Okami Wii

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 214

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesG.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    I haven't enjoyed a game this much since Ocarina of Time (and being disappointed with Twilight Princesses' ultimately linear game play, Okami comes as a real breath of fresh air). I hope to see more games following this challenge-reward formula. Highly recommended.
  2. ranran
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Okami is an awesome game that gave me ~40 hours of giggling, near-crying, startled jumping, hectic activity, and overall amazement. Play it and see for yourself.
  3. JohnF
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Ok, I thought this game was awesome! I never even heard of the game at first and then one day one of my friends happens to rent it on PS2. I go over and try it out for a little, and the controls and how the game was setup seemed very good. Although the game went on for a long time, it had more thrills later on when you got in it. When it came out on Wii I bought it and yes at first I Ok, I thought this game was awesome! I never even heard of the game at first and then one day one of my friends happens to rent it on PS2. I go over and try it out for a little, and the controls and how the game was setup seemed very good. Although the game went on for a long time, it had more thrills later on when you got in it. When it came out on Wii I bought it and yes at first I totally had no sweet clue what to do and my artistic skills were poorly bad and we all no everyone isn't that good at drawing but some people are. I managed to get used to it and I managed to beat the game easily and got every single thing including the 100 stray beads. Anyways let's get to the point, the people who have rankings for this game of like 1 or 2 maybe even 3 or 4, well sheesh, this game isn't some sort of like fighting beserk, raging mode game where you swing the controller to your lifes content. Anyways, this deserves a ten and from what I hear from other sites of them making a sequel that doesn't have Amaterasu or "Shiranui," and it's only for the Nintendo DS. I hope they manage to do a sequel for the Wii because they won't do it for the PS2 because it's too old of a system now. I just hope since it came in Japan that they might be able to make a sequel with Amaterasu. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I have a lot of good video game ideas be poorly executed, this however was a good idea with GREAT execution. The environment was stunning and the combat seemed more graceful than violent. This has been the best game I've played in some time.
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Even three years after I originally got it, I'm still playing this game. It's an absolute masterpiece that shows that a game's art style is often more important than how realistic the grass looks. This game, I mean work of art, is absolutely amazing. The environments are beautiful and a wonder to behold, enemies are original and always fun to fight. Customization is, initially, ratherEven three years after I originally got it, I'm still playing this game. It's an absolute masterpiece that shows that a game's art style is often more important than how realistic the grass looks. This game, I mean work of art, is absolutely amazing. The environments are beautiful and a wonder to behold, enemies are original and always fun to fight. Customization is, initially, rather poor, but once you beat the game, it rewards you with tons more options based on how well you've done, an excellent system that most games forget: Don't stick a carrot in front of the players face and tell them to go from point A to point B. Hide the carrot and encourage the player to explore and become immersed in the beautiful world. This is a masterpiece that has gone sorely unappreciated in mainstream gaming media, and deserves far more attention than it has gotten. Expand
  6. Ryan
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Gameplay, visual-appeal, robust audio, clever-controls, genre-bending concepts are only the tip of the iceberg in this game. Many aspects surpass the Zelda series, (although it is obviously based heavily on that construct), and the only reason it doesn't receive that extra one mark from me is that I don't particularly like playing as a wolf! It's brilliant in every Gameplay, visual-appeal, robust audio, clever-controls, genre-bending concepts are only the tip of the iceberg in this game. Many aspects surpass the Zelda series, (although it is obviously based heavily on that construct), and the only reason it doesn't receive that extra one mark from me is that I don't particularly like playing as a wolf! It's brilliant in every important area and can only be treasured as a true unique gaming experience. Phenomenal. Expand
  7. TylerW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    This is an amazing game. Anyone who has the chance should play this game. The graphics are beautiful and music is very in depth. Lots of humor and a good storyline to boot. Try this game its worth it.
