Onslaught Wii

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    I dont agree with the people who think this game is great, even for a wiiware/virtual-console game. However, I don't agree either with people who think this game is absolute garbage. It is unusual to have a game like this on wiiware especially for 1000 points which makes it something unique with a fair price. Let's talk about the good first, the weapons in general are good, not great butI dont agree with the people who think this game is great, even for a wiiware/virtual-console game. However, I don't agree either with people who think this game is absolute garbage. It is unusual to have a game like this on wiiware especially for 1000 points which makes it something unique with a fair price. Let's talk about the good first, the weapons in general are good, not great but still something enjoyable specially a "lightwhip" that you have to attack enemies on close range. The controls are also pretty good, i feel that is the way you make a first person shooter work. I also enjoyed the boss battles even though the attack patterns were extremely repetitive and I loved the fact that different types of weapons work better with different types of "alien bugs." Now comes the bad, most of this has to do with repetition which makes the game tedious after a while. There were very few enemy types and they were used again in every single level which took the excitement out of it. Another issue was the environments, they were really similar, basically all the planet you are in looks the same, there is nothing stunning to it. Finally my biggest issue, there is a time limit to every level when its not even necessary, why cant we just go at our own pace instead of rushing through the level to get a better score and not loosing the mission? This was just bad. The multiplayer is basically co-op campaign, not competitive multiplayer but it changes the action a little bit making it enjoyable. Overall I think it is not worth buying despite the good price, if people want a first person shooter they shouldn't support the more average ones because there are better games out there and those deserve attention. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    A terrible first person shooter with no redeeming value for wii about massacring giant mutant bugs on an alien planet... ya that pretty much sums it up.
  3. DME
    Sep 24, 2010
    8
    Onslaught is actually a pretty good game for it's price. Pros include the variety of guns, the ability to throw grenades, ability to get in vehicles, online rankings, decent graphics, good soundtrack, and great controls. Cons include short single player mode (about 6 hours), and the fact that it doesn't live up to games like Metroid or Red Steel 2. If you don't want to spend $50 on anOnslaught is actually a pretty good game for it's price. Pros include the variety of guns, the ability to throw grenades, ability to get in vehicles, online rankings, decent graphics, good soundtrack, and great controls. Cons include short single player mode (about 6 hours), and the fact that it doesn't live up to games like Metroid or Red Steel 2. If you don't want to spend $50 on an amazing FPS, then why not spend $10 on a great one? Collapse
  4. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    Some perspective is needed when reviewing this game. This is a WiiWare title, yet it shows some polish of something much more but at the same time there are some things about it that will always let you know it is a WiiWare game. The graphics are good (for a WiiWare game), the controls are tight and responsive, and it includes multiplayer. The difficulty in singleplayer can be brutal atSome perspective is needed when reviewing this game. This is a WiiWare title, yet it shows some polish of something much more but at the same time there are some things about it that will always let you know it is a WiiWare game. The graphics are good (for a WiiWare game), the controls are tight and responsive, and it includes multiplayer. The difficulty in singleplayer can be brutal at times though. There isn't much variety in gameplay even though the missions attempt to mix things up a bit. Overall it is a decent game and if you are an FPS fan, this is a good cheap addition to your collection and on of the only FPS options on the WiiWare service. Expand
  5. ejamer
    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    A first-person shooter on WiiWare? My expectations weren't very high, but curiosity alone forced me to download Onslaught to see just how good (or bad) it would be. Luckily this game turned out to be far better than I hoped.

    The first level serves as a great reminder of how Wii offers a nearly perfect control scheme for FPS titles, allowing gamers and newbies to jump in and start
    A first-person shooter on WiiWare? My expectations weren't very high, but curiosity alone forced me to download Onslaught to see just how good (or bad) it would be. Luckily this game turned out to be far better than I hoped.

    The first level serves as a great reminder of how Wii offers a nearly perfect control scheme for FPS titles, allowing gamers and newbies to jump in and start playing with ease. Missions tend to be short but varied enough to keep you interested. While each level enerally easy to push through, Onslaught encourages replay by ranking your performance after each level. Cooperative and competitive (not deathmatch) online modes are just icing on the cake.

    There is room for improvement: graphics, enemy AI routines, and story presentation are all functional but limited. Online play would greatly benefit from having voice chat. However, these restrictions probably shouldn't be a surprise due to the size restrictions for WiiWare titles.

    So in the end we have an ambitious FPS game that is fun to play and offers excellent online support, but lacks the polish found in full retail titles. That seems like a good deal for 1000 Wii Points, even if later WiiWare titles might be able to improve on the genre.

    A solid 8 out of 10, but not quite good enough to get a 9.
    Expand
  6. BerendJan
    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    It's a great little shooter, basically it's an 2d shooter in an 3d environment. It's all arcade no stealth, i realy like it and played it for 10 hours over the last weeks. That's much fun for an 1000 points game. For my 2 cents.

