No More Heroes Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2008
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 237

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    A rare title on the Wii that offers over the top violence, sexual innuendos and an unusual but hilarious storyline added with witty dialogues. The games does suffer from bugs for example for no reason you get stuck on a lamp post on your bike. Aside from the usual bugs and glitches, the game offers a unique combat system and visual style while offering ridiculous humour and kick ass action.
  2. DebraO.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    It's all in a day's work. Wake up, slaughter, go shooting for the next highest rated killer on the block and gain his rating. Then go kill some more and move on to the next poor fool who would dare try to defend his ranking against you. Sounds standard? Trust me, it isn't. This game does it better than anything else on the Wii right now. Ah, sweet sweet fighting game, where It's all in a day's work. Wake up, slaughter, go shooting for the next highest rated killer on the block and gain his rating. Then go kill some more and move on to the next poor fool who would dare try to defend his ranking against you. Sounds standard? Trust me, it isn't. This game does it better than anything else on the Wii right now. Ah, sweet sweet fighting game, where have you been all these long months? I finally have a fighter/action game on the Wii that is worthy of the system! Expand
  3. PaulD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    7
    I had some pretty big expectations for this one. I am almost 3 hours into it and I honestly dont care if I become the number 1 assassin. The graphics are decent but far from spectacular: lots of pop-up and simple physics engine. Killing baddies is fun, but repetitive. The loadtimes during the game never let you get immersed in the world of Santa Destroy. However, the world of Santa I had some pretty big expectations for this one. I am almost 3 hours into it and I honestly dont care if I become the number 1 assassin. The graphics are decent but far from spectacular: lots of pop-up and simple physics engine. Killing baddies is fun, but repetitive. The loadtimes during the game never let you get immersed in the world of Santa Destroy. However, the world of Santa Destroy is pretty bland anyway so perhaps thats a good thing. Earning money doing oddjobs is lame. This game, while worth a try, is way, way overhyped. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Completely bonkers, in a really cool way. While there are a few flaws, the combat is very satisfying, the bosses hilarious and memorable and the swear words pumping out faster than a penguin on a jet ski. Through all the ****'s, ****'s and ****heads, theres a ace, fun and mad game.
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Not just one of the best games on Wii but possibly my favourite game of this generation and one of my all time favourite games! No More Heroes is a fantastic game that is fun engaging and hilarious to play, The sense of humour is fantastic Travis is great character and has some genuinely funny voice work.

    On the topic of voice work this game has one of the most high profile voice cast
    Not just one of the best games on Wii but possibly my favourite game of this generation and one of my all time favourite games! No More Heroes is a fantastic game that is fun engaging and hilarious to play, The sense of humour is fantastic Travis is great character and has some genuinely funny voice work.

    On the topic of voice work this game has one of the most high profile voice cast i've ever seen! Robin Atkin Downes lends his voice to Travis Touchdown and he is utterly fantastic! Quinton Flynn delivers the voice for Henry and puts in a stellar performance as he always does! If you own a Wii or even if you've just bought your self a shiny new Wii U do yourself a favour and buy this game! also buy it's sequel to because that is arguable the better game though i'd have to replay it again to say for certain.
    Expand
  6. ChrisC
    Apr 26, 2008
    5
    The presentation is cool and all, but the gameplay is just boring. That seems to be the case for a lot of newer games. They put so much effort into the graphics, the cutscenes, and how cool the moves look they forget to actually make it enjoyable to play. The levels are extremely repetitive and there isn't really that much strategy you can use. Like a lot of adventure games winning The presentation is cool and all, but the gameplay is just boring. That seems to be the case for a lot of newer games. They put so much effort into the graphics, the cutscenes, and how cool the moves look they forget to actually make it enjoyable to play. The levels are extremely repetitive and there isn't really that much strategy you can use. Like a lot of adventure games winning is basically about memorizing what to do. Expand
  7. MattD.
    Jun 16, 2008
    6
    Moments of entertainment interspersed through a largely mediocre disappointment. This could have been so much better.
  8. MacDogG
    Dec 4, 2009
    6
    Pretty cool game, but got too repetitive pretty fast.
  9. Saveyourcashrent.
    Mar 25, 2008
    4
    this game has way to much hype surrounding it. Its simply good/ok. I got bored very early, and the shaking wiimote idea to recharge the sword is so obnoxious. I really don't get the high praise for this game. Its repetitive and then it repeats itself, then finally it gets very repetitive after repeating the same hack slash high low oh boy bodyslam over and over again. Do not pay full this game has way to much hype surrounding it. Its simply good/ok. I got bored very early, and the shaking wiimote idea to recharge the sword is so obnoxious. I really don't get the high praise for this game. Its repetitive and then it repeats itself, then finally it gets very repetitive after repeating the same hack slash high low oh boy bodyslam over and over again. Do not pay full price for this. Expand
  10. BlueFalcon
    Feb 20, 2008
    3
    It's all style and no substance. The gameplay and level design are plain dumb.
  11. JosiahH.
    Apr 6, 2008
    3
    I bought the game and returned it before i even had it for 24 hours. The graphics were so pathetic that they looked like the doodles on my science notes, and the gameplay was just bad. The 3 points that I gave it were for the fact that the game isn't aimed at 8-year olds like most wii games. I couldn't be happier that nintendo is making a few mature games, as opposed to I bought the game and returned it before i even had it for 24 hours. The graphics were so pathetic that they looked like the doodles on my science notes, and the gameplay was just bad. The 3 points that I gave it were for the fact that the game isn't aimed at 8-year olds like most wii games. I couldn't be happier that nintendo is making a few mature games, as opposed to mario,mario,more mario, and occasionally zelda. The point is, if you want a game like this, play grand theft auto. Expand
  12. Pontifex
    Apr 1, 2008
    3
    Simplistic, insulting to the player and ugly. The graphics are stylized, to be sure. But lack any sort of depth or execution to make them anything above below average for the home console market. The detailing on the characters is decent - heavy anime influences not withstanding - but the look of the town and the levels is bad. Samey corridors, samey trash leading up to the boss, even the Simplistic, insulting to the player and ugly. The graphics are stylized, to be sure. But lack any sort of depth or execution to make them anything above below average for the home console market. The detailing on the characters is decent - heavy anime influences not withstanding - but the look of the town and the levels is bad. Samey corridors, samey trash leading up to the boss, even the boss fight rooms have little or no redeeming qualities. The "story" is insulting simple. Our hero Travis whats-his-cardboard-cut-out-name wants to become the best at killing people to pay for his video game habit. This leaves open some quite interesting possibilities for humor, but even here the game falls short. The humor is juvenile at best. At worst it can be described as a series of insulting simple site gags designed to amuse the target audience of pre-pubescent gamers. The combat is interesting, making full use of the Wii's gimmicky interface. But the novelty quickly fades as you are faced with the 100th encounter with the simplistic enemies. No strategy, no tactics, just button mashing. The bosses are also moronic. Most boss fights involve simply strafing in a circle around the boss and then hitting them when they execute a move. No boss shows an inkling of original programming, just lots of hit points and lots of time. Speaking of time, you are required to work and earn money to pay for _your_ hits on the higher ranked assassins. The game mechanics tackles this by forcing you to do repetitive chores around the city which involve: Collecting fruit and mowing the lawn. No joke. It's really that simple to earn a fantastic amount of money so you can get to the less boring parts. I say less boring, because the game is that: Boring. The fighting is interesting, but the endless grinding through a million identical enemies prior to the boss fight, is tedious. The innumerable hours you'll spend grinding up money for the privilege of whacking a boss with samey tactics and grinding through his legions of minions: Boring. The time you spend suffering through the cut scenes and desperately trying to get into your bosses pants: Just Pointless delay. The cut scenes and dialog is also insulting pedantic. It feels like the game was well done in Japanese - in terms of dialog - but then the American translation falls flat on it's face "It's open mic night in hell!", is one such example. If you're any fan of decent anime, you'll quickly pick up on how bad the translation has to be. Either the original dialog was this bad or the publishing company didn't care enough to get a decent English version. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Nov 2, 2008
    0
    All in all, a horrible game, aside from the battle system, which is average.

