Pandora's Tower Wii

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The victim of a cruel curse, Elena endures a horrific transformation into a grotesque beast. Determined to find a way to cure her, Aeron assumes the Oraclos Chain and plunges into the Thirteen Towers, where truly terrifying monsters await him. The words of their companion Mavda offer themThe victim of a cruel curse, Elena endures a horrific transformation into a grotesque beast. Determined to find a way to cure her, Aeron assumes the Oraclos Chain and plunges into the Thirteen Towers, where truly terrifying monsters await him. The words of their companion Mavda offer them their only hope: within the Thirteen Towers reside the masters, and by consuming their flesh, Elena may escape the curse. This is the tale of the bond between Aeron and Elena, and the promise they make to each other to defeat the curse and be together once again. [Nintendo UK]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    What's more yummy than an Action RPG that uses well the recipes of Zelda, Rygar and Castlevania combined? Something that does just that and more, a game that is a surprise for Nintendo, a true mature story of illness and love, a dark, and deep tale wrapped in old-school game design.
  2. May 22, 2012
    80
    With an excellent time-management mechanic, some great dungeon design and an emotive love story at its heart, Pandora's Tower is an action-RPG well worth checking out.
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    It’s rare to see a compelling hack-and-slash dungeon crawler work as well as Pandora’s Tower, but this game needs to wear its accomplishments proudly. You very well may never go back to your Wii after this transition between console generations.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    78
    Pandora's Tower is an Action RPG with a pleasant love story and a brilliantly smooth battle system. A good game for wii, no doubt.
  5. 70
    In some respects, Pandora's Tower shares similarities with Shadow of the Colossus, and while it doesn't ascend to the high barometer of that game, it is worthy of the comparison.
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    A very solid, fast-paced action romp with islands of greatness in a sea of repetitive combat. Still, there are surprisingly few better Castlevania alternatives on Wii to this day.
  7. May 29, 2012
    50
    Pandora's Tower doesn't offer anything appealing or unique, and is not a Wii title that will find a home with many gamers.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is everything i love about the Wii, i enjoyed it from beginning until end. Aaron & Elena's characters and there relationship wasThis game is everything i love about the Wii, i enjoyed it from beginning until end. Aaron & Elena's characters and there relationship was very heart felt and touching; it makes you want to save from her fate. I thought the story was very well written and understandable; the music and level design where akin to the 3D Zelda title (that's a good thing in my book) .... and finally the endings (especially the final one) are beautiful and close all loose ends. It took me 43 hrs. to complete with the best ending; and I'm glad i purchased this game. This has become my favorite of the 140 games i own on Wii. Expand
  2. May 3, 2013
    10
    If you are a fan of Majoras mask, Castlvania, God of War,Shadow of the Colosuss and JRPGs, your love this game. This a fresh experience thatIf you are a fan of Majoras mask, Castlvania, God of War,Shadow of the Colosuss and JRPGs, your love this game. This a fresh experience that hasn't been replicated for a long time. Its game that invokes a feeling that when you put the controller down and walk away, your compelled to pick it right back up.

    The story is very basic yet well constructed. Without spoiling too much, its about a girl with a curse and a boy who needs to save her by eating flesh of monsters from a tower suspended over a large chasm. The towers hold a larger boss monster at the top called Masters. Each mash holds flesh, and you must feed the girl flesh of Masters to lift her curses. You also have to develop a bond with the girl in order to progress a happy ending.

    The battle mechanic is very robust and rudimentary. its akin to a hack-and-slash game of God of War, darksiders or castlvania. But what i loved most about the battle mechanic is the chain. the Oraclos chain is the center focus in the game. This chain is a secondary side weapons that feels like a primary weapons. Primary weapons are swords, blades, scythes and a Explosion stake. But the way you have to integrate the chain with the environment really brings the depth of the chain into play. you grab, swing, whip, bind, and stab enemies with the chain and work with your primary weopon to rip them apart.

    Each tower acts like a dungeon in Zelda. There are puzzles you have to solve, and equipment you can get. to progress further. But since the girl is curse and the curse gets worse if your not there with her, you cannot stay in the dtowers for long. YES THIS GAME IS TIMED. Its like Majoras Mask, and that you cant take your merry time with the dunsgeon and if you do you'll lose small items. Every time u enter a tower, do one thing first...look for flesh from servents. Servent flesh is like master flesh but only serves to reset the timer. the more "fresher the flesh" the more potent. If ur in a tower and the timer is getting lower, you need to find your way to the exit and feed her the flesh and go back to the tower. it seems annoying but brings a dynamic of urgency. And th thrill gets stronger when you finnaly get to the boss, but ur timer is almost up, but you know it takes longer to trek back to the exitso u fight the boss and nearly beat the clock. I love that feeling.

    Now lets talk about the girl. She's a gold digger...no really she is. You need to shower her in gifts in order to increase your bond with her. She loves undoubtedly and and says the most awkwardly pout lines. its cringe worthy at some times, but can get really heart felt most of the time. She could cook for you, make your inventory bag larger, and make medicne. She also decifers unreadable notes to uncover the lore in the game, a nice touch.

    Buy this game, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    This game has the feel of some great games, Castlevania, ICO and Zelda with the RPGness of Final Fantasy.

    Great Game with good gameplay,
    This game has the feel of some great games, Castlevania, ICO and Zelda with the RPGness of Final Fantasy.

    Great Game with good gameplay, definitely worth a look for fans of those series or anyone with a Wii that wants a new game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Pandora tower looked like a ps3 game in my 1st sight.... After game play , i found that most of the things really good , but the boss fightPandora tower looked like a ps3 game in my 1st sight.... After game play , i found that most of the things really good , but the boss fight really too easy , easy dungeon , weak monster , low level puzzle , but overall it is still a good game for you 0 0 Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    This game is quite ambitious which I think is what will draw you in and allow you to forgive some of the shortcomings. As a Wii title, itThis game is quite ambitious which I think is what will draw you in and allow you to forgive some of the shortcomings. As a Wii title, it stands out as impressive use of almost every function of the controllers without going into useless, annoying "waggle to win" systems. In a lot of ways the mood, art, and gameplay reminds me a lot of Vagrant Story meets Metroid with an Original X concept in there. Game looks beautiful. It's a little cut-scene heavy for my tastes, but they still manage to hold your interest and sorta flesh out this story that is just bananas ambiguity in the first 10 minutes. It's an enjoyable game, with a high concept design scope. I look forward to a pandora's tower 2 or 3 which can maybe streamline some of the world camera work, the control scheme, and a little less watch the story and rather we can PLAY the story. This game really pushes the Wii on every level from gameplay concept, to art design, efficiency and breadth of controller input making ACTUAL use of the nunchuk-wiimote potential in a sensible manner, graphical prowess of the Wii, story-telling. This is one of the few games that ALMOST fully realized the potential of the Wii with minor stumbles. If you own a Wii, you need to play this game. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    An amazing game with fast paced combat, Zelda-like explorations, and much more. The combat may suffer from annoying camera angles and a lackAn amazing game with fast paced combat, Zelda-like explorations, and much more. The combat may suffer from annoying camera angles and a lack of characters which makes the characters repetitive in some sense. The story makes the game feel like a side-story in some way. The bond between Aeron and Elena does bring out the game's potential, especially since the game features 6 separate endings, each one settling with a completely different outcome. Possibly the strongest point of this game would have to be a the Zelda-like structure which combine with a unique gameplay style makes for an amazing experience. Possibly some of the game's best moments are the boss battles which feels like Zelda and Shadow of the Colossus combined. Even after the boss battle I keep on forgetting "this is not a Zelda title, so stop looking around for the heart container and portal out of this dungeon/tower." Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is boring,extremely,Is one Rpg gonna disappoint you from the Beggining from the story until the end, The story isn´t touching,is stupid,or just happen!,

    The gameplay is extremely worse than any rpg i DID EVER See! boring,Linear,Enemies repeat alot the bosses battles are Boring and easy!

    This game is so bland!
    The ONLY good thing! the puzzles are extremely easy!.

    This game is so annoying! is anything else than a RPG
    or one of theses kill monsters with awesome power! Castlevania,Resident evil,Contra or others.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews