Project Zero 2: Wii Edition Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A horror sequel for the Wii.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    With an engrossing story, immersive gameplay, and enough scares to get the heart racing, Project Zero 2: Wii Edition continues the trend of strong Wii releases in 2012 and is the perfect plat du jour after the tasty entrée that was Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    85
    A horror adventure with classic flavour, something we miss in current times. Its story is really interesting and its combat system is great. It also has a great atmosphere, and the game knows how to mantain the player in tension and fear. Although its controls are quite archaic and it has much to improve technically, this is a very recommended game.
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    81
    The Remake has a lot of great improvements, like a better character-design, a more detailed ghost-design and a better graphic-appearance in general. The nightmarish and dark atmosphere is amazing and nearly makes your heart stop. Behind each corner a ghost may attack you and they look horrible and frightening. Unfortunately there are negative aspects as well. The controls for the camera-obscura are awful; the same goes for controlling Mio. This causes a lot of frustration during the game and makes it even harder. The multiplayer seems awkward and unnecessary. All in all a great and shocking horror game with poor controls.
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    One of the most frightening games ever created, period. The Wii version may not have any truly new additions (besides the 3rd person camera), but itʼs a game you must play whichever console you own.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    75
    Project Zero 2: Wii Edition is a state of the art survival horror, and this alone should be enough to tempt the genre's aficionados.
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    It's still a great experience for survival horror fans, although graphics and control could be much better.
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    60
    Eight years after its original release, Project Zero 2 still remains a very good survival horror game, far from Resident Evil's shotguns and blessed with a deliciously terrifying atmosphere akin to the best japanese horror movies. Very good storyline, wonderful sound design, and with refreshed visuals, the game could have been a super hit if it wasn't deeply flawed in terms of the control scheme chosent for the Wiimote/Nunchuk couple, which isn't far from being a complete mess.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Project Zero 2 was one of the PS2-Games, which I loved and I will never stop loving. It can bee seen as a classic. I was very happy, when I saw Project Zero 2 for the Wii and I bought it right in the moment, when I saw it. The graphics, gameplay and also some features are better than in the PS2-Version. They took some of the gameplay out of Fatal Frame 4: Mask of the Lunar Eclipse (The ghost-hand and the cameraview is behind the charakter from now on for example).
    Not only this game is one of the best Horrorgames for the Nintendo Wii but one of the best Horrorgames of all times. There is one feature added, which was'nt inside Crimson Butterfly for PS2. The Haunted Houses oder "Ghosthouses". This is a bonus added with more gameplay, which is working like a rail-shooter. The maingame mostly was'nt changed, but the changes, that are there (Controls, Graphics, Additional Gameplay Features, etc.) are for the better.
    If you have a Nintendo Wii, I strongly recommend to buy this game!
    Collapse
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    El juego que necesitaba la Wii tras Silent Hill, uno de los grandes del terror sin ninguna duda, si te gustanl os survival horrors ni lo pienses, este juego es para ti :D Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    If you're waiting for the game to scare you, you will be disappointed. However, if you like adventure games with horror elements and good story and background, it's worth picking up. I recommend the very first Project Zero though. Even with some improvements (And very good remake), the game is still behind it.

    The best thing about the game is the background, enviroment and the story. While the story does have some silly things, it keeps its interest since it isin't very generic. The Japanese structures make the enviroment feel fresh and it looks nice. The background has a lot of interesting things which keeps the player searching notes and diaries.

    The game does have flaws though. The reason I can't call this game to be scary is due to how easy it is. My main reason of Project Zero 1 being scary is because the encounters were difficult. The player's camera can take special photos which decrease the amount of damage for a while etc, and it's quite easy to dodge attacks. Difficulty made Project Zero 1 even more scary than Amnesia and it made fighting very "fun" from the beginning to the end. The puzzles are a lot more varied now but sadly those are a lot more rare. It's mostly about finding certain keyes, there are only very few proper puzzles. The game does still feel nicely paced though.

    As for the remake, I would call it a good remake. The camera is now better since it's now behind the player instead of acting as a fixed camera. The graphics are very good, but ghosts don't really look scary due to their more realistic look. More blurried and less human like ghosts felt better and gave more horror look for the game. The player can now escape ghosts' attacks by shaking the Wiimote, making it even easier than the original version. The remake has also added Haunted House mode. It has good idea: doing something very simple like holding "A" button and try to avoid moving Wiimote too much and maybe taking snapshots of specific thingswhile at it. Unfortunately there isin't really anything scary; ghosts just appear and act like they try to attack you, objects drop, or weird sounds appear.

    Even though this game has taken few steps back compared to the first Project Zero, it's still very entertaining experience and I recommend buying it. Just don't expect chill touches for your horror entertaiment.
    Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    I've played this series since its beginning on the PS2, and I have to say, this never gets old. Awesome ambiance, great graphics (for the Wii of course...). The additions they put in this version are quite enjoyable, especially the Haunted House mode (random sounds/apparitions will occur while you hold the A button to walk/open doors, every movement of the wiimote/nunchuk is considered as a sign of fear from you, very funny when you put people who doesn't know the game and afraid of ghosts in front of it). And since I've played it already, I thought I wouldn't be as surprised as the first time, and I was wrong. They added new scenes, scripts, and videos (even compared to the Xbox version, some of them seriously scared the hell out of me). You're not gonna play it like before. Now to the bad things... The first thing you'll notice, is that the controls are awful. You won't play for hours since you'll get a cramp for keeping the wiimote steady so the camera won't go up or down, and even with that you will never get it to look forward correctly. Secondly, Mio and Mayu strangely speak with a British accent... I know that remaking a game eight years after can require making new voice actings. This game doesn't. At least not that way.
    Overall this game sadly isn't a new installment in the series (nor the fourth opus some of us are dying to get and see on our shelves), but since it has the best couple main character-immersion of the original trilogy, you will happily (re)discover this little jewel.
    Expand