• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jan 26, 2010
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 160

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    No More Heroes 2 is freaking epic! A lot of video games these days lack the personality of NMH2. Travis Touchdown is quirky, tough, and downright funny. The bosses are all spectacular and deliver great dialogue. I was excited every time I encountered one. The open world from the first game was taken away and replaced with a menu based interface. I have no complaints about that as you get to go here and there really quickly (I will miss collecting stuff though). The whole story is great and really funny. The combat has been improved and now you get to double wield a pair of beam katanas. No More Heroes 2 is a great game that proves serious gamers can have fun on the Wii (you also want to check out MadWorld). I give it a 9.75! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    This game gets a 10 because of its simple, fun combat system, multiple boss fights, and one of the best messages ever given to the player through gameplay alone, that revenge isn't all it's cut out to be.
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This is without a doubt one of the best games the Wii has to offer. No More Heroes 2 is a stylish game with amazing boss fights, hilarious moments, and ridiculously fun action. It's certainly not perfect, far from it. But it's just too stylish and fun to fault for its imperfections.
    Many game developers try to make great games but fail to make them actually entertaining. Making games fun
    to play is an area that Grasshopper Manufacture excels at, and this game is evidence of that.
    This is Suda 51's best game to date (with the original NMH in 2nd).
    Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    this is one of my favourite releases this year, the humour, the controls, bloodiness, the music was absolutely perfect, its so god damn catchy "From Dusk Till Dawn" is my favourite tune, but i think the story sucked though, its not as good as the first game though in story, and i was getting hyped for the revenge idea "even though that storyline is over used"

    but controls, graphics and
    the rest has improved over the first game, but i seriously want to ride my motorcycle i reckon its dumb getting rid of it :(

    but nether-less its a good game its worth a buy
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I felt like I was playing Kill Bill the game; only way, way crazier. This is one of the best hardcore games on the Wii, along with games like MadWorld & Muramasa. Buy it now.
  6. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    No More Heroes 1 was great, but this is simply amazing. Definitely one of the best games on the system. Seriously, if you're old enough and have a Wii, pick this game up NOW!
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    No More Heroes, while one of the best games available on the Wii, was extremely flawed but fantastic experience, this sequel to it does have less issues but is still a flawed game that's worth every second of your time with it. The story is much better written and thought out this time, it's easy to follow and Travis isn't treated like some super dork this time around, it's funnier, packs a lot more cooler content, more playable characters, a deathmatch mode which allows you to fight the bosses over again after you beat the game, and the graphics have been greatly improved over it's predecessor, but by far the best change it made was removing the need to collect a certain amount of money in order to progress, which makes the game so much better and finally allows you to buy all those cool outfits and other stuff. Now while all these changes are great and make this game better than the first the game it's still extremely flawed. The mini-games that you play for cash and get stronger are now 8-bit style throwbacks. I appreciate that they tried to make the mini-games better but honestly I only really enjoyed one or two. My biggest complaint with the game is the gameplay, it's you standard hack and slash with tough boss fights and a crazy style and sense of humor that deserves to be played, but I just can't help but feel that the game is somehow lacking. Despite this the game is better than the first and deserves to be played, so if your looking for an awesome and mature game for your Wii look no further, even with it's flaws it's still a great purchase. Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    One of THE games to play on the Wii. Removing the fees to enter the matches was a great move, making the side missions only required to buy new weapons and to get Health/strength upgrades. Great humor, tight combat, but things can get a bit repetitive towards the end of the game.
  9. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I have a hard time deciding if this is the best game on the Wii or the best game [period] GRAPHICS: Perfect. It feels like playing a cartoon- an awesome cartoon. Great style and greater cool factor. 10/10
    ADVENTURE: Travis Touchdown may be the greatest murdering sociopath hero ever. Every encounter feels epic. Every character is memorable. The minigames, humor, and mindblowing awesomeness
    of it all just cannot be praised enough. 10/10
    MECHANICS: Solid. Except for one part playing as Shinobu (jump puzzle/boss fight) I never had any problem with the controls. They were fun (Wiiiii) and intuitive. 9/10
    EXTRAS: Did I mention how awesome everything about this game is? Desperate Struggle embraced and ridiculed everything that is gamer/anime/dork culture. I could spend the next 4213 characters explaining how lights out fantastic this game is, but then you would be wasting time not playing it which would be a horrible loss. 11/10
    Expand
  10. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    This is one of the best games for the Wii for sure.Travis Touchdown is also one of the best video game characters of all time.I love this game but something that pissed me off is that instead of fighting 50 assassins you fight 15.If it actually had the 50 characters I would have gave it a 10.
  11. May 2, 2011
    9
    AHAHA! I love this game so much! Great art graphics and inventive bosses and weapons, as well as the great storyline and some of the funniest cutscenes. The only con are (this might be just my old Wii acting up though) the Cutscenes are choppy at some points. Such a bargain at £10, I recommend this to anyone who likes crude, yet funny humour and lots and lots of blood.
  12. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle brings back Travis Touchdown, a wrestling and anime obsessed otaku, whose position in the UAA has been reset to rank 51. With the goal being of course to slash your way through the bosses and achieve the coveted rank 1 position... again.
    The game is more streamlined than the first, with a greater focus on the story than the fights themselves, which is a
    pity, since now a lot of the stuff that gave the first game it's distinct personality is gone or changed. I miss the messages from Diane from the video store asking for whatever porno Travis had overdue back and I miss the free roaming city that, while empty, at least looked cool and let you ride the sweetest bike ever all you want.
    However, this doesn't make this a bad game in the least, just a different one; I still had a ton of fun playing it, and I much prefer some of the changes made to the game, and so I recommend that anyone who's played the first No More Heroes to get this game.
    Expand
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Fantastic gameplay, incredible characters, fantastic graphics, great comedy, great boss battles, fantastic music, and great amounts of unlockable material
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    this is a great game, amazing videos, fun beat em up gameplay with an insane story great visuals and a lot of retro mini games makes this a must have for older wii owners
  15. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    This game goes backwards. I don't really enjoy the fact the Santa Destroy has gone from being an actual city to a select-and-click map.

