Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you can play as Pikachu, Oshawott, Snivy, or Tepig in Pokepark 2: Wonders Beyond.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    75
    PokePark 2 is, more or less, on the same footing as the Dead or Alive Extreme Beach Volleyball games. It's much more kid friendly, of course. But like DOA Extreme Beach Volleyball and Xtreme 2, PokePark 2 is all about playing nice and doing favours (or maybe even "battling") in hopes of acquiring more friends in this world devoid of humans trying to stuff unwitting creatures into Pokeballs.
  2. 70
    Overall, the game looks nice, but there's nothing truly beautiful about it. The gameplay and story are solid, but nothing really stands out.
  3. A decent game, but samey and too like the first title to be a real must-buy. [Apr 2012, p.98]
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    60
    The game is, simply put, harmless. PokéPark 2: Wonder's Beyond is made for kids and has a lot of flaws, but it still has enough good sides. The cute design and great music makes up for the repetitive nature of the game.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    60
    PokéPark 2 suffers from clunky controls and a lack of challenge. Only the young Pokémon fans will overlook that for an overall happy and cuddly game.
  6. Jan 23, 2012
    59
    Pokepark is largely unchanged since the last time we visited. there are a few new attractions, but the same camera and control annoyances. That said, it's still a very hard game to hate. [Jan 2012, p.107]
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    30
    One of the worst introductions to Pokémon - and gaming in general - a small child could suffer. The video games equivalent of corporal punishment.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely amazing game, geared towards kids but still a masterpiece nonetheless. Obviously not a game for everyone, but if you enjoy pokemon, this game will fit right into your collection. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    This game is definitely aimed at the younger Pokemaniacs, but older fans like myself can still get enjoyment out of it if they keep an open mind, it's not as good as the first PokePark game do to looser controls and by just not being as much fun, but it manages to expand on what the first game offered in the way of new content, for instance this time you don't just play as Pikachu but also Tepig, Snivy, and Oshawott after you meet them, and you can switch between them on the fly anytime you want, and you'll need to use each of their special abilities in your adventure, it also adds side-scrolling sections and a few other new features to keep things fresh, it also has some multiplayer attractions to play with so that's also nice, and you'll still be befriending all sorts of Pokemon just like the last game, you also get free roam after the main quest so you can make sure to befriend them all, and it's all adorable do to the cute graphics and world, even the loading screens are adorable, and as a gamer who typically plays more serious and violent games it was nice to spend time in the lighthearted PokePark with some of my favorite Pokemon, I recommend it and I definitely see myself returning in the days to come. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    Although definitly targeted towards kids, PokePark 2 delivered what the original couldn't. Now with 4 different playable characters, better forms of upgrading, a better story and better controls. While there aren't nearly as many Minigames as there was in the original, which makes the making friends part seem a lot less important, it makes up for it in the pretty areas. While the game definitly isn't made for adults, some Pokemon fans could find some enjoyment out of this game, maybe even a gem. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers. ...About this game...yeah, it kinda sucks. I mean...you run around and help out Pokemon and befriend them. But...what's the point in that...Pokemon used to be about battles and being the very best..not befriend Pokemon and battling for the greater good...this game even made Reshiram and Zekrom look bad. I wouldn't let any of my family members play this game...the only good thing about this game is how they put Serperior in it...so I am happy, because I love Grass-types. But...nonetheless...this game kinda sucks...not a good game GameFreak... Collapse
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    I want to be the very best, like no one ever was! To catch them is my real test, to train them is my cause! ...Oh wait this isn't a real Pokemon game. Never mind. Expand