Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible gameResident Evil 4 comes to the Wii with added Wii Remote and Nunchuck support, allowing players to immerse themselves in the game as never before. With RE4 Wii Edition, Capcom is offering new and more immersive sense of control to players, while keeping all of the game's incredible game systems intact. As Leon Kennedy, players explore a town overrun by cultists, mutants and mind-controlled villagers, using the Wii Remote to aim, fire, slash and avoid oncoming adversaries with intuitive motions and movements. RE4 Wii Edition also contains the additional content included in the PlayStation 2 computer entertainment system version of the game. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 100
    The reason that the Wii version is the best is because the new control system makes the gameplay more enjoyable. Using both the Wii remote and the nunchuck, players will be able to perform all of the regular moves and attacks from before, only now they can do them in a more sensitive, accurate and pleasing fashion.
  2. As improved as the Resident Evil 4 controls were compared to the tank-like schemes of its predecessors, they still aren’t ideal. The final version of the game would have been the perfect time for Capcom to polish the controls with new features that nearly every game now takes for granted – like strafing and being able to shoot your gun while moving. Unfortunately, Leon still isn’t capable of performing these basic moves.
  3. The most intense gaming experience on the Wii...It will consume you. [July 2007, p.80]
  4. 90
    Resident Evil 4 on the Wii has taken everything that was great about the Gamecube and PS2 versions and tweaked it just enough to enthrall even vetran players all over again.
  5. 90
    If you played the GameCube original, consider the Wii game the ultimate collector's edition – frankly, that's what it is; the culmination of the best from its predecessors with some added Wii improvements. And if you have never played RE4 before, consider the Wii release an absolute must-own experience.
  6. Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition is one of the best games available for the Wii. Period.
  7. It's just a shame that one of the best ever action games has become another casualty of the Wii controller. Indeed, for a controller that was supposed to herald a new dawn of inclusive gaming there are a lot of third-party publishers who have yet to get their heads round it.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 109
  2. Negative: 8 out of 109
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Alongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a fewAlongside a perfect amount of tension all the way through the game, Resident Evil captures the elements of suspense and fear, with only a few cheap shocks.Without a ridiculous amount of weapons, and several nasty surprises, we all can witness a game for the ages but now with precise Wii controls. Originally one of the best games ever, Resident Evil 4 can also add on of the best Wii games to its trophy cabinet. Expand
  2. Kelly
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was the greatest of the RE series. It had much better graphics and it being on the Wii made it much easier to aim. Unlike I thought this game was the greatest of the RE series. It had much better graphics and it being on the Wii made it much easier to aim. Unlike the rest of the RE series, you dont need any ink ribbon to save, which makes things a lot easier. You are also able to upgrade your guns. I'm glad that in RE4 you dont have to go back to the same place over and over again. With the rest of the RE series, you have to go back into the same rooms multiple times, which gets very frustrating. All in all, this game is one of the best games on the Wii and one of the best games period!! Expand
  3. RickH.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Splendid game, excellent adventure and gore on the Wii. The controls are good, a little tricky to pick up at first, but soon become 2nd Splendid game, excellent adventure and gore on the Wii. The controls are good, a little tricky to pick up at first, but soon become 2nd nature. A bargain price in most outlets too, so I would recommend highly! Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    When people used to ask me what my favorite game was I would always say Zelda Ocarina of Time. Now, I have to seriously decide how I'mWhen people used to ask me what my favorite game was I would always say Zelda Ocarina of Time. Now, I have to seriously decide how I'm feeling that day whether I say this or that. Expand
  5. ZincA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it The programmers certainly should of included the higher difficulty setting in the main menu from the beginning instead of having to unlock it by beating the game. I died less than 20 times and 5 of those deaths were cheapies due to a quick movement needed during a cut scene when I was just watching the scene and hardly expecting any interactive movements by me needed... I MAY go back and play the game on the higher setting but I just beat it and there is probably nothing new included except for more zombies to shoot and less ammo available, so... There are additional games to play once the game is beaten though... Those are pretty cool. I found the controls to be excellent. The game became quite addictive because of the game play and the story line was just awesome. When is RE 5 due out? I'll buy that one for sure because of the fun I had with RE4. If you haven't played a RE game since the '98 PS1 launch like me, this game will put a smile on your face for hours.... Or maybe allow of many "Oh sh*t" moments while playing- it gets pretty intense at times! Oh, and the lack of english spoken by the enemy is rather creepy sounding as well. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2015
    9
    A shining example of game design, seriously if you any of you reading are young developers just play and learn, the pace is neither boring norA shining example of game design, seriously if you any of you reading are young developers just play and learn, the pace is neither boring nor exhausting takes you from familiar situations to new ones without any difficulty, every time you think you've seen all that the game has to offer it surprises you (and this is true until the very end).
    Now let's talk more precisely about this Wii version, the controls works just fine (I wouldn't say they are better, it all depends on your gaming habits, but the game was originally design for classic controller and you'll not suffer at all by playing it on another system), the graphics didn't improved from the original release and that's a bit of a shame (the HD versions exist by now so if you're looking for better graphics don't pick the Wii version), but the most important thing on Wii is to do the controls right and they succeeded it, so good port.
    Finally the two minors negative points : the story is poorly written ( with all those bad jokes make by Leon) and should have been more stressful and engaging. And looking back at time now that we are in 2015, it is the first step to the end of Resident Evil, for the 5 and 6 they just added more and more action , to take away all the fear (there is some in the 4 but way less than the first ones).
    Ideally I would have mark this game with a 9.5, so I lowered it to 9 as it is not perfect and tens are reserved for games that have no negative points.
    Expand
  7. TomD.
    Jul 30, 2007
    0
    Awful, controls make no sense, game play is bland, no edge, worst game I have played.

See all 109 User Reviews