• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Red Steel 2 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Red Steel 2 returns with an artistic style and flair created just for Wii. Set in a desert-bound, high-tech metropolis, Red Steel 2 promises to be a revolution in the action-fighting genre, taking full advantage of the capabilities of the Wii MotionPlus accessory. Your movements areRed Steel 2 returns with an artistic style and flair created just for Wii. Set in a desert-bound, high-tech metropolis, Red Steel 2 promises to be a revolution in the action-fighting genre, taking full advantage of the capabilities of the Wii MotionPlus accessory. Your movements are faithfully replicated on-screen, putting the emphasis on swinging, shooting and fun! With the ability of the Wii MotionPlus to sense the strength of a swing, you will literally be able to make an impact on your adversaries through power and precision. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. It delivers on the promises of the first game and then some, offering razor sharp controls, a beautiful art style one of the most visceral action experiences of 2010. There's really nothing else like it right now.
  2. Red Steel 2 is a very good FPS-esque action game with heavy emphasis on swordplay. The cartoon graphics are excellent and the MotionPlus-sword works really well. [Apr 2010]
  3. It's not perfect, but it's a highly enjoyable, unique twist on first person action gaming.
  4. 80
    Red Steel 2 has a fantastic control system, finally delivering on the promises made by the original, and the Samurai and cowboy sensibilities make for an interesting mashup and a fun premise.
  5. Fortunately, the good parts in Red Steel 2 are quite good. The combo system is flexible and offers room for experimentation.
  6. So here's the problem, exactly how much do you get out of waving your arms around? For me, especially with the Wii Motion Plus, the answer is: Quite a lot. It's probably the most motion-control fun I've had with the Wii yet.
  7. Though the pesky lag is largely gone, all too often, gameplay still devolves into breathless, embarrassing exercises in flailing.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Kevin
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    I wish the rating system would allow intervals between 10 and 9. My true rating is 9.4 It's a very good game, worthy of purchase. I wish the rating system would allow intervals between 10 and 9. My true rating is 9.4 It's a very good game, worthy of purchase. It's been a long time since I've legitimately had fun playing a wii game. Red Steel 2 capitalizes on the accuracy of the wii motion plus to deliver the sensation of a super powerful cowboy warrior. Give it a shot. Expand
  2. JoseA
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    Wow! this has been an amazing ride!! trust me if you are bored with your Wii-which you shouldn't be with all the great games- then check Wow! this has been an amazing ride!! trust me if you are bored with your Wii-which you shouldn't be with all the great games- then check this one out! If your wallet only allows you to purchase one newly released game on the Wii make it this one. The visuals, gameplay, and story are all so intreaguing and satisfing. I own all consoles and playing this game made me confuse myself as to which console i was playing it on. The quality of this game can be mistaken for MassEffect, Halo, or Borderlands, and the visuals! Jesus the visuals! Let ubisoft take you on a ride on their Red Steel rollocoaster. Expand
  3. LewisD
    Mar 28, 2010
    9
    Sword slinging action that plays like no other! More combo brawler than FPS, this game packs both a physical and visceral punch, it looks Sword slinging action that plays like no other! More combo brawler than FPS, this game packs both a physical and visceral punch, it looks fantastic and has one of the most original and interesting settings for a game in recent memory (Wild West Feudal Japan in the future!) Great game, deserves a great score. Collapse
  4. RyanS
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    An incredibly fun and polished experience for the Wii. Red Steel 2 takes everything that the original Red Steel promised and delivers it in a An incredibly fun and polished experience for the Wii. Red Steel 2 takes everything that the original Red Steel promised and delivers it in a way most Wii skeptics have been saying is impossible. A truly unique experience with amazing controls; if you've been waiting for a game that makes the most out of Wii's motion controls, Red Steel 2 is your game. Do not hesitate on this one, just go buy it, now. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    The best thing about this game is the top-drawer combat. Precise motion control's mean thanks to the accuracy, even without the gore, RedThe best thing about this game is the top-drawer combat. Precise motion control's mean thanks to the accuracy, even without the gore, Red Steel 2 is a brutal game. The soundtrack is brilliant too, atmospheric Western tunes and some lovely cel-shaded graphics. While the rest of it is't particularl smart, generic enemies and generic, but well done, areas. One of the finest FPS's on Wii, and one of the finest combat systems too. Expand
  6. May 9, 2011
    8
    This is the video game equivalent of a B-movie...but a really, really fun one. Essentially unrelated to the first game, this has on-the-flyThis is the video game equivalent of a B-movie...but a really, really fun one. Essentially unrelated to the first game, this has on-the-fly switching between swordfighting with the Wii Remote and shooting with various guns, sometimes even within the same combo. This doesn't really get old! Story is basically nonexistent, but if you're here you should be here for the fast, arcade-y action and upgradeables. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    This is a shooter like no other. I'm not saying it's better or worse than, say, Call of Duty, or Halo, it's just different. Everything aboutThis is a shooter like no other. I'm not saying it's better or worse than, say, Call of Duty, or Halo, it's just different. Everything about it is different. Unlike the vast majority of other first person shooters, your not a soldier, but something more unique than that. You are an outcast, who wields the sora katana, the most powerful sword that ever existed. Eventually you will discover the powers of the sword, which adds to the gameplay. Your wii remote is a sword. This isn't Zelda where you flick you wrist a little to swing your sword, you have to swing your sword like a sword. The harder you swing the more damage you do. You also get a revolver, which you to upgrade, and you can buy other guns, like a shotgun, but you can't upgrade these. This game is very short. It took four days to beat it twice. The story is okay, but that's not why you playing. At least I hope not. The story isn't anything special but the cutscenes are sure to make you feel like a badass. This is a game for the gamer who is dying inside because there isn't many good shooters out there for the wii. Well here you go. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews