Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible gameResident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible game systems intact. As Leon Kennedy, players explore a town overrun by cultists, mutants and mind-controlled villagers, using the Wii Remote to aim, fire, slash and avoid oncoming adversaries with intuitive motions and movements. RE4 Wii Edition also contains the additional content included in the PlayStation 2 computer entertainment system version of the game. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. What ends up happening is that the first few versions were great, but the Wii version is what the original game wanted to be, a truly exceptional find. A must own Wii title.
  2. As improved as the Resident Evil 4 controls were compared to the tank-like schemes of its predecessors, they still aren’t ideal. The final version of the game would have been the perfect time for Capcom to polish the controls with new features that nearly every game now takes for granted – like strafing and being able to shoot your gun while moving. Unfortunately, Leon still isn’t capable of performing these basic moves.
  3. You must own it, even if that means racing to the game store to find one of the reclusive Wiis. The president's daughter's been kidnapped - it's up to us.
  4. Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition is one of the best games available for the Wii. Period.
  5. The Wii addition sends players on the same astonishing, grisly funfair ride with a slight new twist. But, though it does little to take the experience to new heights, Resident Evil 4 is still an immense pleasure to return to. [Aug 2007, p.95]
  6. It may be one of the best action/horror games of all time, but the hardcore audience wants more than the best of 2005. Outstanding game, questionable release.
  7. It's just a shame that one of the best ever action games has become another casualty of the Wii controller. Indeed, for a controller that was supposed to herald a new dawn of inclusive gaming there are a lot of third-party publishers who have yet to get their heads round it.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 108
  2. Negative: 8 out of 108
  1. HunterG.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    An awsome game made better, I can not put it down and I typically can nver play a story based game more than once.
  2. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Alongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a fewAlongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a few cheap shocks.Without a ridiculous amount of weapons, and several nasty surprises, we all can witness a game for the ages but now with precise Wii controls. Originally one of the best games ever, Resident Evil 4 can also add on of the best Wii games to its trophy cabinet. Expand
  3. JoelT.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Gameplay is perfect, that can help us wait until Umbrella Chronicles !!!!
  4. Kelly
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was the greatest of the RE series. It had much better graphics and it being on the Wii made it much easier to aim. Unlike I thought this game was the greatest of the RE series. It had much better graphics and it being on the Wii made it much easier to aim. Unlike the rest of the RE series, you dont need any ink ribbon to save, which makes things a lot easier. You are also able to upgrade your guns. I'm glad that in RE4 you dont have to go back to the same place over and over again. With the rest of the RE series, you have to go back into the same rooms multiple times, which gets very frustrating. All in all, this game is one of the best games on the Wii and one of the best games period!! Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    When people used to ask me what my favorite game was I would always say Zelda Ocarina of Time. Now, I have to seriously decide how I'mWhen people used to ask me what my favorite game was I would always say Zelda Ocarina of Time. Now, I have to seriously decide how I'm feeling that day whether I say this or that. Expand
  6. ZincA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it by beating the game. I died less than 20 times and 5 of those deaths were cheapies due to a quick movement needed during a cut scene when I was just watching the scene and hardly expecting any interactive movements by me needed... I MAY go back and play the game on the higher setting but I just beat it and there is probably nothing new included except for more zombies to shoot and less ammo available, so... There are additional games to play once the game is beaten though... Those are pretty cool. I found the controls to be excellent. The game became quite addictive because of the game play and the story line was just awesome. When is RE 5 due out? I'll buy that one for sure because of the fun I had with RE4. If you haven't played a RE game since the '98 PS1 launch like me, this game will put a smile on your face for hours.... Or maybe allow of many "Oh sh*t" moments while playing- it gets pretty intense at times! Oh, and the lack of english spoken by the enemy is rather creepy sounding as well. Expand
  7. TomD.
    Jul 30, 2007
    0
    Awful, controls make no sense, game play is bland, no edge, worst game I have played.

See all 108 User Reviews