Punch-Out!! Wii

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 86
  2. Negative: 5 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Excellent graphics. Fun gameplay. One of the best on Wii!!! Little Mac is back and this time he's fighting some new characters. This is a worthy sequel in the punch out series with many nationalities to fight. German. Italian. Spanish. Glass Joe etc. etc. kind of short game but supports the wii remote rather well.
  2. BrockJ.
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    It's as good as a Punch-Out! game can be without Mike Tyson. They do make them like they used to. The motion controls are perfect, and it's also great with the balance board and the classic NES controls! Anyone who wants to play a great Wii game should pick this up, anyone who is a fan of the series MUST pick this up!
  3. EvanB.
    May 19, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game that brings out the old and the new in a Nintendo franchise. Nintendo should continue to do this in the future! Playing through all 13 characters twice adds to the replayability of Punch-Out!! It's like having 26 fighters because of how new and fresh the second time around is! Highly recommended.
  4. ShawnD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This game brings me back to those carefree days when I had to leave the NES on all night to "save" my progress right before Mr. Sandman. I'm so glad they didn't try to add too many frills to the controls. I'm very impressed that the boxers speak their native language, too!
  5. johnv
    May 19, 2009
    10
    Its a great game with pretty good motion control, a lot of difficulty, pretty good multiplayer and enough stuff in the game to play for hours and hours. also it brings back good memories.
  6. DanL
    May 27, 2009
    9
    Instantly nostalgic. Punchout!! is more about strategy and problem solving than it appears to be on the surface. The developers relate the game to a puzzler more than a fighter and I wholeheartedly agree. Punchout!! does little different from the original, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I think older gamers, like myself, forget just how old the original Punchout is. There is an Instantly nostalgic. Punchout!! is more about strategy and problem solving than it appears to be on the surface. The developers relate the game to a puzzler more than a fighter and I wholeheartedly agree. Punchout!! does little different from the original, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I think older gamers, like myself, forget just how old the original Punchout is. There is an entire generation of gamers who have never seen an NES in person, let alone played one. For them, this game is an exciting new experience. It may not be a new experience for gamers like me, but it's still every bit as exciting. Punchout will frustrate you to no end at points, but that is part of the beauty. Discovering the trick to a one shot knock down or the pattern to avoiding a boxer's attacks provides an overwhelming sense of accomplishment that very few games can emulate these days. All in all, Punchout does enough to make it worth playing over the SNES version, but it sticks close enough to the roots to avoid ruining what made the originals so great. Expand
  7. HansH
    May 19, 2009
    10
    This is how you revive a classic franchise. Brilliant visuals, insanely (yet fun) difficulty , and tons of character make this a must-own. Little Mac is back with a vengeance and Wii, my old friend, you have truly arrived tanks to this modern day classic.
  8. Calebh
    May 22, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. I can't believe how great of a job the developers did in bringing the old game into a new, exciting experience. I really enjoy playing the game - as well as soaking in the nostalgia from my childhood. It's perfect.
  9. JoradT
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This is easily the best Wii game this year so (even exceeding Little King's Story) however there could be a couple of minor improvements. As far as graphics go they are stunning, cell shaded and beautiful. The animations are wacky yet smooth and the characters are full of personality. The soundtrack is awsome and I especially like Disco Kid's and King Hippo's themes. I also This is easily the best Wii game this year so (even exceeding Little King's Story) however there could be a couple of minor improvements. As far as graphics go they are stunning, cell shaded and beautiful. The animations are wacky yet smooth and the characters are full of personality. The soundtrack is awsome and I especially like Disco Kid's and King Hippo's themes. I also liked how each character spoke in their native tongue (though subtitles would've been appreciated). The gameplay is fantastic. It isn't a boxing game as such but more arcade with a hint of strategy. You have to learn each characters techniques and using dodges and blocks find a way to counter and win. It all works flawlessly and as you get better you find newer, faster ways to beat down your opponents. The multiplayer mode, whilst still pretty fun, is no where near as fun and addictive as the single player mode and some Wifi would've been nice. But beggars can't be choosers and it's still a fantastic experience. As far as difficulty and length goes, at first it seems easy. Beating the first 13 opponents all in all won't take too long. However after that you have to face them all AGAIN and they are all much harder. However even here overall the story mode will last around 7 or 8 hours. But there is the hardest part of all. The Exibition mode. This allows you to fight off against the characters you have fought in the Career mode however you have three challenges to complete, each requiring you to learn the moves of the opponent back to front before you can beat them. Overall the game is awesome. It offers a great challenge and will last for ages due to it's massive replay value. Both newcomers and nostalgic Punch Out fans will adore it!! Expand
  10. DME
    Jul 24, 2012
    10
    The visuals are beautiful, animations are a lot of fun to watch, and the stereotypical voice acting can be hilarious. And on top of all that, the controls are near-perfect, every battle feels significantly different, and the bonus exhibition challenges will give diehards a run for their money. My Nintendo Wii has been collecting dust on my shelf every since I invested in an Xbox 360, butThe visuals are beautiful, animations are a lot of fun to watch, and the stereotypical voice acting can be hilarious. And on top of all that, the controls are near-perfect, every battle feels significantly different, and the bonus exhibition challenges will give diehards a run for their money. My Nintendo Wii has been collecting dust on my shelf every since I invested in an Xbox 360, but Punch Out was the game that brought me back. Highly recommended. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    Although there could be a few things improved about this game, it overall succeeds very much. Punch-Out is less about fighting and more about timing compared to other boxing games. The system works well, and the game is BY FAR the best played with the Wii Remote held on its side. The number of fighters is underwhelming, and there is only one new boss (plus an awesome secret one). The gameAlthough there could be a few things improved about this game, it overall succeeds very much. Punch-Out is less about fighting and more about timing compared to other boxing games. The system works well, and the game is BY FAR the best played with the Wii Remote held on its side. The number of fighters is underwhelming, and there is only one new boss (plus an awesome secret one). The game looks great and is very funny. There is also a stupid multiplayer mode where both players are Little Mac and can turn into Giga Mac! Yeah, not very awesome. Punch-Out is a superb Wii game and a must-have to anyone who has enjoyed Punch-Out games in the past. Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Punch-Out!! For Wii - One Line Review!

