User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 74
  2. Negative: 5 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DME
    Jul 24, 2012
    10
    The visuals are beautiful, animations are a lot of fun to watch, and the stereotypical voice acting can be hilarious. And on top of all that, the controls are near-perfect, every battle feels significantly different, and the bonus exhibition challenges will give diehards a run for their money. My Nintendo Wii has been collecting dust on my shelf every since I invested in an Xbox 360, but Punch Out was the game that brought me back. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    Although there could be a few things improved about this game, it overall succeeds very much. Punch-Out is less about fighting and more about timing compared to other boxing games. The system works well, and the game is BY FAR the best played with the Wii Remote held on its side. The number of fighters is underwhelming, and there is only one new boss (plus an awesome secret one). The game looks great and is very funny. There is also a stupid multiplayer mode where both players are Little Mac and can turn into Giga Mac! Yeah, not very awesome. Punch-Out is a superb Wii game and a must-have to anyone who has enjoyed Punch-Out games in the past. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Excellent graphics. Fun gameplay. One of the best on Wii!!! Little Mac is back and this time he's fighting some new characters. This is a worthy sequel in the punch out series with many nationalities to fight. German. Italian. Spanish. Glass Joe etc. etc. kind of short game but supports the wii remote rather well.
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Punch-Out!! For Wii - One Line Review!

    Good challenge, not too hard, great retro feel - A lot of fun, the option to play with the nuchuck/balance board is a lot of fun too - the graphics and presentation are awesome! Check it out - http://www.punchout.com/
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    A fantastic remake to one of the greatest video games on the NES and is actually better than the original to me with much more addicting gameplay than the original
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    First I should say I never played the original Punch Out games back in the day. I've tried one on the NES since beating the Wii version, and it's a blast. That said, the Wii game is far superior. Its style and animations are amazing and very fun to watch. The characters are also more fleshed out and given personalities, often based on stereotypes from whatever country you opponent hails from. I still love how the weakest opponent was the Frenchman... Of course, the most important element is the gameplay, and that's where this game really shines. Memorizing the pattern of your opponent's attacks and swiftly dodging to fire off a punch of your own is fun and satisfying, and gets pretty challenging later in the game. In fact, this game proved to be one of the most difficult games I've played on this generation, and that's really saying something seeing as how many games I've played. One problem I had with this game was the controls. I chose to use the Wii remote and nunchuk, punching the air to fell my rivals. Though the motion controls were never misread, there seemed to be slight lag between the controller and system. It was fraction-of-a-second lag, but in a game where timing is everything, it could be frustrating. To be fair, it wasn't the Wii's fault; it was just the lag that comes with wireless controllers. You wouldn't notice it in most games, but it can appear to be glaring in Punch Out! This whole issue can be circumvented by using a wired Gamecube remote, however, and therefore isn't all that bad. This game is awesome. Everyone should play it at least once to experience its simple but oh-so-enjoyable gameplay and eccentric characters. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Punch-Out!! for Wii is awesome, plain and simple. Every match is intense, every victory is satisfying, and every defeat acts as a learning experience. Your hands will sweat and your nerves will kick in late into intensely difficult matches as you try to best your opponent.
    It's a great game. Highly recommended.
  8. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The Game involves a lot of challenges to overcome along with a superb story and an awesome wii controls. This game also causes a lot of Exercise.
    This is one of my Favourte wii Games Highly Recommended for Wii Owners.
  9. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Punch-Out Wii is a game anyone who has a Wii U or Wii should have, It's lighthearted humor and fast paced action are what makes this game shine, not only that, but Nintendo did a wonderful job integrating the Wii's motion controls into the game. Even though i stick with the classic controls, anyone who loves motion controls will love this game. The only disappointing thing about Punch-Out Wii is its lackluster multiplayer, but other than that, Punch-Out Wii is a must-have game for your Wii collection! Expand
  10. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is without a doubt the best wii game next to wii sports. If you have a wii pick this up as soon as you can. It stays with the classic nes controls and characters. The game also includes DK himself if you beat every character twice. Just stop reading this and pick the damn game up already! Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This is the 2nd best Wii game, no question. Just behind Brawl. Very reminiscent of the NES and SNES titles. There are no issues with this game. Buy it.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. The folks at Next Level Games have created an amazing title that has made the 15 years since Super Punch-Out!! quite worthwhile. [June 2009, p.88]
  2. So many things could have gone horribly wrong, but the core single-player experience gets everything right. [June 2009, p.87]
  3. 100
    While Punch Out!! makes for an entertaining enough solitary experience, the back-seat driving aspect makes it positively shine as a party game. There's nothing quite like having a few friends over, passing the controller around, shouting advice, and just generally bonding over some hilarious, bloodless violence.