Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    78
    Pandora's Tower is an Action RPG with a pleasant love story and a brilliantly smooth battle system. A good game for wii, no doubt.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    85
    It's not as monumental as Xenoblade Chronicles but nonetheless you experience an exciting and moving adventure. It quotes the likes of Shadow of the Colossus, Castlevania and Zelda but is able to stand on its own two feet.
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Many will look at Pandora's Tower as being the weakest of the three Wii RPGs, with Xenoblade Chronicles and The Last Story easily making Ganbarion and Nintendo's effort seem unworthy of attention. However, such a judgement would be unjust, since this Action RPG takes a totally different slant, offering an almost 3D Castlevania and Metroid feel to proceedings, mixing in a pleasant love story and a brilliantly smooth battle system that will widen its appeal.
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    A bittersweet end to the Wii's life: a taste of the kind of software that could have carried the console during those slow months. As it stands, it won't be anything more that an engaging action RPG with a clever hook. But I suppose I can live with that.
  5. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    A little slicker, and Pandora's Tower could have provided a surprisingly effective alternative in the character-action genre. Its blend of pointer controls and button-based combat begs to be further explored. But as it is, this a clunky action title – albeit one with a flicker of genuine emotion at its heart.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    65
    The last of the “Operation Rainfall Three,” Pandora’s Tower borrows heavily from Shadow of the Colossus—young lad must rescue his beloved from a gruesome fate by felling massive beasts—but you can’t help but think you’ve played a far better version of this game before. Hardcore Japanese RPG fans might forgive some of the glaring flaws here, but Pandora’s Tower certainly won’t have the mass appeal of Team Ico’s 2005 PS2 classic.
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    80
    It's a slightly old-school adventure with a vibe reminiscent of Castlevania (especially the PlayStation 2 sequels). But while those games under-delivered on a compelling world with a consistent structure, Pandora's Tower will draw you in and make you care.
  8. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Pandora´s Tower is a game that takes its time to reveal its own charm and qualities.
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    70
    Solid hack-and-slash mechanics and classic RPG elements for this entertaining action game, that unfortunately is also one of the worst-looking Wii titles up to date.
  10. 70
    While Last Story reflects the emotional and narrative side of H. Sakaguchi, Pandora's Tower is more offensive and closes a large cycle of production for Nintendo Wii.
  11. May 16, 2012
    80
    The release of Pandora's Tower will probably be the last in Nintendo Wii's history. After Xenoblade and The Last Story, the circle is closed, with all the three oriental RPGs out. It may not be equally epic or wonderfully told, but still it's an enjoyable game.
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    60
    Ganbarion went out of its way to craft a title that experiments with interesting ideas. Unfortunately, none of its unique elements are refined enough to be successful, making it impossible for me to cheer for this underdog.
  13. May 15, 2013
    70
    Pandora's Tower is an enjoyable RPG, and if the Affinity thing wasn't involved, I'd easily put this up to the ranks of four stars and beyond. There's a lot of exploring to do, puzzles to solve, and great action that requires serious thinking. The gameplay as well as the presentation are top-shelf. If you can put up with Elena, in either form, you'll find this to be a great action adventure title.
  14. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    What's more yummy than an Action RPG that uses well the recipes of Zelda, Rygar and Castlevania combined? Something that does just that and more, a game that is a surprise for Nintendo, a true mature story of illness and love, a dark, and deep tale wrapped in old-school game design.
  15. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    With an identity of its own, some clever ideas and a well written story, Pandora's Tower can be quite charming. On the downside, some of its gameplay mechanics simply don't work.
  16. May 29, 2012
    50
    Pandora's Tower doesn't offer anything appealing or unique, and is not a Wii title that will find a home with many gamers.
  17. Apr 22, 2013
    85
    Pandora’s Tower may not be remembered as fondly as other games in the Wii’s lineup, and it feels a bit dated right out of the gate, but I couldn’t think of a better third party sendoff for the Wii.
  18. Apr 3, 2012
    81
    Clumsy it may be, but this is the perfect pick-me-up for Wii owners with post-Skyloft blues. [May 2012, p.85]
  19. Apr 15, 2012
    70
    Between well-designed dungeons, thrilling boss battles and a compelling hook in Elena's deteriorating condition, Pandora's Tower is a unique treat for those still loyal to the Wii.
  20. Jun 3, 2012
    70
    A mature RPG that's been suffering from bad technical quality, repeating of the same in-game situations and from the excessively fast monster respawn. If you manage to get over these flaws, you are going to be rewarded with nice gameplay, a well-made motion control system and especially with its emotional story with five different endings.
  21. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    Pandora's Tower is an exciting, chain-swinging race against time to save your beloved from a beastly fate.
  22. May 7, 2013
    72
    Pandora's Tower isn't the best-playing action RPG out there. Its fixed camera and control issues are often quite frustrating. Yet these issues aren't enough to completely outweigh Elena's convincing character.
  23. Apr 23, 2012
    79
    Pandora's Tower got its weaknesses, but the wonderful soundtrack, the grotesque atmosphere and the dynamic relationship with Helena offer a great deal of fun.
  24. 80
    It’s hard to think of another Big N game that has its heroine munching on monster flesh, so here’s hoping that Nintendo recognizes what a fantastic action-roleplaying experience they missed localizing and gives stateside players more of this kind of mature title in the future.
  25. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    There's an overwhelming sense of melancholy and dread as well as a real element of body horror. [July 2012, p.68]
  26. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    Even given the irresistible pull of the narrative, Pandora's Tower isn't quite up to the standard of other recent Wii RPGs. Yet if at times it seems ugly, confused and repetitive, at others it's creative, gripping and wonderfully atmospheric.
  27. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    Ganbarion, the creators of the most famous fighting games on DS, are back with Pandora's Tower, an action-RPG that will seduce those who loves great adventure.
  28. May 1, 2013
    80
    What it does offer, though, is enough to warrant a recommendation, namely its fun dungeons, great bosses, an enjoyable chain-flinging gimmick, and emotional warmth in the relationship between Aeron and Elena.
  29. 80
    Smart and colorful action RPG offers not only a romantic story line but adds innovation in the progressing illness of the main heroine. [June 2012]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    This game is great!If you like the older zelda games like Ocarina of Time, then this is a must buy!It has a great storyline and the gameplay feels really good.This game gives us what Zelda couldn't give us for a long time now.Thank you Ganbarian and Nintendo!!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Aaah, Pandoras Tower. Finally I thought, one of the few games that wasn't a first person shooter.As I walked into the shop and bought the game my brain went all fuzzy as I brushed the lower part of my torso, I had a warm feeling inside me as I inserted the game into my console and started the game.My brother then proceeded to shout "Alien Paedophiles" as he watched Cowboys and Aliens. I told him to shut up and started my intense journey through Pandoras tower. When I finished the game I went and watched Cowboys and Aliens. I then watched some porn and felt that this was a slightly more satisfying experience than Pandoras Tower. The game just doesn't have enough to make me feel like I truly invested my valuable time in to. If only they had spent a little more time on this. But if you like JRPGS then you may want to pick up this game amid a market of similar games Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    I´m quite surprised to see so many mixed review of this game, the story has kept me interested so far (about halfway through) and you get to know more about the world and characters as you go along. graphics and music are some of the best on the wii, while it´s true that the textures are pretty low res, the artstyle easily makes up for it with varied and beautiful enviroments. The gameplay itself might not be as smooth as say Zelda, but it does it´s job well enough with one of the most awesome weapons ever. Highly recommend it. Full Review »