Rampage: Total Destruction Wii

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2016
    6
    I actually kind of like this game. It's not perfect by any stretch. It's repetitive and limited but I still kind of like it. It isn't great but it isn't terrible either. Do not buy this game just because of this review. There are many people who dislike this game. You might be one of them so make sure you figure it out before purchasing.
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    5
    The game started out pretty fresh and fun, however it quickly turned into something rather boring. The game is repetitive at times and there is hardly any challenge at all. Nevertheless, while it lasts, the game is slightly enjoyable, just not anything you’d play for more than a couple of hours.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Without question, Midway could have done better. Total Destruction follows the Rampage pattern, letting you take out your bad day aggressions on all manner of architecture. The new gameplay mode is visually arresting and very engaging, but suffers from serious gameplay issues. The control schema applied to Total Destruction is sorely lacking in user friendliness; many moves require obscureWithout question, Midway could have done better. Total Destruction follows the Rampage pattern, letting you take out your bad day aggressions on all manner of architecture. The new gameplay mode is visually arresting and very engaging, but suffers from serious gameplay issues. The control schema applied to Total Destruction is sorely lacking in user friendliness; many moves require obscure button combinations or other movements, and the ability to tell the game exactly what you want to do is, in many cases, absent. The most you can do is suggest. Perhaps the most serious fault, however, lies in the game's "3D" depth-based game maps. Where previous versions of Rampage had one row of buildings in greater or lesser width, Total Destruction creates a three-dimensional "block" of buildings, with more buildings to destroy behind those in front. The problem comes in when you try to selectively attack structures; most of the time, you will not start climbing or beating on the right building. Similarly, attempting to counterattack when under fire from the military is haphazard at best. Now, on the plus side, someone at Midway was bright enough to include the previous versions of Rampage on the disc, and even the classic arcade Rampage looks and plays great on the Wii, even in multiplayer. In short, buy the game for the legacy versions, and give Total Destruction a try...just expect it to be more work and less entertaining than the installments you love from years gone by. Collapse
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    My god this game is boring. Words can not describe how utterly boring this boring game is. There is nothing I can say about this game other than boring. Or maybe ugly.
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    You know it is pretty bad when a game has nothing to offer at all crappy gameplay, except for the arcade game which is better than the actual game, thats pretty bad
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    This game was awesome i loved it, this game is ultra fun and is packed with all kinds of entertainment.
    This game had me going to the point where i was playing it for hours to come, once again awesome game!!!
  7. ShawnP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    I thought Rampage was a blast to play multi-player. While it may not be a big improvement on previous versions, it made decent use of the Wii remote and is good considering its one of the earlier games to come out for Wii.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Jun 9, 2007
    5
    It's a decent game, but it tires quickly. After a while I just got bored of smashing buildings. I do like the new monsters and all the little "extras," but it would be more fun if there were specific powers for each monster. I do like being able to show my kids the original for kicks.
  9. TedC.
    Apr 4, 2007
    8
    In spite of the majority of the reviews, this is a fun game to play. The Wii version could have used a little more polish before it's release, but in my opinion, it fully captures the spirit of the old arcade classics. It's not for everyone, but if you need a quick dose of mindless destruction, this is your game.
  10. GrahamB.
    Mar 3, 2007
    7
    This game is mindless fun. It's entire premise isn't complex, there's no deep storyline, it's 'smash things up', and there are plenty of times in life when you need such a game. It is great fun in multiplayer too. The graphics may be rather primitive and the gameplay repetitive, and it's not hard multiplayer either, but it certainly rates higher than This game is mindless fun. It's entire premise isn't complex, there's no deep storyline, it's 'smash things up', and there are plenty of times in life when you need such a game. It is great fun in multiplayer too. The graphics may be rather primitive and the gameplay repetitive, and it's not hard multiplayer either, but it certainly rates higher than many of the official reviews. Don't pay more than £20 for it - as I write this it is £18 in Asda, and £15 on Amazon. You'll get your money's worth, especially with a couple of mates around. Expand
  11. Jory
    Mar 2, 2007
    4
    I wish I'd read the reviews before purchasing this title. At least it wasn't expensive. Midway really missed the boat in utilizing the Wii's controls, especially if you try the game using the Wii Remote without a nunchuk. (A bad idea. Don't try.) At least they provided the original version, so the purchase wasn't a total loss.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Feb 25, 2007
    8
    Despite the critics, I think this game is fun. New punch/destruction moves the original didn't have that you really get into. In my opinion noting feels better than swooping up a cop car and throwing it at a building, and that's exactly what you do.
  13. RogerK.
    Feb 21, 2007
    8
    I found this game to be a fun game. One of that games that you can just chill out and play, not actually thinking about what you're doing or trying too hard. Fun to play for a bit now and then.
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Without question, Midway could have done better. Total Destruction follows the Rampage pattern, letting you take out your bad day aggressions on all manner of architecture. The new gameplay mode is visually arresting and very engaging, but suffers from serious gameplay issues. The control schema applied to Total Destruction is sorely lacking in user friendliness; many moves require obscureWithout question, Midway could have done better. Total Destruction follows the Rampage pattern, letting you take out your bad day aggressions on all manner of architecture. The new gameplay mode is visually arresting and very engaging, but suffers from serious gameplay issues. The control schema applied to Total Destruction is sorely lacking in user friendliness; many moves require obscure button combinations or other movements, and the ability to tell the game exactly what you want to do is, in many cases, absent. The most you can do is suggest. Perhaps the most serious fault, however, lies in the game's "3D" depth-based game maps. Where previous versions of Rampage had one row of buildings in greater or lesser width, Total Destruction creates a three-dimensional "block" of buildings, with more buildings to destroy behind those in front. The problem comes in when you try to selectively attack structures; most of the time, you will not start climbing or beating on the right building. Similarly, attempting to counterattack when under fire from the military is haphazard at best. Now, on the plus side, someone at Midway was bright enough to include the previous versions of Rampage on the disc, and even the classic arcade Rampage looks and plays great on the Wii, even in multiplayer. In short, buy the game for the legacy versions, and give Total Destruction a try...just expect it to be more work and less entertaining than the installments you love from years gone by. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
  1. Shoehorning in the most basic of Wii motion-sensing controls isn't enough to make a clunky, repetitive game like Rampage fun--if anything, it just makes it more annoying.
  2. Nintendo Power
    65
    Bigger doesn't necessarily mean better. [jan. 2007, p.106]
  3. There is still something incredibly satisfying about beating your buddy up until he shrinks down to a little naked person and then eating him for lunch.