    The 2D minigames can be considered artsy but they are quite flat and tedious.

    The NPCs no longer evolve through the game, they are just waiting there, on the map, for you to visit them. There's an event at the beginning of the game that makes Travis
    take revenge on the death of a friend yes, now he cares for people while slicing others into little pieces in the process of caring and avenging.

    Controls and combat are fine for Travis alone with the LITTLE exception that all his suplexes look practically the same. There's another dude that's controlled pretty much like Travis but that specializes in long range attacks.

    The camera is a nightmare; specially during Shinobu's missions, which are also a horror to control, the girl can't just simply jump properly.

    In the end, the whole game universe has been deprived of its soul.

    [No wonder its creator said he had already done all there was to do with Travis in the first No More Heroes].
    Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    An excellent game and much improved than the original but unfortunately is a bit too short.But it has great fighting, strange but interesting characters and at times emotional.Great game and along with the original, there is nothing like it.
  17. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Much better than the first game. It's a great title, good music, nice story and characters. The only things that can't stand are the gym and some minigames.
  18. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Reaper, reaper that is what you call this game Why? Because it rocks you fool. Travis Touchdown is back, but it is sad no overworld. I love the arcade games and want more. The boss fights on Bitter Difficulty are epic. I press the A button on the wii remote so much I almst broke my thumb.
  19. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle represents an old-school game with a lot of blood and sexual innuendos. The story is very simple Travis is thrown back into the rankings and must fight to become number 1 yet again. That way to the top is filled with many boss fights that are sometimes brutal on higher difficulties. The presentation is still as wacky as the game's characters, like when you save your game Travis goes to the bathroom for a nice long save. The gameplay is simple but effective, it is basically a button masher at heart but it has some variety throughout. The gameplay is bloody and the jokes are crude so No more Heroes 2 is more No More Heroes and that is a good thing. Expand
  20. May 31, 2013
    8
    Amazing sequel to No More Heroes, even better boss fights and an entertaining cast of characters. No More Heroes also gets creep points for some of its certain levels that I don't know how to describe. If you liked No More Heroes 1, then you're gonna love this one.
  21. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    So this was the only really great games I played on the Wii. Travis Touchdown is the best hero that can ever be made and the games tone makes his motivation that much more of a troll. No More Heroes is really a gem on top of a hill garbage that have been made for a lease liked console in resent history. The game looks very comic book like, with no limits to far they will go to just make a poop joke or references that only make since to pro wrestling fans would get this game leave gamers behind on the funny side. the action is nothing less than repetitive but thats nothinig really new when you talk about Wii games. The story is ok but the really good parts about this game is the voice acting and the way the game looks. Regardless of this flaws its still a good game and no one can tell me otherwise. Expand
  22. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    This game is outstanding. Bursting with personality, unlockables, and a thought-provoking story, nearly everything about this game is perfect. Yes the combat is repetitive, but dammit I don't care because it's so much fun. Any other flaws are so small they don't matter. Worth buying twice or thrice.

    ALSO anyone looking for a tough game should give it a try too; the hardest difficulty is
    blissfully challenging. Expand
  23. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Have to say that in terms of gameplay, this is an improvement from the first game. Santa Destroy is no longer boring and the use of different katanas really comes in handy. Only problem is that although there is now some sort of storyline, some of the bosses in this game, especially the final boss, are not as awesome, epic or memorable as the first game. The story, unfortunately, lacked the splendid plot twists of the first game. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. In conclusion, No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle is an entertaining game, although it does suffer from some minor gameplay nuisances with the dodgy camera.
  2. If you're a fan of the first game but found it somewhat flawed in some areas, this sequel does a good job on rectifying almost all of them. The visuals are somewhat improved, the plot is interesting and full of fun characters and gameplay is solid. Minor technical flaws aren't enough to dampen the overall experience all too much.
  3. No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle has more style, fresh ideas and great music than any human ever can handle. It's a better game than the original No More Heroes, but still has some minor gameplay disturbances.