Project Zero 2: Wii Edition Wii

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    73
    Project Zero 2: Wii Edition is an interesting remake but it shows that this survival horror has not aged well. Multiplayer, new endings and little extras. All for new audiences to know Tecmo Koei Japanese terror.
  2. Brown trousers all round, if you don't mind the unwieldy control method. [July 2012, p.102]
  3. Aug 11, 2012
    70
    This Wii version of Project Zero 2 will please fans of horror games, especially those that haven't played the original.
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    It's still a great experience for survival horror fans, although graphics and control could be much better.
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    The Wii version of Project Zero 2 has a good number of interesting changes, but the new control system spoils a quite solid experience. This creepy survival horror aged in a great way and if you'll be able to survive to the Wiimote/Nunchuk combo, you'll have a very good and scary experience.
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Project Zero 2's gameplay is pretty basic throughout and showing its age in areas - although the graphical makeover, bar some dodgy textures, is very good. But with the lights off, it's as spine-tinglingly scary as any game I've played, with some truly haunting moments and gasp-inducing set-pieces delivered as it reaches its disquieting climax.
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    There aren't many games that have you anxious to slide aside a curtain; Project Zero 2: Wii Edition does. It's a fine example of a survival horror game despite some awkward controls and an over-reliance on cut scenes that occasionally break the moment. Even with these problems the tension remains consistently high thanks to its bleak, intriguing plot, an atmosphere that is second to none and excellent presentation.
  8. 70
    Despite its obvious gameplay failings this is still one of the scariest video games ever made, and this Wii edition a surprisingly effective update.
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    65
    If Project Zero 2 remains identical to the version released in 2005 on PS3 regarding its hair-raising universe and its original gameplay, the Wii title won't give the IP a new lease of life. Graphically the same, Project Zero 2: Wii Edition also suffers from bad game controls, the Wiimote clearly better for party-games. It's really infortunate when you know that horror titles are not many on Wii.
  10. Jul 20, 2012
    65
    Project Zero 2 is a functional game, but it's really nothing to write home about. It's a great concept poorly executed and even though it has been slightly updated, it still plays as it did a decade ago.
  11. Jul 5, 2012
    60
    Eight years after its original release, Project Zero 2 still remains a very good survival horror game, far from Resident Evil's shotguns and blessed with a deliciously terrifying atmosphere akin to the best japanese horror movies. Very good storyline, wonderful sound design, and with refreshed visuals, the game could have been a super hit if it wasn't deeply flawed in terms of the control scheme chosent for the Wiimote/Nunchuk couple, which isn't far from being a complete mess.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    El juego que necesitaba la Wii tras Silent Hill, uno de los grandes del terror sin ninguna duda, si te gustanl os survival horrors ni loEl juego que necesitaba la Wii tras Silent Hill, uno de los grandes del terror sin ninguna duda, si te gustanl os survival horrors ni lo pienses, este juego es para ti :D Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    I've played this series since its beginning on the PS2, and I have to say, this never gets old. Awesome ambiance, great graphics (for the WiiI've played this series since its beginning on the PS2, and I have to say, this never gets old. Awesome ambiance, great graphics (for the Wii of course...). The additions they put in this version are quite enjoyable, especially the Haunted House mode (random sounds/apparitions will occur while you hold the A button to walk/open doors, every movement of the wiimote/nunchuk is considered as a sign of fear from you, very funny when you put people who doesn't know the game and afraid of ghosts in front of it). And since I've played it already, I thought I wouldn't be as surprised as the first time, and I was wrong. They added new scenes, scripts, and videos (even compared to the Xbox version, some of them seriously scared the hell out of me). You're not gonna play it like before. Now to the bad things... The first thing you'll notice, is that the controls are awful. You won't play for hours since you'll get a cramp for keeping the wiimote steady so the camera won't go up or down, and even with that you will never get it to look forward correctly. Secondly, Mio and Mayu strangely speak with a British accent... I know that remaking a game eight years after can require making new voice actings. This game doesn't. At least not that way.
    Overall this game sadly isn't a new installment in the series (nor the fourth opus some of us are dying to get and see on our shelves), but since it has the best couple main character-immersion of the original trilogy, you will happily (re)discover this little jewel.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Project Zero 2 was one of the PS2-Games, which I loved and I will never stop loving. It can bee seen as a classic. I was very happy, when IProject Zero 2 was one of the PS2-Games, which I loved and I will never stop loving. It can bee seen as a classic. I was very happy, when I saw Project Zero 2 for the Wii and I bought it right in the moment, when I saw it. The graphics, gameplay and also some features are better than in the PS2-Version. They took some of the gameplay out of Fatal Frame 4: Mask of the Lunar Eclipse (The ghost-hand and the cameraview is behind the charakter from now on for example).
    Not only this game is one of the best Horrorgames for the Nintendo Wii but one of the best Horrorgames of all times. There is one feature added, which was'nt inside Crimson Butterfly for PS2. The Haunted Houses oder "Ghosthouses". This is a bonus added with more gameplay, which is working like a rail-shooter. The maingame mostly was'nt changed, but the changes, that are there (Controls, Graphics, Additional Gameplay Features, etc.) are for the better.
    If you have a Nintendo Wii, I strongly recommend to buy this game!
    Full Review »