• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2008
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 222

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Completely bonkers, in a really cool way. While there are a few flaws, the combat is very satisfying, the bosses hilarious and memorable and the swear words pumping out faster than a penguin on a jet ski. Through all the ****'s, ****'s and ****heads, theres a ace, fun and mad game.
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Not just one of the best games on Wii but possibly my favourite game of this generation and one of my all time favourite games! No More Heroes is a fantastic game that is fun engaging and hilarious to play, The sense of humour is fantastic Travis is great character and has some genuinely funny voice work.

    On the topic of voice work this game has one of the most high profile voice cast
    i've ever seen! Robin Atkin Downes lends his voice to Travis Touchdown and he is utterly fantastic! Quinton Flynn delivers the voice for Henry and puts in a stellar performance as he always does! If you own a Wii or even if you've just bought your self a shiny new Wii U do yourself a favour and buy this game! also buy it's sequel to because that is arguable the better game though i'd have to replay it again to say for certain. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    It's since been bettered by it's even more amazing sequel, but NMH is still astonishingly good. Seriously, if you're a hardcore gamer then Suda understands, and that is why you MUST buy this game along with NMH2.
  4. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Wii Classic! I am going to break away from my GAME reviews to discuss two things I usually consider taboo in reviews: comparing this game to its sequel and examining other comments on metacritic. COMMENTS: notice that every negative review boils down to one of the following- general Wii hate, attacking the maturity of this game, or calling it bland and repetitive. Obviously general Wii Hate is worthless criticism. If someone hates the Wii as much as these reviewers why would they read reviews for Wii games? Attacking this game's maturity is like attacking Mario's physics, clearly they are missing the point. Last, and probably least, the action beat'em up genre is notorious for being repetitive so these criticisms are about as useful as Wii Hate. SEQUEL: Had I played this game first I would have given it a 10 without reservation. Un/fortunately Desperate Struggle (the sequel) improves on the series in so many ways- nostalgic minigames, better graphics, better intro, better physics, removed the faux sandbox, etc...- that looking at the two together is rough on the original. If you haven't played either I highly recommend playing No More Heroes and enjoying it madly for the great game it is all the while knowing you are in for an even better sequel! Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    Although I certainly cant recommend this game to everyone, No More Heroes will definitely make you brush the dust off of the Wii for a good couple of weeks. Game play is very simple yet compelling, wrapped up in some bizarre situations, characters and design. A must have for any Wii archive
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Very good game and although the second is an improvement it remains a great bloody experience.Great graphics,memorable bosses and just guilty fun!One of the many proud wii exclusives!
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    The art style used in this game is great and doesn't try to make it look real. The story is great even though its not the first game to use it. The controls make great use of the Wii's motion control system and also use the speaker on the remote when you get a phone call. The use of 8-bit styles on the menu is unique considering it is a Suda 51 game. If you are looking for a fun game to play on the Nintendo Wii then pick this game up. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Image this: You're infiltrating a warehouse. Suddenly, you're attacked by a large group of men with bats and guns. In order to fight them off, you use a light-saber, or "beam katana", slashing them all up into a flurry of blood and money. Once they'er all dead, you fight a mailman who then turns into a superhero like person who shoots lasers out of his penis and his nipples. This is No More Heroes in a nutshell. It's a ridiculous and hilarious action game, full of blood, sexual innuendos, and action. It is one of Suda 51's best games to date. Expand
  9. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Hands down, my favourite Wii game. The game is original, fun, at times, absolutely hilarious. The fact that No More Heroes doesn’t even take itself seriously is why this game is so unique. Every boss battle is memorable and the final boss, in the real ending, is arguably one of the most epic boss battles I have ever played in a game. Only reason why this game did not get a 10 from me is due to a few minor glitches but most of all, because I live in the UK and the PAL version does not contain the beautiful gory violence the other games have. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Like the Wii, none of it should work, but like the Wii, everything does. Brilliantly... No More Heroes is a love letter to videogames that never grows old, tired, or dull. All games deserve to be designed with such lunacy. [JPN Import; Feb 2008, p.56]
  2. This is a rough game, but it's also funny and self-deprecating, inventive and massively rewarding. If more games had personality and style like No More Heroes does, the world of games would be a much more interesting place. [Issue#18, p.76]
  3. It can be a little basic in places, and it isn’t a ‘paradigm shift’ in any sense, but it is proof that games can love their roots and use the quality of being a ‘game’ to give form to their stories – and excel at it. [Feb 2008, p.90]