  8. j0ma2_
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game I have played on PC or Wii. Excellent 2D graphics, traditional Chinese pictures style, and music integrated with the story. Smooth movement of your character that makes you feel as flexible as bamboo while you run, jump, charge or parry. Guaranteed If the most important for you is a 3D stunning graphic, this game is not for you. Otherwise, you must bow in front of the best adventure game I have played on PC or Wii. Excellent 2D graphics, traditional Chinese pictures style, and music integrated with the story. Smooth movement of your character that makes you feel as flexible as bamboo while you run, jump, charge or parry. Guaranteed lots of hours of playing. Puzzles are not too easy to bore the addictive player and they are not too difficult to exasperate de casual gamer. A must for everyone. Expand
  9. JohnC
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, with great graphics. Japanese quirky humor and all around fun. A must buy.
  10. MahirC.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    This is a brilliant game. I dare to say it's better than most Zelda titles. It's also pleasantly long and got TONS of things to do, if you feel like it. One of the best games ever!
  11. jojothehoboh
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, but not unbelievable. The cutscene at the beginning was ridiculously long and very boring with an extreme lack of color. Not only that, but the characters voices were like Japanese versions of banjo-kazooie speaking! Other than that, it was great with some original ideas and sweet graphics.
  12. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the greatest game I've ever played. Basically it takes what made Zelda: Ocarina of Time so great and makes it ten times better, longer and much more charming. Story, graphics and sound are al perfect. Game-play is near perfect (The Celestial Brush is sometimes unresponsive, but that's more a problem with the Wii Remote more than anything else). It's an absoluteThis is, without a doubt, the greatest game I've ever played. Basically it takes what made Zelda: Ocarina of Time so great and makes it ten times better, longer and much more charming. Story, graphics and sound are al perfect. Game-play is near perfect (The Celestial Brush is sometimes unresponsive, but that's more a problem with the Wii Remote more than anything else). It's an absolute joy to play, with loads of side quests and hidden goodies. In a world full of realistic looking Call of Duties and FIFAs, this stands out from the crowd and it's an absolute shame that it sold so few copies. I can't recommend it enough. Buy this or the HD re-release on PS3. Expand
  13. ConorL.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  14. RP.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Love this game. Cool concept. Great with game for Wii.
  15. DaveC.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    The game aside... does anyone else see the irony that two companies said the EXACT same thing about the game, yet Metacritic assigned a 100 to one, and a 94 to another?? Everything not in uppercase is identical, look- 1UP- (100) It's one of the few games TO overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging experience. Electronic Gaming Monthly- (94) STILL, it's The game aside... does anyone else see the irony that two companies said the EXACT same thing about the game, yet Metacritic assigned a 100 to one, and a 94 to another?? Everything not in uppercase is identical, look- 1UP- (100) It's one of the few games TO overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging experience. Electronic Gaming Monthly- (94) STILL, it's one of the few games THAT CAN overcome shaky fundamentals in light of an astonishingly engaging adventure. If this is the same review on two different media outlets, shouldn't that make it just one Metascore? Additionally, why is one a 100 and the other a 94 if it's the same review, word for word? Expand
  16. SkyeB
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This game is the true Zelda killer! The storyline with the mix of Japan's old folklores is the best, the graphics on this game is very phenomenal because of the use of traitional artworks from ancient Japan, and the soundtrack has a very good theme that matches game perfectly. Furthermore, Capcom did the best job ever since "Mega Man 2". Nintendo should just retire the "Zelda" series This game is the true Zelda killer! The storyline with the mix of Japan's old folklores is the best, the graphics on this game is very phenomenal because of the use of traitional artworks from ancient Japan, and the soundtrack has a very good theme that matches game perfectly. Furthermore, Capcom did the best job ever since "Mega Man 2". Nintendo should just retire the "Zelda" series immediately because of the last 5 failed me miserable and "spirit Tracks" gonna flunked big time and the new "Zelda" game for Wii is first-class butt-ugly fake that Nintendo cooks-up ever since. Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    absolutly sensational gameplay mixed with the awesome story. However, combat mostly sucks, its a PORT, and drawing with wiimote is dumb, getting a 91%
  18. PhilipD.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Literally. Lots of fun, works well on the Wii once you get used to doing the brush strokes. Great music, great graphics, a LOT to like. Very cool, and likely to appeal to Zelda fans.
  19. ColinC
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Loved this game! Love the controls, although yes, using the wii remote to control the paintbrush did take a couple of hours to get used to. Not bad considering I put in over 50 hours to the game. The story is epic. Just when you think it's done, it goes and get bigger and bigger. Graphics? On my 65" widescreen with component cables, it was absolutely beautiful. I breezed through most Loved this game! Love the controls, although yes, using the wii remote to control the paintbrush did take a couple of hours to get used to. Not bad considering I put in over 50 hours to the game. The story is epic. Just when you think it's done, it goes and get bigger and bigger. Graphics? On my 65" widescreen with component cables, it was absolutely beautiful. I breezed through most of the combat, but still I always find it fun. And the bosses are a definite high-point. If you haven't played it yet, then go and give it a try. Now I'm off to pick up Fallout 3. Expand
  20. VianyteX
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    If you love Action-Adventure games like The Legend of Zelda then you should love this as its very simular (and in my opinion: Better!). If you love cartoony art style, Japanese culture and wolves then you would proabably love this even more. Or if you're looking for something new and original (Even if you have played a lot of Zelda games) then Okami is a great game to play. For me If you love Action-Adventure games like The Legend of Zelda then you should love this as its very simular (and in my opinion: Better!). If you love cartoony art style, Japanese culture and wolves then you would proabably love this even more. Or if you're looking for something new and original (Even if you have played a lot of Zelda games) then Okami is a great game to play. For me this is by far my favourite game on the Wii and my favourite game of all time. Okami does have some RPG elements to it but i would class it as Action-Adventure. The game is very based off ancient Japanese culture which is fantastic for me as i don't know much about it and find it really interesting. The graphics are the best i've seen in a game ever. The Wii controls suit the game perfectly and you shouldn't really be having any problems with it. The game even gives you tips for drawing something tricky like a straight line which really help. The characters are well presented, full of personality and easy to get attached to. Even Amaterasu (The white wolf) has a better personality than most characters (I'm looking at Link and Mario) and can't even talk. Issun is also a great character and is hilarious too. What he says about the Priestess's breasts is worth quoting. The storyline is quite simple but quite well thought out and decent. There are many twists and things to keep the game exciting. The game is quite easy for someone who plays games a lot (AKA "Hardcore gamer") but isn't bothersome. Its one of the only 2 flaws in the game that i can think of. The other is that there should have been more monsters. I know that Japanese culture has absolutely loads of monsters. Probably more than all the other cultures in the rest of the world put together. Seeing more of these in Okami would have been awesome. There are still a lot (more than Zelda) but i would have liked more. The Bosses however are probably the best i have ever seen in a game. They are all unique and interesting and some of them even have personalities of their own! My favourite of them is the last one, which helps make one of the best game endings ever. I could go on a lot longer why Okami is so good but you, YES YOU! Need to buy it for yourself and give it a go if you haven't already. Ignore Johhny C, it is a fantastic port. I think the Wii version is actually better than the PS2 version. If you have a Wii or a PS2 then buy it. You are missing out on such an Amazing Game. Expand
  21. BrianM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    awesome game. But more importantly did the reviewer from electronic gaming monthly literally copy the 1up review. They say the same thing with the exception of one word! see for yourself
  22. MMorris
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    PS2 version was great. Controller has helped immensely. I don't care what the reviews said, the controller on PS2 was inadequate for Ukiyo-e (Edo) ink painting. as a painter would have inked their works such as in the movie "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", painting was done as a form, and wiimote makes that STYLE believable. "The Sun Goddess Amaterasu is considered Shinto's PS2 version was great. Controller has helped immensely. I don't care what the reviews said, the controller on PS2 was inadequate for Ukiyo-e (Edo) ink painting. as a painter would have inked their works such as in the movie "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", painting was done as a form, and wiimote makes that STYLE believable. "The Sun Goddess Amaterasu is considered Shinto's most important kami" japan-guide.com History is the greatest story EVER told, and Ameratsu was not a "dog" when I first read about any history of Japan (Nippon). Expand
  23. BradleyB.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is amazing, the storyline epic. Using the Wiimote to control the celestial brush is much faster than using the analog stick on the ps2 version. So much so, that you will inevitably find yourself using the brush a lot more often in this incarnation. The only gripes I have about the version in its entirety are: 1) The lack of voice acting. Reading the text while listening to The gameplay is amazing, the storyline epic. Using the Wiimote to control the celestial brush is much faster than using the analog stick on the ps2 version. So much so, that you will inevitably find yourself using the brush a lot more often in this incarnation. The only gripes I have about the version in its entirety are: 1) The lack of voice acting. Reading the text while listening to the mumbling sounds in the background really detracts from the mood... It is especially distracting when the fantastic musical score is drowned out by the non-sensical mumbling. This flaw was present in the original though, so I would still rate this version higher than its predecessor. 2) The D-pad allows you to control the camera, but occasionally it feels as if the camera rotation speed is just too slow to be effective. Those flaws aside, I believe this to be a must buy for every core gamer that owns a Wii console. (unless of course you still own the ps2 version). Expand
  24. ZackB
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    If ever there were a prime candidate for the argument of "games are art", then Okami would safely secure itself at the forefront of this debate. This game proves to be an exercise in adept game design - it integrates refreshing game-play mechanics with visuals so majestic, you could swear you were interacting with a Van Gogh painting sprung to life. A charming narrative helps propel the If ever there were a prime candidate for the argument of "games are art", then Okami would safely secure itself at the forefront of this debate. This game proves to be an exercise in adept game design - it integrates refreshing game-play mechanics with visuals so majestic, you could swear you were interacting with a Van Gogh painting sprung to life. A charming narrative helps propel the game forward. Goddess', magical astral brushes, and talking animals are the norm in this quirky tale. Something about this game's world is absolutely enrapturing. Not since watching Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away" have I been so compelled to experience every beautifully crafted second the work had to offer. If you have any interest at all in adventure titles -- especially those that manage to incorporate original ideas -- then do yourself a favor, and purchase this game posthaste! Expand
  25. MatthewL.
    Jun 7, 2008
    8
    This was very, very good, but it isn't a "Zelda Killer" in the least. A few brush strokes feel gimmicky, and there are not very many puzzles in this game. That and the game was extremely easy. All in all, worth its $40. But at the other Zelda game for $50, you get what you pay for.
  26. MikaH.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    I really loved this game once it came out for PS2 and I still love playing it on my Wii! Graphics are still awesome and the new controls just rock!
  27. AndrewC.
    Jul 9, 2008
    8
    I am not a big "Zelda-Style" game fan. This had some twists that make it unique and fun. The controls are a little frustrating at times but after playing for awhile the controls become smooth and almost flawless.
  28. AlexR.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Let me say this, if you love the Legend of Zelda series definentally try this game. And for the some of you who never have picked up a Zelda game yet, stil try this amazing game. The overall art and storytelling of this game is incredible (and sometimes humorous in a good way) and this is personally one of my favorite Wii games. The ONLY flaw I see in the Wii version is that "brush Let me say this, if you love the Legend of Zelda series definentally try this game. And for the some of you who never have picked up a Zelda game yet, stil try this amazing game. The overall art and storytelling of this game is incredible (and sometimes humorous in a good way) and this is personally one of my favorite Wii games. The ONLY flaw I see in the Wii version is that "brush stroking" is a little more difficult then say the PS2 version but it's quite the minor, unoccasional flaw that can be overlooked. Expand
  29. GrantC.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    I beat this game yesterday, and in all my life, the only better game I've ever played is Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The story is flawless. The motion controls work perfectly with the original modern classic, The graphics were a work of art, truly breathtaking. I can't recommend this game highly enough.
  30. JordanG
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. An inspiring art style, epic storyline and great gameplay. Only problem I have with it are the badly translated combat controls on the Wii. The paintbrush works great but the combat controls can be an issue, but leave no negative impact on the overall play of the game. It's too good
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 80
    This is a marvelous game in terms of artistry, sound, and yes, even gameplay, despite being hamstrung by the poorly implemented Celestial Brush controls. Despite the headaches you'll undoubtedly experience, it's still worth playing Okami on your Nintendo Wii.
  2. 100
    Unique and captivating characters await you at every flower laden step. From combat to exploration, every action rewards the player with items, experience, or another breathtaking look at this gorgeous world.
  3. A must-have title for anyone who has ever loved a Zelda game, a Clover Studio game, or any time-intensive 3D adventure game. The only people I would advise against buying Okami are those on the extreme left or extreme right of the "casual/hardcore" gamer divide.