• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
No More Heroes Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: No More Heroes tells the story of Travis Touchdown, an anime fan who lives in the fictional town of Santa Destroy, California. After an unexpected turn of events, Travis finds himself at the bottom of an Assassins' organization. Travis will have to prove himself worthy and defeat 10 other bloodthirsty killers – all with deep stories of their own – to make his way to the top of the assassin's league. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. 100
    The real triumph of Suda 51’s surreal, occasionally obscene romp is that behind all the cynicism, satire, and gory ultraviolence lies a true joy of creation that is too rarely seen in gaming. In playing No More Heroes, one gets the impression that the development team truly enjoyed making it, that no idea was thrown out for being too ridiculous or far-fetched, and that it is intensely aware of its own absurdity at all times. The excellent fourth-wall shattering ending is proof enough of that.
  2. The first time I heard about No More Heroes I was figuring I would get something similar to Killer 7 and that I would absolutely love it. Turns out I was right, I do love No More Heroes, despite the flaws it exhibits it still gets key things right, a strong story, memorable characters, style, and fun combat that doesn’t get boring.
  3. We’re tempted to say that there are few Wii games as deserving of your attention as No More Heroes but then there are few games as good as this on any platform. [Mar 2008, p.124]
  4. This is an experience people been waiting to have on the Wii for a long time - heart-pounding, sword-slashing, sword-parrying, suplex-flailing motions with a light saber, sorry, beam katana in hand. It may not be 1:1 ratio motion, but the experience can be just as exhaustingly fun.
  5. No More Heroes isn't an amazing game, but the experience of playing it can be described as such. From beginning to end it maintains its humor and will consistently surprise you with a new plot twist and imaginative characters.
  6. Travis' journey upwards in the ranks of the UAA provided some of the quickest, most viscerally charged gameplay made available across the board. Its only faults lie in its decision to focus more on the luridly uncomplicated gameplay than further expansive depth.
  7. It’s a unique take on open world play, and its almost nihilistic fixation on violence for the sake of violence has a satirical and darkly comedic edge. Unfortunately, the repetition and lack of substance behind the flash left me cold.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 94
  2. Negative: 8 out of 94
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Not just one of the best games on Wii but possibly my favourite game of this generation and one of my all time favourite games! No More Heroes is a fantastic game that is fun engaging and hilarious to play, The sense of humour is fantastic Travis is great character and has some genuinely funny voice work.

    On the topic of voice work this game has one of the most high profile voice cast i've ever seen! Robin Atkin Downes lends his voice to Travis Touchdown and he is utterly fantastic! Quinton Flynn delivers the voice for Henry and puts in a stellar performance as he always does! If you own a Wii or even if you've just bought your self a shiny new Wii U do yourself a favour and buy this game! also buy it's sequel to because that is arguable the better game though i'd have to replay it again to say for certain.
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    The art style used in this game is great and doesn't try to make it look real. The story is great even though its not the first game to use it. The controls make great use of the Wii's motion control system and also use the speaker on the remote when you get a phone call. The use of 8-bit styles on the menu is unique considering it is a Suda 51 game. If you are looking for a fun game to play on the Nintendo Wii then pick this game up. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    It's since been bettered by it's even more amazing sequel, but NMH is still astonishingly good. Seriously, if you're a hardcore gamer then Suda understands, and that is why you MUST buy this game along with NMH2. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Hands down, my favourite Wii game. The game is original, fun, at times, absolutely hilarious. The fact that No More Heroes doesn’t even take itself seriously is why this game is so unique. Every boss battle is memorable and the final boss, in the real ending, is arguably one of the most epic boss battles I have ever played in a game. Only reason why this game did not get a 10 from me is due to a few minor glitches but most of all, because I live in the UK and the PAL version does not contain the beautiful gory violence the other games have. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    This game is one of my favorite, but it has its problems: first, the homeworld can be boring and second the gameplay is boring. But the soundtrack, the story and the characters are awesome. Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    8
    Another great title for the Wii. Satisfying beat em up gameplay and stylish graphics. No More Heroes is one of my favorites for the Wii because I really enjoy it's boss fights as it's refreshing to see boss fights to actually be challenging. Overall, I recommend picking this up if you have the WIi Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    No More Heroes isn't perfect, as a matter of a fact it's no where near it. But it succeeds in being a fantastic experience despite all it's flaws. The game is an absolute mess, the story is neither well executed or explained, and has just about every bizarre plot twist you can think of, but gets away with it because it's a beautifully crafted parody of anime, other video games, and cheesy samurai movies, and never takes itself seriously. The gameplay is insanely fun when you slicing your way through enemies and brutally challenging bosses in spectacularly bloody ways, but gets boring when you have to play the mini-games and assassination missions for what feels like the millionth time in order to get money for the next level. And why when your doing this money collecting does your objective have to be on the other side of the game, when all you want to do is just get your money and get back into the fight? The whole money being needed in order to progress is just irritating especially when they fill the game with a few shops that have stuff (new clothes, dvd's that teach you new techniques, and new weapons) you might want to buy, but don't because you don't want to have to do all the jobs required for you to get enough money for the next level all over again. Oh and just a heads up, be sure to buy all 3 (overly expensive) weapons in order to see the real (or rather whole) ending. The game has a lot of issues but whenever I think back on my time with No More Heroes I think about the games hilarious and sometimes shocking (in a good way) scenes, the awesome and bloody combat, or landing that final blow on that challenging and memorable boss. And I also think about how that no matter how many issues this game has that it was worth putting up with them in order to play through this fantastic game. I had to take off points for the issues if the score makes you unsure of this game ignore it and let me tell you this, if you call yourself a hardcore gamer you need to play this game. It's an amazing experience that manages to rise above its flaws, and is for sure one of the best Wii games ever. This is a must play. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews