Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible gameResident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible game systems intact. As Leon Kennedy, players explore a town overrun by cultists, mutants and mind-controlled villagers, using the Wii Remote to aim, fire, slash and avoid oncoming adversaries with intuitive motions and movements. RE4 Wii Edition also contains the additional content included in the PlayStation 2 computer entertainment system version of the game. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 100
    The reason that the Wii version is the best is because the new control system makes the gameplay more enjoyable. Using both the Wii remote and the nunchuck, players will be able to perform all of the regular moves and attacks from before, only now they can do them in a more sensitive, accurate and pleasing fashion.
  2. As improved as the Resident Evil 4 controls were compared to the tank-like schemes of its predecessors, they still aren’t ideal. The final version of the game would have been the perfect time for Capcom to polish the controls with new features that nearly every game now takes for granted – like strafing and being able to shoot your gun while moving. Unfortunately, Leon still isn’t capable of performing these basic moves.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    94
    The most intense gaming experience on the Wii...It will consume you. [July 2007, p.80]
  4. 90
    Resident Evil 4 on the Wii has taken everything that was great about the Gamecube and PS2 versions and tweaked it just enough to enthrall even vetran players all over again.
  5. 90
    If you played the GameCube original, consider the Wii game the ultimate collector's edition – frankly, that's what it is; the culmination of the best from its predecessors with some added Wii improvements. And if you have never played RE4 before, consider the Wii release an absolute must-own experience.
  6. Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition is one of the best games available for the Wii. Period.
  7. It's just a shame that one of the best ever action games has become another casualty of the Wii controller. Indeed, for a controller that was supposed to herald a new dawn of inclusive gaming there are a lot of third-party publishers who have yet to get their heads round it.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 113
  1. HunterG.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    An awsome game made better, I can not put it down and I typically can nver play a story based game more than once.
  2. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Alongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a fewAlongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a few cheap shocks.Without a ridiculous amount of weapons, and several nasty surprises, we all can witness a game for the ages but now with precise Wii controls. Originally one of the best games ever, Resident Evil 4 can also add on of the best Wii games to its trophy cabinet. Collapse
  3. MarcR.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    This game is SWEET, as Peter from Family Guy would say. This is probably the first Wii game to really do the platform AND the controllers This game is SWEET, as Peter from Family Guy would say. This is probably the first Wii game to really do the platform AND the controllers justice and is great stuff, it runs at a good pace, the difficulty ramps up evenly as you learn. The only gripes (and these really are minor things) are that you are too close to the main character as he walks around, so you can't see enough around him, and the landscapes are very confined, you can go up to an area you can see flat land, but an invisible wall blocks you, so it's not truely free roaming. But those really are miniscule issues compared to the rest of a great game. Expand
  4. BlakeD.
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    RE4 on the Gamecube was absolutely astounding compared to its competition on the console (which was slim to none). The PS2 version added more RE4 on the Gamecube was absolutely astounding compared to its competition on the console (which was slim to none). The PS2 version added more replay value, but this port really shines in comparison. Even if you own the Gamecube or PS2 version, you'll find it to be a good buy. The controls are far superior than the originals, the game looks great, and the extra replay value doesn't hurt. I ran through this game 6 times in a row when I finally got it on the Wii, even though I had the PS2 version before that. God bless (or damn) this game. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    When I saw it in game store, I just thought 'Yes, another brutally Shooter." But, then I insert it in my Wii, and 'Wow', graphic, animations,When I saw it in game store, I just thought 'Yes, another brutally Shooter." But, then I insert it in my Wii, and 'Wow', graphic, animations, setting and story are only awesome. I recommend this game for every person, who loves zombies or similary stuff. Expand
  6. ZincA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it by beating the game. I died less than 20 times and 5 of those deaths were cheapies due to a quick movement needed during a cut scene when I was just watching the scene and hardly expecting any interactive movements by me needed... I MAY go back and play the game on the higher setting but I just beat it and there is probably nothing new included except for more zombies to shoot and less ammo available, so... There are additional games to play once the game is beaten though... Those are pretty cool. I found the controls to be excellent. The game became quite addictive because of the game play and the story line was just awesome. When is RE 5 due out? I'll buy that one for sure because of the fun I had with RE4. If you haven't played a RE game since the '98 PS1 launch like me, this game will put a smile on your face for hours.... Or maybe allow of many "Oh sh*t" moments while playing- it gets pretty intense at times! Oh, and the lack of english spoken by the enemy is rather creepy sounding as well. Expand
  7. TomD.
    Jul 30, 2007
    0
    Awful, controls make no sense, game play is bland, no edge, worst game I have played.

See all 113 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007