Okami Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Okami tells the story of a mythical sun god who sets out to restore a dismal world, decimating the forces of evil who stand in the way by commanding the elements and mythical abilities the deity possesses. Mixing Japanese folklore and a stunning traditional Japanese art style, players must utilize an inventive control scheme to overcome the challenges and evil that await. By enhancing the unique gameplay, visual style and story line of Okami with the control of the Wii Remote, it is sure to be the ultimate version of the game. Originally designed for the PS2 and released in 2006, Okami now comes alive in an entirely new way on the Wii with its visually stunning art style and beautiful scenic 3D levels that have the appearance and texture of paper scrolls brushed with watercolor-like calligraphy art. Throughout the vibrant and distinctive surroundings, players must use the Wii remote to interact with a dynamic world and cast of characters. The blend of stylized graphics, movements and unique gameplay will result in a rich and dynamic experience never seen before. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    It's as well-designed as Zelda, as involving as Final Fantasy, and as beautiful as anything you've ever seen; it belongs with the best of the Zelda series at the very apex of its genre.
  2. 97
    The Wii's best game to-date, if you'll just give it a chance to shine.
  3. While some minor control issues here blemish an otherwise flawless package, Okami remains one of the best games of recent years, if not of all time. It’s engaging, original, and a true work of art — Wii owners looking for a game worthy of their time need look no further.
  4. The definitive version of Okami despite its combat flaws. The improved Celestial Brush is enough to warrant a purchase.
  5. At a length of around 30 hours the game has more punch then the average adventure game of its kind, and while it feels a little long and can be frustrating at parts, I definitely place Okami near the top of the Wii releases, and possibly on the top of all adventure releases.
  6. An excellent action adventure. It's suprisingly difficult to draw a straight line with wiimote, though. [June 2008]
  7. Okami is a work of genius, but you should play the original game instead of the Wii version if you can. [May 2008, p.88]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63
  1. JamesG.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    I haven't enjoyed a game this much since Ocarina of Time (and being disappointed with Twilight Princesses' ultimately linear game play, Okami comes as a real breath of fresh air). I hope to see more games following this challenge-reward formula. Highly recommended. Collapse
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Out. Standing. This game is one of the best adventure games ever. The brush techniques work like a dream, it looks gorgeous, the story is humourous and very interesting. Everything is beautiful and brilliant. As close to perfection as possible in a game. Expand
  3. MikaH.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    I really loved this game once it came out for PS2 and I still love playing it on my Wii! Graphics are still awesome and the new controls just rock!
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the greatest game I've ever played. Basically it takes what made Zelda: Ocarina of Time so great and makes it ten times better, longer and much more charming. Story, graphics and sound are al perfect. Game-play is near perfect (The Celestial Brush is sometimes unresponsive, but that's more a problem with the Wii Remote more than anything else). It's an absolute joy to play, with loads of side quests and hidden goodies. In a world full of realistic looking Call of Duties and FIFAs, this stands out from the crowd and it's an absolute shame that it sold so few copies. I can't recommend it enough. Buy this or the HD re-release on PS3. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    absolutly sensational gameplay mixed with the awesome story. However, combat mostly sucks, its a PORT, and drawing with wiimote is dumb, getting a 91%
  6. jojothehoboh
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, but not unbelievable. The cutscene at the beginning was ridiculously long and very boring with an extreme lack of color. Not only that, but the characters voices were like Japanese versions of banjo-kazooie speaking! Other than that, it was great with some original ideas and sweet graphics. Expand
  7. SwizzT.
    Oct 22, 2008
    1
    I have a big problem with this game, seeing as the PS2 version was one of the best looking, most playable games I ever saw on that console. I got the Wii version and couldn't wait to play it only to find that the graphics looked washed out and seemed to have lost their 3D 'look' and bad graphical jitters in places... and this was in the first 30 seconds of playing the game. The worst thing of all though is that I can't even draw the with the brush to gain the first power! No matter how many times I try and draw, it looks like my brush stroke at the beginning doesn't even register on the screen. This is apart from the fact that my brush jumps all around the screen at times? Have I a bust Wiimote? All in all, I've had to use all my self control to not Frisbee my game disc out of the window. Has anyone else had similar issues, especially with the brush controls? Expand

See all 63 User Reviews