    There is no real story or theme to this game. It's completely random. The city was poorly programmed with horrible physics, and an non-interactive environment. There are only ten missions, and in between them the player is forced to do tedious side quests such as mowing lawns and picking fruit off of
    All in all, a horrible game, aside from the battle system, which is average.

    There is no real story or theme to this game. It's completely random. The city was poorly programmed with horrible physics, and an non-interactive environment. There are only ten missions, and in between them the player is forced to do tedious side quests such as mowing lawns and picking fruit off of trees. After beating the game, there is nothing else to do aside from playing it again. There is no multiplayer, no side modes. Nothing to increase the game's replay value.
    Expand
  14. BillW.
    Jun 8, 2008
    6
    Have you ever gotten a gift in a big, shiny, gift-wrapped box only to find that the box contains a sweater? That's the experience of No More Heroes in a nutshell. It's a fine button-mashing Final Fight style game, but there's really not much to it beyond that. There are collectibles which don't really do too much, the wide-open game world is inhabited by....NO ONE, the Have you ever gotten a gift in a big, shiny, gift-wrapped box only to find that the box contains a sweater? That's the experience of No More Heroes in a nutshell. It's a fine button-mashing Final Fight style game, but there's really not much to it beyond that. There are collectibles which don't really do too much, the wide-open game world is inhabited by....NO ONE, the irony-dripping atmosphere gets tiresome and the minigames -- which really could have saved this game -- lack variety and quickly become tedious. This is another of SUDA-51's games which seem to be something of an inside joke. I get it, it's just not funny. Expand
  15. AndeAllan
    Jul 13, 2008
    4
    OH DEAR.ON PAPER A GREAT IDEA,HOWEVER THE DRAB,EMPTY HUB WORLD IS ABOUT AS INTERACTIVE AS CARDBOARD CUT OUT HIGH STREET. THE FIGHTING IS GOOD TIL YOU REALISE IT A.A.A.WITH A FEW MINOR HEIGHT WAGGLES. THE SUB MISSIONS ARE A GRIND AND CLEARLY AN AFTER THOUGHT.HOW EVER IT DOES LOOK GOOD AND DOESNT TAKE ITS SELF TO SERIOUSLY BUT OVER ALL LEAVES YOU FEELING COLD.GOOD TO RENT BUT ITS HALF BAKEDOH DEAR.ON PAPER A GREAT IDEA,HOWEVER THE DRAB,EMPTY HUB WORLD IS ABOUT AS INTERACTIVE AS CARDBOARD CUT OUT HIGH STREET. THE FIGHTING IS GOOD TIL YOU REALISE IT A.A.A.WITH A FEW MINOR HEIGHT WAGGLES. THE SUB MISSIONS ARE A GRIND AND CLEARLY AN AFTER THOUGHT.HOW EVER IT DOES LOOK GOOD AND DOESNT TAKE ITS SELF TO SERIOUSLY BUT OVER ALL LEAVES YOU FEELING COLD.GOOD TO RENT BUT ITS HALF BAKED , HALF FINISHED END PRODUCT IS STYLE OVER SUBSTANCE Expand
  16. JiruS.
    Feb 13, 2008
    2
    This game gets old quick. Really the technical problems aren't that big-a-deal when you're trying to figure out how to have fun. The blood an cursing can only take it so far. Underneath are decent fighting controls you hardly get to use because you spend half the game playing single player minigames (just what wii need) and roaming around a sandbox that is less compelling than This game gets old quick. Really the technical problems aren't that big-a-deal when you're trying to figure out how to have fun. The blood an cursing can only take it so far. Underneath are decent fighting controls you hardly get to use because you spend half the game playing single player minigames (just what wii need) and roaming around a sandbox that is less compelling than my cat's. When you do make it to a boss level, you're thankful that you get to press A reputedly, run through linear corridors (one is literally a straight, plain, gray hallway with a few guys to fight here & there), then fight a relatively interesting boss who will likely pull off an instant kill move on you as soon as you slowly whittle him down to a sliver of health. The sequel may be good if they have the patience to finish developing it, but I'm definitely going to rent it first. Expand
  17. DamonT.
    May 21, 2008
    2
    Ok, this game looks cool, but it was very repetitive. Press, a, a, a, a, . swing. BORING. I played it for a fews hours and returned it for a trade in.
  18. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Although I certainly cant recommend this game to everyone, No More Heroes will definitely make you brush the dust off of the Wii for a good couple of weeks. Game play is very simple yet compelling, wrapped up in some bizarre situations, characters and design. A must have for any Wii archive
  19. JesseW.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Amazing, from the art style to the gameplay, just amazing.
  20. Matt
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Completely absurd and unpredictable. One of the few games out there that really defies classification and description. Play it and discover the Wii's most ridiculous gem.
  21. JohnS.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    its a fantastic game but upon closer inspection i noticed that the "henchmen" had different facial features. very unusual.
