Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles Wii

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 58
  2. Negative: 4 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MuerteJR
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    We are talking about the Wii, so its look amazing, beatifully and creepy. The sound and music make a good and excelent work to improve the experience. One of the only shooters coming to any platform, so its the best brand new shooter right now. Great storyline guide by the characters (for those who never have played RE series) explaining everything and more. Most buy for Wii lovers.
  2. AgustinR
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    An excellent game, more intense, better look and many mistakes solveds compared with RE:UC
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2009
    8
    Darkside Chronicles will definitely appeal to followers of the R.E. series with a new albiet edited visit to R.E.2 and Code:Veronica, while newbies may find it all a little slow. I admit I'm a fan of the PS1 games and love the nostalgia D.C. brings but I wish the intensity of the originals had been realized here.The action is a bit too slow, grinding to a halt at times, and headshots Darkside Chronicles will definitely appeal to followers of the R.E. series with a new albiet edited visit to R.E.2 and Code:Veronica, while newbies may find it all a little slow. I admit I'm a fan of the PS1 games and love the nostalgia D.C. brings but I wish the intensity of the originals had been realized here.The action is a bit too slow, grinding to a halt at times, and headshots are way too hard to pull off. The mindless shooting at random items takes away some of the suspense but I love the more interactive environment(shooting out lights, spinning umbrellas). It takes forever to upgrade the weapons but I had little problem clearing the levels with what's available. So overall, everyone should like it but older R.E. fans especially. Oh, and the complaints about the shaky camera are made by people who think running and shooting a gun should have no effect on each other. If you can't aim while running, be a sniper. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    a improved game from REUC but takes a big hit on the camera even being more eradic and just flying all over the place . the game is slower paced from say like what house of the dead overkill offers. still its a fun run down memory lane with it covering RE2 and RECV and a new story following leon and krueser . i like the ability to now upgrade your guns and carry health items and use thema improved game from REUC but takes a big hit on the camera even being more eradic and just flying all over the place . the game is slower paced from say like what house of the dead overkill offers. still its a fun run down memory lane with it covering RE2 and RECV and a new story following leon and krueser . i like the ability to now upgrade your guns and carry health items and use them when u want too. its a good on rails shooter i could have given it a 9 easy if that damn camera wasnt so annoying. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    Darkside chronicles is a major step up from its predecessor, covering the events of resident evil 2, code veronica and the period before resident evil 4. The graphics are great and the music does its job in creating a spooky atmosphere. The handheld camera effect while making things more suspenseful does at times get a bit annoying with its constant moving. Also some boss battles can dragDarkside chronicles is a major step up from its predecessor, covering the events of resident evil 2, code veronica and the period before resident evil 4. The graphics are great and the music does its job in creating a spooky atmosphere. The handheld camera effect while making things more suspenseful does at times get a bit annoying with its constant moving. Also some boss battles can drag on such as the battle against Birkin. Resident Evil Darkside Chronicles is a well presented shooter and is at least worth a try for fans of the genre. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    A genuinely good on-rails shooter. Fantastic fun, with a certain suspenseful atmosphere that (though not as good as Resident Evil 4) is quite eerie, with certain moments in the game that are a real blast. If you want Resi on Wii, get Resi 4, but for Resident Evil fans it's nearly essential. WIth some great graphics too.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Im so glad its been announced to be ported to PS3. This is basicly a Resident Evil 2 and CV remake. PERFECT for people with a wii or playstation move, and are die hard resident evil 2 fans.
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I liked this game so much .Much better than the 1st one because of Leon ( :p) and most importantly the camera.The camera in the last game was a bit boring , but this one really helped the action going.One of the greatest rail shooters ever.
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Even though the game isn't survival horror or scary, it is a very functional and entertaining game for the Wii. If you are a die hard fan it is a nice collectable and it is playable.
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    one the best game of nintendo wii
    an excelent spin off.
    im really impressive. it has a good gameplay
    and its has solid graphics for a Wii game
    its a good game

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. 81
    Even with my complaints about the bouncy camera, I believe this follow-up is a significantly better experience than the original Umbrella Chronicles and one fun ride from start to finish.
  2. The Darkside Chronicles is a nice improvement over the previous game, adding length and depth to a solid on-rails shooting experience. Story and characters are really outdated though, and aiming through the Remote is a real pain at times.
  3. For fans of twitch-gaming this surely ranks up there with the best that this anachronistic sub-genre has to offer.