• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2010
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 172

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2011
    8
    This is the video game equivalent of a B-movie...but a really, really fun one. Essentially unrelated to the first game, this has on-the-fly switching between swordfighting with the Wii Remote and shooting with various guns, sometimes even within the same combo. This doesn't really get old! Story is basically nonexistent, but if you're here you should be here for the fast, arcade-y action and upgradeables. Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    4
    I bought this game with high hopes, and after the first 30 minutes or so, thought it was brilliant. Sadly the shine soon wore off. The problem was that it was so repetitive. You essentially play the same 3 or 4 missions over and over again. Learn a move, collect, kill, move on.
    There are loads of weapons, upgrades and techniques you can get, but you never really get any time to enjoy
    anything in comparison to what you had previously.
    Another thing that annoyed me was the "point of no return" bits. Why? Why can't I return? The area is tiny, with about 4 sections, with each section being a street.
    There are only 4 kinds of enemies as well. Easy, medium, hard and boss - essentially - with no break in repetition. Why are there so many weapons and sword techniques when by 2 hours in you have figured out how to kill everything effectively?
    Also, the majority of the secret techniques you get taught don't actually work on the bosses - so why learn them? They only work on the grunts and low-rankers, and you can kill them just by mindlessly swinging your remote from side to side.
    Why can't I buy ammo when I need it (I never, ever find JohnnyGun ammo), rather than endlessly walking in a circle through the tiny hub looking for yet more crates?
    Another thing that irritated me is the fact that the wii motion plus doesn't really seem to add much. You only use if for sword fighting, and within that, the only time it matter is when blocking or breaking blocks, and you can just switch your style from horizontal to vertical by holding B, so why do you need it? If anything it just complicates matters.
    In a game where, pre-release, the main hype was about how awesome the combat was going to be, why did they make it so repetitive?

    The only things I genuinely like about this game are the concept (cowboy samurai things), the graphics and, I suppose, the story.
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    This is a shooter like no other. I'm not saying it's better or worse than, say, Call of Duty, or Halo, it's just different. Everything about it is different. Unlike the vast majority of other first person shooters, your not a soldier, but something more unique than that. You are an outcast, who wields the sora katana, the most powerful sword that ever existed. Eventually you will discover the powers of the sword, which adds to the gameplay. Your wii remote is a sword. This isn't Zelda where you flick you wrist a little to swing your sword, you have to swing your sword like a sword. The harder you swing the more damage you do. You also get a revolver, which you to upgrade, and you can buy other guns, like a shotgun, but you can't upgrade these. This game is very short. It took four days to beat it twice. The story is okay, but that's not why you playing. At least I hope not. The story isn't anything special but the cutscenes are sure to make you feel like a badass. This is a game for the gamer who is dying inside because there isn't many good shooters out there for the wii. Well here you go. Expand
  4. DME
    Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Red Steel 2 lacks variety. It's basically the same game all the way through. But even so, I had a ton of fun with it. The motion+ works great. I love the ability to switch from gun to sword and back to gun in seconds! It's cool. The futuristic-desert-western-comic-style graphics are appealing. The only things that I didn't like about this title is the short single player mode and the lack of replay value. Definitly worth renting. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    The best thing about this game is the top-drawer combat. Precise motion control's mean thanks to the accuracy, even without the gore, Red Steel 2 is a brutal game. The soundtrack is brilliant too, atmospheric Western tunes and some lovely cel-shaded graphics. While the rest of it is't particularl smart, generic enemies and generic, but well done, areas. One of the finest FPS's on Wii, and one of the finest combat systems too. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Overall, Red Steel 2 is a great game. The motion controls work well and the combat is satisfying. The graphics are very good and the voice acting is good too. But it has a few bugs that can get in the way of the fun.