  22. Raraporter
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Deserves far more credit than given. A great action game that delivers unique gameplay and interesting choice at storyline. (Being that it let's you know it's a game, and confuses and amazes me at the same time)
  23. PFrizzle
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This game is phenomenal. while it may be simplistic, something about this game just draws you into it. a slew of classic video game references, retrofit style, and hilarious over the top violence makes no more heroes a sure game to play. I've beaten this game twice already, but i seriously can't stop. do you seriously want to know how good this game is? it made my stop playing This game is phenomenal. while it may be simplistic, something about this game just draws you into it. a slew of classic video game references, retrofit style, and hilarious over the top violence makes no more heroes a sure game to play. I've beaten this game twice already, but i seriously can't stop. do you seriously want to know how good this game is? it made my stop playing world of warcraft for 4 straight days, and i don't plan on going back until i have everything in the game. go out and buy this game, it is WELL worth the 50 bucks. Expand
  24. Rodney
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Definitely one of the best games for the wii. It's like the Star Wars game we're all waiting for before Star Wars the Force Unleashed
  25. JasonH.
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Granted, the town was pretty lame, the fighting style got a bit repetitive, and the quests were simple and tedious, the Style and presentation more than makes up for it. The boss battles were by far the most epic and impressive battles I've played. The game is over the top, but that's what makes it fun. It's as if the age of 8 bit graphic I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Granted, the town was pretty lame, the fighting style got a bit repetitive, and the quests were simple and tedious, the Style and presentation more than makes up for it. The boss battles were by far the most epic and impressive battles I've played. The game is over the top, but that's what makes it fun. It's as if the age of 8 bit graphic games, the world of anime, and pro wrestling have been mixed together. So yeah, the game has some serious flaw, but the pros of the game are THAT impressive that I've given it a 9. Honestly, it's just plain fun. Expand
  26. MichaelK
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    Easily my favourite Wii game. I love its attitude. I've owned it for over a year now and I keep coming back to it. Not enough games on the Wii are like this. I only wish I could use the Wii-mote in a more sword-like fashion.
  27. MichaelT
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    Great game overall. Tons of style, funny storyline that doesn't take itself too seriously, awesome combat system that never gets old, cool customization options, etc. If you like hack-and-slash games, adventure games, action games, or even just Wii games in general, you need to buy this game.
  28. CharlesC.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    The very best reason to own a Wii so far. Very impressive game that never forgets its job is to entertain. If you own a Wii, you owe it to yourself to give this game a try. Like many games today it does have some small flaws but they do not ruin the fun.
  29. DocO.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Yeah! Finally, a Wii title that offers a bit more adult oriented content that actually RELATES TO THE GAME. There are other M rated games for the system, but this one seems somehow less "juvinile" than the other M rated titles. Here, the content that creates the M rating is more in step with the story rather than being cheap thrills via violence. It's like the difference between Yeah! Finally, a Wii title that offers a bit more adult oriented content that actually RELATES TO THE GAME. There are other M rated games for the system, but this one seems somehow less "juvinile" than the other M rated titles. Here, the content that creates the M rating is more in step with the story rather than being cheap thrills via violence. It's like the difference between Texas Chainsaw Massacre (juvinile violence) and Seven (excellent adult fare, relevent violence). Expand
  30. SeanR.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Sick sick sick! And I mean that in the best possible way! This game is full of over the top sick humor and splendid action. And the game pulls no punches. Slash someone and you may even cut them in half. Blood flies everywhere. Heads go rolling. It's really great for fans of complete mayhem. But it's so much more than this. It's got a clever story and gets very creative Sick sick sick! And I mean that in the best possible way! This game is full of over the top sick humor and splendid action. And the game pulls no punches. Slash someone and you may even cut them in half. Blood flies everywhere. Heads go rolling. It's really great for fans of complete mayhem. But it's so much more than this. It's got a clever story and gets very creative with it's situations, weapons and methods of doing things. The game is certainly the full package. A rare 10. Expand
  31. JosephW.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    While the game may look like crap the style over substance feel the game implores works quite nicely. The combat is fun even if it is a little mindless at times but you can't find a more satisfyingly bloody action fix on the the wii.
  32. DanS.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Behind Super Mario Galaxy, this is simply the best original Wii effort so far. The gameplay is excellent and gets better as you get deeper into the game. Although it is not perfect by any means, and if you frown upon the idea of watching the blood spurt out of your decapitated foes then it might not be for you. Every single enemy you encounter in the game will be finished in a deeply Behind Super Mario Galaxy, this is simply the best original Wii effort so far. The gameplay is excellent and gets better as you get deeper into the game. Although it is not perfect by any means, and if you frown upon the idea of watching the blood spurt out of your decapitated foes then it might not be for you. Every single enemy you encounter in the game will be finished in a deeply satisfying (and bloody) manner. Where it really shines, though, is its style, humour and originality. This game is a watershed for how far video games have come as a medium of expression. Expand
  33. JohnV
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    Even with the faults everybody mentions - the poor open world design - the core game is surprisingly addictive and has a tongue-in-cheek story that keeps you laughing and interested.
  34. JoeA
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    No More Heroes is a fun and visually intense game. It just oozes with it's own unique style, it's not trying to be a GTA or a God of War. There are some issues with the game that keep it far from perfect, but if you're into hack-and-slash beat-em-up's, you won't find many (good) ones on the Wii. A nice addition for mature gamers.
  35. Walter
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    There's only one way to describe No More Heroes: over the top. It's no epic fantasy game with a deep, enthralling storyline, but who's to say that's what a game has to be to be great these days? The gameplay is addictive and chaotic, and the storyline is absurd, dark, humorous, and surprisingly interesting. Analyzing every facet of what makes a game great, No More There's only one way to describe No More Heroes: over the top. It's no epic fantasy game with a deep, enthralling storyline, but who's to say that's what a game has to be to be great these days? The gameplay is addictive and chaotic, and the storyline is absurd, dark, humorous, and surprisingly interesting. Analyzing every facet of what makes a game great, No More Heroes meets every credential. Expand
  36. AdamS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    This takes the good of Killer7 (the cutscenes) and gives it a more coherent focus, and takes the bad (the gameplay) and completely replaces it with some of the most fun I've had in a game in a very long time. The hub world tends to drag things down, but the main missions and storyline are far more than enough to make up for it.
  37. RebelJD
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    No More Heroes: I just completed the game the first time around and enjoyed every aspect of it. From the opening scene to the "real ending" this game has character, a trait lacking in so many games in every genre now a days, as well as every other console. So I congratulate Suda 51/Grasshopper Man. & Nintendo. To enjoy a game is to not forget what gaming is really about. That is to be No More Heroes: I just completed the game the first time around and enjoyed every aspect of it. From the opening scene to the "real ending" this game has character, a trait lacking in so many games in every genre now a days, as well as every other console. So I congratulate Suda 51/Grasshopper Man. & Nintendo. To enjoy a game is to not forget what gaming is really about. That is to be able to enjoy the experience you're having, feel good about your progress and ultimately feel great when you finally finish the game. When did gaming go from enjoyment to critic central? When it went Hollywood, as can be said about many other things that had Life before Hollywood sucked them dry. So think about it like that when you play games that are just so much fun you question it, because simply put, when a game looks so DAMN good you tend to forget how lousy it is. In contrast, when a game is so much FUN you start picking at things that don't deal with gameplay (alas No More Heroes), to each their own. No More Heroes has definitely struck some noise with gamers, word of mouth has spread, and you can say this game will rule in the underground. As most things that are fresh and popular under the radar, watch the attraction and attention this game's sequel gets. Because when something has quality and shows promise for even higher status, the second time around will show for it. Welcome to Hollywood!!! (ex: ColdPlay, Michael Jackson) Expand
  38. bryans
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!! the visuals, the soundtrack, the script, everything !! My only gripe is the bike controls can be a bit flakey, but the game is so enjoyable that i can't lower its score. its like watching kill bill for the first time all over again.