    Oh and it's a though game also on hard it is really hard.
  7. ElisabethMacGown
    Feb 26, 2009
    8
    It's a good game but there is still room for improvements. The graphics are pretty good for a wiiware game. The controls are good and they work well. Not much variety with the levels and enemies. There are only four types of bugs and a few bosses. The bosses are cool. The levels are either a desert setting or a cave setting. Online is pretty fun. Overall, it's a decent game andIt's a good game but there is still room for improvements. The graphics are pretty good for a wiiware game. The controls are good and they work well. Not much variety with the levels and enemies. There are only four types of bugs and a few bosses. The bosses are cool. The levels are either a desert setting or a cave setting. Online is pretty fun. Overall, it's a decent game and it's worth 1000 points. This game has filled the FPS void until the Conduit comes out in June. Expand
  8. MrNintendo
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    I'm giving this game a 9/10 as a rating amongst wiiware games.

    This game is amazing value for only 1000 wii points. Something like this would usually go for 1500 wii points. At first I wasn't sure if I had made the right purchase but after giving it an hour I was hooked. The gameplay is pretty linear compared with most fps but it has an arcade like doom/quake style to it.
    I'm giving this game a 9/10 as a rating amongst wiiware games.

    This game is amazing value for only 1000 wii points. Something like this would usually go for 1500 wii points. At first I wasn't sure if I had made the right purchase but after giving it an hour I was hooked. The gameplay is pretty linear compared with most fps but it has an arcade like doom/quake style to it. Critical hits and racking up points makes it addictive. Online is heaps fun too! Co-op works very well. There is no deathmatch between players but based on the nature of this game I can
    Expand
  9. captainff
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    As the first FPS to arrive on Wiiware this has set the bar very high for any future offerings. It may not have the visual polish of a retail release on other systems but then it only costs 1000 Wii Points (£7). I'm not a FPS fan but this game has really grabbed my attention if only for the Starship Troopers aspect of the gameplay (If it had had Denise Richards it would have As the first FPS to arrive on Wiiware this has set the bar very high for any future offerings. It may not have the visual polish of a retail release on other systems but then it only costs 1000 Wii Points (£7). I'm not a FPS fan but this game has really grabbed my attention if only for the Starship Troopers aspect of the gameplay (If it had had Denise Richards it would have scored a perfect 10!!). The online competitive co-op with friends allows the inexperienced gamer to join in while letting their more competent friends compete for the highest score. Good fun all round. I'm surprised at the apathetic response from the online communities to this little gem of a game. Expand
  10. JohannesS.
    Feb 16, 2009
    8
    With the price of only 10 bucks you get plenty of value for your money. The single player camapign is pretty long, about 6-10 hours and its fun just running around killing different types of bugs. Not much variety, but still fun. Multiplayer is pretty good too. There are two modes: Free Battle and Ranking Battle. Fere Battle is basically just online co-op with friends or random people. With the price of only 10 bucks you get plenty of value for your money. The single player camapign is pretty long, about 6-10 hours and its fun just running around killing different types of bugs. Not much variety, but still fun. Multiplayer is pretty good too. There are two modes: Free Battle and Ranking Battle. Fere Battle is basically just online co-op with friends or random people. Too bad that there isn't any kind of communication option, which is a disappointment because the WiiSpeak acessory has been out there quite a while already. Ranking battle is more unique. There you have to kill as many as possible with up to four other people in a closed area until the time runs out. Whoever gets the hihest amount of points, wins. It's fun and there's no lag at all. Joining into a game is simple and quick. There are online leaderboards too. All in all, Onslaught is a fun shooter and a must buy for Wii for everyone who owns a Wii and likes killing tons of bugs. Expand
  11. DME
    Sep 24, 2010
    0
    Onslaught is actually a pretty good game for it's price. Pros include the variety of guns, the ability to throw grenades, ability to get in vehicles, online rankings, decent graphics, good soundtrack, and great controls. Cons include short single player mode (about 6 hours), and the fact that it doesn't live up to games like Metroid or Red Steel 2. If you don't want to spend $50 on anOnslaught is actually a pretty good game for it's price. Pros include the variety of guns, the ability to throw grenades, ability to get in vehicles, online rankings, decent graphics, good soundtrack, and great controls. Cons include short single player mode (about 6 hours), and the fact that it doesn't live up to games like Metroid or Red Steel 2. If you don't want to spend $50 on an amazing FPS, then why not spend $10 on a great one? Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#33 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Hudson has achieved the unthinkable and created an original and entertaining Japanese developed FPS which comes as a great surprise. This is a must-download for fans of the FPS genre.
  2. Further proof of the Wii's gift for first person shooters, if only a more experienced developer would try.
  3. Onslaught is a real deal, particularly if you are looking for the Online component. It's fun, it's complete, and even if it could be something more, I this is a game capable of filling the measures. Ended the search for those seeking a good FPS.