    Good challenge, not too hard, great retro feel - A lot of fun, the option to play with the nuchuck/balance board is a lot of fun too - the graphics and presentation are awesome! Check it out - http://www.punchout.com/
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    A fantastic remake to one of the greatest video games on the NES and is actually better than the original to me with much more addicting gameplay than the original
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    First I should say I never played the original Punch Out games back in the day. I've tried one on the NES since beating the Wii version, and it's a blast. That said, the Wii game is far superior. Its style and animations are amazing and very fun to watch. The characters are also more fleshed out and given personalities, often based on stereotypes from whatever country you opponentFirst I should say I never played the original Punch Out games back in the day. I've tried one on the NES since beating the Wii version, and it's a blast. That said, the Wii game is far superior. Its style and animations are amazing and very fun to watch. The characters are also more fleshed out and given personalities, often based on stereotypes from whatever country you opponent hails from. I still love how the weakest opponent was the Frenchman... Of course, the most important element is the gameplay, and that's where this game really shines. Memorizing the pattern of your opponent's attacks and swiftly dodging to fire off a punch of your own is fun and satisfying, and gets pretty challenging later in the game. In fact, this game proved to be one of the most difficult games I've played on this generation, and that's really saying something seeing as how many games I've played. One problem I had with this game was the controls. I chose to use the Wii remote and nunchuk, punching the air to fell my rivals. Though the motion controls were never misread, there seemed to be slight lag between the controller and system. It was fraction-of-a-second lag, but in a game where timing is everything, it could be frustrating. To be fair, it wasn't the Wii's fault; it was just the lag that comes with wireless controllers. You wouldn't notice it in most games, but it can appear to be glaring in Punch Out! This whole issue can be circumvented by using a wired Gamecube remote, however, and therefore isn't all that bad. This game is awesome. Everyone should play it at least once to experience its simple but oh-so-enjoyable gameplay and eccentric characters. Expand
  15. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Punch-Out!! for Wii is awesome, plain and simple. Every match is intense, every victory is satisfying, and every defeat acts as a learning experience. Your hands will sweat and your nerves will kick in late into intensely difficult matches as you try to best your opponent.
    It's a great game. Highly recommended.
  16. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The Game involves a lot of challenges to overcome along with a superb story and an awesome wii controls. This game also causes a lot of Exercise.
    This is one of my Favourte wii Games Highly Recommended for Wii Owners.
  17. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Punch-Out Wii is a game anyone who has a Wii U or Wii should have, It's lighthearted humor and fast paced action are what makes this game shine, not only that, but Nintendo did a wonderful job integrating the Wii's motion controls into the game. Even though i stick with the classic controls, anyone who loves motion controls will love this game. The only disappointing thing about Punch-OutPunch-Out Wii is a game anyone who has a Wii U or Wii should have, It's lighthearted humor and fast paced action are what makes this game shine, not only that, but Nintendo did a wonderful job integrating the Wii's motion controls into the game. Even though i stick with the classic controls, anyone who loves motion controls will love this game. The only disappointing thing about Punch-Out Wii is its lackluster multiplayer, but other than that, Punch-Out Wii is a must-have game for your Wii collection! Expand
  18. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is without a doubt the best wii game next to wii sports. If you have a wii pick this up as soon as you can. It stays with the classic nes controls and characters. The game also includes DK himself if you beat every character twice. Just stop reading this and pick the damn game up already! Expand
  19. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This is the 2nd best Wii game, no question. Just behind Brawl. Very reminiscent of the NES and SNES titles. There are no issues with this game. Buy it.
  20. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    This game is a good game. I haven't played it in AGES though... Last played: probably 2012. The graphics are awesome. The controls are mediocre but okay... The character designs are well done. This game Punch Out for Wii is a Nintendo Select and is usually $20 USD or less, or probably around $30 Canadian Dollars (Never been there, so don't know. Closest place to Canada I lived in: BoxThis game is a good game. I haven't played it in AGES though... Last played: probably 2012. The graphics are awesome. The controls are mediocre but okay... The character designs are well done. This game Punch Out for Wii is a Nintendo Select and is usually $20 USD or less, or probably around $30 Canadian Dollars (Never been there, so don't know. Closest place to Canada I lived in: Box Elder, South Dakota and don't try to hunt me down there because I don't live there anymore.) and if it is cheaper, it is DEFINITELY wourth it. I recommend this game EVEN though I haven't played it in ages. Be aware: Defeated opponents are looking for a rematch, coming back to haunt you. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. The folks at Next Level Games have created an amazing title that has made the 15 years since Super Punch-Out!! quite worthwhile. [June 2009, p.88]
  2. So many things could have gone horribly wrong, but the core single-player experience gets everything right. [June 2009, p.87]
  3. 100
    While Punch Out!! makes for an entertaining enough solitary experience, the back-seat driving aspect makes it positively shine as a party game. There's nothing quite like having a few friends over, passing the controller around, shouting advice, and just generally bonding over some hilarious, bloodless violence.