  39. SteveR
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    So I'm playing my friend's PS3 last weekend and thinking wow, this next-gen graphics stuff is awesome, what was I thinking buying a Wii? Then an hour later I'm bored. Realistic violence is cool with me, but even non-stop action games can get boring pretty quickly if they don't add anything original to the genre. I picked up No More Heroes yesterday after seeing some So I'm playing my friend's PS3 last weekend and thinking wow, this next-gen graphics stuff is awesome, what was I thinking buying a Wii? Then an hour later I'm bored. Realistic violence is cool with me, but even non-stop action games can get boring pretty quickly if they don't add anything original to the genre. I picked up No More Heroes yesterday after seeing some good reviews on it, and now I can't stop playing! Yeah, the graphics are aweful, but this game is just pure old-school addictive fun, coupled with awesomely absurd characters and style. Don't let the blood and violence throw you - this is the epitome of N's focus on fun and originality over realism. Wii finally has a must-own third party title, and a reason to get excited about the system all over again. Expand
  40. PetrasS.
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    This game is an 8. All throughout the game, that's what I said to myself. Its highs are high, its lows are middling. Sure, its a bit repetitive, but hey, any complaints are smothered over by just how fun and visceral the game feels.
  41. Dan
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played, it's up there with LOZ:OoT and Galaxy. The dialogue is the best I have ever heard in a videogame and is fun right until the end of the credits.
  42. LunkW.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Let me start by saying that I am not a Suda 51 fanboy. In fact, I
  43. PedroG
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Absolutely brilliant and lunatic. Even its flaws on the overworld hub and somewhat repetitious one-liners don't ruin the experience.
  44. FilazaferX
    Jan 23, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. I reserved it and picked it up the first day. But, I've played it and I found it to be a huge disappointment. It does have merit. Visually it's great. The story is awesome, as are the characters. But, when it comes down to it, the gameplay is just plan boring. There is very little challenge and almost all the enemies look the same. You push the I really wanted to love this game. I reserved it and picked it up the first day. But, I've played it and I found it to be a huge disappointment. It does have merit. Visually it's great. The story is awesome, as are the characters. But, when it comes down to it, the gameplay is just plan boring. There is very little challenge and almost all the enemies look the same. You push the A button to swing and then it goes into a finishing move where you have to swing the remote in the direction of the arrow on the screen. This is all great fun, until you realize it doesn't really matter which way you wave the remote. You just waggle it, like so many other Wii games and you'll get your finishing move pretty much every time. Then for getting to missions it makes you drive around GTA style, but there is nothing interesting to do in the city. You just drive from place to place and it is completely pointless and boring. The game is worth a rental, but I can't see any reason to buy this game. The reviewers got this one wrong, the game is fun to look at, but overall it gets boring quick. A real bummer. Expand
  45. Craigtastic
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    This game is quirky in the best way possible. The game play involving the wii-mote is seamless. I have nothing to bad to say except your ride is clunky and sometimes gets stuck in awkward positions. Fun and quirky through and through. I hope more games like this will come shortly for the Wii.
  46. N.D.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    From the makers of Killer 7, No More Heroes is the anxiously awaited bloodbath that mature Wii owners have been praying for. Playing as eccentric assassin Travis Touchdown, you are armed with your trusty beam katana as you set out to become the best in the business. There is much more to the story than that though, but without giving too much away regarding the game's surprisingly From the makers of Killer 7, No More Heroes is the anxiously awaited bloodbath that mature Wii owners have been praying for. Playing as eccentric assassin Travis Touchdown, you are armed with your trusty beam katana as you set out to become the best in the business. There is much more to the story than that though, but without giving too much away regarding the game's surprisingly deep and complex story, let's just say that things don't always go as planned for Travis. The first thing you'll notice are undoubtedly the excellent, cell-shaded graphics that No More Heroes sports, along with the best use of the Wii motion controls to come from a third-party yet. The game also features some GTA-inspired free roaming with Travis on a motorcycle, and while it isn't as open-ended as one would hope, the game's serious sense of style and just plain insane story and gameplay elements more than make up for it. The game also has a somewhat jittery frame-rate that can become quite noticable when the action picks up a lot, but this is only a minor complaint thanks to the stylized, over the top action, along with flawless sound design and elements that really take advantage of what the Wii can do, despite the fact that the console isn't a technical powerhouse. All in all, No More Heroes is the absolute best, original third-party title to debut on the Wii yet, and is an absolute essential purchase for Wii owners craving a mature-themed game that leaves a lasting impression. Expand
  47. SeanP.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Yeah no challenge. So the bosses you just press A and swing. Great game the open world is more of a hub than a living breathing world but who cares? This game is better than some sugar better.
  48. JC
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Suda 51 is to video games what Quentin Tarantino is to movies. This is what Kill Bill would be like if it was a video game. Do yourself a favor and become immersed in the experience that is No More Heroes, while relishing in the guilty pleasure of charging your beam katana!
  49. EdmundoG.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Slashing your way to the top. I really dig the concept of this game...kill your way to the top of the assassin's rankings! While you work your way up to the top, you can take on side jobs and do a lot of exploring and fighting, honing your skills in preparation for the major assassin battles ahead of you. Ive played maybe a quarter of the game so far (you work your way to rank 1, Slashing your way to the top. I really dig the concept of this game...kill your way to the top of the assassin's rankings! While you work your way up to the top, you can take on side jobs and do a lot of exploring and fighting, honing your skills in preparation for the major assassin battles ahead of you. Ive played maybe a quarter of the game so far (you work your way to rank 1, I'm on 7) and it just gets better and better. I hope the rest of the game is as great as the first part. So far it looks that way! Expand
  50. TheGamerT.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    This game is impressive, it takes cell shading and makes the fights and such really cool (Cutting a guys head off makes you feel unstopable :) ) The fighting is fun, it's kind of anoying how you cant attack the opponent when they use special, but they can attack you when you use yours... The landscape and freeroaming areas arn't up to GTA quality, your motorcycle gets stuck and This game is impressive, it takes cell shading and makes the fights and such really cool (Cutting a guys head off makes you feel unstopable :) ) The fighting is fun, it's kind of anoying how you cant attack the opponent when they use special, but they can attack you when you use yours... The landscape and freeroaming areas arn't up to GTA quality, your motorcycle gets stuck and is sooo bulky. Nearly everything except the fighting sucks, but the fighting is more then enough to buy this game. Expand
  51. Russ
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Anyone who says this game is bad, doesn't know how to have a good time. I'd suggest not hanging with them anymore. This game is quirky as all hell and just as fun. Sure there are some flaws and some low oints but the whole game is a satire. I'm not saying thats an excuse but you should just take the time to enjoy the world of Santa Destroy. Its a fantastical journey through Anyone who says this game is bad, doesn't know how to have a good time. I'd suggest not hanging with them anymore. This game is quirky as all hell and just as fun. Sure there are some flaws and some low oints but the whole game is a satire. I'm not saying thats an excuse but you should just take the time to enjoy the world of Santa Destroy. Its a fantastical journey through the realm of imagination and a time when gameplay mattered most. Expand
  52. DouglasJ.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    I'm hooked on this. This is by far the greatest sand box game I've ever played. For a game with sand box traits, it's much more than your standard run around and jack stuff game. The story itself goes very deep, with intrigueing plot points and extremely well written dialog and sequences. More care was taken with this game than with any other sand box game I've played. I'm hooked on this. This is by far the greatest sand box game I've ever played. For a game with sand box traits, it's much more than your standard run around and jack stuff game. The story itself goes very deep, with intrigueing plot points and extremely well written dialog and sequences. More care was taken with this game than with any other sand box game I've played. Awesome stuff. Expand
  53. SteveT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    In no way is this game perfect, but I also do not remember having this much fun playing a game in a long time. At times the game graphically appears to be PS1 quality, and yet it manages to be so stupidly addictive that I do not care. If you like movies like Kill Bill or just have a twisted sense of humor than I would definatly say that this gritty, ugly, punk rock, violence opera of a In no way is this game perfect, but I also do not remember having this much fun playing a game in a long time. At times the game graphically appears to be PS1 quality, and yet it manages to be so stupidly addictive that I do not care. If you like movies like Kill Bill or just have a twisted sense of humor than I would definatly say that this gritty, ugly, punk rock, violence opera of a game is right up your alley. What else are you going to play before Smash Bros come out! No More Heros=100% Awsome Sauce! Expand
  54. ForkD.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    Probably the best Wii game to date and, with three assassins to go, already one of my top five favorite games of all time. I don't want it to end. It's totally unique; a truly daring piece of social commentary that positively skewers its intended audience. Graphics are stylized, shadows are inky-black, and dialoge/voice acting is dazzlingly cheesy. Numerous critics have Probably the best Wii game to date and, with three assassins to go, already one of my top five favorite games of all time. I don't want it to end. It's totally unique; a truly daring piece of social commentary that positively skewers its intended audience. Graphics are stylized, shadows are inky-black, and dialoge/voice acting is dazzlingly cheesy. Numerous critics have complained about the open world segments. Yes, there's pop-in. Yes, the frame rate is dippy. However, no, it is NOT GTA. Everything in 'No More Heroes' is MUCH more focused. Where I would get lost (and eventually bored) with the totally non-linear, do-whatever-you-want nature of the GTA series, 'No More Heroes' gives you just enough stuff to do in the "open world" segments--find money, take on part time jobs, upgrade your character, go dumpster diving--before you're ready to get back into the main storyline. The brilliant combat sequences speak for themselves. The wrestling moves take a little practice (at least they did for me) but once you "get" them, they're second nature. Excellent game. It appeals to the 14 year old boy inside us who always wanted a huge motorcycle, a light saber, and a shot at being the best assassin in town. Expand
  55. ChristopherA.
    Jan 29, 2008
    7
    Fun game but still far too many bugs. The open world is atrocious. If you run into a car head on you just stop, no crashing no flipping over your bike you just stop. While if you hit a building you fly off your bike into it. The controls are way too touchy as well. Half the time i'm trying to do a drift turn, I end up making my bike jump ultimately leading to me crashing once again. Fun game but still far too many bugs. The open world is atrocious. If you run into a car head on you just stop, no crashing no flipping over your bike you just stop. While if you hit a building you fly off your bike into it. The controls are way too touchy as well. Half the time i'm trying to do a drift turn, I end up making my bike jump ultimately leading to me crashing once again. On another note the frame rate is bad as well while driving one could notice the slowdown as your trying to turn your bike. The same can be said for the sword play. Constantly while fighting you have to pay attention to how your holding your remote( for the two stances) if you tilt just a little bit you be in low the whole time your think you have the remote held in a high stance. Framrate is also an issue here as the game doesn't seem to be able to handle a ton of enemies at once, although not as bad it's still very noticeable.( luckily there aren't a ton of enemies to fight at once til the later missions) I, like the other reviewer, bought this game the day it was released, and after finishing the story feel that it still needed a lot more work. Yet another promising title that was once again rushed. Expand
  56. TommyJ
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing. You'll find yourself hooked on the quirky characters and witty dialogue despite the fact that some sections of the game may be buggy. It's flaws are easily overlooked as this is one of the best wii titles to date
  57. AngelG.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    No more heroes is not like any other game u played its badd azz from start to finish the combat system never gets old and the free roam moments give u a nice break to buy cloths search for hidden items and learn new wrestling moves and side missions that are odd but fun a must buy.
  58. Olisarus
    Feb 17, 2008
    7
    Awesome game, amazing fighting, but the open world lacks. Going around trying to make money so you can pass to the next step is not my style. You go from awesome, non-stop fighting to long collecting money in your, extremely slow for such a game, bike. The collisions are non-existant either. Everything from humor to gameplay is awesome, I'd give it a 9/10 but the open-world really.. Awesome game, amazing fighting, but the open world lacks. Going around trying to make money so you can pass to the next step is not my style. You go from awesome, non-stop fighting to long collecting money in your, extremely slow for such a game, bike. The collisions are non-existant either. Everything from humor to gameplay is awesome, I'd give it a 9/10 but the open-world really.. sucks. Good game but too much cash-collecting. Little technical problems that can be ignored, but gta-esque part is not good. Expand
  59. JerryH.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Shame on Game Informer for giving it such a low score. That only takes away their credibility when they attacked Roger Ebert when he said videogames are not art. How can they bash him for that, when Game Informer doesn't even recognize art in videogames? No More Heroes is a perfect example of art in a videogame. It may not be perfect, but the whole package is as artsy as you can get. Shame on Game Informer for giving it such a low score. That only takes away their credibility when they attacked Roger Ebert when he said videogames are not art. How can they bash him for that, when Game Informer doesn't even recognize art in videogames? No More Heroes is a perfect example of art in a videogame. It may not be perfect, but the whole package is as artsy as you can get. I only know that I love this game from beginning to end. A breath of fresh air among the numerous FPS and mainless shooter games out there. Expand
  60. Matthew
    Feb 29, 2008
    7
    This was an immensely fun game with the fun sucked out of it by some baffling gameplay choices. "Kill all enemies without getting hit once" missions go from frustrating to utterly unplayable with the lack of a retry option, and navigating the overworld is not fun, period. If the overworld development had been spent polishing the game up in general, this would be 9-10 material.
  61. SamJ
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    To understand this game, think of Quentin Tarantino's Kill Bill meeting The Getaway. It's over the top violence and story line keep you motivated to play but the hacky slashly sword fighting does grow tiring. The free roaming is also somewhat frustrating, since the map is awkward are hard to follow. In addition, the environment (Santa Destroy) is rather bland. There is simply To understand this game, think of Quentin Tarantino's Kill Bill meeting The Getaway. It's over the top violence and story line keep you motivated to play but the hacky slashly sword fighting does grow tiring. The free roaming is also somewhat frustrating, since the map is awkward are hard to follow. In addition, the environment (Santa Destroy) is rather bland. There is simply not a lot to explore . Expand
  62. ADMAN
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Forget being the best wii game, this is one of the best all time. If you truly love video games, and lightsabres, then you have to experience this! One of the best gaming experiences I've ever had. Go get now.
  63. MattA
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Graphics were a bit hard to swallow, but the gameplay was fresh and a lot of fun.
  64. [Anonymous]
    Jun 14, 2008
    9
    Very fun beat-em-up style game. The boss battles are not only fun, but unique. The only shortcoming is the repetitive nature between ranking matches, elsewise, is a fun and enthralling game in the similar light that Killer7 (made by Suda51 as well) was.
  65. AndrewC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    This is my favorite Wii game. The controls are good and unique to the Wii but are not overdone. The graphics aren't "shiny", but the unique story and gameplay is what makes this an instant classic. This game is a fresh look at video games and has many references to pop-culture. A must have for any Wii owner (who can but M rated etc.)
  66. MichelJ
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Simply Fantastic!, the reason I did not rate it 10 is because Santa Destroy is almost empty, but the rest is perfect.
  67. WillC
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    Just when you think that style in games had died with Psychonauts, along came No More Heroes. With a great art style, an amazing sense of humour and gameplay to match, this is a game that every Wii owner should have in their collection.
  68. MattR.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    No More Heroes is nothing short of awesome, and is hands-down, one of my favorite games of all time Blood and style at every turn.
  69. Unclelee83W.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    The game play is fun...despite what another comment says. I have found that it matters very much if I swing the wii-mote the right direction, and if I do not I get no result. Rest assured this a good thing: it makes you feel like you are truly earning the visceral results that spew forth after seeing the sword swinging the same way you swung your wii-mote (on finishing moves only, that The game play is fun...despite what another comment says. I have found that it matters very much if I swing the wii-mote the right direction, and if I do not I get no result. Rest assured this a good thing: it makes you feel like you are truly earning the visceral results that spew forth after seeing the sword swinging the same way you swung your wii-mote (on finishing moves only, that is.) The game is hilarious and stylized to the brim. A more lively city and perhaps some interaction there within would have been appreciated. But overall a blast and a winner. Expand
  70. DanA.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    An exemplary job at many unpursued things on the Wii. No More Heroes throws you into a unique world full of mature content, quality action genre gameplay, no-gimmick controls, and a masterful art style. Don't let the doubters fool you. No More Heroes is just as worthy of being in your Wii collection as Mario, Zelda, Metroid, and Resident Evil 4 are.
  71. AnonymousMC
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Fun and energenic. The button map out is perfect fit and all the side-jobs, missions, and apparel you can buy is great. We can only hope for a sequel
  72. BlazeyM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Dis is Da Bomb! Look no further for your slaughterfest fix, this game does blood violence with a flare that cannot be touched. I've never been so entertained in a sandbox game. I usually find them boring, but I've been playing this since last night and all day today and I cannot get enough. The story is great and is getting deeper and deeper. It has a lot more to offer than you Dis is Da Bomb! Look no further for your slaughterfest fix, this game does blood violence with a flare that cannot be touched. I've never been so entertained in a sandbox game. I usually find them boring, but I've been playing this since last night and all day today and I cannot get enough. The story is great and is getting deeper and deeper. It has a lot more to offer than you see on the surface, it's not just a splatterfest. It's a great game with a well crafted story and it's well told. Expand
  73. JosephL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    This game is totally wicked. I loved it; only Wii games I would rate highter than NMH are Mario Galaxy and Twilight Princess. As far as sheer style and just general awesomeness go, this game can't be beat. It's not perfect by any means; it's obvious that Grasshopper didn't have quite the budget that some other games do, i.e the graphics can be a little bit rough. But This game is totally wicked. I loved it; only Wii games I would rate highter than NMH are Mario Galaxy and Twilight Princess. As far as sheer style and just general awesomeness go, this game can't be beat. It's not perfect by any means; it's obvious that Grasshopper didn't have quite the budget that some other games do, i.e the graphics can be a little bit rough. But the style and fun completely make up for everything. I would not hesitate to recommend this game. An absolute must-buy. Expand
  74. HeavenS.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    LOVED IT !!! just finished and I am going to play it again . I didnt even unlock all the side jobs . I am a sucker for the graphics style and there is always something crazy going on. its just what i wanted from suda 51 . lets hope he has more games coming!!
  75. GioD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    This, without a doubt, IS THE BEST EXCLUSIVE GAME OUT ON THE WII...PERIOD. If ur familar with developer Grasshopper then u know ur in for a very weird and very wild trip (and that is a very VERY good thing). No More Heroes is, personally, like NOTHING that i have ever played and it CANT be stressed enough that if u own a wii do urself a favor and expirence one of the most over the top, This, without a doubt, IS THE BEST EXCLUSIVE GAME OUT ON THE WII...PERIOD. If ur familar with developer Grasshopper then u know ur in for a very weird and very wild trip (and that is a very VERY good thing). No More Heroes is, personally, like NOTHING that i have ever played and it CANT be stressed enough that if u own a wii do urself a favor and expirence one of the most over the top, graphically stylistic, incredibly unique, and monstrously original games to have come out in a very long time. Once again, i cant stress it enuff, buy/rent/borrow, whatever u have to do, just get ur hands on this game and play it. A game like this makes me proud to own a wii and shows that with a little effort, action/adventure games can work extremely well on the wii. Expand
  76. ThondorR.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    A game you will remember playing and want to show your friends. Not sure where the GTA comparisions are coming in as it's a very differnt game than GTA with the open world being more of a "town" system in an RPG. Guess some reviewers fail to understand not every 3-D open world design is intended to be mimicking GTA (although, it does seem that way with..well pretty much every other A game you will remember playing and want to show your friends. Not sure where the GTA comparisions are coming in as it's a very differnt game than GTA with the open world being more of a "town" system in an RPG. Guess some reviewers fail to understand not every 3-D open world design is intended to be mimicking GTA (although, it does seem that way with..well pretty much every other 3-D "sandbox" games) - first hint, you can't steel other cars. And why would you want to when you start with the best possible vehicle in this and perhaps any game? Anyhow- Game Informer is way off base, though they probably represent a different type of very Western gamer- No more Heroes: "Over many years of gaming I Expand
  77. ScottTaulbee
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This game is complete win. The most stylish and over-the-top title ever, Travis Touchdown inhabits a bizarre world of blood, coins and lightsabers. Highly recommended!
  78. EricB.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Best sword fighting yet on the wii.
  79. CodyH.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    The most fun I've had on the Wii! Everything about this game is truly extraordinary. If you have a Wii, then you MUST get this game. If only so we can get a sequel.
  80. RichardH
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I love this game, the more I play it even the more I enjoy it. Yes it has its downsides, like an occasionally choppy framerates and a mostly baron city to trample around in. But those aren't the main attractions here, the gameplay is excellent, there's a lot of refreshing things here you won't see anywhere else. The art style is actually very appealing. The storyline is I love this game, the more I play it even the more I enjoy it. Yes it has its downsides, like an occasionally choppy framerates and a mostly baron city to trample around in. But those aren't the main attractions here, the gameplay is excellent, there's a lot of refreshing things here you won't see anywhere else. The art style is actually very appealing. The storyline is well written, darkly comical, and well acted out. This game is truly unique, like a fine wine, don't miss it! :D Expand
  81. Bazuden
    May 16, 2008
    9
    I had no idea until I played this game that the Aussie version had no blood or decapitations. I was gutted, but I still enjoy this game more than anything else I've played on the Wii so far this year (no Smash in Aus yet). Most of the game is not very difficult, but its fun hacking through the minions, and I found that the bosses put up more of a challenge. The dude who said 'so I had no idea until I played this game that the Aussie version had no blood or decapitations. I was gutted, but I still enjoy this game more than anything else I've played on the Wii so far this year (no Smash in Aus yet). Most of the game is not very difficult, but its fun hacking through the minions, and I found that the bosses put up more of a challenge. The dude who said 'so the bosses you just press a and swing' hasn't played past the first ranking mission, otherwise he'd know its all about the suplex! The graphics are average, but then the Wii's not really about graphics, is it? Lots and lots of style, though. Expand
  82. AlexG
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    No More Heroes is a brutal, stylish game with its share of minor flaws, all of which are utterly crushed by the fact that you can massacre hundreds of faceless goons with a beam katana and come out the other side ready for more.
  83. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    It's since been bettered by it's even more amazing sequel, but NMH is still astonishingly good. Seriously, if you're a hardcore gamer then Suda understands, and that is why you MUST buy this game along with NMH2.
  84. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    No More Heroes isn't perfect, as a matter of a fact it's no where near it. But it succeeds in being a fantastic experience despite all it's flaws. The game is an absolute mess, the story is neither well executed or explained, and has just about every bizarre plot twist you can think of, but gets away with it because it's a beautifully crafted parody of anime, other video games, and cheesyNo More Heroes isn't perfect, as a matter of a fact it's no where near it. But it succeeds in being a fantastic experience despite all it's flaws. The game is an absolute mess, the story is neither well executed or explained, and has just about every bizarre plot twist you can think of, but gets away with it because it's a beautifully crafted parody of anime, other video games, and cheesy samurai movies, and never takes itself seriously. The gameplay is insanely fun when you slicing your way through enemies and brutally challenging bosses in spectacularly bloody ways, but gets boring when you have to play the mini-games and assassination missions for what feels like the millionth time in order to get money for the next level. And why when your doing this money collecting does your objective have to be on the other side of the game, when all you want to do is just get your money and get back into the fight? The whole money being needed in order to progress is just irritating especially when they fill the game with a few shops that have stuff (new clothes, dvd's that teach you new techniques, and new weapons) you might want to buy, but don't because you don't want to have to do all the jobs required for you to get enough money for the next level all over again. Oh and just a heads up, be sure to buy all 3 (overly expensive) weapons in order to see the real (or rather whole) ending. The game has a lot of issues but whenever I think back on my time with No More Heroes I think about the games hilarious and sometimes shocking (in a good way) scenes, the awesome and bloody combat, or landing that final blow on that challenging and memorable boss. And I also think about how that no matter how many issues this game has that it was worth putting up with them in order to play through this fantastic game. I had to take off points for the issues if the score makes you unsure of this game ignore it and let me tell you this, if you call yourself a hardcore gamer you need to play this game. It's an amazing experience that manages to rise above its flaws, and is for sure one of the best Wii games ever. This is a must play. Expand
  85. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Wii Classic! I am going to break away from my GAME reviews to discuss two things I usually consider taboo in reviews: comparing this game to its sequel and examining other comments on metacritic. COMMENTS: notice that every negative review boils down to one of the following- general Wii hate, attacking the maturity of this game, or calling it bland and repetitive. Obviously general Wii Hate is worthless criticism. If someone hates the Wii as much as these reviewers why would they read reviews for Wii games? Attacking this game's maturity is like attacking Mario's physics, clearly they are missing the point. Last, and probably least, the action beat'em up genre is notorious for being repetitive so these criticisms are about as useful as Wii Hate. SEQUEL: Had I played this game first I would have given it a 10 without reservation. Un/fortunately Desperate Struggle (the sequel) improves on the series in so many ways- nostalgic minigames, better graphics, better intro, better physics, removed the faux sandbox, etc...- that looking at the two together is rough on the original. If you haven't played either I highly recommend playing No More Heroes and enjoying it madly for the great game it is all the while knowing you are in for an even better sequel! Expand
  86. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    A unique combat style of gameplay, No More Heroes is a struggle between killing people and working off yoru debts with little odd jobs (mini-games). It offers good variety and a sense of connection between the player and the characters. But, the combat system felt weak in a lot of cases, as you tend to be more button mashing more than actually fighting your opponents. Still, a decent game to buy.
  87. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Very good game and although the second is an improvement it remains a great bloody experience.Great graphics,memorable bosses and just guilty fun!One of the many proud wii exclusives!
