Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    Even given the irresistible pull of the narrative, Pandora's Tower isn't quite up to the standard of other recent Wii RPGs. Yet if at times it seems ugly, confused and repetitive, at others it's creative, gripping and wonderfully atmospheric.
  2. 70
    While Last Story reflects the emotional and narrative side of H. Sakaguchi, Pandora's Tower is more offensive and closes a large cycle of production for Nintendo Wii.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    With an identity of its own, some clever ideas and a well written story, Pandora's Tower can be quite charming. On the downside, some of its gameplay mechanics simply don't work.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    This title has much to recommend it, as long as you're willing to look beyond some of its faults.
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    70
    A mature RPG that's been suffering from bad technical quality, repeating of the same in-game situations and from the excessively fast monster respawn. If you manage to get over these flaws, you are going to be rewarded with nice gameplay, a well-made motion control system and especially with its emotional story with five different endings.
  6. May 29, 2012
    50
    Pandora's Tower doesn't offer anything appealing or unique, and is not a Wii title that will find a home with many gamers.
  7. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    It's cast from a different mould than that of Xenoblade and The Last Story, and while it may not reach the same level as its contemporaries, those looking for a decent adventure should find plenty to like.
  8. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    Ganbarion, the creators of the most famous fighting games on DS, are back with Pandora's Tower, an action-RPG that will seduce those who loves great adventure.
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    70
    Between well-designed dungeons, thrilling boss battles and a compelling hook in Elena's deteriorating condition, Pandora's Tower is a unique treat for those still loyal to the Wii.
  10. Apr 15, 2012
    70
    Solid hack-and-slash mechanics and classic RPG elements for this entertaining action game, that unfortunately is also one of the worst-looking Wii titles up to date.
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    A very solid, fast-paced action romp with islands of greatness in a sea of repetitive combat. Still, there are surprisingly few better Castlevania alternatives on Wii to this day.
  12. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    A little slicker, and Pandora's Tower could have provided a surprisingly effective alternative in the character-action genre. Its blend of pointer controls and button-based combat begs to be further explored. But as it is, this a clunky action title – albeit one with a flicker of genuine emotion at its heart.
  13. This is an average-to-good hack and slash that is unfortunately hobbled by some off-the-shelf RPG elements and a well-meaning - if ultimately tiresome - girlfriend management system.
  14. Apr 11, 2012
    60
    There are some clever ideas at work here, particularly the hero's primary weapon, but a lack of gameplay refinement and bland storytelling fail to make the most of it.
  15. May 17, 2013
    55
    Pandora's Tower is loaded with interesting concepts, but it fails to pull them through an entire playthrough in a sustainable, engaging way.
  16. May 15, 2013
    70
    Pandora's Tower is an enjoyable RPG, and if the Affinity thing wasn't involved, I'd easily put this up to the ranks of four stars and beyond. There's a lot of exploring to do, puzzles to solve, and great action that requires serious thinking. The gameplay as well as the presentation are top-shelf. If you can put up with Elena, in either form, you'll find this to be a great action adventure title.
  17. May 7, 2013
    72
    Pandora's Tower isn't the best-playing action RPG out there. Its fixed camera and control issues are often quite frustrating. Yet these issues aren't enough to completely outweigh Elena's convincing character.
  18. Apr 23, 2013
    65
    The last of the “Operation Rainfall Three,” Pandora’s Tower borrows heavily from Shadow of the Colossus—young lad must rescue his beloved from a gruesome fate by felling massive beasts—but you can’t help but think you’ve played a far better version of this game before. Hardcore Japanese RPG fans might forgive some of the glaring flaws here, but Pandora’s Tower certainly won’t have the mass appeal of Team Ico’s 2005 PS2 classic.
  19. Apr 16, 2013
    60
    Ganbarion went out of its way to craft a title that experiments with interesting ideas. Unfortunately, none of its unique elements are refined enough to be successful, making it impossible for me to cheer for this underdog.
  20. 70
    In some respects, Pandora's Tower shares similarities with Shadow of the Colossus, and while it doesn't ascend to the high barometer of that game, it is worthy of the comparison.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    This game is great!If you like the older zelda games like Ocarina of Time, then this is a must buy!It has a great storyline and the gameplayThis game is great!If you like the older zelda games like Ocarina of Time, then this is a must buy!It has a great storyline and the gameplay feels really good.This game gives us what Zelda couldn't give us for a long time now.Thank you Ganbarian and Nintendo!!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Aaah, Pandoras Tower. Finally I thought, one of the few games that wasn't a first person shooter.As I walked into the shop and bought the gameAaah, Pandoras Tower. Finally I thought, one of the few games that wasn't a first person shooter.As I walked into the shop and bought the game my brain went all fuzzy as I brushed the lower part of my torso, I had a warm feeling inside me as I inserted the game into my console and started the game.My brother then proceeded to shout "Alien Paedophiles" as he watched Cowboys and Aliens. I told him to shut up and started my intense journey through Pandoras tower. When I finished the game I went and watched Cowboys and Aliens. I then watched some porn and felt that this was a slightly more satisfying experience than Pandoras Tower. The game just doesn't have enough to make me feel like I truly invested my valuable time in to. If only they had spent a little more time on this. But if you like JRPGS then you may want to pick up this game amid a market of similar games Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    I´m quite surprised to see so many mixed review of this game, the story has kept me interested so far (about halfway through) andI´m quite surprised to see so many mixed review of this game, the story has kept me interested so far (about halfway through) and you get to know more about the world and characters as you go along. graphics and music are some of the best on the wii, while it´s true that the textures are pretty low res, the artstyle easily makes up for it with varied and beautiful enviroments. The gameplay itself might not be as smooth as say Zelda, but it does it´s job well enough with one of the most awesome weapons ever. Highly recommend it. Full Review »