for hours, trying to get every last coin, star, and powerup. The multiplayer is really solid, the level design is great, and the graphics are, well, Mario. Although it's not the hardest game in the world, you will need to replay levels over and over to get it perfect. And that's just it. The replayability is one of the best parts of the game. There are some levels of this game that you can play as many as ten times in a row, and not get bored of. However, the best experience is when you're playing with two other people away from everything else in the world. Just sheer Mario, super-fun, platforming gameplay. So, if you're looking for a super fun game to play, buy this for ten bucks somewhere.
    (Although, and as much of a Mario fan as I am, I find games like Super Meat Boy to be more fun. If only that game had multiplayer.)
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2016
    7
    Like (almost) every Nintendo console the Wii got his Super Mario Bros episode, but was this needed for one of the most iconic character ofLike (almost) every Nintendo console the Wii got his Super Mario Bros episode, but was this needed for one of the most iconic character of videogames ?

    Technically the game looks fine for the Wii, the childish art direction adds a lots of charm to all Nintendo's platformers but it lacks originality in the level design (almost no use of the motion controls) and the boss design as well. On the other hand the games doesn't have any bug like always with Nintendo.

    Concerning the gameplay once again the lack of innovations can be a bit annoying if you're not a fan , but most of all I find the character a bit clumsy and jumps aren't as perfect as in Donkey Kong for example, this was really the biggest lay down of this game for me. I don't explain how they didn't nailed this part, because generally they do, for the first time in a Nintendo platformer I was frustrated by the controls.

    Story wise, well you know what to expect from Nintendo, all the Super Mario Bros could be considered as a perpetual reboot considering the lack of consideration for what happened in the past, anyway the story is as simple as it gets, if you're looking for an interesting one don't buy a Mario game. Concerning the length of the game you can expect between 12 to 15 hours to finish all the levels at 100%, which is a good average for the genre.

    In conclusion I don't consider this game interesting if you already know Super Mario Bros unless you're a Mario fan, the Wii offers better experience of the same genre (Donkey Kong, Kirby). And even for newbie, I think the first games (if you don't have the hardware there's a collection available for Wii) are better choices. I might be underrating the game a bit, but I expect the best from an old franchise like this one and I was disappointed by its gameplay and the lack of risks in game design.
    Expand
  7. AGuyWithAnActualOpinion
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    This is the worst Mario game to have ever been created since Super Mario 3. Do yourself a favor and get Mario Party 8 instead of this if you This is the worst Mario game to have ever been created since Super Mario 3. Do yourself a favor and get Mario Party 8 instead of this if you want a REAL Mario game. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.
  3. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.

Awards & Rankings

5
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009