  88. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    One of the most satifying hack and slashers ever. The overworld lets it down though when you spend a lot of time moving aimlessly through Santa Destroy
  89. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    The art style used in this game is great and doesn't try to make it look real. The story is great even though its not the first game to use it. The controls make great use of the Wii's motion control system and also use the speaker on the remote when you get a phone call. The use of 8-bit styles on the menu is unique considering it is a Suda 51 game. If you are looking for a fun game toThe art style used in this game is great and doesn't try to make it look real. The story is great even though its not the first game to use it. The controls make great use of the Wii's motion control system and also use the speaker on the remote when you get a phone call. The use of 8-bit styles on the menu is unique considering it is a Suda 51 game. If you are looking for a fun game to play on the Nintendo Wii then pick this game up. Expand
  90. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    This game is one of my favorite, but it has its problems: first, the homeworld can be boring and second the gameplay is boring. But the soundtrack, the story and the characters are awesome.
  91. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Great game with great music and a fun-loving atmosphere. It knows it's ridiculous and it plays with that fact without being too in-your-face and annoying about it. Controls are a bit wonky at times, but the overall experience is incredibly inviting. Even the minigames are exceptional, making it fun to horde money between missions.
    The characters are full of personality and make a huge
    Great game with great music and a fun-loving atmosphere. It knows it's ridiculous and it plays with that fact without being too in-your-face and annoying about it. Controls are a bit wonky at times, but the overall experience is incredibly inviting. Even the minigames are exceptional, making it fun to horde money between missions.
    The characters are full of personality and make a huge impact on the player, even though you often only see them for a brief amount of time.
    I would definitely play it again and recommend it to others.
    Expand
  92. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Image this: You're infiltrating a warehouse. Suddenly, you're attacked by a large group of men with bats and guns. In order to fight them off, you use a light-saber, or "beam katana", slashing them all up into a flurry of blood and money. Once they'er all dead, you fight a mailman who then turns into a superhero like person who shoots lasers out of his penis and his nipples. This is NoImage this: You're infiltrating a warehouse. Suddenly, you're attacked by a large group of men with bats and guns. In order to fight them off, you use a light-saber, or "beam katana", slashing them all up into a flurry of blood and money. Once they'er all dead, you fight a mailman who then turns into a superhero like person who shoots lasers out of his penis and his nipples. This is No More Heroes in a nutshell. It's a ridiculous and hilarious action game, full of blood, sexual innuendos, and action. It is one of Suda 51's best games to date. Expand
  93. May 31, 2013
    8
    Another great title for the Wii. Satisfying beat em up gameplay and stylish graphics. No More Heroes is one of my favorites for the Wii because I really enjoy it's boss fights as it's refreshing to see boss fights to actually be challenging. Overall, I recommend picking this up if you have the WIi
  94. Aug 11, 2015
    7
    My feelings for this game fluctuate almost on a daily basis. I came into it thinking I was going to get a 3D Scott Pilgrim-esque experience with swordplay, with non-stop action. Instead, I was forced to mow the lawn and mash buttons furiously in order to collect coconuts so I could earn the in-game money required to actually get to the good bits: the actual fighting. Quite frustrating. OnMy feelings for this game fluctuate almost on a daily basis. I came into it thinking I was going to get a 3D Scott Pilgrim-esque experience with swordplay, with non-stop action. Instead, I was forced to mow the lawn and mash buttons furiously in order to collect coconuts so I could earn the in-game money required to actually get to the good bits: the actual fighting. Quite frustrating. On top of that, the game can get quite repetitive as enemies are often beaten in the exact same manner, and scraps are made difficult due to the sheer number enemies as opposed to clever AI. Only the boss fights offer an properly difficult challenge, but their attacks can usually be avoided by simply dodging attacks and landing some of your own in afterwards. Sounds like a mediocre game if there ever was one. This repetitiveness makes it hard to justify engaging in combat for more than half an hour at a time.

    And yet, something brings me back again and again.

    Somehow, the mundanity of those boring side jobs that occur between levels keep you anticipating the meat of the game, the combat. I don't think any other game could get away with boring you for long amounts of time, but No More Heroes does. I couldn't tell you just why this is. Maybe it's because the game is bolstered by its art style and wacky characters. Maybe riding the most camp motorbike ever makes traversing Santa Destroy a bit more enjoyable. Maybe it's because I want to see the game's linear cycle of work/pay/kill be broken. It's a bit like Animal Crossing that way; you keep on playing regardless of whether you'd rather stop.

    No More Heroes imitates our own boring lives and yet injects them with an overdose of cool. It enables the animé nerd protagonist Travis Touchdown to become the coolest person in the world he inhabits, despite falling so pathetically for femme fatale Sylvia Christel and receiving encouragement from his waifus, the protagonists of the faux-animé Bizarre Jelly.

    As a piece of interactive entertainment, NMH shows that videogames can be art. It somehow makes players praise the more boring aspects of the game. However, as an actual videogame, it isn't quite as brilliant, being a slightly boring, slightly repetitive, albeit sporadically fun, trudge to the top of the UAA leaderboards. NMH's aesthetics have managed to keep me interested in future installments. But the truth is, as a videogame enthusiast, I just want to play a good videogame, and don';t care as much for an "interacitve experience".
    Expand
  95. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Hands down, my favourite Wii game. The game is original, fun, at times, absolutely hilarious. The fact that No More Heroes doesn’t even take itself seriously is why this game is so unique. Every boss battle is memorable and the final boss, in the real ending, is arguably one of the most epic boss battles I have ever played in a game. Only reason why this game did not get a 10 from me isHands down, my favourite Wii game. The game is original, fun, at times, absolutely hilarious. The fact that No More Heroes doesn’t even take itself seriously is why this game is so unique. Every boss battle is memorable and the final boss, in the real ending, is arguably one of the most epic boss battles I have ever played in a game. Only reason why this game did not get a 10 from me is due to a few minor glitches but most of all, because I live in the UK and the PAL version does not contain the beautiful gory violence the other games have. Expand
  96. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    No more heroes gives us Travis Touchdown, a 27-year-old Otaku put into the united assassins association to defeat 11 other assassins, Helter-Skelter, Death Metal, Dr. Peace, Shinobu, Destroyman, Holly Summers, Letz Shake, Harvey Moiseiwitsch Volodarskii, Speed Buster ,Bad Girl & Dark Star. Each with their own specials and kinks, and all for a fantastic showdown with a two twist bosses.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Like the Wii, none of it should work, but like the Wii, everything does. Brilliantly... No More Heroes is a love letter to videogames that never grows old, tired, or dull. All games deserve to be designed with such lunacy. [JPN Import; Feb 2008, p.56]
  2. This is a rough game, but it's also funny and self-deprecating, inventive and massively rewarding. If more games had personality and style like No More Heroes does, the world of games would be a much more interesting place. [Issue#18, p.76]
  3. It can be a little basic in places, and it isn’t a ‘paradigm shift’ in any sense, but it is proof that games can love their roots and use the quality of being a ‘game’ to give form to their stories – and excel at it. [Feb 2008, p.90]