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    6
    Red Steel 2 showcases some good ideas and the potential for a great game, but falls well short. It was released in a bare-bones state, arguably unfinished, and definitely unpolished. Some copies contain serious bugs that can break save data and require chapter resets, wiping out an hour or more of progress. Essentially the main character of this game is a samurai gunslinger who was banished wrongfully from his clan and is now on a quest for revenge when he learns that another clan has killed all of his former clansmen. Why did they do this? They want the mythical katana held by his clan for generations, which he carries. That's about all you'll get as setup for RS2, and the game is sparse even with the basics. There is no development for characters, no changing motivations, and only three NPCs. These NPCs are never developed in any meaningful way - even at the end of the game you'll hardly know who they are, and care little about them. So as far as story and character goes, the story is never elaborated on past the very basic premise, and the game is essentially one big ghost town. There is no one to care about or interact with. It's hard to shake the feeling that this entire layer of the game was planned but cut during development. The presentation of the game is well done, with strongly honed aesthetics and a nice progression of desert environments (it is a Western, albeit a Samurai Western with some technology thrown in). However, the levels themselves are weighed down by three awful design choices. First, there's no overworld map, and the game badly needs one. Second, there is the illusion of exploration, but in fact the progression requires a linear approach that's reminiscent of the 8-bit NES days. In other words, despite the choice to wander around, things must be done in an exact order. The game uses green arrows on the minimap to guide you around, and the game is best played following the arrows. It's odd, because you'd never follow these paths by any natural means. There are doorways everywhere, but you can never interact with them until the relevant objective opens up. The main issue with the levels, though, is that they are filled with generic junk. Crates, barrels, phone booths, vending machines, and inexplicable lockers of some sort - these are scattered about and one of the main means of obtaining cash if breaking random junk. It gets old fast. There is never anything new to find. A safe found in the first 20 minutes of play will contain the same gold bars as a safe found in the last 20 minutes - because the developer created may 10 pieces of junk and populated every single level with them. There's no sense of place and no reason why this crap would be so ubiquitous. There's certainly no explanation why for you find money by slashing open garbage bags and the like - it's the Zelda principle of money-making, but far dumber. The the levels are weighed down by forced and unnatural linearity, ubiquitous and generic junk, and a complete absence of interaction with objects or people. So what doesn't suck about this game? Well, the combat is pretty slick and upgrading your character is fun (and clearly inspired by RE4). That's really what it comes down to. It's a pretty game to look at, plays at a reasonable pace if you beeline from A to B, and has a good variety of swordplay and gunplay. Even here, though, there are major annoyances, and signs that the game was released in an "workable" state, but only just. For example, near the end of the game, there's no indication that you've encountered a shop for the last time. So you can enter the final level having no idea that you should have just spent every penny you had - and there's no way to back this up. Even more bizarre, the final level is filled with hidden money stashes that are completely unusable. The final boss is also identical to the midboss from hours earlier, so of course he's much easier - a total joke at that point, killable in less than a minute, without expending much ammo or taking any damage. And then the game ends - literally with a tacked on "the end" screen. The game features a "challenge" mode that is a basically a non-functional save+ mode. You can't play more than one chapter a time, tutorials are still required, and money from the endgame is lost, and upgrades are still parceled out in the original order even though you have more or all of them. It's not worth more than a quick look. Red Steel 2 would have been a promising launch title for the Wii. As is, it's barely playable. You'll get some fun hours out of this but only if you speed through and don't expect any lasting value or depth. It's pure rental fluff, all potential and no follow-through. Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Red Steel 2, a game which is a sequel only in name to one of the first Wii shooters which got 'meh' reviews. I only briefly played the multiplayer of the first one, so it doesn't really count. Red Steel 2 is a game that feels like it benefited from a longer development cycle. The game has style. No doubts about that. It takes some wild west, mixes it with ninjas, samurai and Japanese lore and throws some steam and cyberpunk in. Story is pretty basic, but there's no complaints about it. You're the last of your kind, learn the secrets of your clan and go for revenge! The story severs as a backbone to take you to different locations, which sadly don't quite leave the Wild West/Japanese style. There's no radical winter level or evergreen forest level. Game play wise Red Steel 2 is the best sword fighter game on the market. The game also has a wonderful shooting aspect to it and the sword and gun play flow seamlessly together. The game feels like it was heavily inspired by Metroid Prime, especially the last chapter 3: Corruption with it's shooting and some puzzles.s Re While Prime 3 had a lot more variety of puzzled Steel 2 does a good job of taking hints on how to make FPS or FPA work on the Nintendo Wii. Red Steel 2 also takes the loading doors from the Prime series as well, but whatever, it works. The game does have a few weak points, some of the missions feel very similar in style. It's usually Get To Point A, but you have to go to Point B and unlock/cut/something to there first. While on the way be on the look out for safes to crack, wanted posters to destroy and random encounters. The game also has several hidden tokens to find and shoot, but doesn't tell you how many there are. There's also no New Game + option where you could start again with all your upgrades, thus making money hunting in the last level completely useless because there's no shops at all. The game also gives you a list of all the moves you've learnt.. but doesn't tell you how to pull them off or gives you a place to practice them. The dojo would have been perfect for this.
    Overall with an additional 3 weeks (or less!) of development to put those last couple of complaints could have made this game a solid A, but as it is, it's still a solid B, lots of fun, great use of the motion controls and style.
    Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Still the game that best proves that Nintendo's motion system does indeed work. It's not just flopping around your WiiMote anymore, this time around you actually need to swing it the right way to make it work. There are enough upgrades, collectibles and things to see to keep you interested, and combined with the great art style it makes for a very good game. One of the few remarks is that the game is short (I'm thinking around 8 hours), but by now I've played through it three times, and it hasn't bored me once. Expand
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    this game is very good in every aspect, sound..visuals..gameplay........but the ultra energetic action really shines here, its like 1st person zelda(well, far more simplistic) but more realistic and adult oriented, even if theres no blood at all (shame).............minor control issues dont really matter as the game is so intense and enjoyable .......must have
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Now. I was super excited for this particular game. First time I played it. I loved it, it was great. I have played it though a second time now and am ready to make a fair review. Red Steel 2's opening is fact paced, the music sets the scene and it shows off the games artistic visual style. The shooting is allot more precise with wii motion plus and the sword swings are great fun after you go through the tedious process of being taught them. The story is interesting but I wish it was more prominent and there were more characters. The boss fights are challenging and fun. My complaint is the setting never really changes, and desert scenery gets boring and bland. Red steel 1 was more diverse with different buildings around the city, you would go to a neon lit pole dancing club for one mission and a Japanese garden in another. The other problem is there is only a few different enemy types. A final problem is that I have hurt my wrist money farming in this game on two occasions. Overall a good game, but not as great as it could be. Expand
  12. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    The original Red Steel was a wii launch title that did not live up to the expected, the developers of this game took that concept out and started from scratch, they managed then to create something special, something that is worth playing in the wii because there is no other game in any platform like this. The develpoers first of all managed to create a unique environment, combining cultural things of the far west and the far east with futuristic technology which give you something great. Something to mention when talking about how this game looks is the graphics, the wii is not great for graphics but this game looks great. The cell-shaded graphics are great and give you more immersion in your surroundings, I believe this graphics are just wonderful and get quite close to the graphic level of games like borderlands. Gameplay has also changed, this time sword fighting and gunslinging combine to make something unique and enjoyable. Collectibles and upgrades you can buy give you even more reason to keep playing. The two issues I had with this game were the fact that you only get 4 guns in all of the game and the dialouge that varied from really good to bad. The final verdict for this game would be a recommendation to buy, this is something unique that any wii player cant miss. Expand
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Red Steel 2 is very fun. The main problem with this game is the short story length and a lack of multiplayer. The gameplay was good and the characters were engaging. Red Steel 2 is the best action game on the Wii.
  14. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I love the new idea of first person motion plus sword fight. Finally something than just a shooter. Metacritic this game is only one player. The lack of multiplayer hurts. Story and graphics are excellent. Ubisoft I want on-line for the future. This a perfect example of a sequel, so keep it up.
  15. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Why is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we know it, but in a land where feudal Japan meets the Wild West steam punk setting. I'll first touch on the gameplay. It rocks. The game is stylized as a sort of free roam shooter. Shooting and turning feels completely natural now and I have had no problems regarding it. But the sword combat is probably one of the major reasons you want to play this game. In the first game, depending on how you swung the wii remote, you could swing your sword vertically or horizontally or if the controller even registered your movements at all. Now you can swing wherever the heck you want. This is the best use of the Wii Motion+ I've EVER seen to date. Every once in a while there will be a misread but about 98% of every slash, stab, hack occured exactly how I intended it. The graphics. The graphics are good. And I mean they are jacked up good. This game has the same feel and quality as a high-end PS3 or Xbox game like Borderlands. Every character moves and acts naturally and every corner is incredibly detailed. But the graphics do come at a cost. Almost every door hides a 7-10 second loading screen, but in no way is that a game breaker. The story actually sticks out compared to other FPS stories on the wii (coughcouchconduitcoughcough) and isn't all too cheesy. While playing this game, I had the pleasure of listening to one of the best gaming soundtracks I've heard in a while. It really is very memorable and suits the mood of the game. People have been complaining about seeing only three enemy types. That is no where near the truth. I've seen many variations of gunslingers, swordslingers, a guy with an frickin' MINIGUN and ninja gunners (and many many more!). All in all, this is easily one of the best titles for the wii and I do recomend buying it. It's a steal. Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    A very underrated game, it's actually one of the best on the Wii. A great action/shooter game, someone might label it a brawler.

    Amazing cell-shaded graphics, which could easily be mistaken for a Ps3 game. It's a truly unique experience you likely won't play again. Swinging the Wii remote like a sword gets really satisfying, and utilizing different combo's earn you money, which can be
    spent to upgrade your katana and your different guns.
    You get a revolver, machine gun, double-barrel shotgun, and a powerful rifle which when fully upgraded, actually shoots explosive rounds - really cool!

    I can't recommend this game enough, give it a try, I bet you'll like it.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Red Steel 2 isn't just the game everyone wished Red Steel was, it's better than that. It single handedly proves the Wii MotionPlus's value for adventure games, while providing one of the best action experiences on the system. That said, it's almost a tech demo for the hardware, lacking in terms of story and gameplay variety.
  2. 86
    There are still some issues, both in game balance as well as wishy-washy motion sensing control, but the awesome style and energetic gameplay are enough to make this one of the top titles on Wii.
  3. 70
    If the satisfying melee combat was tied into a better game with a compelling story, I'd praise Red Steel 22 as the next step in the Wii's evolution. But the nonsensical narrative, the repetitive nature of the gameplay, and the poor pacing keeps it from being anything more than a promising glimpse at the future of FPS games on the Wii.