• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2010
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 172

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Still the game that best proves that Nintendo's motion system does indeed work. It's not just flopping around your WiiMote anymore, this time around you actually need to swing it the right way to make it work. There are enough upgrades, collectibles and things to see to keep you interested, and combined with the great art style it makes for a very good game. One of the few remarks is that the game is short (I'm thinking around 8 hours), but by now I've played through it three times, and it hasn't bored me once. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    A very underrated game, it's actually one of the best on the Wii. A great action/shooter game, someone might label it a brawler.

    Amazing cell-shaded graphics, which could easily be mistaken for a Ps3 game. It's a truly unique experience you likely won't play again. Swinging the Wii remote like a sword gets really satisfying, and utilizing different combo's earn you money, which can be
    spent to upgrade your katana and your different guns.
    You get a revolver, machine gun, double-barrel shotgun, and a powerful rifle which when fully upgraded, actually shoots explosive rounds - really cool!

    I can't recommend this game enough, give it a try, I bet you'll like it.
    Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    Overall, Red Steel 2 is a great game. The motion controls work well and the combat is satisfying. The graphics are very good and the voice acting is good too. But it has a few bugs that can get in the way of the fun.
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    this game is very good in every aspect, sound..visuals..gameplay........but the ultra energetic action really shines here, its like 1st person zelda(well, far more simplistic) but more realistic and adult oriented, even if theres no blood at all (shame).............minor control issues dont really matter as the game is so intense and enjoyable .......must have
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    The original Red Steel was a wii launch title that did not live up to the expected, the developers of this game took that concept out and started from scratch, they managed then to create something special, something that is worth playing in the wii because there is no other game in any platform like this. The develpoers first of all managed to create a unique environment, combining cultural things of the far west and the far east with futuristic technology which give you something great. Something to mention when talking about how this game looks is the graphics, the wii is not great for graphics but this game looks great. The cell-shaded graphics are great and give you more immersion in your surroundings, I believe this graphics are just wonderful and get quite close to the graphic level of games like borderlands. Gameplay has also changed, this time sword fighting and gunslinging combine to make something unique and enjoyable. Collectibles and upgrades you can buy give you even more reason to keep playing. The two issues I had with this game were the fact that you only get 4 guns in all of the game and the dialouge that varied from really good to bad. The final verdict for this game would be a recommendation to buy, this is something unique that any wii player cant miss. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I love the new idea of first person motion plus sword fight. Finally something than just a shooter. Metacritic this game is only one player. The lack of multiplayer hurts. Story and graphics are excellent. Ubisoft I want on-line for the future. This a perfect example of a sequel, so keep it up.
  7. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Why is this game even called "Red Steel 2"? It has absolutely nothing to do with the first game. And that's a very good thing. Those who remember the first Red Steel were plagued by half-baked graphics, sluggish controls and abysmal sword combat. Red Steel 2, a complete overhaul of the first game, fixes every single problem the first had. It no longer takes place in our world as we know it, but in a land where feudal Japan meets the Wild West steam punk setting. I'll first touch on the gameplay. It rocks. The game is stylized as a sort of free roam shooter. Shooting and turning feels completely natural now and I have had no problems regarding it. But the sword combat is probably one of the major reasons you want to play this game. In the first game, depending on how you swung the wii remote, you could swing your sword vertically or horizontally or if the controller even registered your movements at all. Now you can swing wherever the heck you want. This is the best use of the Wii Motion+ I've EVER seen to date. Every once in a while there will be a misread but about 98% of every slash, stab, hack occured exactly how I intended it. The graphics. The graphics are good. And I mean they are jacked up good. This game has the same feel and quality as a high-end PS3 or Xbox game like Borderlands. Every character moves and acts naturally and every corner is incredibly detailed. But the graphics do come at a cost. Almost every door hides a 7-10 second loading screen, but in no way is that a game breaker. The story actually sticks out compared to other FPS stories on the wii (coughcouchconduitcoughcough) and isn't all too cheesy. While playing this game, I had the pleasure of listening to one of the best gaming soundtracks I've heard in a while. It really is very memorable and suits the mood of the game. People have been complaining about seeing only three enemy types. That is no where near the truth. I've seen many variations of gunslingers, swordslingers, a guy with an frickin' MINIGUN and ninja gunners (and many many more!). All in all, this is easily one of the best titles for the wii and I do recomend buying it. It's a steal. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Red Steel 2 isn't just the game everyone wished Red Steel was, it's better than that. It single handedly proves the Wii MotionPlus's value for adventure games, while providing one of the best action experiences on the system. That said, it's almost a tech demo for the hardware, lacking in terms of story and gameplay variety.
  2. 86
    There are still some issues, both in game balance as well as wishy-washy motion sensing control, but the awesome style and energetic gameplay are enough to make this one of the top titles on Wii.
  3. 70
    If the satisfying melee combat was tied into a better game with a compelling story, I'd praise Red Steel 22 as the next step in the Wii's evolution. But the nonsensical narrative, the repetitive nature of the gameplay, and the poor pacing keeps it from being anything more than a promising glimpse at the future of FPS games on the Wii.