Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure is the first Pokemon adventure game for the Wii.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. 80
    So despite its (extremely) simplistic design, PokePark Wii is technically proficient and amazingly fun for a Pokemaniac like myself.
  2. Anyone who likes Pokémon and wants to engage in the adventure with PokéPark will definitely have a filled day. At times, it is too simple and straightforward, but that is enough fun for especially young fans.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    75
    All in all, PokéPark is a solid title that holds up for a range of gamers. With its well-rounded story, variety of things to do, and hidden features, many gamers will find PokéPark to be a good place to spend some time.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    So while the spectacle of the park exceeds the actual rides, PokePark Wii is still worth checking out if you're a fan of the actual Pokemon themselves and just want a relaxing Pokemon-themed diversion.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    58
    For what it is, PokéPark Wii is an endearing little game that is sure to incite nostalgia in longtime fans of the series.
  6. This Pokemon-themed minigame collection misses the point for anyone other than very young Pikachu fans.
  7. Some Pokémon, then nothing. PokéPark Wii : Pikachu's Adventure only tries to hide its lack of depth behind the pretty faces of two hundreds of Pokémon in the need of entertaining.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Pokepark is a unique game that blends RPG, adventure, and mini-game elements nearly perfectly. There is plenty to do in this game with all of the Pokemon to befriend via skill games and the attraction mini-game events. The game is not very hard and the battles & games can be usually be completed in a few minutes. Some critics have seen that as a negative, but I think it makes it easier to play. You are always close to an opportunity to save if you need to. I am almost completely done with the Friends List, this gameâ Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    Pokepark is a great game, the controls may be difficult if you don't play sideways often, but if once you get used to the controls (very quickly for me) the game gets really fun. Everything flowed together so properly. This game was so fun. I highly recommend this to anyone, even my friends who don't really play Wii, it's a great starter game for people who still have the Wii. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    It's been a while since I was so mesmerized by a game, this is a beautiful game as far as graphics go, and the controls work wonderfully, and there is a lot to occupy your time, from playing mini games, and befriending other Pokemon, and the story is a lot of fun, and it includes an arcade mode that lets you play through the mini games without having to look around for them in the PokePark, and for some reason it reminded me of playing the old Zelda games on the N64, all in all I can't think of a gamer I wouldn't highly recommend this to, it brings back memories of the time when video games took you to another world, and didn't have to have some gimmick to be good, my only complaints are that it's a little repetitive, needs a better camera, and some minor complaints with one or two mini games, but even with those flaws it's still a masterpiece, this is a must own for Wii gamers, just keep in mnd this was meant for younger gamers. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Now, ignoring the retards that believe pokemon is a first-person shooter, *cough KlassicKritic cough* we look at a sensible review. Yes, this is another pokemon game in which you are a pokemon. You have a certain amount of character changeability, however, that only applies to the attractions, not the whole game. However, the graphics are absolutely stunning, considering both the platform and genre. There is a lot to do, and there is some variety in the games you can partake in, however it starts to get repetitive. The story is sound, it's just not going to win an award. The controls work fine, with the occasional glitch that can be frustrating, but it works well for the most part. There are tons of pokemon to be found, and they can be befriended. Then, they can be used to play games for you. (It's a lot better than it sounds) This game is different, and has some replayabilty. It isn't amazingly long, but if you try to befriend every pokemon you'll be at it for a really long time. It is a very fun game, though people over the age of 14 may not be too fond of it. Also, there are plenty of battles, but you can only use thunderbolt, iron tail, and dash into foes. This actually is a really nice touch, and you can even upgrade your moves and make them stronger. This may contradict what I've written, but this game is actually pretty great. It's just as good as mystery dungeon, if not better. (Oh, and the environments are absolutely GORGEOUS) Collapse
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This game is not as bad as it may seem, it actually has a lot of charm. Befriending other Pokemon and playing min games is a lot more fun than it sounds. Expand
  6. May 27, 2013
    7
    I was hoping that a game starring Pikachu would be pretty good one. instead, I played a fairly decent title. The story for the game is very simple. You never get any other twists or turns in the story, it remains the same as you go throughout the game. I do like playing games with simple stories, but this one feels a little too simple, since nothing else happens. the gameplay for this game I'll say is passable. this game has a heavy focus on its mini-games, so important Pokémon aspects, like battling, become such little things. this game really wants you to make new friends in the park and then use them in mini-games. I don't feel that this is natural for a Pokémon game, but I'll let it pass, since this is the first in a spin-off series. the control isn't all that good for the game. moving Pikachu around with the Wiimote sideways gets finicky at times, and I wish the game could have supported other controller options. the soundtrack is ok at best. most tunes are easily forgettable, and even then, each tune ranges from decent to mediocre. the graphics are actually pretty good. each character looks like they've been ripped from the anime into the game, and even has its anime voice actors(who also do a good job). My complaints with the game is repetitiveness, dialogue, and its difficulty. the dialogue can be a bit confusing sometimes, and even in a few cases there are typos in the dialogue, some not even fixed yet. as for repetitiveness, I'm mainly talking about the mini-games that occur when getting new friends. you have to either play tag with them, hide and seek, or battle them. as much as I love to battle in the game, it gets repetitive very easy, as there are about 100 friends to befriend here, and to do these mini-games about 33 times each, no thanks. Lastly, I felt that the game was way too easy. Nintendo obviously wanted to appeal to casual gamers, and that's very evident I this game. Pokémon games should be able to keep their simple nature while giving challenge once in a while. Overall, PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure is a decent game. its simple nature and gameplay can be great for casual gamers, but its difficulty and repetitiveness can be a shut-off to some Pokémon fans. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    5
    This is a CASUAL game. For a CASUAL game, it provides good mini games and reminisces parts of Snap on the N64. If this game had more depth, it would be a better game. For a casual game it is quite good but by no means is this a good game for a game itself. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews