Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Control Scheme - Choose between fun, easy-to-use Wii Remote and Nunchuk controls and Sideways Wii Remote support, or plug in a Wii Classic Controller for three ways to play. Full Online Modes - For the first time, enjoy full online support for Wii, including multiplayer and multi-consoleNew Control Scheme - Choose between fun, easy-to-use Wii Remote and Nunchuk controls and Sideways Wii Remote support, or plug in a Wii Classic Controller for three ways to play. Full Online Modes - For the first time, enjoy full online support for Wii, including multiplayer and multi-console match-ups, downloadable rosters, online leagues, tournaments, leaderboards and Team Up mode featuring persistent created teams and regular Pick-Up Games. WiiMotion Plus and WiiSpeak Support - Enjoy online voice chat capabilities via WiiSpeak and precise one-to-one control with WiiMotion Plus. [2K Sports] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. New motion controls make the Wii version of NHL 2K10 an impressive and unique arcade hockey game.
  2. NHL 2K10 is the most complete sports package on the Wii. While it may take some time to get the nuances of the controls down, this is the most satisfying version of the game on offer. Forget HD, this is all about gameplay, and it delivers.
  3. Overall, for a game that was supposed to be more about the arcade experience of hockey it feels like a more complete solution than the “other product” and impressed me at every turn.
  4. While there could be some further improvements to the motion controls, presentation, and AI, NHL 2K10 should be considered a must-buy for anyone remotely interested in the sport.
  5. One of the most fully featured sports games on the Wii console. [Oct 2009, p.87]
  6. For hockey fans with only a Wii, NHL 2K10 still comes highly recommended, warts and all.
  7. If you own multiple consoles, there is no compelling reason to own this version of NHL 2K10 unless you are looking for some sort of novelty factor; however if you are a “one console owner”, then you can do no wrong by picking up this game as you can enjoy some of the gameplay aspects that this virtual hockey game has to offer.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. joeyp
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Love this game. for a low price and if you've got mates, the Wii version has got us all going, the PS3 version is too easy... way too Love this game. for a low price and if you've got mates, the Wii version has got us all going, the PS3 version is too easy... way too easy. The Wii got it right, there are a few minor glitches but download the patches to resolve. the first sports game to get me yelling at the TV in a long time. love it. Expand
  2. SuperB
    Sep 30, 2009
    9
    Very good implementation of the Wii Motion Plus for shots, Dekee and passing. Online games are a blast. Option to update de roosters is a Very good implementation of the Wii Motion Plus for shots, Dekee and passing. Online games are a blast. Option to update de roosters is a welcome addition (official 2k and user-created)!. Less slowdown then nhl 2k9. The passing take a few games to master, you only have to remember that the first direction you go with the wiimote is where your player will pass. At first I was doing the Back/front motion and it will end with a backpass. Expand
  3. WesleyD
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    I think for the Wii this game is pretty awesome. The game play seems slow at first but after 2 or 3 games you get used to it and start having I think for the Wii this game is pretty awesome. The game play seems slow at first but after 2 or 3 games you get used to it and start having a lot of fun. Don't listen to the negative reviews, for the wii this game is a blast so far. It can be frustrating at times but most sports games are like that anyways. If you are like me and enjoy hockey as a sport, get this game. It'll take a few games to get a grip on the controls but you will feel accomplished when you finally start playing good defense and creating scoring opportunities. Graphics and game flow are Very Good. Not great but I see no problem with it. Get this game, you wont regret it. Expand
  4. JamesR
    Oct 8, 2009
    8
    It's nice to see a developer who will give the Wii all of the same modes and always online experience that the other consoles get. The It's nice to see a developer who will give the Wii all of the same modes and always online experience that the other consoles get. The MotionPlus controls work very nicely, as well. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2010
    8
    Motion Plus works Ok for nhl 2k10, its still pretty unsensitive. And its super hard to play online because of nintendo's crappy online. ItMotion Plus works Ok for nhl 2k10, its still pretty unsensitive. And its super hard to play online because of nintendo's crappy online. It worked well for me though until i got a xbox 360 and played NHL 10. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2010
    6
    I bought this for $9 and it provided me good entertainment for a summer without the NHL running, so for that I thank it. Once you get to knowI bought this for $9 and it provided me good entertainment for a summer without the NHL running, so for that I thank it. Once you get to know the ice surface (talent at hockey games somehow never transfers over to new ones I find) the game can be very enjoyable, but suffers from all the same old rando-issues plus a few new ones from the Wii motion controls. A few needlessly upsetting things: 1) computer does the same auto-scoring breakaway move on 9/10 breakaways. 2) You shake the wiimote to shoot when you've got an open net and your player does a ridiculous deke in the entirely opposite direction, turning to shoot 3 seconds later when the goalie's back 3) Penalty replays glitch and show an old or gibberish replay 4) The menu system is indeed awful 5) The replay barely replays anything 6) Faceoffs are crazy-hard and then after a few games crazy-easy 7) No matter how you skew the game difficulty or physics, etc. my team still gets more penalties, injuries and scoring than the rest of the league. Why don't they ever force stat matching across the computer? I'm trying to run a realistic season but all 4 of my top forwards lead the league in points, 3 of them under a PPG still, somehow. 8) Most of the time the computer ices the puck the game doesn't call icing.

    Anyway, this could go on. It's all these little things that stop these games from becoming realistic hockey experiences. I do love the fantasy draft and minor league team though.
    Collapse
  7. FredrikP
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    Worst game I've ever played. Unintuitive menus & unresponsive controls. I can never make the players do what I want. A lot of down time Worst game I've ever played. Unintuitive menus & unresponsive controls. I can never make the players do what I want. A lot of down time at every possible opportunity, once after a penalty the game showed the referee for 10 seconds and I could only watch... Same at face offs it takes forever for play to resume. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers